DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to communication filed 6/13/2025. Claims 1-20 are cancelled. Claims 21-40 are new. Claims 21-40 are pending for examination.
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 21, 22, 24-26, 28, 29, 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Rahman (US 2023/0111064 A1).
Regarding claims 21 and 28, Rahman teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having instructions ([0010]) that, when executed, cause processing circuitry (340 of UE 116-Fig. 3) ([0068]) to:
identify a maximum number of sounding reference signals (SRS) resources(SRS ports) supported per SRS resource set for a type (codebook or non-codebook) of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) operation ([1135], Fig. 22, step 2200—UE {considered- based on [1134] and [1145]} generates information about a report, the report including at least one capability value about an uplink (UL) transmission; wherein [1138], the capability value corresponds to a maximum number of SRS antenna ports {SRS resources per SRS resource set—[0524]} associated with the UL transmission {codebook or non-codebook based PUSCH—[0130]; [0330]}. ) (Hence it is obvious, the UE identifies a max number of SRS resources per SRS resource set for a codebook or non-codebook based PUSCH operation to generate capability report.); and
generate a capability report message for transmission ( [1135], Fig. 22, step 2200-- UE {considered- based on [1134] and [1145]} generates information about a report, the report including at least one capability value about an uplink (UL) transmission; then [1136], in step 2204-tarnsmits the report.)(the UE generates a capability report for transmission.), the capability report message to indicate the type(codebook or non-codebook) of PUSCH operation and the maximum number of the SRS resources(SRS ports) ( [1137], step 2206-- the BS receives the report, wherein the report includes an indicator indicating the at least one capability value; wherein [1138], the capability value corresponds to a maximum number of SRS antenna ports {SRS resources per SRS resource set—[0524]} associated with the UL transmission {codebook or non-codebook based PUSCH—[0130]; [0330]}.)(Hence the capability report indicates codebook/non-codebook based PUSCH operation and max number of SRS resources. ).
Regarding claims 22 and 29, Rahman further teaches wherein the type of PUSCH operation comprises a non-codebook-based PUSCH operation ([0130]; [0330]; non-codebook based PUSCH).
Regarding claims 24 and 31, Rahman further teaches wherein the type of PUSCH operation comprises codebook-based PUSCH operation ([0130]; [0330]; codebook based PUSCH).
Regarding claims 25 and 32, Rahman further teaches wherein the SRS resources comprise SRS ports ([0524]; SRS resources have SRS ports.).
Regarding claims 26 and 33, Rahman further teaches wherein the capability report message further indicates ([0362]) whether the SRS ports are to be configured within one SRS resource or split among multiple SRS resources ([0524]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 23 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2023/0111064 A1) in view of Gao (US 2025/0219786 A1).
Regarding claims 23 and 30, Rahman does not teach wherein the identified maximum number of SRS resources comprises eight SRS resources.
However, in an analogous art, Gao teaches wherein the identified maximum number of SRS resources comprises eight SRS resources ([0049]; configurable SRS resource(s) in the SRS resource set, increases from four configurable SRS resources to eight configurable SRS resources.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Gao and apply them on the teaching of Rahman to provide maximum number of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission layers is increased to 8 layers, N.sub.SRS(i.e. eight configurable SRS resources)( Gao; [0049]).
7. Claims 27, 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman (US 2023/0111064 A1) in view of Meng (US 2023/0275727 A1).
Regarding claims 27, 34 and 37, Rahman does not teach wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to identify a capability request, wherein the capability report message is generated based at least in part on the identification of the capability request.
However, in an analogous art, Meng teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry (610 of UE-Fig. 6; [0114]) to identify a capability request ([0054], LMF130 sends a request of capability report to UE 110. If the UE 110 receives the request.) (Hence the UE identifies a capability request.), wherein the capability report message is generated based at least in part on the identification of the capability request ([0054], LMF130 sends a request of capability report to UE 110.) ([0054], If the UE 110 receives the request of capability report, the UE 110 generates a report comprising the capability information.) (Hence the UE generates a capability report message for transmission based on the identification of the capability request.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Meng and apply them on the teaching of Rahman to provide UE generates a report comprising capability information about power consumption of the UE 110 (Meng; [0054]).
Regarding claim 35, Rahman teaches an apparatus (UE 116-Fig. 3; [0063]) comprising:
processing circuitry (340-Fig. 3; [0064]) to:
identify a maximum number of sounding reference signals (SRS) resources(SRS ports) supported per SRS resource set for a type (codebook or non-codebook) of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) operation ([1135], Fig. 22, step 2200—UE {considered- based on [1134] and [1145]} generates information about a report, the report including at least one capability value about an uplink (UL) transmission; wherein [1138], the capability value corresponds to a maximum number of SRS antenna ports {SRS resources per SRS resource set—[0524]} associated with the UL transmission {codebook or non-codebook based PUSCH—[0130]; [0330]}. ) (Hence it is obvious, the UE identifies a max number of SRS resources per SRS resource set for a codebook or non-codebook based PUSCH operation to generate capability report.); and
generate a capability report message for transmission ( [1135], Fig. 22, step 2200-- UE {considered- based on [1134] and [1145]} generates information about a report, the report including at least one capability value about an uplink (UL) transmission; then [1136], in step 2204-tarnsmits the report.) (The UE generates a capability report for transmission.), the capability report message indicating the type(codebook or non-codebook) of PUSCH operation and the maximum number of the SRS resources(SRS ports) ( [1137], step 2206-- the BS receives the report, wherein the report includes an indicator indicating the at least one capability value; wherein [1138], the capability value corresponds to a maximum number of SRS antenna ports {SRS resources per SRS resource set—[0524]} associated with the UL transmission {codebook or non-codebook based PUSCH—[0130]; [0330]}.)(Hence the capability report indicates codebook/non-codebook based PUSCH operation and max number of SRS resources. ); and
interface circuitry (345-Fig. 3) coupled with the processing circuitry (340) ([0068]; Fig. 3; 345 & 340 coupled.), the interface circuitry (345) to enable communication ([0068]).
Rahman does not teach identify a capability request; generate a capability report message for transmission based at least in part on the identification of the capability request.
However, in an analogous art, Meng teaches an apparatus (UE 600-Fig. 6; [0114]) comprising:
processing circuitry (610-Fig. 6; [0114]) to:
identify a capability request ( [0054], LMF130 sends a request of capability report to UE 110. If the UE 110 receives the request.) (Hence the UE identifies a capability request.);
generate a capability report message for transmission ([0055], After generating the report, the UE 110 transmits the report) based at least in part on the identification of the capability request ([0054], LMF130 sends a request of capability report to UE 110.) ([0054], If the UE 110 receives the request of capability report, the UE 110 generates a report comprising the capability information.) (Hence the UE generates a capability report message for transmission based on the identification of the capability request.),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Meng and apply them on the teaching of Rahman to provide UE generates a report comprising capability information about power consumption of the UE 110 (Meng; [0054]).
Regarding claim 36, Rahman further teaches wherein the type of PUSCH operation comprises a non-codebook-based PUSCH operation ([0130]; [0330]; non-codebook based PUSCH).
Regarding claim 38, Rahman further teaches wherein the type of PUSCH operation comprises codebook-based PUSCH operation ([0130]; [0330]; codebook based PUSCH).
Regarding claim 39, Rahman further teaches wherein the SRS resources comprise SRS ports ([0524]; SRS resources have SRS ports.).
Regarding claim 40, Rahman further teaches wherein the capability report message further indicates ([0362]) whether the SRS ports are to be configured within one SRS resource or split among multiple SRS resources ([0524]).
Conclusion
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415