DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 6 recite the limitation "the paths of the leg opening edges" in lines 2 and 3, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Beck et al. (US 2006/0070163).
With reference to claim 1, Beck et al. (hereinafter “Beck”) discloses a durable absorbent pant [0003], comprising:
an outer pant structure comprising:
a front waist portion with a front waist edge (see annotated figure 1 below);
a rear waist portion with a rear waist edge (opposite rear of garment);
a crotch portion having a forward portion meeting the front waist portion and a rearward portion meeting the rear waist portion (see annotated figure 1 below); and
left and right hip side portions at which the front waist portion meets the rear waist portion to form a waist opening with a waist opening edge comprising the front waist edge and the rear waist edge, and to form left and right leg openings with left and right leg opening edges (see annotated figure 1 below); and
a gusset assembly disposed at least partially in the crotch portion (figure 3), the gusset assembly having a wearer-facing surface, an outward-facing surface and a perimeter edge (figures 4-9), and comprising:
an absorbent layer (14B disclosed as including cotton in [0018]);
a liquid-impermeable barrier layer (14C) disposed beneath the absorbent layer (see figures 4-9),
the barrier layer comprising an outward-facing surface of the gusset assembly (see figures 4-9); and
an edge barrier that overlies portions of the wearer-facing surface proximate the perimeter edge within the crotch portion and effectively continues over and around the perimeter edge from the wearer-facing surface to the outward-facing surface in the crotch region, wherein the edge barrier comprises one or more section(s) of liquid impermeable edge sealing strip material (14D) joined to the barrier layer proximate the perimeter edge, or, wherein the edge barrier comprises an extension of the barrier layer (see annotate figure 9 below);
wherein the gusset assembly is affixed within the crotch portion by a pattern of discrete deposits of adhesive (i.e., adhesive strips) as set forth in [0045].
As to claim 3, Beck discloses a durable absorbent pant wherein an area of an outward-facing surface of the gusset assembly, entirely surrounded by but longitudinally and laterally inboard of the perimeter edge, is not affixed to the crotch portion as shown in annotated figure 9 above.
Regarding claim 7, Beck discloses a durable absorbent pant wherein the deposits of adhesive affix one or both the barrier layer and edge barrier directly to the crotch portion as set forth in [0045] and as shown in figure 9.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Kajanthan et al. (US 2021/0177676).
Regarding claim 8, Kajanthan et al. (hereinafter “Kajanthan”) discloses a durable absorbent pant, comprising:
an outer pant structure comprising: a front waist portion with a front waist edge (figure 8A);
a rear waist portion with a rear waist edge (figure 8B);
a crotch portion having a forward portion meeting the front waist portion and a rearward portion meeting the rear waist portion (figures 6B and 6D); and
left and right hip side portions at which the front waist portion meets the rear waist portion to form a waist opening with a waist opening edge comprising the front waist edge and the rear waist edge, and to form left and right leg openings with left and right leg opening edges (figures 8A and 8B); and
a gusset assembly (100) disposed at least partially in the crotch portion (see figures), the gusset assembly having a wearer-facing surface, an outward-facing surface and a perimeter edge (see figures, especially figure 4C), and comprising:
an absorbent layer (104);
a liquid-impermeable barrier layer (106) disposed beneath the absorbent layer (figure 4C), the barrier layer comprising an outward-facing surface of the gusset assembly (figure 4C); and
an edge barrier (110) that overlies portions of the wearer-facing surface proximate the perimeter edge within the crotch portion and effectively continues over and around the perimeter edge from the wearer-facing surface to the outward-facing surface in the crotch region (figure 4C),
wherein the edge barrier comprises one or more section(s) of liquid impermeable edge sealing strip material joined to the barrier layer proximate the perimeter edge, or, wherein the edge barrier comprises an extension of the barrier layer [0049];
an extending flange (112) comprising a fabric material [0053] having a width, the entirety of the width being bonded (113) to the edge barrier, the flange extending laterally outboard beyond a proximate side edge of the absorbent layer in the crotch portion (figure 4C), the extending flange being affixed to the outer pant structure (200) as shown in figure 6C.
As to claim 9, Kajanthan discloses a durable absorbent pant wherein the gusset assembly comprises an elastic stretch knit fabric as set forth in [0065] and in [0031].
With respect to claim 10, Kajanthan discloses a durable absorbent pant wherein the barrier layer comprises an elastomeric film as set forth in [0041].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. (US 2006/0070163).
With reference to claims 2 and 4, Beck teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Beck and claims 2 and 4 is the provision that the deposits of adhesive in the pattern have a specific average size and/or shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the size of the of the adhesive as desired since it has been held that the mere change in size and/or shape of elements previously disclosed in the prior art is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck et al. (US 2006/0070163) and further in view of Kajanthan et al. (US 2021/0177676).
With reference to claim 5, Beck teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Beck and claim 5 is the provision that the pattern of deposits of adhesive follow paths that generally parallel the paths of the leg opening edges and are disposed inboard thereof and proximate thereto.
Kajanthan teaches an analogous absorbent garment including a gusset having left and right lateral adhesive that follows paths that generally parallel the paths of the leg opening edges and are disposed inboard thereof and proximate thereto as set forth in [0071] and as shown in figures 4D and 6B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the article of Beck with adhesive that follows paths of the leg opening edges as taught by Kajanthan in order to minimize the risk of leakage through the pad as taught by Kajanthan in [0060].
As to claim 6, see the rejection of claim 5 and the figures which show the connection of the adhesive along programmed contours conforming to the paths of the leg openings as claimed.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajanthan et al. (US 2021/0177676) and further in view of Sepello et al. (US 2021/0290447).
With reference to claim 11, Kajanthan teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 8.
The difference between Kajanthan and claim 11 is the provision that the film is elastomeric.
Sepello et al. (hereinafter “Sepello”) teaches an analogous absorbent article wherein the edge barrier comprises an elastomeric film as set forth in [0079-0080].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the barrier of Kajanthan with an elastomeric material as taught by Sepello in an effort to not substantially reduce the elastic elongation capabilities of the assembled layers as taught by Sepello in [0079].
With reference to claim 12, Kajanthan teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 8.
The difference between Kajanthan and claim 12 is the provision that the article includes a supplemental elastic stretch knit fabric trip strip having a first strip portion affixed to the gusset assembly at a first attachment location and a second strip portion affixed to the front or rear waist portion at a second attachment location, wherein the deposits of adhesive are present at either or both the first attachment location and second attachment location.
Sepello teaches an analogous absorbent article including a supplemental elastic stretch knit fabric trip strip having a first strip portion (170a) affixed to the gusset assembly at a first attachment location and a second strip portion (170c) affixed to the front or rear waist portion at a second attachment location as shown in figure 2B. Sepello also discloses that the depos deposits of adhesive are present at either or both the first attachment location and second attachment locations as set forth in [0078-0079].
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sepello et al. (US 2021/0290447).
With reference to claim 13, Sepello discloses a durable absorbent pant (abstract), comprising:
an outer pant structure (figure 1) comprising:
a front waist portion with a front waist edge (figures 2A-2B);
a rear waist portion with a rear waist edge (figures 2A-2B);
a crotch portion having a forward portion meeting the front waist portion and a rearward portion meeting the rear waist portion (figures 2A-2B); and
left and right hip side portions at which the front waist portion meets the rear waist portion to form a waist opening with a waist opening edge comprising the front waist edge and the rear waist edge, and to form left and right leg openings with left and right leg opening edges (figure 1); and
a gusset assembly disposed at least partially in the crotch portion [0034], the gusset assembly having a wearer-facing surface, an outward-facing surface and a perimeter edge (figures 3A-3D), and comprising:
an absorbent layer (131b);
a liquid-impermeable barrier layer disposed beneath the absorbent layer (131c), the barrier layer comprising an outward-facing surface of the gusset assembly as set forth in figure 4.
Sepello also discloses that the gusset assembly is affixed to the outer pant structure in the front and rear waist portions, respectively, and is unaffixed to the outer pant structure along portions proximate the leg opening edges as set forth in [0035].
The difference between Sepello and claim 13 is the explicit recitation that the article includes an edge barrier that overlies portions of the wearer-facing surface proximate the perimeter edge within the crotch portion and effectively continues over and around the perimeter edge from the wearer-facing surface to the outward-facing surface in the crotch region, wherein the edge barrier comprises one or more section(s) of liquid impermeable edge sealing strip material joined to the barrier layer proximate the perimeter edge, or, wherein the edge barrier comprises an extension of the barrier layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the article of Sepello with an edge barrier as claimed because Sepello acknowledges that a strip of hydrophobic tape may be affixed via adhesive along the inside leg opening edges and wrapped about the edges and around the outward-facing layer thereby sealing the edges of the layers at the leg edges and providing wearer-facing strip along the leg openings in an effort to hinder urine flow as set forth in [0080].
With reference to claim 14, Sepello teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 13.
Sepello discloses that the gusset assembly is affixed to the outer pant structure at forward and rearward seam [0035] and that the article includes first and second lengths as claimed as shown in the figures.
The difference between Sepello and claims 14-15 is the provision that the first length is equal to or greater than the second length (cl. 14) or less than the second length (cl. 15).
Sepello teaches an article that is identical to that claimed in that the multiple layers and/or barriers may include elastic material as set forth throughout the disclosure, see for example, [0061-0063] and [0079-0080].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the elasticity/elongation of the layer(s) and/or barriers of the article to impart the desired result since the general disclosure of adjusting the elastic elongation capabilities has already been set forth by Sepello in [0079].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Greco et al. (US 11,701,267) discloses a garment with a moisture retention portion.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781