DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/08/2023 and 12/23/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 14, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 9 and 14, a “first surface” is referred to, which lacks antecedent basis. However, it is believed that the “first surface” should likely be the “first side” of the circuit board, as previously mentioned.
Also, claim 20 ends with a semicolon, but should end with a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrd et al. (US 20200363585 A1) (Of record, cited in IDS) in view of Li et al. (US 20220006253 A1), hereafter referred to as Byrd and Li, respectively.
With regards to claim 1, Byrd discloses:
An apparatus (Contents of Fig. 11b) comprising: a printed circuit board (145) (Fig. 11b) having an electronic component (150) (Fig. 11b) mounted on a first side thereof (Upper side of 145) (Fig. 11b); a heat sink (135) (Fig. 11b) located along a second side (Lower side of 145) (Fig. 11b) of the printed circuit board (145) (Fig. 11b); a thermoelectric cooler (TEC) (140) (Fig. 11b) disposed in an opening (Not numbered, occupied by 110 and 125) (Fig. 11b) through the printed circuit board (See Fig. 11b) and having a surface (Lower surface of 140) (Fig. 11b) adjacent the heat sink (See Fig. 11b; 140 and 135 touch); a laser (PIC 110 includes a laser, see paragraph [0049]) (Fig. 11b) on another surface (Upper surface of 140) (Fig. 11b) of the TEC (140) (Fig. 11b); and an optical fiber (Fiber 105) (Fig. 11b).
However, Byrd does not explicitly disclose:
an optical fiber mount attached to the first side of the printed circuit board to hold an end of the optical fiber in optical alignment with the laser.
However, Li discloses:
a circuit board (41) (Fig. 8) having an optical fiber mount (48) (Fig. 8) attached to the first side of the printed circuit board (See Fig. 8; Mount 48 can be seen to be attached to the upper side of 41) to hold an end of the optical fiber (End of 49) (Fig. 8) in optical alignment with the laser (Laser 44, with fiber and laser necessarily being optically aligned for the device to function) (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Byrd with the additional optical fiber mounting and alignment specifics of Li. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to better secure the optical fiber relative to the other components.
Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
With regards to claim 15, Byrd discloses:
An apparatus (Contents of Fig. 11b) comprising: a printed circuit board (145) (Fig. 11b); a heat sink (135) (Fig. 11b) located along a second side (Lower side of 145) (Fig. 11b) of the printed circuit board (PCB 145) (Fig. 11b); a thermoelectric cooler (TEC) (140) (Fig. 11b) disposed in an opening (Not numbered, occupied by 110 and 125) (Fig. 11b) through the printed circuit board (See Fig. 11b) and having a surface (Lower surface of 140) (Fig. 11b) adjacent the heat sink (See Fig. 11b; 140 and 135 touch); a laser (PIC 110 includes a laser, see paragraph [0049]) (Fig. 11b) on another surface (Upper surface of 140) (Fig. 11b) of the TEC (TEC 140) (Fig. 11b), and an optical fiber end (End of fiber 105) (Fig. 11b).
Byrd does not explicitly disclose:
a printed circuit board having an optical fiber mount attached to a first side thereof, wherein the optical fiber mount is to hold an optical fiber end in optical alignment with the laser; and a lens mounted upon the TEC between the laser and the optical fiber mount.
However, Li discloses:
a printed circuit board (41) (Fig. 8) having an optical fiber mount (48) (Fig. 8) attached to a first side thereof (Upper side of 41) (Fig. 8), wherein the optical fiber mount (48) (Fig.8) is to hold an optical fiber end (End of 49) (Fig. 8) in optical alignment with the laser (Laser 44, with fiber and laser necessarily being optically aligned for the device to function) (Fig. 8); and a lens (45) (Fig. 8) mounted upon the TEC (42) (Fig. 8, best visible Fig. 7) between the laser (44) (Fig. 8) and the optical fiber mount (48; See Fig. 8, lens 45 is located between the laser and optic fiber mount).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Byrd to include the additional fiber mount specifics, a lens, and additional lens specifics as disclosed by Li. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to better secure the optical fiber relative to the other components, to better focus the laser light, and to position the lens to provide additional cooling to it.
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 2, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 1, but Byrd does not explicitly disclose:
a bulk optical collimating and/or focusing element located along an optical path between the laser and the optical fiber mount.
However, Li discloses:
further comprising a bulk optical collimating and/or focusing element (Lens 45) (Fig. 8) located along an optical path (See Fig. 8; with fiber, lens, and laser necessarily being optically aligned for the device to function) between the laser (44) (Fig. 8) and the optical fiber mount (Optical fiber mount 48) (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Byrd-Li combination with the bulk optical collimating element (a lens) as disclosed by Li. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to better focus the laser light.
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 3, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 2, but Byrd does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the bulk optical collimating and/or focusing element is mounted upon the another surface of the TEC in an optical path between the laser and the optical fiber mount.
However, Li discloses:
wherein the bulk optical collimating and/or focusing element (Lens 45) (Fig. 8) is mounted upon the another surface (Upper surface of TEC 42) (Fig. 8) of the TEC (42) (Fig. 8) in an optical path (Between laser 44 and optic fiber mount 48; See Fig. 8) between the laser (44) (Fig. 8) and the optical fiber mount (48) (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Byrd-Li combination with the lens specifics as disclosed by Li. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to position the lens to provide additional cooling to it.
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 4, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 3, but Byrd does not explicitly disclose:
another bulk optical collimating and/or focusing element mounted on the first side of the printed circuit board along the optical path between the laser and the optical fiber mount.
However, Li discloses:
another bulk optical collimating and/or focusing element (45b, a secondary lens to 45a) (Fig. 21b) along the optical path (See Fig. 21b) between the laser (44) (Fig. 21b) and the optical fiber mount (Optical fiber 49; mount 48 not pictured) (Fig. 21b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Byrd-Li combination with the additional lens and lens specifics of Li. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to improve efficiency of light convergence into the optical fiber (Paragraph [0116]).
Regarding the limitation of the second lens being mounted on the first (upper) side of the printed circuit board, the placement is regarded as an obvious design choice, as the particular position of a secondary lens on the circuit board (as opposed to on the TEC) would not have altered the operation or function of the device, so long as the lenses are in line with the laser and optical fiber, as seen in Li.
See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 6, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 3, but Byrd does not explicitly disclose:
an optical isolator located on the first side of the printed circuit board along the optical path between the laser and the optical fiber mount.
However, Li discloses:
an optical isolator (46) (Fig. 14) located on the first side (Upper side of 41) (Fig. 14) of the printed circuit board (Substrate 41) (Fig. 14) along the optical path (Unnumbered line from laser 44) (See Fig. 14) between the laser (44) (Fig. 14) and the optical fiber mount (48) (Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Byrd-Li combination to include the optical isolator and associated specifics of Li. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to control the power transmitted to the optical fiber (Paragraph [0102]).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 7, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 4, and Li additionally discloses:
an optical isolator (46) (Fig. 14) mounted to the printed circuit board (Mounted to substrate 41) (Fig. 14) on the optical path (Unnumbered line from laser 44) (See Fig. 14) between the laser (44) (Fig. 14) and the optical fiber mount (48) (Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Byrd-Li combination to include the optical isolator and associated specifics of Li. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to control the power transmitted to the optical fiber (Paragraph [0102]).
Regarding the limitation of the isolator being placed between the bulk optical elements, i.e., the lenses, the placement is regarded as an obvious design choice, as the particular position of an optical isolator along the beam would not have altered the operation or function of the device, so long as the isolator was in line with the laser and optical fiber, which is seen in Li.
See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 8, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 3, but Byrd does not explicitly disclose:
an optical filter mounted to the printed circuit board along the optical path between the laser and the optical fiber mount.
However, Li discloses:
an optical filter (Polarizing filter 46) (Fig. 14) mounted to the printed circuit board (Mounted to substrate 41) (Fig. 14) along the optical path (Unnumbered line from laser 44) (See Fig. 14) between the laser (44) (Fig. 14) and the optical fiber mount (48) (Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Byrd-Li combination to include the optical polarizing filter and associated specifics of Li. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to control the power transmitted to the optical fiber (Paragraph [0102]).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 10, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 3, and Li additionally discloses:
wherein the bulk optical collimating and/or focusing element (Lens 45) (Fig. 8) is a lens (Described in the claim 2 rejection) (See also Fig. 8).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 11, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 3, and Li additionally discloses:
wherein the laser (44) (Fig. 8) and the bulk optical focusing and/or collimating element (Lens 45) (Fig. 8) are the only optical components mounted on the TEC (42) (Fig. 8).
Regarding this limitation, the combination begins with the configuration present in Fig. 11b of Byrd, which only has the laser module 110 mounted to the TEC 140, alone. This figure is then modified with the lens of Li also being placed on the TEC. Based on the combination as described (and also, in the relevant figures of Li), these would be the only optical components mounted on the TEC.
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 12, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 1, but Byrd does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the electronic component includes a driver of the laser.
However, Li discloses:
an electronic component (303) (Fig. 6) that includes a driver of the laser (Each chip of 303 drives a laser diode; See Paragraph [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic component of Byrd (a microcontroller) to at least in part drive the laser, as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to be capable of modifying the laser signal, i.e., performing signal shaping and amplitude adjustment (Paragraph [0083]).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 16, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 15, and Byrd additionally discloses:
an electronic component (150) (Fig. 11b) mounted to the printed circuit board (PCB 145) (Fig. 11b).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 17, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 16, and Byrd additionally discloses:
wherein the electronic component (150) (Fig. 11b) is mounted on the first side (Upper side of 145) (Fig. 11b) of the printed circuit board (PCB 145) (Fig. 11b).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 18, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 16, and Byrd additionally discloses:
an optical fiber (105) (Fig. 11b) having the optical fiber end (End of 105) (Fig. 11b).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 19, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 18, but Byrd does not explicitly disclose:
a second lens mounted on the first side of the printed circuit board in an optical path from the laser to the optical fiber end.
However, Li discloses:
a second lens (45b, a secondary lens to 45a) (Fig. 21b) mounted in an optical path (See Fig. 21b) from the laser (44) (Fig. 21b) to the optical fiber end (Optical fiber 49) (Fig. 21b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Byrd-Li combination with the additional lens and lens specifics of Li. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to improve efficiency of light convergence into the optical fiber (Paragraph [0116]).
Regarding the limitation of the second lens being mounted on the first (upper) side of the printed circuit board, the placement is regarded as an obvious design choice, as the particular position of a secondary lens on the circuit board (as opposed to on the TEC) would not have altered the operation or function of the device, so long as the lenses are in line with the laser and optical fiber, which is seen in Li.
See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 20, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 17, but Byrd does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the electronic component is a laser driver.
However, Li discloses:
an electronic component (303) (Fig. 6) that is a driver of the laser (Each chip of 303 drives a laser diode; See Paragraph [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic component of Byrd (a microcontroller) to at least in part drive the laser, as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to be capable of modifying the laser signal, i.e., performing signal shaping and amplitude adjustment (Paragraph [0083]).
See also KSR, supra.
22. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrd and Li, in further view of Huang (US 20220317394 A1), hereafter referred to as Huang.
Regarding claim 5, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 2, but do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the bulk optical collimating and/or focusing element is mounted upon the first side of the printed circuit board.
However, Huang discloses:
wherein the bulk optical collimating and/or focusing element (40) (Fig. 1) is mounted upon the first side (Upper side of 20) (Fig. 1) of the printed circuit board (20) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Byrd-Li combination to include the lens placement specifics as disclosed by Huang. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to improve alignment of the lens with the other optical components (e.g., the optical fiber) through mounting on the same surface and to provide additional structural stability.
Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 9, 13, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrd and Li, in further view of Pfnuer et al. (US 20170331557 A1), hereafter referred to as Pfnuer.
With regards to claim 9, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 1, but do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the another surface of the TEC is exactly flush with the first surface of the printed circuit board.
However, Pfnuer discloses:
wherein the another surface (Upper surface of 210) (Fig. 8b) of the TEC (210) (Fig. 8b) is substantially flush (See Fig. 8b) with the first surface (Upper surface of 805) (Fig. 8b) of the board (805) (Fig. 8b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Byrd-Li combination to include the flush TEC of Pfnuer. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to aid in the alignment of various optical parts and beam paths.
Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
With regards to claim 13, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 4, but do not explicitly disclose:
a cover over the laser and the bulk optical elements.
However, Pfnuer discloses:
a cover (810) (Fig. 8b) over the laser (215) (Fig. 8b) and the bulk optical elements (e.g., isolator 235) (Fig. 8b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Byrd-Li combination with the cover of Pfnuer. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to avoid condensation forming on the laser and associated electronic components (Paragraph [0037]).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 14, Byrd, Li, and Pfnuer disclose all as applied to claim 13, and Byrd additionally discloses:
wherein the electronic component (150) (Fig. 11b) is located along the first surface [of the PCB] (Upper side of PCB 145) (Fig. 11b).
Regarding the limitation of the electronic component being located outside of the cover, the exact placement of the electronic component (either inside or outside the cover) is regarded as an obvious design choice, as the particular position of an electronic component with respect to the cover would not have altered the operation or function of the device, absent convincing evidence to the contrary.
See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
See also KSR, supra.
With regards to claim 21, Byrd and Li disclose all as applied to claim 16, and Byrd additionally discloses:
wherein the electrical component (150) (Fig. 11b) is on the first side (Upper side of PCB 145) (Fig. 11b) of the printed circuit board (145) (Fig. 11b).
Byrd and Li do not explicitly disclose:
a cover over the laser and the lens, wherein the electrical component is outside the cover.
However, Pfnuer discloses:
a cover (810) (Fig. 8b) over the laser (215) (Fig. 8b) and the bulk optical elements (e.g., isolator 235) (Fig. 8b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Byrd-Li combination with the cover of Pfnuer. It is notable that the cover of Pfnuer fully encloses the TEC, and the Byrd-Li combination as described features a lens and laser on the TEC, which would fulfill the limitation of the cover being over the lens and laser. One of ordinary skill in related art(s) would have been motivated to do so in order to avoid condensation forming on the laser and associated electronic components (Paragraph [0037]).
Regarding the limitation of the electronic component being located outside of the cover, the exact placement of the electronic component (either inside or outside the cover) is regarded as an obvious design choice, as the particular position of an electronic component with respect to the cover would not have altered the operation or function of the device, absent convincing evidence to the contrary.
See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
See also KSR, supra.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cho (KR 20220114840 A), teaching a laser module on a TEC, with an associated fiber optic line and lens.
Wang et al. (US 10951005 B2), teaching a laser module and associated lens on a TEC, with the laser output being directed into a second lens and fiber optic cable.
You et al. (CN 216083183 U), teaching a TEC cooled optical module, with a mounting hole in the PCB for the TEC.
Han et al. (US 20120128290 A1), teaching an enclosed TEC cooled optical module, with a lens and a window in the casing.
/K.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835