DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 6, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the abstract have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 26, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8 that Hiorth does not supply an aramid braiding to be part of the high strength cord, as in amended claim 1 (previous claim 3). Applicant argues that the passage referenced in the Office Action is specific to the lumen. However, Hiorth, the primary reference, pgs 28-29 further details the braiding reinforcement that envelopes the high strength cord. Hiorth teaches twisting inside of the lumen with the cord. Therefore, Hiorth still supplies the recited limitation in the amended claim language to claim 1 (previous claim 3) wherein the cord comprises braided or twisted strands of a synthetic aramid polymer. The claimed invention does not limit in what way the cord consists of the synthetic polymer beyond twisted strands or braiding, or limit to what extent the cord consists of the aforementioned polymer. In other words, the engagement described still reads over the presented claimed invention in amended claim 1.
The arguments related to the dependent claims incorporate the previous argument regarding claim 1, and therefore are not persuasive for the same reasons as presented above.
For at least these reasons, the Office maintains grounds of rejection presented in the Office Action mailed February 26, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 10-11, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIORTH et al. WO 2020109599 A1, here in referred to as Hiorth, in view of Dyneema fact sheet.
Re. Claim 1, Hiorth discloses a method for repairing a cardiac valve (pg 1, lines 1-5), the method comprising: attaching a high strength cord (Fig 10, artificial chordae lines 14, pg 53, lines 26-40) to targeted tissue of a heart (pg 1, lines 1-5), the high strength cord including a distal anchor (Fig 10, self-expandable leaflet anchor 10) and a suture (Fig 16, suture 68.) extending proximally from the distal anchor implant, and anchoring a proximal end of the high strength cord to the heart (pg 53, lines 26-40 & pg 54, lines 1-11), wherein the high strength cord comprises braided or twisted strands of a synthetic aramid polymer (Pg 69, lines19-20).
Hiorth does not disclose the high strength cord having a tensile strength of at least 2000MPa.
However, the Dyneema fact sheet discloses a similar high strength medical cord. The Dyneema fact sheet teaches the high strength cord having a tensile strength of at least 2000MPa (pg 65, 35-40; Dyneema fact sheet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the cardial repair method of Hiorth to incorporate the high strength cord having a tensile strength of at least 2000MPa, as taught and suggested by the Dyneema fact sheet to be sufficient strong cord material [table of physical properties].
Re. Claim 4, the combination of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet discloses wherein the braided or twisted strands of the synthetic aramid polymer surround a core structure (Pg 69, lines19-20).
Re. Claim 5, the combination of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet discloses wherein the synthetic aramid strands cover at least 50% of the core structure (Pg 50 33-37, main portion of chord interpreted as at least 50%).
Re. Claim 6, the combination of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet discloses wherein the high strength cord comprises a core portion (Pg 69, lines19-20) of braided or twisted strands of a synthetic aramid polymer (Pg 69, lines19-20) and a coating material coating the core portion, the coating material configured to improve biostability (Pg 50, lines 33-37).
Re. Claim 10, the combination of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet discloses wherein the coating material comprises expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (pg 40, lines 27-37).
Re. Claim 11, the combination of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet discloses wherein the high strength cord comprises a core portion (Pg 69, lines19-20) the braided twisted strands of a synthetic aramid polymer (Pg 69, lines19-20) and a jacket portion surrounding the core portion (Pg 50, lines 33-37).
Re. Claim 15, the combination of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet discloses wherein the jacket portion comprises expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (pg 52, 7-23).
Re. Claim 17, the combination of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet discloses wherein anchoring the proximal end includes securing the proximal end to an external wall of the heart (pg 59, lines 1-5).
Re. Claim 18, the combination of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet discloses wherein anchoring (Fig 38, papillary anchor 9) the proximal end includes securing the proximal end to a papillary muscle of the heart Annotated Fig 38 below, pg 2, lines 7-9).
Annotated Figure 38, Hiorth et al.
Re. Claim 19, the combination of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet discloses wherein the targeted tissue includes a leaflet of a mitral valve (Fig 15, pg 65, 8-19).
Re. Claim 20, the combination of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet discloses wherein the distal anchor is a bulky (Fig 47, 65, pg 80, 30-31) knot formed using the high strength cord ((pg 65, 35-40; Dyneema fact sheet).
Re. Claim 16, the combination of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the jacket portion is formed from ribbons of flattened expanded polytetrafluoroethylene.
However, in another embodiment Hiorth discloses a similar method of cardiac repair. Hiorth also teaches wherein the jacket portion is formed from ribbons (pgs 28, lines 24-37 and 1-2) of flattened expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (pg 52, 7-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the base cardiac repair method of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet to incorporate wherein the jacket portion is formed from ribbons of flattened expanded polytetrafluoroethylene as taught and suggested by Hiorth In order to allow more reliable adjustments (pgs 28, lines 24-37).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIORTH in view of the Dyneema fact sheet, and further in view of Sogard US 20070173930 A1, herein referred to as Sogard.
Re. Claim 2, the combination of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet does not discloses wherein the high strength cord consists of synthetic aramid polymer fibers.
However, Sogard discloses a similar method for cardiovascular repair using a strength cord. Sogard teaches wherein the high strength cord consists of synthetic aramid polymer fibers (Fig 3, cord 330, [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the base cardiac repair method of Hiorth and the Dyneema fact sheet to incorporate wherein the high strength cord consists of synthetic aramid polymer fiber, as taught and suggested by Sogard in order to make the cord autologous with the grafting area [0035]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.F./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/KATRINA M STRANSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700