DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not only rely on citations of the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13, 15-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AKKAYA et al. (US 20190306386 A1) in view of Price et al. (US 20210358156 A1).
Regarding claim 12. AKKAYA discloses A system (figure 1, [0016] FIG. 1 shows aspects of an example camera 100) comprising:
a camera module having a liquid crystal optical shutter (figure 1, [0016] FIG. 1 shows aspects of an example camera 100. Camera 100 includes a sensor array 104 of individually addressable sensor elements 106; [0021] an electronically switchable optical filter 114 is included; [0023] Optical filter 114 includes one or more layers of liquid crystals (LC) that are used to selectively block spectral light in the spectral light sub-band) and connected to a synchronization circuit ([0053] Electronic controller machine 120 is configured to switch optical filter 114 from the reflection state to the transmission state and, synchronously address sensor elements 106 of sensor array 104 to acquire a monochrome image) and a processing circuit ([0052] Electronic controller machine 120; [0059] another processing component for additional image processing (e.g., filtering, computer vision). In some examples, the processing component may be incorporated into the camera 100. In some examples, the processing component may be incorporated into a remote computing device in communication with the camera 100), and
an infrared light source for IR illumination (figure 1 unit 118, [0048] An IR illuminator 118 is configured to emit active IR light to illuminate the subject 102);
wherein, when the liquid crystal optical shutter is in an open state during ambient light exposure, the liquid crystal optical shutter allows incident visible light and infrared light to reach the camera module ([0018] Such operation and materials of the sensor array allows for the same sensor array to be used to measure active light across a broad spectrum (e.g., ˜400-1100 nm) including ultraviolet, visible, NIR, and IR light; [0021] Configured for visible as well as IR imaging. In implementations in which both visible and IR response is required at each sensor element, all of the color filter elements may be highly transmissive in the IR band of interest. For this purpose, in implementations in which both visible and IR imaging are provided, an electronically switchable optical filter 114 is included; [0022] In the transmission state, optical filter 114 is configured to transmit light both inside and outside the spectral light sub-band. In some implementations, optical filter 114 may be broadly transmissive in the transmission state—i.e., transmitting all of the wavelengths blocked and transmitted in the reflection state) and the processing circuit produces a first image for computer vision ([0059] electronic controller machine 120 may be configured to output the matrix of pixels 126 (and/or any other suitable parameter value) to any suitable recipient internal or external to the camera 100. For example, electronic controller machine 120 may be configured to output the matrix of pixels 126 to another processing component for additional image processing (e.g., filtering, computer vision)); and
when the liquid crystal optical shutter is in a closed state, the infrared light source is activated for IR illumination of one or more objects outside the camera module, the liquid crystal optical shutter blocks incident visible light but allows incident infrared light to reach the camera module ([0053] electronic controller machine 120 is configured to switch optical filter 114 from the transmission state to the reflection state, synchronously modulate IR emitter 118, and address sensor elements 106 of sensor array 104 to acquire an IR image; [0029] [0044] when the optical filter is in the reflection state, the optical filter 114 can be used for IR/depth imaging without interference from impinging spectral light outside of the IR light sub-band (e.g. visible light); [0048] An IR illuminator 118 is configured to emit active IR light to illuminate the subject 102; [0057] In time-of-flight (ToF) implementations, the illumination source—an IR emitter—may project pulsed or otherwise modulated IR illumination towards the subject. The sensor array of the depth-imaging camera may be configured to detect the phase offset between the illumination reflected back from the subject and the modulated emission. In some implementations, the phase offset of each sensor element may be converted into a pixel-resolved time-of-flight of the pulsed illumination, from the illumination source to the subject and then to the array. ToF data may then be converted into depth; [0083] an infrared, color, stereoscopic, and/or depth camera for machine vision and/or gesture recognition; [0070] At 504 of method 500, an IR illuminator of the camera is activated to illuminate a subject with active IR light; [0086] the controller machine may be configured to activate the IR illuminator to illuminate a subject with the active IR light while the optical filter is in the reflection state) and the processing circuit produces a second image ([0022] In the reflection state, optical filter 114 is configured to block spectral light in a spectral light sub-band (e.g., visible light sub-band) and transmit light outside the spectral light sub-band (e.g., NIR or IR sub-bands); [0070] At 506 of method 500, each of a plurality of sensors of a sensor array of the camera is addressed to measure an aspect of the active IR light emitted from the IR illuminator and reflected from the subject back to each of the sensors; [0055] In combination depth- and flat-imaging applications, both of the above addressing modes may be used in an alternating (i.e., multiplexed) manner synchronously timed with corresponding switching the state of optical filter 114).
However, AKKAYA doesn’t explicitly disclose
the processing circuit performs simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) on the visible light and the infrared light;
the processing circuit performs IR-based tracking of the one or more objects using the incident infrared light and produces a second image for IR-based object tracking.
Price discloses
a processing circuit performs simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) on visible light and infrared light ([0073] cameras that are primarily used for computer vision to perform head tracking (e.g., as referenced above with reference to visual-inertial SLAM). These cameras can detect visible light, or even a combination of visible and IR light (e.g., a range of IR light, including IR light having a wavelength of about 850 nm));
the processing circuit performs IR-based tracking of one or more objects using incident infrared light and produces an image for IR-based object tracking ([0073] cameras that are primarily used for computer vision to perform head tracking. Thermal/long wavelength IR devices (i.e. thermal imaging cameras) have pixel sizes that are about 10 μm or larger and detect heat radiated from the environment. These cameras are sensitive to wavelengths in the 8 μm to 14 μm range. Some embodiments also include mid-IR cameras configured to detect at least mid-IR light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of AKKAYA according to the invention of Price, to perform SLAM, in order to better track objects; and to perform IR-based tracking, in order to better track objects in dark.
Regarding claim 13. AKKAYA discloses The system as in claim 12, wherein the synchronization circuit conducts synchronization of the infrared light source with the liquid crystal optical shutter (figure 1 unit 118, [0048] An IR illuminator 118 is configured to emit active IR light to illuminate the subject 102; [0053] electronic controller machine 120 is configured to switch optical filter 114 from the transmission state to the reflection state, synchronously modulate IR emitter 118, and address sensor elements 106 of sensor array 104 to acquire an IR image; [0055] In combination depth- and flat-imaging applications, both of the above addressing modes may be used in an alternating (i.e., multiplexed) manner synchronously timed with corresponding switching the state of optical filter 114).
Regarding claim 15. AKKAYA discloses The system as in claim 12, wherein the liquid crystal optical shutter is integrated into the camera module (figure 1, [0021] an electronically switchable optical filter 114 is included).
Regarding claim 16. AKKAYA discloses The system as in claim 12, wherein the infrared light source is directed to objects outside the camera module where some infrared light from the infrared light source is reflected from outside the camera module into the camera module (figure 1 unit 118, [0048] An IR illuminator 118 is configured to emit active IR light to illuminate the subject 102; [0053] electronic controller machine 120 is configured to switch optical filter 114 from the transmission state to the reflection state, synchronously modulate IR emitter 118, and address sensor elements 106 of sensor array 104 to acquire an IR image).
Regarding claim 17. AKKAYA discloses The system as in claim 16, wherein the infrared light source produces linearly polarized infrared light ([0029] in the reflection state, IR light (e.g., 222 of FIG. 2A) in the IR light sub-band 226 is transmitted with high efficiency independent of its polarization; [0069] when the optical filter is switched to the reflection state, the optical filter may block visible light and transmit IR light regardless of polarization of the light).
Regarding claim 18. AKKAYA discloses The system as in claim 12, further comprising a distinguisher that distinguishes foreground objects from background objects ([0057] the phase offset of each sensor element may be converted into a pixel-resolved time-of-flight of the pulsed illumination, from the illumination source to the subject and then to the array. ToF data may then be converted into depth (inherently foreground and background objects are distinguished by their depth)).
Regarding claim 19. AKKAYA discloses The system as in claim 18, wherein at least one of the foreground objects is tracked ([0057] the phase offset of each sensor element may be converted into a pixel-resolved time-of-flight of the pulsed illumination, from the illumination source to the subject and then to the array. ToF data may then be converted into depth; [0056] The term ‘depth video’ refers herein to a time-resolved sequence of depth maps (corresponding to object tracking)).
Regarding claim 20. AKKAYA discloses The system as in claim 19, wherein the at least one of the foreground objects is a hand ([0074] computing system 600 may take the form of camera 100 or electronic controller machine 120 of FIG. 1; [0075] Computing system 600 may optionally include a input subsystem 608; [0083] the input subsystem may comprise or interface with selected natural user input (NUI) componentry. Example NUI componentry may include an infrared, color, stereoscopic, and/or depth camera for machine vision and/or gesture recognition (corresponding to hand recognition)).
Regarding claim 21. (New) Price discloses The system as in claim 19, wherein the first image for computer vision is for head tracking ([0073] cameras that are primarily used for computer vision to perform head tracking (e.g., as referenced above with reference to visual-inertial SLAM). These cameras can detect visible light, or even a combination of visible and IR light (e.g., a range of IR light, including IR light having a wavelength of about 850 nm)).
The same motivation has been stated in claim 12.
Regarding claim 22. (New) Price discloses The system as in claim 19, wherein the one or more objects comprise a hand and the second image is for IR-based hand tracking ([0073] cameras that are primarily used for computer vision to perform … tracking. Thermal/long wavelength IR devices (i.e. thermal imaging cameras) have pixel sizes that are about 10 μm or larger and detect heat radiated from the environment. These cameras are sensitive to wavelengths in the 8 μm to 14 μm range. Some embodiments also include mid-IR cameras configured to detect at least mid-IR light; [0058] To convert a raw image into a passthrough image, the scanning sensor(s) 205 typically rely on its cameras (e.g., head tracking cameras, hand tracking cameras, depth cameras, or any other type of camera) to obtain one or more raw images of the environment (MPEP 2144.07: intended use: tracking is used for hand tracking)).
The same motivation has been stated in claim 12.
Regarding claim 23. (New) Price discloses The system as in claim 19, being part of an extended reality, XR, device ([0001] Mixed-reality systems, including virtual-reality and augmented-reality systems; figure 2).
Regarding claim 24. (New) AKKAYA in view of Price discloses The system as in claim 12, wherein the liquid crystal optical shutter is configured to cyclically alternate between the open state and the closed stated and the processing circuit to alternatively produce the first image for computer vision and the second image for IR-based object tracking using the camera module (AKKAYA [0053] electronic controller machine 120 may be configured to control camera 100 to alternately acquire IR images and visible light images; AKKAYA [0055] both of the above addressing modes may be used in an alternating (i.e., multiplexed) manner synchronously timed with corresponding switching the state of optical filter 114; Price [0073] cameras that are primarily used for computer vision to perform head tracking. These cameras can detect visible light, or even a combination of visible and IR light (e.g., a range of IR light, including IR light having a wavelength of about 850 nm). Thermal/long wavelength IR devices (i.e. thermal imaging cameras) have pixel sizes that are about 10 μm or larger and detect heat radiated from the environment. These cameras are sensitive to wavelengths in the 8 μm to 14 μm range. Some embodiments also include mid-IR cameras configured to detect at least mid-IR light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of AKKAYA according to the invention of Price, to apply AKKAYA’s camera system in computer vision and IR-based tracking alternatively, in order to better track objects.
Regarding claim 25. (New) AKKAYA discloses The system as in claim 19, wherein the camera module comprises a mono wide-angle camera (figure 1, [0016] FIG. 1 shows aspects of an example camera 100. The term ‘camera’ refers herein to any imaging component having at least one optical aperture and sensor array configured to image a scene or subject 102. Camera 100 includes a sensor array 104 of individually addressable sensor elements 106).
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 18 is dependent on a canceled claim 14. Appropriate correction is required.
Conclusion
/XIAOLAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488