This office action is in response to remarks filed on 12/10/2025.
Claims 21, 24-25, 28-29, 32-33, and 36 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 21, 24-25, 28-29, and 32-33 are amended. Claims 22-23, 26-27, 30-31, and 34-35 are canceled. Claim 36 is added.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
Claims 21, 24-25, 28-29, and 32-33 have been considered based on amendments.
Claim 36 has been added and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24-25, 28-29, 32-33, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei et al (S2-2203787) (hereinafter "Huawei") in view of Singh et al (US20220053348A1) (hereinafter "Singh") and Li et al (US20230026697A1) (hereinafter "Li").
Regarding claim 21, Huawei discloses a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
performing a discovery of a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity for network data analytics (Pg. 2: Before NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function, the NWDAF firstly discover the MDA Management Function via the MnS discovery service producer as defined in clause TS 28.537 [y].);
transmitting, to the MDA management function entity, a request message for the network data analytics (Pg. 3: NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function by triggering a MDARequest service operation as defined in clause 9.3.1 of TS 28.104 [x].);
receiving, from the MDA management function entity, first analytics as a response to the request message; and (Pg. 3: The MDA Management Function provides the analytics to the NWDAF by triggering a MDAReporting service operation.)
wherein the first analytics include information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope of the first analytics, and (Pg. 3: The service operation may include the following parameters: requestedMDAOutputs: reguestedMDATvpe; reportingMethod: periodic reporting mode, the periodicity of the report, etc.; analvticsScope: Area of Interest, Network Slice information, etc.).
Huawei fails to disclose a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: identifying second analytics of network data after processing the first analytics.
However, Singh discloses a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: identifying second analytics of network data after processing the first analytics ([0120] In some embodiments, in order for the Central NWDAF to do proper aggregation of the different Output Analytics coming from one or more distributed NWDAFs, the Central NWDAF may need to receive additional analytics metadata related to the received Output Analytics, for example: timestamp of analytics generation, number of samples used to generate analytics, applied model to generate analytics, specific configuration of the applied Analytics function or model, etc.).
Huawei and Singh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for interaction between NWDAF and MDAS/MDAF.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Huawei with Singh to create a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: identifying second analytics of network data after processing the first analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to allow network functions to discover services offered by other network functions within the communication network.
Huawei fails to disclose a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
However, Li discloses a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics ([0022] A network data analytics function (NWDAF) device receives an analysis request message from an analysis requester, where the analysis request message includes an identifier of a tracking area. … The NWDAF device analyzes, based on the plurality of pieces of obtained registration-related information, a radio access selection priority index corresponding to at least one network slice supported by the tracking area. The NWDAF device provides, for an analysis requester, a radio access selection priority index corresponding to at least one network slice supported by the tracking area as an analysis result.).
Huawei and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for enhanced data analytics in multiple network data analytics function deployments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Huawei with Li to create a method performed by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve analytics coverage and ensure that the proper analytics are returned to a consumer from a data source.
Regarding claim 24, Huawei discloses the method, wherein the discovery of the MDA management function entity is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and (Pg. 1: As an MDA MnS Consumer, NWDAF can trigger the MDA MnS to request analytics from the MDA Management Function. Pg. 2: Before NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function, the NWDAF firstly discover the MDA Management Function via the MnS discovery service producer as defined in clause TS 28.537 [y].)
wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics (Pg. 2: NWDAF discovers the MDA Management Function from the MnS discovery service producer by sending a MnS producer discovery service operation. The service operation may include the following parameters: requestedMDAType: indicate a specific MDA capability such as Slice coverage analysis, Mobility performance analysis as defined in clause 7.2 of TS 28.104 [x]; Area of lnterest; Network Slice information (i.e. NetworkSliceInfo including a DN (Distinguished Name) of the NetworkSlice managed object relating to the network slice instance associated to the S-NSSAI and NSI ID if available as defined in TS 28.541 [22]).).
Regarding claim 25, Huawei discloses a method performed by a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity, a request message for network data analytics, wherein a discovery of the MDA management function entity is performed for the network data analytics; and (Pg. 2: Before NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function, the NWDAF firstly discover the MDA Management Function via the MnS discovery service producer as defined in clause TS 28.537 [y]. Pg. 3: NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function by triggering a MDARequest service operation as defined in clause 9.3.1 of TS 28.104 [x].)
transmitting, to the NWDAF entity, first analytics as a response to the request message (Pg. 3: The MDA Management Function provides the analytics to the NWDAF by triggering a MDAReporting service operation.),
wherein the first analytics include information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope of the first analytics, and (Pg. 3: The service operation may include the following parameters: requestedMDAOutputs: reguestedMDATvpe; reportingMethod: periodic reporting mode, the periodicity of the report, etc.; analvticsScope: Area of Interest, Network Slice information, etc.).
Huawei fails to disclose a method performed by a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein second analytics of network data is based on a processing of the first analytics.
However, Singh discloses a method performed by a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein second analytics of network data is based on a processing of the first analytics ([0120] In some embodiments, in order for the Central NWDAF to do proper aggregation of the different Output Analytics coming from one or more distributed NWDAFs, the Central NWDAF may need to receive additional analytics metadata related to the received Output Analytics, for example: timestamp of analytics generation, number of samples used to generate analytics, applied model to generate analytics, specific configuration of the applied Analytics function or model, etc.).
Huawei and Singh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for interaction between NWDAF and MDAS/MDAF.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Huawei with Singh to create a method performed by a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein second analytics of network data is based on a processing of the first analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to allow network functions to discover services offered by other network functions within the communication network.
Huawei fails to disclose a method performed by a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
However, Li discloses a method performed by a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics ([0022] A network data analytics function (NWDAF) device receives an analysis request message from an analysis requester, where the analysis request message includes an identifier of a tracking area. … The NWDAF device analyzes, based on the plurality of pieces of obtained registration-related information, a radio access selection priority index corresponding to at least one network slice supported by the tracking area. The NWDAF device provides, for an analysis requester, a radio access selection priority index corresponding to at least one network slice supported by the tracking area as an analysis result.).
Huawei and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for enhanced data analytics in multiple network data analytics function deployments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Huawei with Li to create a method performed by a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve analytics coverage and ensure that the proper analytics are returned to a consumer from a data source.
Regarding claim 28, Huawei discloses the method, wherein the discovery is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer (Pg. 1: As an MDA MnS Consumer, NWDAF can trigger the MDA MnS to request analytics from the MDA Management Function. Pg. 2: Before NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function, the NWDAF firstly discover the MDA Management Function via the MnS discovery service producer as defined in clause TS 28.537 [y].),
wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics (Pg. 2: NWDAF discovers the MDA Management Function from the MnS discovery service producer by sending a MnS producer discovery service operation. The service operation may include the following parameters: requestedMDAType: indicate a specific MDA capability such as Slice coverage analysis, Mobility performance analysis as defined in clause 7.2 of TS 28.104 [x]; Area of lnterest; Network Slice information (i.e. NetworkSliceInfo including a DN (Distinguished Name) of the NetworkSlice managed object relating to the network slice instance associated to the S-NSSAI and NSI ID if available as defined in TS 28.541 [22]).).
Regarding claim 29, Huawei discloses a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising:
receiving, from a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity, a request message for network data analytics, wherein a discovery of the MDA management function entity is performed for the network data analytics; and (Pg. 2: Before NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function, the NWDAF firstly discover the MDA Management Function via the MnS discovery service producer as defined in clause TS 28.537 [y]. Pg. 3: NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function by triggering a MDARequest service operation as defined in clause 9.3.1 of TS 28.104 [x].)
transmitting, to the NWDAF entity, first analytics as a response to the request message (Pg. 3: The MDA Management Function provides the analytics to the NWDAF by triggering a MDAReporting service operation.),
wherein the first analytics include information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope of the first analytics, and (Pg. 3: The service operation may include the following parameters: requestedMDAOutputs: reguestedMDATvpe; reportingMethod: periodic reporting mode, the periodicity of the report, etc.; analvticsScope: Area of Interest, Network Slice information, etc.).
Huawei fails to disclose a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: identify second analytics of network data after processing the first analytics.
However, Singh discloses a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising:
a transceiver; and ([0072] As illustrated, the apparatus 200 can include a processor 202 in communication with a memory 204 and configured to provide signals to and receive signals from a communication interface 206.)
a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to ([0072] As illustrated, the apparatus 200 can include a processor 202 in communication with a memory 204 and configured to provide signals to and receive signals from a communication interface 206.):
identify second analytics of network data after processing the first analytics ([0120] In some embodiments, in order for the Central NWDAF to do proper aggregation of the different Output Analytics coming from one or more distributed NWDAFs, the Central NWDAF may need to receive additional analytics metadata related to the received Output Analytics, for example: timestamp of analytics generation, number of samples used to generate analytics, applied model to generate analytics, specific configuration of the applied Analytics function or model, etc.).
Huawei and Singh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for interaction between NWDAF and MDAS/MDAF.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Huawei with Singh to create a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: identify second analytics of network data after processing the first analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to allow network functions to discover services offered by other network functions within the communication network.
Huawei fails to disclose a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising: wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
However, Li discloses a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising: wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics ([0022] A network data analytics function (NWDAF) device receives an analysis request message from an analysis requester, where the analysis request message includes an identifier of a tracking area. … The NWDAF device analyzes, based on the plurality of pieces of obtained registration-related information, a radio access selection priority index corresponding to at least one network slice supported by the tracking area. The NWDAF device provides, for an analysis requester, a radio access selection priority index corresponding to at least one network slice supported by the tracking area as an analysis result.).
Huawei and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for enhanced data analytics in multiple network data analytics function deployments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Huawei with Li to create a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a wireless communication system, the NWDAF entity comprising: wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve analytics coverage and ensure that the proper analytics are returned to a consumer from a data source.
Regarding claim 32, Huawei discloses the NWDAF, wherein the discovery of the MDA management function entity is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer, and (Pg. 1: As an MDA MnS Consumer, NWDAF can trigger the MDA MnS to request analytics from the MDA Management Function. Pg. 2: Before NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function, the NWDAF firstly discover the MDA Management Function via the MnS discovery service producer as defined in clause TS 28.537 [y].),
wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics (Pg. 2: NWDAF discovers the MDA Management Function from the MnS discovery service producer by sending a MnS producer discovery service operation. The service operation may include the following parameters: requestedMDAType: indicate a specific MDA capability such as Slice coverage analysis, Mobility performance analysis as defined in clause 7.2 of TS 28.104 [x]; Area of lnterest; Network Slice information (i.e. NetworkSliceInfo including a DN (Distinguished Name) of the NetworkSlice managed object relating to the network slice instance associated to the S-NSSAI and NSI ID if available as defined in TS 28.541 [22]).).
Regarding claim 33, Huawei discloses a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising:
receive, from a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity, a request message for network data analytics, wherein a discovery of the MDA management function entity is performed for the network data analytics, and (Pg. 2: Before NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function, the NWDAF firstly discover the MDA Management Function via the MnS discovery service producer as defined in clause TS 28.537 [y]. Pg. 3: NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function by triggering a MDARequest service operation as defined in clause 9.3.1 of TS 28.104 [x].)
transmit, to the NWDAF entity, first analytics as a response to the request message (Pg. 3: The MDA Management Function provides the analytics to the NWDAF by triggering a MDAReporting service operation.),
wherein the first analytics include information on a reporting target for the first analytics and information on a scope of the first analytics, and (Pg. 3: The service operation may include the following parameters: requestedMDAOutputs: reguestedMDATvpe; reportingMethod: periodic reporting mode, the periodicity of the report, etc.; analvticsScope: Area of Interest, Network Slice information, etc.).
Huawei fails to disclose a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: wherein second analytics of network data is based on a processing of the first analytics.
However, Singh discloses a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising:
a transceiver; and ([0072] As illustrated, the apparatus 200 can include a processor 202 in communication with a memory 204 and configured to provide signals to and receive signals from a communication interface 206.)
a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to ([0072] As illustrated, the apparatus 200 can include a processor 202 in communication with a memory 204 and configured to provide signals to and receive signals from a communication interface 206.):
wherein second analytics of network data is based on a processing of the first analytics ([0120] In some embodiments, in order for the Central NWDAF to do proper aggregation of the different Output Analytics coming from one or more distributed NWDAFs, the Central NWDAF may need to receive additional analytics metadata related to the received Output Analytics, for example: timestamp of analytics generation, number of samples used to generate analytics, applied model to generate analytics, specific configuration of the applied Analytics function or model, etc.).
Huawei and Singh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for interaction between NWDAF and MDAS/MDAF.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Huawei with Singh to create a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: wherein second analytics of network data is based on a processing of the first analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to allow network functions to discover services offered by other network functions within the communication network.
Huawei fails to disclose a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising: wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
However, Li discloses a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising: wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics ([0022] A network data analytics function (NWDAF) device receives an analysis request message from an analysis requester, where the analysis request message includes an identifier of a tracking area. … The NWDAF device analyzes, based on the plurality of pieces of obtained registration-related information, a radio access selection priority index corresponding to at least one network slice supported by the tracking area. The NWDAF device provides, for an analysis requester, a radio access selection priority index corresponding to at least one network slice supported by the tracking area as an analysis result.).
Huawei and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for enhanced data analytics in multiple network data analytics function deployments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Huawei with Li to create a management data analytics (MDA) management function entity in a wireless communication system, the MDA management function entity comprising: wherein the information on the scope of the first analytics includes geographical area information for the first analytics.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve analytics coverage and ensure that the proper analytics are returned to a consumer from a data source.
Regarding claim 32, Huawei discloses the MDA, wherein the discovery is based on an analytics request of an analytics consumer (Pg. 1: As an MDA MnS Consumer, NWDAF can trigger the MDA MnS to request analytics from the MDA Management Function. Pg. 2: Before NWDAF requests analytics from the MDA Management Function, the NWDAF firstly discover the MDA Management Function via the MnS discovery service producer as defined in clause TS 28.537 [y].),
wherein the analytics request includes information on an analytics identity (ID) for the network data analytics (Pg. 2: NWDAF discovers the MDA Management Function from the MnS discovery service producer by sending a MnS producer discovery service operation. The service operation may include the following parameters: requestedMDAType: indicate a specific MDA capability such as Slice coverage analysis, Mobility performance analysis as defined in clause 7.2 of TS 28.104 [x]; Area of lnterest; Network Slice information (i.e. NetworkSliceInfo including a DN (Distinguished Name) of the NetworkSlice managed object relating to the network slice instance associated to the S-NSSAI and NSI ID if available as defined in TS 28.541 [22]).).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21, 25, 29, and 33, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419