DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
In response to communications sent August 10, 2023, claim(s) 1-6 are pending in this application; of these claims 1 and 6 are in independent form.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The Examiner compared a machine translation of the Japanese foreign priority document to the instant U.S. patent application and determined that there are the same number of figures. In addition, there are corresponding paragraphs between the instant application and the foreign priority document. Nevetherless the Examiner will search for intervening references in the absence of a certified translation.
Drawings
The drawing(s) filed on August 10, 2023 are accepted by the Examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “CELL MANAGEMENT SYSTEM AND CELL MANAGEMENT METHOD FOR DETERMINING SUBJECT CONSISTENCY”.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) is/are acknowledged and the references contained therein have been considered by the Examiner. This includes the Information Disclosure Statements(s) filed on: August 10, 2023 and September 1, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“analysis apparatus configured to acquire…” in claim 1 (described on page 13 line 12 to page 14 line 23, which describes elements 20, 21, 22, and 23 in Figure 6).
“determination apparatus… configured to determine… in claim 1 (described on page 18 line 15 to page 19 line 12 which describes elements 50, 51, and 52 in Figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) “determine consistency”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element of an analysis apparatus is necessary pre-solution activity to carry out the abstract mental process. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to acquire information from DNA; this is based on the precedential case, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546.
1. A cell management system, comprising:
an analysis apparatus configured to acquire a first identification code from a processing sample from which a cell used for treatment is produced, or from a processed product based on the processing sample, and to acquire a second identification code from a reference sample (an additional element beyond the abstract idea, but the additional element is necessary pre-solution activity to carry out the abstract mental process; it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to acquire information from DNA; this is based on the precedential case, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546); and
a determination apparatus, based on the first identification code and the second identification code, configured to determine consistency of a subject from whom the processing sample is obtained and a subject from whom the reference sample is obtained (mental process of evaluation, performable in the human mind as a comparison of identification codes).
2. The cell management system according to claim 1, wherein the analysis apparatus acquires at least one of a short tandem repeat sequence, a multi-locus minisatellite sequence, a single-locus minisatellite sequence, and a mitochondrial DNA sequence, as the first identification code and the second identification code (an additional element that is necessary pre-solution activity; it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to acquire information from DNA; this is based on the precedential case, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546).
3. The cell management system according to claim 1, wherein
the analysis apparatus acquires a plurality of the first identification codes from a plurality of the processed products (an additional element that is necessary pre-solution activity; it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to acquire information from DNA; this is based on the precedential case, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546), and
the determination apparatus determines the consistency, based on the first identification codes based on the processed products, and the second identification code (mental process of evaluation, performable in the human mind as a comparison of identification codes).
4. The cell management system according to claim 1, wherein the processing sample and the reference sample are different types of samples obtained from a same subject (an additional element that is necessary pre-solution activity; it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to acquire information from DNA; this is based on the precedential case, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546).
5. The cell management system according to claim 1, wherein the processing sample and the reference sample are same type of samples obtained from a same subject on different tests (an additional element that is necessary pre-solution activity; it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to acquire information from DNA; this is based on the precedential case, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546).
6. A cell management method, comprising:
acquiring a processing sample from which a cell used for treatment is produced (an additional element beyond the abstract idea, but the additional element is necessary pre-solution activity to carry out the abstract mental process; it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to acquire information from DNA; this is based on the precedential case, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 154;
acquiring a reference sample (an additional element beyond the abstract idea, but the additional element is necessary pre-solution activity to carry out the abstract mental process; it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to acquire information from DNA; this is based on the precedential case, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 154;
acquiring a first identification code from the processing sample, or from a processed product based on the processing sample (an additional element beyond the abstract idea, but the additional element is necessary pre-solution activity to carry out the abstract mental process; it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to acquire information from DNA; this is based on the precedential case, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 154;
acquiring a second identification code from a reference sample (an additional element beyond the abstract idea, but the additional element is necessary pre-solution activity to carry out the abstract mental process; it is well-understood, routine, and conventional to acquire information from DNA; this is based on the precedential case, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 154; and
based on the first identification code and the second identification code, determining consistency of a subject from whom the processing sample is obtained and a subject from whom the reference sample is obtained (mental process of evaluation, performable in the human mind as a comparison of identification codes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170199211 A1 (“Ghouze”).
As to claim 1, Ghouze teaches a cell management system, comprising:
an analysis apparatus (Ghouze Para [0111]: analytical instrument) configured to acquire a first identification code (Ghouze Para [0111]: a database record) from a processing sample (Ghouze Para [0111]: from a processing sample subject chemical, biochemical, or molecular analysis) from which a cell used for treatment is produced (Ghouze Para [0111]: a patient sample), or from a processed product based on the processing sample (Ghouze Para [0111]: a therapeutic material), and to acquire a second identification code from a reference sample (Ghouze Para [0111]: a second biomarker signature is stored in the patient’s database record); and
a determination apparatus, based on the first identification code and the second identification code, configured to determine consistency of a subject from whom the processing sample is obtained and a subject from whom the reference sample is obtained (Ghouze Para [0111]: “Prior to administration of the therapeutic material the first biomarker signature of the original patient sample and the second signature of the therapeutic material are checked to verify a match between the two signatures confirming that the patient sample and the processed material are both derived from the same patient”).
As to claim 2, Ghouze teaches the cell management system according to claim 1, wherein the analysis apparatus acquires at least one of a short tandem repeat sequence (Ghouze Para [0112]: short tandem repeats), a multi-locus minisatellite sequence (this element is claimed in the alternative and does not need to be mapped; nevertheless see Ghouze Para [0112]: genetic fingerprinting and DNA profiling), a single-locus minisatellite sequence (Ghouze Para [0112]: Variable Number Tandem Repeats, abbreviated VNTR), and a mitochondrial DNA sequence (this element is claimed in the alternative and does not need to be mapped), as the first identification code and the second identification code (Ghouze Para [0112]: “assign a patient identity to a processed therapeutic material by matching the STR signature of the original patient sample and the therapeutic material”).
As to claim 3, Ghouze teaches the cell management system according to claim 1, wherein
the analysis apparatus acquires a plurality of the first identification codes from a plurality of the processed products (see the mapping of the independent claim combined with Ghouze Para [0031]: “parallel processing of a plurality of biological cellular samples” emphasis added) , and
the determination apparatus determines the consistency, based on the first identification codes based on the processed products, and the second identification code (Ghouze Para [0112]: “assign a patient identity to a processed therapeutic material by matching the STR signature of the original patient sample and the therapeutic material” emphasis added).
As to claim 4, Ghouze teaches the cell management system according to claim 1, wherein the processing sample and the reference sample are different types of samples (Ghouze Para [0042]: different types of samples) obtained from a same subject (Ghouze Para [0048]: the donor is also the patient in autologous cell therapy).
As to claim 5, Ghouze teaches the cell management system according to claim 1, wherein the processing sample and the reference sample are same type of samples (Ghouze Figure 2; a progression of sample measurements) obtained from a same subject on different tests (Ghouze Para [0048]: the donor is also the patient in autologous cell therapy).
As to claim 6, Ghouze teaches a cell management method, comprising:
acquiring a processing sample (Ghouze Para [0111]: from a processing sample subject chemical, biochemical, or molecular analysis) from which a cell used for treatment is produced (Ghouze Para [0111]: a patient sample);
acquiring a reference sample (Ghouze Para;
acquiring a first identification code (Ghouze Para [0111]: a database record) from the processing sample (Ghouze Para [0111]: a therapeutic material), or from a processed product based on the processing sample (Ghouze Para [0111]: a therapeutic material);
acquiring a second identification code from a reference sample (Ghouze Para [0111]: a second biomarker signature is stored in the patient’s database record); and
based on the first identification code and the second identification code, determining consistency of a subject from whom the processing sample is obtained and a subject from whom the reference sample is obtained (Ghouze Para [0111]: “Prior to administration of the therapeutic material the first biomarker signature of the original patient sample and the second signature of the therapeutic material are checked to verify a match between the two signatures confirming that the patient sample and the processed material are both derived from the same patient.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Roseti, L., et al. "A novel DNA profiling application for the monitoring of cross-contamination in autologous chondrocyte implantation." European Review for Medical & Pharmacological Sciences 17.6 (2013): 820. (Year: 2013)
US 20220389490 A1: pertinence is the authentication of samples from a subject
US 20180181709 A1: pertinence is the bioinformatics-based triage of autologous transplants; see summary of the invention
/JESSE P FRUMKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685 September 15, 2026