DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 8/10/2023.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. REPUBLIC OF KOREA, 10-2022-0110282, filed on 08/31/2022.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: MEMORY MODULE SOCKET WITH IMPROVED CONTACTS.
Drawings
Figures 1A – 3, 10B should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 24, recites “to make contact with a terminal; …”. A “terminal” was already introduced in line 2. It is unclear whether the “terminal” in line 24 is the same terminal that was introduced in line 2, or a completely different “terminal”. Examiner suggests Applicant to amend line 24 to recite “to make contact with the terminal; …”. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the “terminal” in line 24 as being the same “terminal” in line 2.
Claim 6, lines 2 – 3, recite “comprises at an undercut recessed from a lower end of the first contact protrusion”. The claim language seems grammatically incorrect and unclear. The term “at” after “comprises” renders the scope of the claim indefinite, as it is unclear what structural relationship is being claimed. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the claim language as “comprises an undercut recessed from a lower end…”.
Claim 10, line 3 recites “a
shaped body comprising an upper part…”. The claim recites a feature that is only defined by reference to a drawing, wherein the shape of the feature (i.e. a “hook”) is shown in the drawing but not described in the claim language. Reliance on a drawing to define the scope of the claim renders the meaning of the limitation unclear because the extent and specific contours of the “hook” are subject to interpretation rather than from the claim itself. Examiner suggests Applicant to amend the claim to recite “a hook shaped body comprising an upper part…” to address this issue. For examination purposes, Examiner will interpret
as being “a hook”.
Claim 13, line 5, recites “the contact having a
shape…”. The claim recites a feature that is only defined by reference to a drawing, wherein the shape of the feature (i.e. a “hook”) is shown in the drawing but not described in the claim language. Reliance on a drawing to define the scope of the claim renders the meaning of the limitation unclear because the extent and specific contours of the “hook” are subject to interpretation rather than from the claim itself. Examiner suggests Applicant to amend the claim to recite “a hook shaped body comprising an upper part…” to address this issue. For examination purposes, Examiner will interpret
as being “a hook”.
Claim 13, line 15, recites “first side of the receiving portion in which the contact…”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the receiving portion”. Examiner suggests Applicant to amend the claim to properly introduce the “receiving portion”. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret line 15 as “first side of a receiving portion in which the contact…”.
Claim 13, line 16, recites “and the free end of the upper part where the…”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the free end”. Examiner suggests Applicant to amend the claim to properly introduce the “free end”. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret line 16 as “and a free end of the upper part where the…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20090075495, cited in the IDS on 5/24/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B, annotation) a memory module socket (200) comprising:
a socket body (body of 200) comprising a slot (see slot next to 220 in figure 2B) configured to allow terminals of a memory module to be inserted therein (i.e. disclosed slot is capable of allowing terminals of a memory module to be inserted), a plurality of receiving portions (230) symmetrically defined by a plurality of partition walls (walls of 230) at opposite sides of the slot (see slot next to 220 in figure 2B), and a stopper member (250) provided under the slot (see slot above 250);
at least one pair of contacts (110) symmetrically provided in each pair of receiving portions (230) and configured to electrically connect the terminals and pads of a test PCB (i.e. disclosed receiving portions are capable of electrically connecting the terminals and pads of a test PCB); and
an elastic body (160; ¶0037) having a circular cross-section (cross-section of 160 is circular) and inserted into the socket body (body of 200) to elastically support each of the contacts (110) to the socket body (body of 200; ¶0040),
wherein each of the contacts (110) comprises: a curved portion (R1) surrounding at least a portion of an outer circumferential surface of the elastic body (160; ¶0040);
an outer extension portion (portion under 150) extending from an outside of the curved portion (R1);
a first protrusion (140, 150) protruding outwards adjacent to an upper front end (i.e. front end of 140, 150) of the outer extension portion (portion under 150);
an inner extension portion (130) extending from an inside of the curved portion (R1);
an inclined extension portion (see portion above 130 in figure 2A) inclinedly extending from the inner extension portion (130) and comprising a first contact protrusion (R2) configured to make contact with a terminal (i.e. disclosed R2 is capable of making contact with a terminal); and a vertical extension portion (portion above R3) vertically extending from the inclined extension portion (see portion above 130 in figure 2A), and
each of the receiving portions (230) comprises restraining surfaces (210r) configured to restrain an initial movement of the first protrusion (i.e. 210r is capable of restraining an initial movement of a first protrusion) to elastically compress and support the outer extension portion (portion under 150).
~ Please see annotation of figure 2B in the Kim reference, where the restraining surfaces 210r can be seen.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B) the memory module socket of claim 1, wherein the vertical extension portion (R3) comprises a tip portion (120) at a front end (see figure 2A) thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B) the memory module socket of claim 1, wherein the socket body (body of 200) comprises a groove (portion below 230) into which the elastic body (160) is inserted, and a depth of the groove (portion below 230) is smaller than a sum of a diameter of the elastic body (160) and a width of the curved portion (R1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20090075495, cited in the IDS on 5/24/2024) in view of Hwang (KR 20040090608).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B) the memory module socket of claim 1.
But Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the curved portion comprises a second contact protrusion formed in a curved surface shape at a lower end thereof.
Hwang teaches (figures 12 – 15) a connector wherein the curved portion (i.e. see bottom portion of the embodiment in figure 15) comprises a second contact protrusion (720) formed in a curved surface shape (i.e. shape of 720 is a curved surface shape) at a lower end thereof (i.e. 720 is at a lower end of the contact in figure 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim with the connector as disclosed by Hwang to provide the curved portion comprising a second contact protrusion formed in a curved surface shape at a lower end thereof, as using contact protrusions is a well-known design choice in the art for improving mechanical retention and preventing relative movement during operation.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B) the memory module socket of claim 1.
But Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the inner extension portion further comprises a second protrusion protruding from a position corresponding to a height of the stopper member.
Hwang teaches (figures 10, 12 – 15) a connector wherein the inner extension portion (70) further comprises a second protrusion (751) protruding from a position corresponding to a height of the stopper member (67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim with the connector as disclosed by Hwang to provide the inner extension portion further comprising a second protrusion protruding from a position corresponding to a height of the stopper member, as using protrusions is a well-known design choice in the art for improving mechanical retention and preventing relative movement during operation.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B) the memory module socket of claim 1.
But Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the inclined extension portion comprises at an undercut recessed from a lower end of the first contact protrusion.
Hwang teaches (figures 10, 12 – 15) a connector wherein the inclined extension portion (i.e. see figure 15) comprises at an undercut (704) recessed from a lower end of the first contact protrusion (703).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim with the connector as disclosed by Hwang to provide the inclined extension portion comprising at an undercut recessed from a lower end of the first contact protrusion, as using recesses is a well-known design choice in the art for improving mechanical retention and preventing relative movement during operation.
Claim(s) 7 – 9, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20090075495, cited in the IDS on 5/24/2024) in view of Park (KR 100673614).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B) the memory module socket of claim 1.
But Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the socket body comprises: an insulating body provided with the slot, the receiving portions, and the stopper member; and a reinforcing frame provided to surround the insulating body.
Park teaches (figures 4 – 13) a connector wherein the socket body (see figure 6a) comprises: an insulating body (160) provided with the slot (105), the receiving portions (111), and the stopper member (115); and a reinforcing frame (101) provided to surround the insulating body (160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim with the connector as disclosed by Park to provide an insulating body provided with the slot, the receiving portions, and the stopper member; and a reinforcing frame provided to surround the insulating body, to improve the mechanical strength and durability of the structure.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B) the memory module socket of claim 7.
But Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the reinforcing frame further comprises a guide block assembled to each end thereof and configured to guide insertion of the memory module.
Park teaches (figures 4 – 13) a connector wherein the reinforcing frame (101) further comprises a guide block (113) assembled to each end thereof (i.e. see guide blocks 113 on both ends of the connector in figure 6a) and configured to guide insertion of the memory module (i.e. disclosed guide blocks are capable of guiding the insertion of a memory module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim with the connector as disclosed by Park to provide the reinforcing frame further comprising a guide block assembled to each end thereof and configured to guide insertion of the memory module, to improve ease of assembly and insertion reliability of the memory module.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B) the memory module socket of claim 7.
But Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the socket body further comprises an ejection lever rotatably provided at each end of the reinforcing frame and configured to remove the memory module.
Park teaches (figures 4 – 13) a connector wherein the socket body (see figure 6a) further comprises an ejection lever (107) rotatably provided at each end of the reinforcing frame (101) and configured to remove the memory module (i.e. disclosed lever 107 is capable of removing the memory module).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim with the connector as disclosed by Park to provide an ejection lever rotatably provided at each end of the reinforcing frame and configured to remove the memory module, to improve the connector’s reliability by improving the ease of disconnection for the memory module.
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B, annotation) a memory module socket (200) comprising:
a socket body (body of 200) comprising a slot (see slot next to 220 in figure 2B) configured to allow terminals of a memory module to be inserted therein (i.e. disclosed slot is capable of allowing terminals of a memory module to be inserted), a plurality of receiving portions (230) symmetrically defined by a plurality of partition walls (walls of 230) at opposite sides of the slot (see slot next to 220 in figure 2B), and a stopper member (250) provided under the slot (see slot above 250);
at least one pair of contacts (110) symmetrically provided in each pair of receiving portions (230) and configured to electrically connect the terminals and pads of a test PCB (i.e. disclosed receiving portions are capable of electrically connecting the terminals and pads of a test PCB); and
an elastic body (160; ¶0037) having a circular cross-section (cross-section of 160 is circular) and inserted into the socket body (body of 200) to elastically support each of the contacts (110) to the socket body (body of 200; ¶0040),
wherein each of the contacts (110) comprises: a curved portion (R1) surrounding at least a portion of an outer circumferential surface of the elastic body (160; ¶0040); an outer extension portion (portion under 150) extending from an outside of the curved portion (R1); an inner extension portion (130) extending from an inside of the curved portion (R1); an inclined extension portion (see portion above 130 in figure 2A) inclinedly extending from the inner extension portion (130) and comprising a first contact protrusion (R2) configured to make contact with a terminal (i.e. disclosed R2 is capable of making contact with a terminal); and a vertical extension portion (portion above R3) vertically extending from the inclined extension portion (see portion above 130 in figure 2A), and
each of the receiving portions (230) comprises:
a restraining surface (210r) configured to restrain an initial movement of an upper front end of the outer extension portion (i.e. 210r is capable of restraining an initial movement of an upper front end of the outer extension portion) to elastically compress and support the outer extension portion (portion under 150).
But Kim does not explicitly disclose a pressing protrusion protruding from a lower end of the restraining surface and configured to support the outer extension portion.
Park teaches (figures 4 – 13, annotation) a connector comprising a pressing protrusion (123p) protruding from a lower end (lower end of 121) of the restraining surface (121) and configured to support the outer extension portion (153, 123o).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim with the connector as disclosed by Park to provide a pressing protrusion protruding from a lower end of the restraining surface and configured to support the outer extension portion, to improve the connector’s mechanical stability when engaged with the memory module.
~ Please see annotation of figure 9 in the Park reference, where the pressing protrusion 123p and the outer extension portion 123o can be seen.
Claim(s) 10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20090075495, cited in the IDS on 5/24/2024) in view of Tondreault (US 5013264).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B) a contact (110) provided in a memory module socket (200), the contact (110) comprising:
a
shaped body (see figure 2A) comprising an upper part (part that is above R2 in figure 2A) that comprises a first contact point (R2) configured to be electrically connected to a terminal of a memory module (i.e. disclosed R2 is capable of being electrically connected to a terminal of a memory module) and is configured to be pressed inwards when the terminal of the memory module is inserted (i.e. disclosed R2 is capable of being pressed inwards when the terminal of the memory module is inserted; ¶0041), and a lower part (part that is near R1 at the bottom of figure 1) that comprises a second contact point (R1) configured to be electrically connected to a test board for testing the memory module (i.e. disclosed R1 is capable of being electrically connected to a test board for testing a memory module; ¶0040), is formed curved at a predetermined arc angle (¶0040).
But Kim does not explicitly disclose a connector comprising a fixing end at a distal end thereof, wherein the fixing end protrudes outwards and is elastically pressed in contact with a first side of the receiving portion in which the contact is received, and the free end of the upper part of the contact where the first contact point is formed is elastically pressed in contact with a second side of the receiving portion, so the contact is fitted and fixed in the receiving portion as the contact is elastically compressed by a structural shape of the body.
Tondreault teaches (figures 1 – 6) a connector comprising a fixing end (94, 96) at a distal end thereof, wherein the fixing end (94, 96) protrudes outwards and is elastically pressed in contact with a first side of the receiving portion (42, 44, 56, 58) in which the contact (60) is received, and the free end (90, 92) of the upper part (upper part of 60) of the contact (60) where the first contact point (86) is formed is elastically pressed in contact with a second side of the receiving portion (42, 44, 56, 58), so the contact (60) is fitted and fixed in the receiving portion (42, 44, 56, 58) as the contact (60) is elastically compressed by a structural shape of the body (body of 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim with the connector as disclosed by Tondreault to provide a fixing end at a distal end thereof, wherein the fixing end protrudes outwards and is elastically pressed in contact with a first side of the receiving portion in which the contact is received, in order to improve contact stability, alignment, and retention within the receiving portion.
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B, annotation) a memory module socket (200) comprising:
a socket body (body of 200) configured to allow terminals of a memory module to be inserted therein (i.e. disclosed socket body is capable of allowing terminals of a memory module to be inserted) and in which a contact (110) and an elastic body (160) are received (see figure 3B);
the contact (110) having a
shape (see figure 2A), the contact (110) comprising an upper part (part that is above R2 in figure 2A) that comprises a first contact point (R2) configured to be electrically connected to a terminal of a memory module (i.e. disclosed R2 is capable of being electrically connected to a terminal of a memory module) and is configured to be pressed inwards when the terminal of the memory module is inserted (i.e. disclosed R2 is capable of being pressed inwards when the terminal of the memory module is inserted; ¶0041), and a lower part (part that is near R1 at the bottom of figure 1) that comprises a second contact point (R1) configured to be electrically connected to a test board for testing the memory module (i.e. disclosed R1 is capable of being electrically connected to a test board for testing a memory module; ¶0040), is formed curved at a predetermined arc angle (¶0040),
the elastic body (160) configured to elastically support the contact (110), and the free end (end of upper part above R2) of the upper part (part that is above R2 in figure 2A) where the first contact point (R2) is formed is elastically pressed in contact with a second side of the receiving portion (230), and
the elastic body (160) performs a first direction pressing by pressing the lower part (lower part of 160) in a direction of the second contact point (R1) and a second direction pressing by pressing the fixing end (140, 150) outwards in the direction of an inner wall (inner wall of 210a) of the receiving portion (230), so the contact (110) is fitted and fixed in the receiving portion (230) in an elastically compressed manner (¶0048).
But Kim does not explicitly disclose a connector comprising a fixing end at a distal end thereof; wherein the fixing end is elastically pressed in contact with a first side of the receiving portion in which the contact is received.
Tondreault teaches (figures 1 – 6) a connector comprising a fixing end (94, 96) at a distal end thereof; wherein the fixing end (94, 96) is elastically pressed in contact with a first side of the receiving portion (42, 44, 56, 58) in which the contact (60) is received.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim with the connector as disclosed by Tondreault to provide a fixing end at a distal end thereof, wherein the fixing end protrudes outwards and is elastically pressed in contact with a first side of the receiving portion in which the contact is received, in order to improve contact stability, alignment, and retention within the receiving portion.
Claim(s) 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20090075495, cited in the IDS on 5/24/2024) in view of Tondreault (US 5013264) and further in view of Park (KR 100673614).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B) the contact of claim 10.
But Kim and Tondreault do not explicitly disclose wherein before the terminal of the memory module is inserted, the body of the contact is in a primary elastically pressed state in which the fixing end and the free end are pressed, and after the terminal of the memory module is inserted, the body of the contact is in a secondary elastically pressed state in which the fixing end and the first contact point are pressed, so the body of the contact receives elastic deformation in two steps.
Park teaches (figures 4 – 13) a connector wherein before the terminal (4) of the memory module (see figure 1) is inserted, the body of the contact (150) is in a primary elastically pressed state (see figure 10A) in which the fixing end (end that contacts 123 in figure 10) and the free end (153) are pressed, and after the terminal (4) of the memory module (see figure 1) is inserted, the body of the contact (150) is in a secondary elastically pressed state (see figure 10B) in which the fixing end (end that contacts 123 in figure 10) and the first contact point (151) are pressed, so the body of the contact (150) receives elastic deformation in two steps (first step in figure 10A, second step in figure 10B when the memory module is inserted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim and Tondreault with the connector as disclosed by Park to provide that when the terminal of the memory module is inserted, the body of the contact is in a primary elastically pressed state in which the fixing end and the free end are pressed, and after the terminal of the memory module is inserted, the body of the contact is in a secondary elastically pressed state in which the fixing end and the first contact point are pressed, so the body of the contact receives elastic deformation in two steps, in order to improve the mechanical stability of the contacts when the memory module is inserted.
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches (figures 1 – 3B) the contact of claim 10.
But Kim and Tondreault do not explicitly disclose wherein before the terminal of the memory module is inserted, the body of the contact is fitted and fixed in the receiving portion as the fixing end and the free end are pressed, and after the terminal of the memory module is inserted, as the upper part where the first contact point is formed is pressed inwards, the free end is released from a state of being pressed and the first contact point is pressed in contact with the terminal of the memory module thereby, so the body of the contact is fitted and fixed in the receiving portion as the fixing end and the first contact point are pressed.
Park teaches (figures 4 – 13) a connector wherein before the terminal (4) of the memory module (see figure 1) is inserted, the body of the contact (150) is fitted and fixed in the receiving portion (111) as the fixing end (end that contacts 123 in figure 10) and the free end (153) are pressed, and after the terminal (4) of the memory module (see figure 1) is inserted, as the upper part (upper part of the contact 150) where the first contact point (151) is formed is pressed inwards, the free end (153) is released from a state of being pressed (see figure 10B) and the first contact point (151) is pressed in contact with the terminal (4) of the memory module (see figure 1) thereby, so the body of the contact (150) is fitted and fixed in the receiving portion (111) as the fixing end (end that contacts 123 in figure 10) and the first contact point (151) are pressed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim and Tondreault with the connector as disclosed by Park to provide that when before the terminal of the memory module is inserted, the body of the contact is fitted and fixed in the receiving portion as the fixing end and the free end are pressed, and after the terminal of the memory module is inserted, as the upper part where the first contact point is formed is pressed inwards, the free end is released from a state of being pressed and the first contact point is pressed in contact with the terminal of the memory module thereby, so the body of the contact is fitted and fixed in the receiving portion as the fixing end and the first contact point are pressed, in order to improve the mechanical stability of the contacts when the memory module is inserted.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834