This office action is in response to remarks filed on 05/07/2026.
Claims 21, 24, 25, 28, 29, 32, 33 and 36-40 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 21, 25, 29, and 33 are amended. Claims 37-40 are added.
Response to Amendments
Claims 21, 25, 29, and 33 have been considered based on amendments.
Claims 37-40 have been added and considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 25, 29, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shariat et al (US20230142427A1) (hereinafter "Shariat") in view of Pateromichelakis et al (US20250024412A1) (hereinafter "Pateromichelakis") and Ma et al (US20220225126A1) (hereinafter "Ma").
Regarding claim 21, Shariat discloses a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
performing a discovery of a management data analytics (MDA) management function
entity ([0159] A technique of discovering one or more NWDAFs and/or NWDAF aggregators (e.g., using NRF or any other suitable technique).);
selecting, based on the discovery, a first MDA management function entity which is a single MDA management function entity for network data analytics ([0160] A technique of selecting one or more NWDAFs and/or NWDAFs aggregator based on delay profile information and/or timing requirements (possibly in addition to one or more further criteria).);
transmitting, to the first MDA management function entity, a request message for the network data analytics ([0166] In operation 2, the NWDAF service consumer requests or subscribes to analytics from the selected aggregator NWDAF (e.g., NWDAF 1).)
Shariat fails to disclose a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from the first MDA management function entity, first analytics as a response to the request message; and
identifying second analytics of network data after processing the first analytics of the first MDA management function entity.
However, Pateromichelakis discloses a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from the first MDA management function entity, first analytics as a response to the request message; and ([0005] In one embodiment, a first method includes receiving a first analytics parameter associated with a location measurement for a user equipment (“UE”) device.)
identifying second analytics of network data after processing the first analytics of the first MDA management function entity ([0005] In one embodiment, the first method includes deriving application layer analytics for location measurement accuracy for a target application of the UE, based on the first analytics parameter, and location accuracy measurements from at least one location service producer and determining a second analytics parameter indicating a predictive adaptation of a location measurement accuracy in response to deriving the application layer analytics based on an application requirement of the target application.).
Shariat and Pateromichelakis are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for interaction between network data analytics functions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Pateromichelakis to create a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from the first MDA management function entity, first analytics as a response to the request message; and identifying second analytics of network data after processing the first analytics of the first MDA management function entity.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to train a model to refine predictions or detect anomalies.
Shariat fails to disclose a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the first analytics includes information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope, and wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
However, Ma discloses a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
wherein the first analytics includes information on a reporting target ([0724] UE ID) for the first analytics and information on a scope, and ([0194] location information of the UE) of the first analytics, and ([0723] Operation 1503: NWDAF takes the information carried in the received message as an input parameter to generate an output parameter. The output parameter may be UE Communication Predictions, representing prediction information for the specified UE. The information includes but is not limited to at least one of the following information: [0724] UE ID, which can be the same as Analytics ID in the input parameter; [0725] an information indicating whether the predicted information is periodic; [0726] period information, indicating the length of the period; [0727] start time, indicating the start time of prediction; [0728] time length, indicating the duration of prediction; [0729] traffic characteristics, indicating some restrictions of prediction information, such as IDs of relevant network slices; [0730] predicted uplink and downlink rate of the UE; [0731] reliability of prediction; [0732] Timestamp information. [0733] NWDAF sends Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Request response message to AMF, which includes prediction information of the specified UE.)
wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics ([0194] The prediction information may be at least one of the following information: [0198] the predicted value of the location information of the UE for a period of time in the future, the location information can be at least one of cell ID, Tracking Area identity (TAI) or Tracking Area Code (TAC), longitude and latitude, and area information, the area information includes but is not limited to a group of cell ID or TAI or TAC or longitude and latitude,).
Shariat and Ma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of predictive adaptation of location measurement accuracy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Ma to create a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the first analytics includes information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope, and wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to specify the physical location or region included in the analytic parameters.
Regarding claim 25, Shariat discloses a method performed by a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity, a request message for
network data analytics ([0166] In operation 2, the NWDAF service consumer requests or subscribes to analytics from the selected aggregator NWDAF (e.g., NWDAF 1).), wherein a discovery of an MDA management function entity is performed for the network data analytics ([0159] A technique of discovering one or more NWDAFs and/or NWDAF aggregators (e.g., using NRF or any other suitable technique).) and wherein the first MDA management function entity which is a single MDA management function entity is selected for the network data analytics based on the discovery; and ([0160] A technique of selecting one or more NWDAFs and/or NWDAFs aggregator based on delay profile information and/or timing requirements (possibly in addition to one or more further criteria).).
Shariat fails to disclose a method performed by a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to the NWDAF entity, first analytics as a response to the request message, wherein second analytics of network data is based on a processing of the first analytics of the first MDA management function entity.
However, Pateromichelakis discloses a method performed by a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to the NWDAF entity, first analytics as a response to the request message ([0005] In one embodiment, a first method includes receiving a first analytics parameter associated with a location measurement for a user equipment (“UE”) device.),
wherein second analytics of network data is based on a processing of the first analytics of
the first MDA management function entity ([0005] In one embodiment, the first method includes deriving application layer analytics for location measurement accuracy for a target application of the UE, based on the first analytics parameter, and location accuracy measurements from at least one location service producer and determining a second analytics parameter indicating a predictive adaptation of a location measurement accuracy in response to deriving the application layer analytics based on an application requirement of the target application.).
Shariat and Pateromichelakis are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for interaction between network data analytics functions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Pateromichelakis to create a method performed by a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to the NWDAF entity, first analytics as a response to the request message, wherein second analytics of network data is based on a processing of the first analytics of the first MDA management function entity.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to train a model to refine predictions or detect anomalies.
Shariat fails to disclose a method performed by a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the first analytics includes information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope of the first analytics, and wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
However, Ma discloses a method performed by a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the first analytics includes information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope, and ([0194] location information of the UE) of the first analytics, and ([0723] Operation 1503: NWDAF takes the information carried in the received message as an input parameter to generate an output parameter. The output parameter may be UE Communication Predictions, representing prediction information for the specified UE. The information includes but is not limited to at least one of the following information: [0724] UE ID, which can be the same as Analytics ID in the input parameter; [0725] an information indicating whether the predicted information is periodic; [0726] period information, indicating the length of the period; [0727] start time, indicating the start time of prediction; [0728] time length, indicating the duration of prediction; [0729] traffic characteristics, indicating some restrictions of prediction information, such as IDs of relevant network slices; [0730] predicted uplink and downlink rate of the UE; [0731] reliability of prediction; [0732] Timestamp information. [0733] NWDAF sends Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Request response message to AMF, which includes prediction information of the specified UE.)
wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics ([0194] The prediction information may be at least one of the following information: [0198] the predicted value of the location information of the UE for a period of time in the future, the location information can be at least one of cell ID, Tracking Area identity (TAI) or Tracking Area Code (TAC), longitude and latitude, and area information, the area information includes but is not limited to a group of cell ID or TAI or TAC or longitude and latitude,).
Shariat and Ma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of predictive adaptation of location measurement accuracy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Ma to create a method performed by a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the first analytics includes information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope, and wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to specify the physical location or region included in the analytic parameters.
Regarding claim 29, Shariat discloses a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising:
a transceiver; and ([0181] Such an apparatus may comprise one or more elements, for example one or more of receivers, transmitters, transceivers, processors, controllers, modules, units, and the like, each element configured to perform one or more corresponding processes, operations and/or method steps for implementing the techniques described herein.)
a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to ([0181] Such an apparatus may comprise one or more elements, for example one or more of receivers, transmitters, transceivers, processors, controllers, modules, units, and the like, each element configured to perform one or more corresponding processes, operations and/or method steps for implementing the techniques described herein.):
perform a discovery of a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity ([0159] A technique of discovering one or more NWDAFs and/or NWDAF aggregators (e.g., using NRF or any other suitable technique).);
select, based on the discovery, a first MDA management function entity which is a single MDA management function entity for network data analytics ([0160] A technique of selecting one or more NWDAFs and/or NWDAFs aggregator based on delay profile information and/or timing requirements (possibly in addition to one or more further criteria).),
transmit, to the first MDA management function entity, a request message for the network data analytics ([0166] In operation 2, the NWDAF service consumer requests or subscribes to analytics from the selected aggregator NWDAF (e.g., NWDAF 1).).
Shariat fails to disclose a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising:
receive, from the first MDA management function entity, first analytics as a response to the request message, and
identify second analytics of network data after processing the first analytics of the first MDA management function entity.
However, Pateromichelakis discloses a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising:
receive, from the first MDA management function entity, first analytics as a response to the request message, and ([0005] In one embodiment, a first method includes receiving a first analytics parameter associated with a location measurement for a user equipment (“UE”) device.)
identify second analytics of network data after processing the first analytics of the first MDA management function entity ([0005] In one embodiment, the first method includes deriving application layer analytics for location measurement accuracy for a target application of the UE, based on the first analytics parameter, and location accuracy measurements from at least one location service producer and determining a second analytics parameter indicating a predictive adaptation of a location measurement accuracy in response to deriving the application layer analytics based on an application requirement of the target application.).
Shariat and Pateromichelakis are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for interaction network data analytics functions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Pateromichelakis to create a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising: receive, from the first MDA management function entity, first analytics as a response to the request message, and identify second analytics of network data after processing the first analytics of the first MDA management function entity.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to train a model to refine predictions or detect anomalies.
Shariat fails to disclose a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising:
wherein the first analytics includes information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope of the first analytics, and
wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
However, Ma discloses a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising:
wherein the first analytics includes information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope, and ([0194] location information of the UE) of the first analytics, and ([0723] Operation 1503: NWDAF takes the information carried in the received message as an input parameter to generate an output parameter. The output parameter may be UE Communication Predictions, representing prediction information for the specified UE. The information includes but is not limited to at least one of the following information: [0724] UE ID, which can be the same as Analytics ID in the input parameter; [0725] an information indicating whether the predicted information is periodic; [0726] period information, indicating the length of the period; [0727] start time, indicating the start time of prediction; [0728] time length, indicating the duration of prediction; [0729] traffic characteristics, indicating some restrictions of prediction information, such as IDs of relevant network slices; [0730] predicted uplink and downlink rate of the UE; [0731] reliability of prediction; [0732] Timestamp information. [0733] NWDAF sends Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Request response message to AMF, which includes prediction information of the specified UE.)
wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics ([0194] The prediction information may be at least one of the following information: [0198] the predicted value of the location information of the UE for a period of time in the future, the location information can be at least one of cell ID, Tracking Area identity (TAI) or Tracking Area Code (TAC), longitude and latitude, and area information, the area information includes but is not limited to a group of cell ID or TAI or TAC or longitude and latitude,).
Shariat and Ma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of predictive adaptation of location measurement accuracy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Ma to create a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising: wherein the first analytics includes information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope of the first analytics, and wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to specify the physical location or region included in the analytic parameters.
Regarding claim 33, Shariat discloses a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising:
a transceiver; and ([0181] Such an apparatus may comprise one or more elements, for example one or more of receivers, transmitters, transceivers, processors, controllers, modules, units, and the like, each element configured to perform one or more corresponding processes, operations and/or method steps for implementing the techniques described herein.)
a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to ([0181] Such an apparatus may comprise one or more elements, for example one or more of receivers, transmitters, transceivers, processors, controllers, modules, units, and the like, each element configured to perform one or more corresponding processes, operations and/or method steps for implementing the techniques described herein.):
receive, from a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity, a request message for
network data analytics ([0166] In operation 2, the NWDAF service consumer requests or subscribes to analytics from the selected aggregator NWDAF (e.g., NWDAF 1).), wherein a discovery of an MDA management function entity is performed for the network data analytics ([0159] A technique of discovering one or more NWDAFs and/or NWDAF aggregators (e.g., using NRF or any other suitable technique).) and wherein the first MDA management function entity which is a single MDA management function entity is selected for the network data analytics based on the discovery; and ([0160] A technique of selecting one or more NWDAFs and/or NWDAFs aggregator based on delay profile information and/or timing requirements (possibly in addition to one or more further criteria).).
Shariat fails to disclose a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising: transmit, to the NWDAF entity, first analytics as a response to the request message, wherein second analytics of network data is based on a processing of the first analytics of the first MDA management function entity.
However, Pateromichelakis discloses a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising:
transmitting, to the NWDAF entity, first analytics as a response to the request message ([0005] In one embodiment, a first method includes receiving a first analytics parameter associated with a location measurement for a user equipment (“UE”) device.),
wherein second analytics of network data is based on a processing of the first analytics of
the first MDA management function entity ([0005] In one embodiment, the first method includes deriving application layer analytics for location measurement accuracy for a target application of the UE, based on the first analytics parameter, and location accuracy measurements from at least one location service producer and determining a second analytics parameter indicating a predictive adaptation of a location measurement accuracy in response to deriving the application layer analytics based on an application requirement of the target application.).
Shariat and Pateromichelakis are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for interaction between network data analytics functions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Pateromichelakis to create a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising: transmit, to the NWDAF entity, first analytics as a response to the request message, wherein second analytics of network data is based on a processing of the first analytics of the first MDA management function entity.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to train a model to refine predictions or detect anomalies.
Shariat fails to disclose a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising: wherein the first analytics includes information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope of the first analytics, and wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
However, Ma discloses a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising: wherein the first analytics includes information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope, and ([0194] location information of the UE) of the first analytics, and ([0723] Operation 1503: NWDAF takes the information carried in the received message as an input parameter to generate an output parameter. The output parameter may be UE Communication Predictions, representing prediction information for the specified UE. The information includes but is not limited to at least one of the following information: [0724] UE ID, which can be the same as Analytics ID in the input parameter; [0725] an information indicating whether the predicted information is periodic; [0726] period information, indicating the length of the period; [0727] start time, indicating the start time of prediction; [0728] time length, indicating the duration of prediction; [0729] traffic characteristics, indicating some restrictions of prediction information, such as IDs of relevant network slices; [0730] predicted uplink and downlink rate of the UE; [0731] reliability of prediction; [0732] Timestamp information. [0733] NWDAF sends Nnwdaf_AnalyticsInfo_Request response message to AMF, which includes prediction information of the specified UE.)
wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics ([0194] The prediction information may be at least one of the following information: [0198] the predicted value of the location information of the UE for a period of time in the future, the location information can be at least one of cell ID, Tracking Area identity (TAI) or Tracking Area Code (TAC), longitude and latitude, and area information, the area information includes but is not limited to a group of cell ID or TAI or TAC or longitude and latitude,).
Shariat and Ma are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of predictive adaptation of location measurement accuracy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Ma to create a first management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising: wherein the first analytics includes information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope, and wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to specify the physical location or region included in the analytic parameters.
Claims 24, 28, 32, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shariat in view of Pateromichelakis and Ma, and further in view of Huawei et al (S2-2203787) (hereinafter "Huawei").
Regarding claim 24, Shariat fails to disclose the method, wherein the discovery of the MDA management function entity is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics.
However, Huawei discloses the method, wherein the discovery of the MDA management function entity is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and (Pg. 1: As an MDA MnS Consumer, NWDAF can trigger the MDA MnS to request analytics from the MDA Management Function. Pg. 2: Before NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function, the NWDAF firstly discover the MDA Management Function via the MnS discovery service producer as defined in clause TS 28.537 [y].)
wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics (Pg. 2: NWDAF discovers the MDA Management Function from the MnS discovery service producer by sending a MnS producer discovery service operation. The service operation may include the following parameters: requestedMDAType: indicate a specific MDA capability such as Slice coverage analysis, Mobility performance analysis as defined in clause 7.2 of TS 28.104 [x]; Area of lnterest; Network Slice information (i.e. NetworkSliceInfo including a DN (Distinguished Name) of the NetworkSlice managed object relating to the network slice instance associated to the S-NSSAI and NSI ID if available as defined in TS 28.541 [22]).).
Shariat and Huawei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for interaction between NWDAF and MDAS/MDAF.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Huawei to create the method, wherein the discovery of the MDA management function entity is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to allow network functions to discover services offered by other network functions within the communication network.
Regarding claim 28, Shariat fails the method, wherein the discovery is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and
wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics.
However, Huawei discloses the method, wherein the discovery is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and (Pg. 1: As an MDA MnS Consumer, NWDAF can trigger the MDA MnS to request analytics from the MDA Management Function. Pg. 2: Before NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function, the NWDAF firstly discover the MDA Management Function via the MnS discovery service producer as defined in clause TS 28.537 [y].)
wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics (Pg. 2: NWDAF discovers the MDA Management Function from the MnS discovery service producer by sending a MnS producer discovery service operation. The service operation may include the following parameters: requestedMDAType: indicate a specific MDA capability such as Slice coverage analysis, Mobility performance analysis as defined in clause 7.2 of TS 28.104 [x]; Area of lnterest; Network Slice information (i.e. NetworkSliceInfo including a DN (Distinguished Name) of the NetworkSlice managed object relating to the network slice instance associated to the S-NSSAI and NSI ID if available as defined in TS 28.541 [22]).).
Shariat and Huawei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for interaction between NWDAF and MDAS/MDAF.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Huawei to create the method, wherein the discovery is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to allow network functions to discover services offered by other network functions within the communication network.
Regarding claim 32, Shariat fails to disclose the NWDAF entity, wherein the discovery of the MDA management function entity is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics.
However, Huawei discloses the NWDAF, wherein the discovery of the MDA management function entity is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and (Pg. 1: As an MDA MnS Consumer, NWDAF can trigger the MDA MnS to request analytics from the MDA Management Function. Pg. 2: Before NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function, the NWDAF firstly discover the MDA Management Function via the MnS discovery service producer as defined in clause TS 28.537 [y].)
wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics (Pg. 2: NWDAF discovers the MDA Management Function from the MnS discovery service producer by sending a MnS producer discovery service operation. The service operation may include the following parameters: requestedMDAType: indicate a specific MDA capability such as Slice coverage analysis, Mobility performance analysis as defined in clause 7.2 of TS 28.104 [x]; Area of lnterest; Network Slice information (i.e. NetworkSliceInfo including a DN (Distinguished Name) of the NetworkSlice managed object relating to the network slice instance associated to the S-NSSAI and NSI ID if available as defined in TS 28.541 [22]).).
Shariat and Huawei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for interaction between NWDAF and MDAS/MDAF.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Huawei to create the NWDAF, wherein the discovery of the MDA management function entity is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to allow network functions to discover services offered by other network functions within the communication network.
Regarding claim 36, Shariat fails to disclose the MDA management function entity, wherein the discovery of the MDA management function entity is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics.
However, Huawei discloses the MDA management function entity, wherein the discovery of the MDA management function entity is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and (Pg. 1: As an MDA MnS Consumer, NWDAF can trigger the MDA MnS to request analytics from the MDA Management Function. Pg. 2: Before NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function, the NWDAF firstly discover the MDA Management Function via the MnS discovery service producer as defined in clause TS 28.537 [y].)
wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics (Pg. 2: NWDAF discovers the MDA Management Function from the MnS discovery service producer by sending a MnS producer discovery service operation. The service operation may include the following parameters: requestedMDAType: indicate a specific MDA capability such as Slice coverage analysis, Mobility performance analysis as defined in clause 7.2 of TS 28.104 [x]; Area of lnterest; Network Slice information (i.e. NetworkSliceInfo including a DN (Distinguished Name) of the NetworkSlice managed object relating to the network slice instance associated to the S-NSSAI and NSI ID if available as defined in TS 28.541 [22]).).
Shariat and Huawei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for interaction between NWDAF and MDAS/MDAF.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Huawei to create the MDA management function entity, wherein the discovery of the MDA management function entity is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to allow network functions to discover services offered by other network functions within the communication network.
Claims 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shariat in view of Pateromichelakis and Ma, and further in view of Yao et al (US20210037400A1) (hereinafter "Yao").
Regarding claim 37, Shariat fails to disclose the method, wherein a discovery and a selection of the NWDAF entity are performed before the discovery of the MDA management function entity.
However, Yao discloses the method, wherein a discovery and a selection of the NWDAF entity are performed before the discovery of the MDA management function entity ([0072] Depending on the scenario, MDA 400 may collect data for analysis by acting as an MDAS Consumer, and/or as a management service (MnS) Consumer, and/or as a network data analytics function (NWDAF) subscriber. After analysis, MDA acts as an MDAS Producer to expose the analysis results to MDAS Consumers.).
Shariat and Yao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of data analysis related to managed networks and services using artificial intelligent or machine learning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Yao to create the method, wherein a discovery and a selection of the NWDAF entity are performed before the discovery of the MDA management function entity.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to use analytics input (such as network management data) to determine analytics and diagnose issues impacting the performance of the mobile network or to predict potential future issues.
Regarding claim 38, Shariat fails to disclose the method, wherein a discovery and a selection of the NWDAF entity are performed before the discovery of the MDA management function entity.
However, Yao discloses the method, wherein a discovery and a selection of the NWDAF entity are performed before the discovery of the MDA management function entity ([0072] Depending on the scenario, MDA 400 may collect data for analysis by acting as an MDAS Consumer, and/or as a management service (MnS) Consumer, and/or as a network data analytics function (NWDAF) subscriber. After analysis, MDA acts as an MDAS Producer to expose the analysis results to MDAS Consumers.).
Shariat and Yao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of data analysis related to managed networks and services using artificial intelligent or machine learning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Yao to create the method, wherein a discovery and a selection of the NWDAF entity are performed before the discovery of the MDA management function entity.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to use analytics input (such as network management data) to determine analytics and diagnose issues impacting the performance of the mobile network or to predict potential future issues.
Regarding claim 39, Shariat fails to disclose the NWDAF, wherein a discovery and a selection of the NWDAF entity are performed before the discovery of the MDA management function entity.
However, Yao discloses the NWDAF, wherein a discovery and a selection of the NWDAF entity are performed before the discovery of the MDA management function entity ([0072] Depending on the scenario, MDA 400 may collect data for analysis by acting as an MDAS Consumer, and/or as a management service (MnS) Consumer, and/or as a network data analytics function (NWDAF) subscriber. After analysis, MDA acts as an MDAS Producer to expose the analysis results to MDAS Consumers.).
Shariat and Yao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of data analysis related to managed networks and services using artificial intelligent or machine learning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Yao to create the NWDAF, wherein a discovery and a selection of the NWDAF entity are performed before the discovery of the MDA management function entity.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to use analytics input (such as network management data) to determine analytics and diagnose issues impacting the performance of the mobile network or to predict potential future issues.
Regarding claim 40, Shariat fails to disclose the first MDA management function entity, wherein a discovery and a selection of the NWDAF entity are performed before the discovery of the MDA management function entity.
However, Yao discloses the first MDA management function entity, wherein a discovery and a selection of the NWDAF entity are performed before the discovery of the MDA management function entity ([0072] Depending on the scenario, MDA 400 may collect data for analysis by acting as an MDAS Consumer, and/or as a management service (MnS) Consumer, and/or as a network data analytics function (NWDAF) subscriber. After analysis, MDA acts as an MDAS Producer to expose the analysis results to MDAS Consumers.).
Shariat and Yao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of data analysis related to managed networks and services using artificial intelligent or machine learning.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Shariat with Yao to create the first MDA management function entity, wherein a discovery and a selection of the NWDAF entity are performed before the discovery of the MDA management function entity.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to use analytics input (such as network management data) to determine analytics and diagnose issues impacting the performance of the mobile network or to predict potential future issues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21, 25, 29, and 33, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khare et al (US20230262498A1) discloses a method of selecting a network function that can provide accuracy information. The method may also include sending a request to the network function for accuracy reports for analytics predictions. In addition, the method may include managing analytics predictions based on accuracy reports.
Bega et al (US20240236208A1) discloses a technique of generating information related to predicted data service requests on the basis of information related to past data service requests.
Zhang et al (US20230117382A1) discloses a technique of sending an analytics request to a network entity, the analytics request including at least one analytics identifier; and receiving, from the network entity, a response to the analytics request, wherein the response includes an analytics output from one or more NWDAFs based on the at least one analytics identifier included in the analytics request.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419