Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/25/2025 has been entered. Claim 1, 7, 10, 16, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remains pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because new limitations have been added to claims, therefore a new interpretation has been used and the arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (JP 2008174315) in view of Li (20180029841).
Regarding claim-1. Hayashi discloses an escalator system (Fig.1), comprising:
a balustrade (3, Fig.1) comprising a skirt (5, Fig.1) with a brush (15 having brush Fig.6);
a moving step (2, Fig.1), which is drivable to move in a conveyance direction along the balustrade to form a step-skirt interface between ends of the brush of the skirt and a corresponding side of the moving step (Fig.1,3,6); and
an entrapment monitoring and detection system (Fig.3-4, 6) comprising:
a sensor (8, Fig.6) disposed at the step-skirt interface and configured to sense an object being present at the step-skirt interface; and
a processor (11, Fig.4) configured to determine whether the sensor (8) senses the object being present at the step-skirt interface for a predetermined time (See Embodiment 1),
But Hayashi doesn’t explicitly teach wherein: the sensor (8) is configured to execute periodic sensing and is further configured to generate signals during the periodic sensing which are receivable and readable by the processor (11, Fig.4). However, it is just a mere of constructional detail of an apparatus in which it is well known in the art without involving any inventive step to configure sensor to periodically sense and generate signals based on required specification of the system.
Li discloses an escalator system (Fig.1), and also, teaches wherein: the sensor (310) is configured to execute periodic sensing and is further configured to generate signals during the periodic sensing which are receivable and readable by the processor ([0024-0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to additionally/explicitly provide Hayashi system with sensor for periodically sensing and generating signals for purpose of detecting the presence of the object as as well as helps improve the accuracy of judgment and prevent misoperation.
Regarding claim-2. Hayashi as modified discloses wherein the sensor (8) comprises multiple sensors (Fig.3) that sense in a same direction or in multiple directions (Fig.3).
Regarding claim-3. Hayashi as modified discloses wherein the sensor (8) is a LiDAR sensor (8 Fig.3).
Regarding claim-6. Hayashi as modified discloses wherein the sensor is one or more of a LiDAR sensor (8), a RADAR sensor or a camera.
Regarding claim-7. Hayashi as modified discloses wherein:
when no object is present at the step-skirt interface, the signals are first signals manifesting as first data points that and are reflective of a predetermined length along the balustrade for which the sensor is responsible, when an object is present at the step-skirt interface for less than the predetermined time, the signals manifest as second data points that deviate from the first signals in not being reflective of the predetermined length and that persist for less than the predetermined time, and when an object is present at the step-skirt interface for at least the predetermined time, the signals manifest as third data points that deviate from the first signals in not being reflective of the predetermined length and that persist for at least the predetermined time. (See Embodiment 1, 3, Fig.1, 3-4 and also Data processed and generated as taught by Li [0005-0006] based on sensor detection).
Regarding claim-10. Hayashi as modified discloses an escalator system (Fig.1), comprising: balustrades (3), each comprising a skirt (5) with a brush (15 having brushes);
a moving step (2), which is drivable to move in a conveyance direction between the balustrades to form step-skirt interfaces between ends of each brush and corresponding sides of the moving step (Fig.1,3,6); and
an entrapment monitoring and detection system (Fig.3-4, 6) comprising:
a sensor (8) disposed at each step-skirt interface and configured to sense an object being present at each step-skirt interface; and
a processor (11) configured to determine whether either sensor senses the object being present at either step-skirt interface for a predetermined time, to judge that an entrapment incident is in effect or is imminent in accordance with an affirmative determination that either sensor senses the object being present at either step-skirt interface for the predetermined time and to take a mitigation action (via 13) accordingly (See Embodiment 1, Fig.1, 3-4).
wherein: the sensor (8) is configured to execute periodic sensing and is further configured to generate signals during the periodic sensing which are receivable and readable by the processor (11, Fig.4) (as taught by Li).
Regarding claim-11. Hayashi as modified discloses wherein the sensor (8) comprises multiple sensors (Fig.3) that sense in a same direction or in multiple directions (Fig.3).
Regarding claim-12. Hayashi as modified discloses wherein the sensor (8) at each step-skirt interface is a LiDAR sensor (8).
Regarding claim-15. Hayashi as modified discloses wherein the sensor is one or more of a LiDAR sensor (8), a RADAR sensor or a camera.
Regarding claim-16. Hayashi as modified discloses wherein:
when no object is present at the step-skirt interface, the signals are first signals manifesting as first data points that and are reflective of a predetermined length along the balustrade for which the sensor is responsible, when an object is present at the step-skirt interface for less than the predetermined time, the signals manifest as second data points that deviate from the first signals in not being reflective of the predetermined length and that persist for less than the predetermined time, and when an object is present at the step-skirt interface for at least the predetermined time, the signals manifest as third data points that deviate from the first signals in not being reflective of the predetermined length and that persist for at least the predetermined time. (See Embodiment 1, 3, Fig.1, 3-4 and also Data processed and generated as taught by Li [0005-0006] based on sensor detection).
Regarding claim-19. Hayashi as modified discloses a method of operating an entrapment monitoring and detection system (Fig.3-4, 6) of an escalator system (Fig.1) in which a moving step (2) passes by ends of a brush (15 having brushes) of a balustrade (3) at a step-skirt interface, the method comprising:
scanning the step-skirt interface (via sensor 8);
determining whether results of the scanning are indicative of an object at the step-skirt interface; determining whether the results of the scanning are indicative of the object at the step-skirt interface persisting for a predetermined time; and judging that an entrapment is in effect or imminent in accordance with the results of the scanning being indicative of the object at the step-skirt interface and persisting for the predetermined time (See Embodiment 1, Fig.1, 3-4),
wherein the scanning comprises executing periodic sensing of the step-skirt interface and generating signals during the periodic sensing which are receivable and readable by a processor (as taught by Li).
Regarding claim-4-5, 13-14. Hayashi does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor (8) is a RADAR sensor; wherein the sensor (8) is a camera; wherein the sensor (8) at each step-skirt interface is a RADAR sensor; wherein the sensor (8) at each step-skirt interface is a camera. However, it is just a mere of design and constructional detail of an apparatus in which skilled person in the art can deploy or alternatively provide any suitable sensor which are well known in the art to detect the presence of the object at given location/point as present by Hayashi sensor (8).
Li discloses an escalator system (Fig.1), and also, teaches wherein the sensor (310, Fig.1-3) is a radar sensor, or camera ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to alternatively provide Hayashi system with radar or camera for purpose of detecting the presence of the object as described by Hayashi.
Claim(s) 8-9, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (JP 2008174315) in view of Li (20180029841) and further view of Lou (US 20200239283).
Regarding claim-8, 17. Hayashi as modified does not discloses further comprising light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged along the balustrade (3) and controllable by the entrapment monitoring and detection system to emit light in response to the processor (11) determining that the sensor senses the object being present at the step-skirt interface for the predetermined time (See Embodiment 1, Fig.1, 3-4). Hayashi lacks LED arranged along the balustrade that emit light when sensor senses the object. However, Hayashi does teach a warning issuing means 13 to warn that object is lodged at step-skirt interface.
Lou discloses an escalator system (Fig.1) and teaches a sensor (5) that emits visible light upon detection ([0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to alternatively provide Hayashi system with the sensor that emit light as taught by Lou for purpose to allow passengers or technician to easily spot foreign objects that are lodged at the given step-skirt interface while operational control 14 decelerate the escalator for prevention of any injury to passengers.
Regarding claim-9, 18. Hayashi as modified discloses wherein: the processor (11) is further configured to judge that an entrapment incident is in effect or is imminent in accordance with an affirmative determination that the sensor (8) senses the object being present at the step-skirt interface for the predetermined time and to take a mitigation action accordingly, and the mitigation action comprises at least one or more of activating a warning (warning issuing means 13 or emitting light as taught by Lou sensor 5) light to emit a first color, activating the warning light to emit a second color and braking or slowing (decelerating) the escalator system (See Embodiment 1, Fig.1, 3-4).
Regarding claim-20. Hayashi as modified discloses further comprising taking a mitigation action to address the entrapment being in effect or imminent, the mitigation action comprising at least one or more of activating a warning (warning issuing means 13 or emitting light as taught by Lou sensor 5) light to emit a first color, activating the warning light to emit a second color and braking or slowing (decelerating) the escalator system (See Embodiment 1, Fig.1, 3-4).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651