DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication filed on 7/20/2026.
Claims 1-11, 15-16 are subject to examination.
This amendment and applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and entered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 15-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. U.S. Patent # 9,699,128 (hereinafter Zhang) in view of Fong et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2023/0214780 (hereinafter Fong)
With respect to claim 1, Zhang teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing program when executed causing a computer to implement:
-a function of receiving message (column 18 lines 56-61) a function of controlling to display a candidate message (Fig. 5 element 582a, 584A, 586A, 580b) that is a candidate of a message to be replied in response to the received message (i.e. Fig. 5 element 580A, 590A) (column 18 lines 55-67)(column 19 lines 1-15); and a function of controlling to display task information in association with a candidate message and related to a task to be executed (i.e. booking seafood restaurants for 3 people with outdoor or indoor seating) in relation to replying the candidate message in association with the candidate message (column 19 lines 3-67)(column 20 lines 1-16)(Fig. 5 element 590). Examiner would like to point out that there are multiple tasks to be executed is booking seafood restaurant for 3 people, adding to the calendar and directions).
Zhang does not teach message with a document from another user, associated with the document, by displaying an image of the document and displaying information indicating a part to be edited in the image of the document; and function of executing the task corresponding to the task information displayed in association with the candidate message, in response to an operation on the candidate message, wherein the task includes an operation on the part to be edited in the document.
Fong teaches receiving by a wireless communication (Paragraph 40), a message with a document from another user (Fig. 4a)(Paragraph 129); controlling to display a candidate message that is a candidate of a message to be replied and associated with the document in response to the received message (Fig. 2b, 3a-b, 4a-b)(Paragraph 102-104); controlling to display task information in association with the candidate message (Paragraph 25, 49)(Fig. 2b element 228) and related to a task to be executed in relation to replying the candidate message (Fig. 2b element 228) by displaying an image of the document (Fig. 2b element 210) and displaying information indicating a part to be edited in the image of the document (i.e. type to insert text) (Fig. 3d 336)(Paragraph 118-119, 129, 144). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Fong’s teaching in Zhang’s teaching to come up with displaying an image of the document and displaying information indicating a part to be edited in the image of the document. The motivation for doing so would so the collaborated document can be edited in a meeting, thereby the document can be perfected as a team.
With respect to claim 2, Zhang teaches non-transitory computer readable medium storing program according to claim 1, wherein the function of controlling to display the candidate message performs control to display a plurality of candidate messages (Fig. 5 element 582A, 584A, 586A, 590A)(i.e. plurality of candidate messages as plurality response options to be picked), and the function of controlling to display the task information performs control to display the task information related to a plurality of tasks including the task to be executed in relation to replying any one of the plurality of candidate messages (i.e. Fig 5 element 590A, 590B, 590C)(i.e. plurality of tasks being which restaurant to pick which has time associated with it, as well as indoor/outdoor seating, and then adding to calendar and directions) (column 19 lines 3-67)(column 20 lines 1-16)
With respect to claim 3, Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium storing program according to claim 2, wherein the function of controlling to display the task information performs control to display the task information, in response to an operation on a display element other than the plurality of candidate messages (i.e. Fig 5 element 590A, 590B, 590C)(i.e. plurality of tasks being which restaurant to pick which has time associated with it, as well as indoor/outdoor seating, and then adding to calendar and directions) (column 19 lines 3-67)(column 20 lines 1-16)
With respect to claim 4, Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium storing program according to claim 2, wherein the function of controlling to display the task information performs control such that first task information related to a task to be executed in relation to replying a first candidate message among the plurality of candidate messages (i.e. 3 seafood restaurant for 3 people between 7 and 8pm)column 19 lines 3-40), and second task information related to a task to be executed in relation to replying a second candidate message (i.e. indoor/outdoor seating as well as add to calendar/direction) )among the plurality of candidate messages are displayed to be distinguished (column 19 lines 52-67)(column 20 lines 1-29)
With respect to claim 5, Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium storing program according to claim 4, wherein the function of controlling to display the task information performs control such that the first task information and the second task information are displayed to be distinguished according to a display mode in a case where the first task information (Fig. 5 element 590c which states booked River House at 8 for 3 people)and the second task information (i.e. outdoor seating, and add to calendar and direction) are displayed (column 20 lines 10-29)
With respect to claim 6, Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium storing program according to claim 4, wherein the function of controlling to display the task information performs control such that the first task information (i.e. reservation between 7 and 8pm for seafood restaurant) and the second task information (i.e. indoor or outdoor seating) are displayed to be distinguished according to a display mode in a case where an operation on the first candidate message is performed (column 19 lines 3-60)
With respect to claim 7, Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium storing program according to claim 1, wherein the function of controlling to display the candidate message performs control to display a plurality of candidate messages, and the function of controlling to display the task information performs control to display task information related to a task to be executed in relation to replying one candidate message among the plurality of candidate messages (Fig. 5 element 590c which states booked River House at 8 for 3 people), in response to an operation on the one candidate message (column 20 lines 10-29)
With respect to claim 8, Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium storing program according to claim 7, wherein the function of controlling to display the task information performs control to display task information related to a task different from a task to be executed (i.e. Add to calendar and direction) in relation to replying another candidate message among the plurality of candidate messages, as the task information related to the task to be executed in relation to replying the one candidate message (i.e. add to calendar and direction are different task in relation to replying to the one candidate message of picking restaurants or outdoor or indoor seating) (column 20 lines 16-29)
With respect to claim 9, Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium storing program according to claim 1, wherein the function of controlling to display the task information performs control to display task information related to unexecuted tasks (i.e. Fig. 3a element 380c “I like Aasia village, book it please”, this is not executed because Asia Village is closed tonight), and not to display task information related to executed tasks, among the tasks to be executed in relation to replying the candidate messages (column 15 lines 1-14, 50-67)(column 16 lines 1-21)
With respect to claim 10, Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium storing program according to claim 1, wherein the function of controlling to display the task information performs control such that the task information related to the unexecuted tasks (i.e. Asia Village is closed hence that task is unexecuted) and the task information related to the executed tasks (i.e. Ginger Café, book it please which has a reply of “Done”) are displayed to be distinguished, among the tasks to be executed in relation to replying the candidate messages (column 15 lines 1-14, 50-67)(column 16 lines 1-21)
With respect to claim 14, Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium storing program according to claim 1, wherein the program causes the computer to further implement a function of executing a task (i.e. booked) corresponding to the task information displayed in association with the candidate message, in response to an operation on the candidate message (column 16 lines 31-37)(column 20 lines 10-28)
With respect to Claims 15 and 16, teaches they recite similar limitations as claim 1, therefore rejected under same basis.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. U.S. Patent # 9,699,128 (hereinafter Zhang) further in view of Fong further in view of Stone et al. U.S. Patent # 8,812,339 (hereinafter Stone)
With respect to claim 11, Zhang and Fong teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium storing program according to claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein the function of controlling to display the task information performs control to further display a ratio of the unexecuted tasks or the executed tasks to the tasks to be executed in relation to replying the candidate messages.
Stone teaches wherein the function of controlling to display the task information performs control to further display a ratio of the unexecuted tasks or the executed tasks to the tasks to be executed in relation to replying the candidate messages (column 3 lines 48-67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Stone’s teaching in Zhang and Fong’s teaching to come up with having displaying task information to display ratio of the unexecuted task to be executed in replying to the messages. The motivation for doing so would be to so how many tasks are pending or need to be completed, therefore, they can be prioritized.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A). Dotan-Cohen et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2022/0417192 which teaches providing a task in a email message to different people and a system.
B). Megill et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2021/0349955
C). Schulze et al. U.S. Patent Publication # 2020/0387651 which teaches about providing ratio between completed jobs and uncompleted jobs.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DHAIRYA A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453