DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 06 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 114-116 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06 July 2026.
Applicant’s election of anti-CD33 polypeptide comprising VH of SEQ ID NO: 151 and VL of SEQ ID NO: 176 in the reply filed on 06 July 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 35, 38, 40, 43, 46, 51, 56, 61, and 78 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06 July 2026.
Claim Status
Claims 3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-14, 16-19, 21-24, 26-34, 36-37, 39, 41-42, 44-45, 47-50, 52-55, 57-60, 62-69, 72-77, 79-80, 82-94, 97-98, 100-113, and 117-153 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 10, 15, 20, 25, 35, 38, 40, 43, 46, 51, 56, 61, 70-71, 78, 81, 95-96, 99, and 114-116 as filed on 06 July 2026 are pending. Claims 35, 38, 40, 43, 46, 51, 56, 61, 78, and 114-116 are withdrawn. Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 10, 15, 20, 25, 70-71, 81, 95-96, and 99 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 15, 20, 25, and 95 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 95 recites the limitation "the polypeptides, scFvs, mAbs, or CARs of claim 1" in lines 1-2. The claim depends from claim 1 which recites polypeptides but does not recites scFvs, mAbs, or CARs. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 10, 15, 20, and 25 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of a polypeptide which selectively binds a polymorphic cancer cell antigen of CD33 is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons:
The CD33 binding antibodies of claims 10, 15, 20, and 25 do not share a single structural similarity as they are to different antibodies with different CDR sequences of the heavy and light chains. The distinct CDRs are shown in Tables 4a and 5a and identified as Polypeptides 1-42.
The CD33 binding antibodies labelled polypeptides 1-42 do not share a common use as shown by the different binding activity. Polypeptides 1-25 are identified in Table 4a as R69 selective polypeptides and show selective binding of R69 but not G69 (Table 8a). While Polypeptides 26-42 are identified as R69G selective polypeptides (Table 5a) and unlike polypeptides 1-25, polypeptides 26-42 share selective binding over G69 over Jurkat Parental and not R69 (Table 8a). These 2 groups of CD33 binding antibodies, Polypeptides 1-25 and Polypeptides 26-42, show different binding patterns based on unique structures.
When comparing Polypeptides 1-42 the binding of CD33 is not enough to be considered a single structural similarity or a common use. Tables 4a, 5a, and 8a show two distinct groups of antibodies comprising Polypeptides 1-25 and Polypeptides 26-42 as evidenced by their binding activity. The antibodies retain common use only with those within the same group.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 10, 15, 20, 25, 70-71, 81, 95-96, and 99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or it may be satisfied by the disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. “Functional” terminology may be used “when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” but “merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing one has invented a genus and not just a species. Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F3d 1336, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1171 (Fed Cir. 2010).
Scope of the Claimed Genus
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7 are to a polypeptide that selectively binds a polymorphic variant of a cancer antigen, claims 2, 4, and 7 require the cancer antigen is CD33. The claims do not provide any structural or sequence limitations on the polypeptide.
Claim 10 requires the polypeptide comprises a heavy chain variable domain of CDR1 of at least 95% identity of SEQ ID NO: 1-25 and 201-217; CDR2 of at least 95% identity of SEQ ID NO: 26-50 and 218-234; and CDR3 of at least 95% identity of SEQ ID NO: 51-75 and 235-251. This allows for changes to the sequences of the CDRs and mixing and matching of the CDR sequences.
Claim 15 requires the polypeptide comprises a light chain variable domain of CDR1 of at least 95% identity of SEQ ID NO: 76-100 and 252-268; CDR2 of at least 95% identity of SEQ ID NO: 101-125 and 269-285; and CDR3 of at least 95% identity of SEQ ID NO: 126-150 and 286-302. This allows for changes to the sequences of the CDRs and mixing and matching of the CDR sequences.
Claim 20 requires the polypeptide comprises a heavy chain variable domain that has an amino acid sequence of at least 95% identity of SEQ ID NO: 151-175 and 303-319. This includes variation on the CDR sequences of the heavy and light chains.
Claim 25 requires the polypeptide comprises a light chain variable domain that has an amino acid sequence of at least 95% identity of SEQ ID NO: 176-200 and 320-336. This allows for changes to the sequences of the CDRs of light and heavy chains.
None of the claims are limited to fully defined CDRs of the heavy and light chain variable domains.
Summary of Species Disclosed in the original specification
Applicant discloses 42 selective CD33 binding domains identified as polypeptides 1-42 (Tables 4a, 5a, 6a, and 7a). Polypeptides 1-42 have fully defined CDRs of the heavy and light chains and are shown to have known selective binding activity to polymorphic CD33 (Table 8a).
State of the Relevant Art
Sialic acid-binding Ig-like lectin 3 (CD33) is a transmembrane receptor expressed on cells of myeloid lineage and found on myeloid cells and some lymphoid cells. CD33 is a lectin of the SIGLEC family and binds sialic acid (Galetto WO 2015150526 A2) (IDS) (page 2 in lines 17-22). CD33 is a known target by antibodies in treatment of AML (abstract, page 3 in lines 9-25, and Figures 1-6). Selective binding of CD33 variants by antibodies is a known strategy for increased efficacy in treatment of cancer (Godwin et. al. Leukemia. 34(9):2479-2483. (2020)) (PTO-892) (page 1 in par 2, Figure 1, and Supplemental Figure 4).
It has been well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site in a conventional antibody requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which comprises three CDRs (or hypervariable regions) which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. E.g., Almagro et. al., Front. Immunol. 2018; 8:1751 (PTO-892) (see Section “The IgG Molecule” in paragraph 1 and Figure 1). While affinity maturation techniques can result in differences in the CDRs of the antibody compared to its parental antibody (page 3 “The IgG Molecule”, second and third paragraphs), those techniques involve trial-and-error testing and the changes that maintain or improve affinity are not predictable a priori. E.g., id., (page 6 ending paragraph onto page 7). But while this overall structure is shared amongst antibodies from a wide variety of sources (human, rat, mouse, rabbit), the structure of each monoclonal antibody uses to bind its particular epitope on an antigen is structurally distinct and is formed by a recombination event that results in high variability at the amino acid sequence level (see Section 3 “Antibody Structure and the Antigen Binding Site” and Figure 1). The epitope of an antibody does not provide structure or sequence information about the antibody that binds it.
Further, the skilled artisan has long recognized that even minor changes in the amino acid sequences of the VH and VL, particularly in the CDRs, may dramatically affect antigen-binding function as evidenced by Brown et al., J. Immunol., 156(9):3285- 91 (1996) (PTO-892). Brown teaches that although a single amino acid change in CDR2 of heavy chain of a particular antibody was tolerated, the antibody lost binding upon introduction of two amino acid changes in the same region. Brown, p. 3290 and Tables 1 and 2. Table 1 of Brown shows that even a conservative substitution does not ensure that functionality of the antibody is retained. These older citations are supported my more recent discoveries of why these substitutions change antibody activity. Marvin et. al., Biochemistry, 42(23):7077-7083 (2003) (“Marvin” PTO-892) teaches that changes to the heavy and light chains altered binding affinity (Table 2) with changes to the CDR having large impacts but the changes with the largest impact were from residues in the CDR, but not from ones interfacing with the antigen ( Page 7081 in col 1 “Conclusions and Discussion” and Page 7082 in Figure 4).
This is confirmed by Chiu et al., Antibodies, 8(55):1-80. (2019) (“Chiu” PTO-892). Chiu teaches that the complementarity-determining regions (HCDRs 1-3 and LCDRs 1-3) determine antigen binding requiring specific sequences and orientation of those sequences to properly form tertiary structures that can recognize and bind antigens (Page 4 in 1.2.2 first and last paragraphs and Figure 3). Chiu teaches that antibody modeling with known LCDRs 1-3, HCDR1 and HCDR2 could not predict HCDR3. The field has shown repeatedly over decades that Structure-Based antibody engineering is unable to predict antibody sequences (Page 6 in 1.2.6, Pages 10-11 in Section 2 in particular second paragraph of page 11). Chiu notes the advancement in antibody engineering but notes it is still not possible to predict the point mutations that would improve affinity in both antibodies and multispecific molecules (Page 51 in lines 6-12).
In general, absent at least the conserved structure of the CDRs of the heavy chain and light chain of an antibody, the skilled artisan generally would not be able to visualize or otherwise predict what an antibody would look like structurally based on a particular set of functional properties. An epitope does not inform one of skill in the art of the structure of the antibody that binds it and a partial structure of variable CDRs or variable heavy or light chains do not provide sufficient information for the CDRs of an antibody.
Are the disclosed species representative of the claimed genus?
MPEP § 2163 states that a “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The specification discloses 42 selective anti-CD33 binding domains. The genus of CD33 binding polypeptides is a large and variable genus. The disclosed 42 selective anti-CD33 antibodies is not representative of this genus as changes to the CDRs change the binding activity as taught by the art and shown by applicant’s disclosure of varying binding activity of the 42 antibodies in Table 8a. The disclosure of a set of CDRs of an antibody provides written description for that antibody and not additional antibodies with varied CDR sequences.
Identifying characteristics and structure/function correlation
In the absence of a representative number of species, the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics; i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. To meet this requirement in the instant case, the specification must describe structural features that the skilled artisan as of the effective filing date would have expected to convey the claimed binding activity.
As described above the structure in an antibody that provides its binding activity
is the set of 6 CDRs. As changes to the amino acids of the CDRs change an antibodies function, the CDRs of the disclosed antibodies do not disclose additional antibodies. The binding activity of an antibody does not provide structure to an antibody. The limitation of binding a variant of CD33 does not provide any written description for structure of CDRs that bind them and the CDRs of one antibody do not provide the structure and function of other CDR sequences.
Conclusion:
For all of the reasons presented above, one of skill in the art would not know which peptides or CDR combinations of the claims would meet the structural and functional requirements of the claims. The applicant has not provided a representative number of species for all of the polypeptides which selectively bind any polymorphic cancer cell antigen of CD33. The only antigen binding polypeptides disclosed by the applicant are antigen-binding domains or antibodies. The functional structure of an antibody are its 6 CDRs that provide binding activity based on the sequences of those CDRs, the CDRs of one antibody do not provide one of skill in the art with the functional CDRs of additional antibodies so the variability of the CDRs of the rejected claims mean there is there is no structure/function correlation, and the disclosed species do not provide written description for additional antibodies.
Given the lack of shared structural properties that provide the claimed binding activity, the 42 disclosed species, and the fact that the species that were described cannot be considered representative of the broad genus, Applicant was not in possession of the invention of the claims that includes products with varying sequences of the CDRs.
This rejection could be overcome by limiting the claims to specific combinations of six CDRs that applicant has shown written description for.
Examiner notes that Applicant’s elected species of a CD33 binding antibody that comprises the VH and VL of SEQ ID NO: 151 and 176, respectively, comprising the HCDR 1, 2, and 3 of SEQ ID NO: 1, 26, and 51, respectively, with LCDR 1, 2, and 3 of SEQ ID NO: 76, 101, and 126, respectively, has written description and appears to be free of the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Godwin et. al. Leukemia. 34(9):2479-2483. (2020) (PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, and 71, Godwin teaches anti-CD33 antibodies including 11D5 and 13E11 which specifically bind the CD33 variant that does not comprise exon 2 (page 1 in par 2, Figure 1, and Supplemental Figure 4). This antibody is then a polypeptide that selectively binds a polymorphic variant of CD33 by at least 2-fold.
Claims 1, 70-71, 78, 81, 95-96, and 99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walter (WO 2018218207 A1) (PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, Walter teaches anti-CD33 antibodies that bind alternative epitopes of CD33 (abstract) and teaches P67.6 which binds CD33 at the distal V-set Ig-like domain of CD33 and thus does not recognize the CD33 ΔE2 isoform ([0014]).
Regarding claims 70-71 and 81, Walter teaches a CAR comprising an extracellular domain of the CD33 binding antibodies described by Walter ([0016]) and teaches the antibodies of the invention are in multiple forms including an scFvs ([0052]).
Regarding claim 78, Walter teaches ADCs comprising the antibodies of the invention ([0131]-[0132]).
Regarding claims 95-96, and 99, Walter teaches lentiviral vectors that encode the CARs of the invention to transfect immune cells ([0193]-[0196]) and specifically teaches nucleic acids that encode CD33 binding CARs ([0104]).
Conclusion
No claims allowable.
/F.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643