DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 3/20/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18/447,258.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2014/0142505 A1) in view of Weber et al. (US 2006/0129179 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Lin discloses A medical delivery system (Fig. 4) comprising: a balloon catheter (any of 19/20/23); and an inflatable balloon (16) coupled to a portion of the balloon catheter (see Fig. 4), the inflatable balloon comprising a balloon wall at least partially defining an inflated volume of the inflatable balloon (walls 30/31/32), the balloon wall comprising a first balloon wall layer (31) and a second balloon wall layer (30), the first balloon wall layer comprising a Shore A durometer hardness value smaller than that of the second balloon wall layer ([0041]), and the first balloon wall layer being an inner layer of the balloon wall relative to the second balloon wall layer (see Fig. 4).
However, Lin does not disclose the specific material.
Weber teaches a multi-layer ballon catheter (Fig. 1, also see Fig. 1a, layers 32/34/36) that can be made of a styrenic block copolymer ([0067], claim 21).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of Lin with the styrenic block copolymer as taught by Weber for the purpose of providing suitable durable elastomeric material for a balloon catheter ([0067], claim 21). Further the substation of one material for another is well-known in the art and doe not alter the overall function of the device.
With regard to claim 2, Lin discloses wherein the first balloon wall layer comprises a Shore A durometer hardness and the second balloon wall layer comprises a Shore A durometer hardness greater than the first layer ([0045]). While Lin does not explicitly disclose the specific shore A values, it would be prima facie obvious to optimize the hardness to be a first balloon wall layer with a Shore A durometer value of about 20 to about 45 and the second balloon wall layer comprises a Shore A durometer hardness value of about 25 to about 50 as doing so would not alter the over all function of the device ([0045]).
With regard to claim 3, Lin discloses wherein the balloon wall is the first balloon wall layer (32) and the second balloon wall layer (30).
With regard to claim 4, Lin discloses wherein the first balloon wall layer is about 70% to about 85% of a total thickness of the balloon wall (the first layer is coextruded and additional layers can be dip coated in which the dip coated layers would be much thinner than one that was coextruded). Thus while Lin does not explicitly disclose 70% to 85% it would be prima facie obvious to optimize the thickness of the layers as doing so would not alter the overall function of the device.
With regard to claim 5, Lin discloses the claimed invention except for the specific material.
Weber teaches wherein the styrenic block copolymer is one of styrene-isoprene-styrene (SIS), styrene-butadiene-styrene (SBS) or styrene-ethylene-butylene- styrene (SEBS) ([0067]).
With regard to claim 12, Lin discloses wherein at least one of the first balloon wall layer and the second balloon wall layer comprises polyurethane ([0044]).
With regard to claim 13, Lin discloses wherein the balloon wall comprises a third balloon wall layer (32), the third balloon wall layer being an inner balloon wall layer (see Fig. 4), the second balloon wall layer being an outer balloon wall layer (30), and the first balloon wall layer (31) being an intermediate balloon wall layer between the third balloon wall layer and the second balloon wall layer (see Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 14, Lin discloses wherein the first balloon wall layer (31) and the second balloon wall layer (30) and wherein the third balloon wall layer (32) comprises polyurethane ([0044]).
However, Lin does not disclose the specific material.
Weber teaches a multi-layer ballon catheter (Fig. 1, also see Fig. 1a, layers 32/34/36) that can be made of a styrenic block copolymer ([0067], claim 21).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of Lin with the styrenic block copolymer as taught by Weber for the purpose of providing suitable durable elastomeric material for a balloon catheter ([0067], claim 21). Further the substation of one material for another is well-known in the art and doe not alter the overall function of the device.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2014/0142505 A1) in view of Weber et al. (US 2006/0129179 A1) and in further view of Nizuka et al. (US 2001/0021429 A1).
With regard to claim 6, Lin/Weber teach the claimed invention except for the specific mol % of styrene monomers.
Nizuka teaches a medical balloon catheter wherein the styrenic block copolymer comprises about 5 mol % to about 15 mol % of styrene monomers ([0017]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of Lin/Weber with the styrene monomers as taught by Nizuka for the purpose obtaining the desired elasticity/hardness ([0017]).
Claim(s) 7-8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2014/0142505 A1) in view of Weber et al. (US 2006/0129179 A1) and in further view of Burgmeier et al. (US 2005/0228429 A1).
With regard to claim 7-8 and 11, Lin/Weber teach the claimed invention except for a tackiness reducing agent.
Burgmeier teaches a balloon catheter (Fig. 8) that has a coating of PTFE to provide a low friction coating or tackiness reducing agent ([0103]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of Lin/Weber with the tackiness reducing agent of PTFE as taught by Burgmeier for the purpose of reducing the friction of the balloon catheter when employed in the body ([0103]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2014/0142505 A1) in view of Weber et al. (US 2006/0129179 A1) and in further view of Burgmeier et al. (US 2005/0228429 A1) and Allex et al. (US 2010/0234875 A1).
With regard to claim 9 and 10, Lin/Weber/Burgmeier teach the claimed invention except for a radiopaque filler.
Allex teaches coatings on a balloon catheter that further includes a radiopaque filler material ([0007], [0017], [0011]) comprising at least one of bismuth oxychloride (BiOCl), barium sulfate (BaSO4), and bismuth subcarbonate ((BiO)2CO3) ([0064], [0072]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of Lin/Weber/Burgmeier with the radiopaque filler as taught by Allex for the purpose of visualization of the catheter when it is being inserted ([0013]).
Conclusion
/Lauren P Farrar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783