DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to amendments filed on 04/06/2026. Claims 1-20 are previously cancelled. Claims 21-27, 29-31, 36-38 are currently cancelled. Claims 28, 32, 35 and 39 are currently amended. Claims 41-53 are newly added. Claims 28, 32-35, 39-53 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/06/2026 with respect to claims 28, 35, 41-53 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 28, 32, 33, 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2023/0111064 A1) in view of Matsumura (US 2025/0344221 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Rahman teaches a method comprising:
identify a maximum number of sounding reference signals (SRS) resources (SRS ports) supported by a user equipment (UE) for codebook operation (codebook based PUSCH) ([1135], Fig. 22, step 2200—UE {considered- based on [1134] and [1145]} generates information about a report, the report including at least one capability value about an uplink (UL) transmission; wherein [1138], the capability value corresponds to a maximum number of SRS antenna ports {SRS resources per SRS resource set—[0524]—a SRS resource with 4 SRS ports—[0159]—i.e. 2 SRS resource with 8 SRS ports--considered} associated with the UL transmission {codebook based PUSCH—[0130]; [0330]}.) (Hence it is obvious, the UE identifies a maximum 8 SRS ports for a codebook based PUSCH operation to generate capability report.), the maximum number of SRS resources (SRS ports) being eight SRS resources (SRS ports) ([1138], the capability value corresponds to a maximum number of SRS antenna ports {SRS resources per SRS resource set—[0524]—a SRS resource with 4 SRS ports—[0232]—i.e. 2 SRS resource with 8 SRS ports--considered}); and
generate a capability report message for transmission ( [1135], Fig. 22, step 2200-- UE {considered- based on [1134] and [1145]} generates information about a report, the report including at least one capability value about an uplink (UL) transmission; then [1136], in step 2204-tarnsmits the report.)(the UE generates a capability report for transmission.), the capability report message indicating the codebook operation (codebook based PUSCH), that the maximum number of the SRS resources(SRS ports) supported by the UE is eight SRS resources(SRS ports) ( [1137], step 2206-- the BS receives the report, wherein the report includes an indicator indicating the at least one capability value; wherein [1138], the capability value corresponds to a maximum number of SRS antenna ports {SRS resources per SRS resource set—see [0524]--a SRS resource with 4 SRS ports—see[0232]—i.e. 2 SRS resource with 8 SRS ports--considered } associated with the UL transmission {codebook based PUSCH—[0130]; [0330]}.)(Hence the capability report indicates codebook based PUSCH operation, that max 8 SRS ports supported by the UE. ), and the at least one coherency(Full-Coherent) supported for eight transmission uplink operation ([0140],UE reports UE capability value including a coherence type of its antenna ports (e.g., SRS antenna ports, or PUSCH antenna ports). Wherein [0144]; [0155]-- index I of UE capability value indicates Full-coherent (FC) indicating all SRS ports{ a SRS resource with 4 SRS ports—[0159]—i.e. 2 SRS resource with 8 SRS ports—considered--associated with the UL/PUSCH transmission—see [1138]}.) (Hence the capability report indicates a Full-Coherent supported for 8 TX {with 8 SRS ports} uplink/PUSCH.).
Rahman implicitly teaches eight transmission uplink operation.
Rahman does not explicitly teach identifying at least one coherency supported by the UE for eight transmission uplink operation for the codebook operation;
However, in an analogous art, Matsumura teaches a method comprising:
identifying at least one coherency(FullCoherent) supported by the UE([0067], The UE capability information {indicated by an RRC parameter “pusch-TransCoherence” --indicating UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or nonCoherent—see [0070]) may be precoder type information {that UE determines—see [0068]; [0069]} to be used by the UE in PUSCH transmission) for eight transmission uplink(PUSCH) operation for the codebook operation([0128], When a UE supports UL (PUSCH) transmission and includes 8 TX (eight antenna ports), the UE transmits (report), to a network (base station), UE capability information related to antenna layout/antenna coherency of the UE for codebook-based PUSCH transmission. ) (Hence the UE identifies FullCoherent supported by for 8 TX codebook PUSCH operation.); and
the capability report message(information) indicating the at least one coherency (FullCoherent) supported for eight transmission uplink (PUSCH) operation ( [0128], When a UE supports 8-layer maximum UL (PUSCH) transmission and includes 8 TX (eight antenna ports), the UE transmits (report), to a network (base station), UE capability information related to antenna layout/antenna coherency of the UE for codebook-based PUSCH transmission; wherein [0067], The UE capability information{ indicated by an RRC parameter “pusch-TransCoherence”—indicating UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or nonCoherent—see [0070]} that is to be used by the UE in PUSCH transmission.)(Hence the capability report message indicates a FullCoherent supported for 8 TX PUSCH opration.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Matsumura and apply them on the teaching of Rahman to provide UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or noncoherent (Matsumura; [0070]).
Regarding claim 32, Rahman further teaches wherein the SRS resources comprise SRS ports ([0524]; SRS resources have SRS ports.).
Regarding claim 33, Rahman further teaches wherein the capability report message further indicates ([0362]) whether the SRS ports are to be configured within one SRS resource or split among multiple SRS resources ([0524]).
Regarding claim 44, Rahman do not teach wherein the processing circuitry is further to: identify a transmission configuration message, received from a base station, to configure the UE for less than eight transmission uplink operation; identify at least one coherency supported by the UE for less than eight transmission uplink operation; and generate a coherency indication message indicating the at least one coherency supported for less than eight transmission uplink operation
However, in an analogous art, Matsumura teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further to:
identify a transmission configuration message, received from a base station, to configure the UE for less than eight transmission ([0127]—7 TX) uplink operation (PUSCH)([0128]; [0068]);
identify at least one coherency supported by the UE for less than eight transmission ([0127]—7 TX) uplink operation (PUSCH)([0128]; [0067]; [0070]); and
generate a coherency indication message indicating the at least one coherency (fullcoherent) supported for less than eight transmission([0127]—7 TX) uplink operation (PUSCH) ( [0127]; [0128], When a UE supports 8-layer maximum UL (PUSCH) transmission and includes 8 TX (eight antenna ports), the UE transmits (report), to a network (base station), UE capability information related to antenna layout/antenna coherency of the UE for codebook-based PUSCH transmission; wherein [0067], The UE capability information{ indicated by an RRC parameter “pusch-TransCoherence”—indicating UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or nonCoherent—see [0070]} that is to be used by the UE in PUSCH transmission.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Matsumura and apply them on the teaching of Rahman to provide UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or noncoherent (Matsumura; [0070]).
5. Claims 34, 35, 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2023/0111064 A1) in view of Matsumura (US 2025/0344221 A1), in view of Meng (US 2023/0275727 A1).
Regarding claim 34, Rahman- Matsumura does not teach wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to identify a capability request, wherein the capability report message is generated based at least in part on the identification of the capability request.
However, in an analogous art, Meng teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry (610 of UE-Fig. 6; [0114]) to identify a capability request ([0054], LMF130 sends a request of capability report to UE 110. If the UE 110 receives the request.) (Hence the UE identifies a capability request.), wherein the capability report message is generated based at least in part on the identification of the capability request ([0054], LMF130 sends a request of capability report to UE 110.) ([0054], If the UE 110 receives the request of capability report, the UE 110 generates a report comprising the capability information.) (Hence the UE generates a capability report message for transmission based on the identification of the capability request.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Meng and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Matsumura to provide UE generates a report comprising capability information about power consumption of the UE 110 (Meng; [0054]).
Regarding claim 35, Rahman teaches an apparatus (UE 116-Fig. 3; [0063]) comprising:
processing circuitry (340-Fig. 3; [0064]) to:
identify a maximum number of sounding reference signals (SRS) resources (SRS ports) supported by a user equipment (UE) for codebook operation (codebook based PUSCH) ([1135], Fig. 22, step 2200—UE {considered- based on [1134] and [1145]} generates information about a report, the report including at least one capability value about an uplink (UL) transmission; wherein [1138], the capability value corresponds to a maximum number of SRS antenna ports {SRS resources per SRS resource set—[0524]—a SRS resource with 4 SRS ports—[0159]—i.e. 2 SRS resource with 8 SRS ports--considered} associated with the UL transmission {codebook based PUSCH—[0130]; [0330]}.) (Hence it is obvious, the UE identifies a maximum 8 SRS ports for a codebook based PUSCH operation to generate capability report.), the maximum number of SRS resources (SRS ports) being eight SRS resources (SRS ports) ([1138], the capability value corresponds to a maximum number of SRS antenna ports {SRS resources per SRS resource set—[0524]—a SRS resource with 4 SRS ports—[0232]—i.e. 2 SRS resource with 8 SRS ports--considered}); and
generate a capability report message for transmission ( [1135], Fig. 22, step 2200-- UE {considered- based on [1134] and [1145]} generates information about a report, the report including at least one capability value about an uplink (UL) transmission; then [1136], in step 2204-tarnsmits the report.)(the UE generates a capability report for transmission.), the capability report message indicating the codebook operation (codebook based PUSCH), that the maximum number of the SRS resources(SRS ports) supported by the UE is eight SRS resources(SRS ports) ( [1137], step 2206-- the BS receives the report, wherein the report includes an indicator indicating the at least one capability value; wherein [1138], the capability value corresponds to a maximum number of SRS antenna ports {SRS resources per SRS resource set—see [0524]--a SRS resource with 4 SRS ports—see[0159]—i.e. 2 SRS resource with 8 SRS ports--considered } associated with the UL transmission {codebook based PUSCH—[0130]; [0330]}.)(Hence the capability report indicates codebook based PUSCH operation, that max 8 SRS ports supported by the UE. ), and the at least one coherency(Full-Coherent) supported for eight transmission uplink operation ([0140],UE reports UE capability value including a coherence type of its antenna ports (e.g., SRS antenna ports, or PUSCH antenna ports). Wherein [0144]; [0155]-- index I of UE capability value indicates Full-coherent (FC) indicating all SRS ports{ a SRS resource with 4 SRS ports—[0159]—i.e. 2 SRS resource with 8 SRS ports—considered--associated with the UL/PUSCH transmission—see [1138]}.) (Hence the capability report indicates a Full-Coherent supported for 8 TX {with 8 SRS ports} uplink/PUSCH.).
interface circuitry (345-Fig. 3) coupled with the processing circuitry (340) ([0068]; Fig. 3; 345 & 340 coupled.), the interface circuitry (345) to enable communication ([0068]).
Rahman implicitly teaches eight transmission uplink operation.
Rahman does not explicitly teach identifying at least one coherency supported by the UE for eight transmission uplink operation for the codebook operation; and
However, in an analogous art, Matsumura teaches a method comprising:
identifying at least one coherency(FullCoherent) supported by the UE([0067], The UE capability information {indicated by an RRC parameter “pusch-TransCoherence” --indicating UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or nonCoherent—see [0070]) may be precoder type information {that UE determines—see [0068]; [0069]} to be used by the UE in PUSCH transmission) for eight transmission uplink(PUSCH) operation for the codebook operation([0128], When a UE supports UL (PUSCH) transmission and includes 8 TX (eight antenna ports), the UE transmits (report), to a network (base station), UE capability information related to antenna layout/antenna coherency of the UE for codebook-based PUSCH transmission. ) (Hence the UE identifies FullCoherent supported by for 8 TX codebook PUSCH operation.); and
the capability report message(information) indicating the at least one coherency (FullCoherent) supported for eight transmission uplink (PUSCH) operation ( [0128], When a UE supports 8-layer maximum UL (PUSCH) transmission and includes 8 TX (eight antenna ports), the UE transmits (report), to a network (base station), UE capability information related to antenna layout/antenna coherency of the UE for codebook-based PUSCH transmission; wherein [0067], The UE capability information{ indicated by an RRC parameter “pusch-TransCoherence”—indicating UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or nonCoherent—see [0070]} that is to be used by the UE in PUSCH transmission.)(Hence the capability report message indicates a FullCoherent supported for 8 TX PUSCH opration.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Matsumura and apply them on the teaching of Rahman to provide UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or noncoherent (Matsumura; [0070]).
Rahman- Matsumura does not teach identify a capability request; generate a capability report message for transmission based at least in part on the identification of the capability request.
However, in an analogous art, Meng teaches an apparatus (UE 600-Fig. 6; [0114]) comprising:
processing circuitry (610-Fig. 6; [0114]) to:
identify a capability request ( [0054], LMF130 sends a request of capability report to UE 110. If the UE 110 receives the request.) (Hence the UE identifies a capability request.);
generate a capability report message for transmission ([0055], After generating the report, the UE 110 transmits the report) based at least in part on the identification of the capability request ([0054], LMF130 sends a request of capability report to UE 110.) ([0054], If the UE 110 receives the request of capability report, the UE 110 generates a report comprising the capability information.) (Hence the UE generates a capability report message for transmission based on the identification of the capability request.),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Meng and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Matsumura to provide UE generates a report comprising capability information about power consumption of the UE 110 (Meng; [0054]).
Regarding claim 39, Rahman further teaches wherein the SRS resources comprise SRS ports ([0524]; SRS resources have SRS ports.).
Regarding claim 40, Rahman further teaches wherein the capability report message further indicates ([0362]) whether the SRS ports are to be configured within one SRS resource or split among multiple SRS resources ([0524]).
Regarding claim 41, Rahman- Meng do not teach wherein the processing circuitry is further to: identify a transmission configuration message, received from a base station, to configure the UE for less than eight transmission uplink operation; identify at least one coherency supported by the UE for less than eight transmission uplink operation; and generate a coherency indication message indicating the at least one coherency supported for less than eight transmission uplink operation
However, in an analogous art, Matsumura teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further to:
identify a transmission configuration message, received from a base station, to configure the UE for less than eight transmission ([0127]—7 TX) uplink operation (PUSCH)([0128]; [0068]);
identify at least one coherency supported by the UE for less than eight transmission ([0127]—7 TX) uplink operation (PUSCH)([0128]; [0067]; [0070]); and
generate a coherency indication message indicating the at least one coherency (fullcoherent) supported for less than eight transmission([0127]—7 TX) uplink operation (PUSCH) ( [0127]; [0128], When a UE supports 8-layer maximum UL (PUSCH) transmission and includes 8 TX (eight antenna ports), the UE transmits (report), to a network (base station), UE capability information related to antenna layout/antenna coherency of the UE for codebook-based PUSCH transmission; wherein [0067], The UE capability information{ indicated by an RRC parameter “pusch-TransCoherence”—indicating UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or nonCoherent—see [0070]} that is to be used by the UE in PUSCH transmission.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Matsumura and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Meng to provide UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or noncoherent (Matsumura; [0070]).
6. Claims 42, 43 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2023/0111064 A1) in view of Matsumura (US 2025/0344221 A1), in view of Meng (US 2023/0275727 A1), further in view of Ling (US 2025/0168851 A1).
Regarding claim 42, Rahman- Matsumura -Meng do not teach wherein the processing circuitry is further to identify a PTRS operation configuration message, received from the base station, that indicates a PTRS configuration for the UE, wherein the PTRS configuration is determined based at least in part on first information within the capability report message and second information within the coherency indication message.
However, in an analogous art, Ling teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further to identify a PTRS operation configuration message, received from the base station, that indicates a PTRS configuration for the UE([0093], Fig. 3, In operation 301-- the BS transmits a configuration information; wherein [0094], BS receive the PUSCH transmission and the PT-RS(s) of the PUSCH transmission based on the transmitted configuration information. ) (Hence it is obvious, the UE identifies a PTRS configuration message/PTRS configuration from the BS.), wherein the PTRS configuration is determined based at least in part on first information within the capability report message and second information within the coherency indication message([0093], Fig. 3, In operation 301-- the BS transmits a configuration information {PTRS configuration ---see [0094]}, wherein the configuration information indicates that a 1st and 2nd SRS resource set { UE has reported a UE capability of supporting full-coherent uplink transmission for both the 1st and 2nd SRS resource set—see [0085]}.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ling and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Matsumura -Meng to provide PTRS configuration for uplink transmission (Ling; [0093 & [0094]]).
Regarding claim 43, Rahman- Matsumura -Meng do not teach wherein the capability report message further indicates a indicates a number of PTRS ports required by the UE.
However, in an analogous art, Ling teaches wherein the capability report message further indicates a indicates a number of PTRS ports required by the UE([0085]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ling and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Matsumura -Meng to provide PTRS configuration for uplink transmission (Ling; [0093 & [0094]]).
Regarding claim 53, Rahman- Matsumura-Ling do not teach further comprising: generating, for transmission to the UE, a capability request message, the capability request message to trigger the capability report message.
However, in an analogous art, Meng teaches further comprising: generating, for transmission to the UE, a capability request message, the capability request message to trigger the capability report message ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Meng and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Matsumura-Ling to provide UE generates a report comprising capability information about power consumption of the UE 110 (Meng; [0054]).
7. Claims 45, 46, 49-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2023/0111064 A1) in view of Matsumura (US 2025/0344221 A1), further in view of Ling (US 2025/0168851 A1).
Regarding claim 45, Rahman- Matsumura do not teach wherein the processing circuitry is further to identify a PTRS operation configuration message, received from the base station, that indicates a PTRS configuration for the UE, wherein the PTRS configuration is determined based at least in part on first information within the capability report message and second information within the coherency indication message.
However, in an analogous art, Ling teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further to identify a PTRS operation configuration message, received from the base station, that indicates a PTRS configuration for the UE([0093], Fig. 3, In operation 301-- the BS transmits a configuration information; wherein [0094], BS receive the PUSCH transmission and the PT-RS(s) of the PUSCH transmission based on the transmitted configuration information. ) (Hence it is obvious, the UE identifies a PTRS configuration message/PTRS configuration from the BS.), wherein the PTRS configuration is determined based at least in part on first information within the capability report message and second information within the coherency indication message([0093], Fig. 3, In operation 301-- the BS transmits a configuration information {PTRS configuration ---see [0094]}, wherein the configuration information indicates that a 1st and 2nd SRS resource set { UE has reported a UE capability of supporting full-coherent uplink transmission for both the 1st and 2nd SRS resource set—see [0085]}.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ling and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Matsumura to provide PTRS configuration for uplink transmission (Ling; [0093 & [0094]]).
Regarding claim 46, Rahman- Matsumura do not teach wherein the capability report message further indicates a indicates a number of PTRS ports required by the UE.
However, in an analogous art, Ling teaches wherein the capability report message further indicates a indicates a number of PTRS ports required by the UE ([0085]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ling and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Matsumura to provide PTRS configuration for uplink transmission (Ling; [0093 & [0094]]).
Regarding claim 49, Rahman teaches a method comprising:
identifying a capability report message, received from a user equipment (UE), that indicates a codebook operation (codebook based PUSCH) for the UE, that eight sounding reference signals (SRSs) (SRS ports) are supported by the UE ([1135], Fig. 22, step 2200—UE {considered- based on [1134] and [1145]} generates information about a report, the report including at least one capability value about an uplink (UL) transmission {to gNB—see [0114]}; wherein [1138], the capability value corresponds to a maximum number of SRS antenna ports {SRS resources per SRS resource set—[0524]—a SRS resource with 4 SRS ports—[0232]—i.e. 2 SRS resource with 8 SRS ports--considered} associated with the UL transmission {codebook based PUSCH—[0130]; [0330]})(Hence the NB identifies a capability report from the UE that indicates codebook PUSCH operation for the UE and 8 SRS ports are supported by the UE.), and the at least one coherency(Full-Coherent) supported for eight transmission uplink operation ([0140],UE reports UE capability value including a coherence type of its antenna ports (e.g., SRS antenna ports, or PUSCH antenna ports). Wherein [0144]; [0155]-- index I of UE capability value indicates Full-coherent (FC) indicating all SRS ports{ a SRS resource with 4 SRS ports—[0159]—i.e. 2 SRS resource with 8 SRS ports—considered--associated with the UL/PUSCH transmission—see [1138]}.) (Hence the capability report indicates a Full-Coherent supported for 8 TX {with 8 SRS ports} uplink/PUSCH.).
Rahman implicitly teaches eight transmission uplink operation.
Rahman does not explicitly teach a capability report message, received from a user equipment (UE), that indicates at least one coherency supported for eight transmission uplink operation.
However, in an analogous art, Matsumura teaches a method comprising:
identifying a capability report message, received from a user equipment (UE), that indicates at least one coherency(FullCoherent) supported for eight transmission uplink operation(PUSCH) ( [0128], When a UE supports 8-layer maximum UL (PUSCH) transmission and includes 8 TX (eight antenna ports), the UE transmits (report), to a network (base station), UE capability information related to antenna layout/antenna coherency of the UE for codebook-based PUSCH transmission; wherein [0067], The UE capability information{ indicated by an RRC parameter “pusch-TransCoherence”—indicating UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or nonCoherent—see [0070]} that is to be used by the UE in PUSCH transmission.)(Hence the BS identifies the capability report message from the UE that indicates a FullCoherent supported for 8 TX PUSCH opration.); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Matsumura and apply them on the teaching of Rahman to provide UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or noncoherent (Matsumura; [0070]).
Rahman teaches codebook/noncodebook operation.
Matsumura teaches eight transmission uplink operation.
Rahman- Matsumura do not teach identifying a PTRS configuration for the UE based at least in part on the indicated codebook operation, the eight SRSs being supported by the UE being indicated, and the indicated at least one coherency supported by the UE for eight transmission uplink operation; and
However, in an analogous art, Ling teaches identifying a PTRS configuration for the UE based at least in part on the indicated codebook (non codebook) operation, the eight SRSs being supported by the UE being indicated, and the indicated at least one coherency (full-coherent) supported by the UE for eight transmission uplink operation (PUSCH) ( [0093], Fig. 3, In operation 301-- the BS transmits a configuration information, wherein the configuration information indicates that a 1st and 2nd SRS resource set/8 considered{ UE has reported a UE capability of supporting full-coherent uplink transmission for both the 1st and 2nd SRS resource set—see [0085]} are configured for a non-codebook based PUSCH transmission { wherein at least one PT-RS of the PUSCH transmission is received with at least one PT-RS port based on the configuration information—[0094]}.)(Hence it is obvious the BS identifies a PTRS configuration for the UE based on indicated/configured non codebook operation, 8 SRSs is supported by the UE and full-coherent supported by the UE for PUSCH operation.); and
generating, for transmission to the UE, a PTRS and physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) operation configuration message that indicates the PTRS configuration( [0093], Fig. 3, In operation 301-- the BS transmits a configuration information; wherein [0094], BS receive the PUSCH transmission and the PT-RS(s) of the PUSCH transmission based on the transmitted configuration information. )(Hence it is obvious, the BS generates a PTRS and PUSCH configuration message/PTRS configuration, for transmission to the UE.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ling and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Matsumura to provide PTRS configuration for uplink transmission (Ling; [0093 & [0094]]).
Regarding claim 50, Rahman-Ning does not teach further comprising: generating, for transmission to the UE, a transmission configuration that indicates the UE is to be configured for less than eight transmission uplink operation; identifying a coherency indication message, received from the UE, that indicates at least one coherency supported by the UE for less than eight transmission uplink operation, wherein the PTRS configuration is further identified based at least in part on the at least one coherency supported by the UE for less than eight transmission uplink operation.
However, in an analogous art, Matsumura teaches further comprising: generating, for transmission to the UE, a transmission configuration that indicates the UE is to be configured for less than eight ([0127]—7 TX) transmission uplink operation (PUSCH)([0128]; [0068]; obvious generating.);
identifying a coherency indication message, received from the UE, that indicates at least one coherency supported by the UE for less than eight ([0127]—7 TX) transmission uplink operation (PUSCH)([0128]; [0067]; [0070]), wherein the PTRS configuration is further identified based at least in part on the at least one coherency supported by the UE for less than eight ([0127]—7 TX) transmission uplink operation(PUSCH)([0128]; [0067]; [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Matsumura and apply them on the teaching of Rahman to provide UE capability indicates fullCoherent, partialCoherent, or noncoherent (Matsumura; [0070]).
Matsumura teaches configuration.
Matsumura does not teach PTRS configuration.
However, in an analogous art, Ling teaches PTRS configuration ([0093]; [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Ling and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Matsumura to provide PTRS configuration for uplink transmission (Ling; [0093 & [0094]]).
Regarding claim 51, Rahman further teaches wherein the SRS resources comprise SRS ports ([0524]; SRS resources have SRS ports.).
Regarding claim 52, Rahman further teaches wherein the capability report message further indicates ([0362]) whether the SRS ports are to be configured within one SRS resource or split among multiple SRS resources ([0524]).
8. Claims 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2023/0111064 A1) in view of Matsumura (US 2025/0344221 A1), further in view of Lim (US 2025/0167954 A1).
Regarding claim 47, Rahman- Matsumura does not teach wherein the at least one coherency comprises a partialcoherent2 coherency or a particalcoherent4 coherency for the eight transmission uplink operation.
However, in an analogous art, Lim teaches wherein the at least one coherency comprises a partialcoherent2 coherency or a particalcoherent4 coherency for the eight transmission uplink operation ([0369]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lim and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Matsumura to provide partialcoherent2 coherency or a particalcoherent4 coherency (Lim; [0369]).
9. Claims 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2023/0111064 A1) in view of Matsumura (US 2025/0344221 A1), further in view of Loh (US 2014/0181417 A1).
Regarding claim 48, Rahman- Matsumura does not teach wherein the capability report message further indicates whether the UE supports vertical stacking or horizontal stacking for the at least one coherency.
However, in an analogous art, Loh teaches wherein the capability report message further indicates whether the UE supports vertical stacking or horizontal stacking for the at least one coherency ([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Loh and apply them on the teaching of Rahman- Matsumura to provide vertical stack coherency (Loh; [0006]).
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415