DETAILED ACTION
I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
II. This action is in response to applicants amendment/arguments filed on December 10, 2025. This action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
III. Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12, 15, 19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over s3GPP TSG-WG SA2 Meeting, Solution on selecting N3IWF supporting the S-NSSAI needed by UE, hereinafter Solution on selecting N3IWF in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0357129 A1), and Salkintzis (WO 2022/228673 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Solution on selecting N3IWF teaches a terminal device (UE) to perform at least: selecting a gateway function for accessing a core network of a communications system (see page 3 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 1b, When the UE decides to attach to 5GC network, the UE selects an N3IWF in a 5G PLMN. This reads on selecting a gateway function for accessing a core network of a communications system); transmitting, to the gateway function, via a non- 3rd Generation Partnership Program (non-3GPP) access point, a request for use of the gateway function to access the core network (see page 3 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access network, Step 5, The UE shall send a Registration Request message including AN parameters used by the N3IWF for selecting an AMF in the 5G core network and the requested NSSAI. The request is sent via the non-3GPP access network which includes non-3GPP access point. This reads on transmitting, to the gateway function, via a non- 3rd Generation Partnership Program (non-3GPP) access point, a request for use of the gateway function to access the core network); and receiving, from the gateway function, via the non-3GPP access point, a response to the request, the response indicating that use of the gateway function to access the core network is rejected, the response comprising information about one or more alternative gateway functions for the terminal device to use to access the core network (see page 4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 7 and Step 8a, The selected AMF determines whether the N3IWF connected with the UE currently supports the request NSSAI needed by the UE. If the selected N3EWF does not support the request NSSAI, the AMF may determine a target N3IWF that supports the request NSSAI. The AMF may provide target N3IWF information to the UE within a registration reject message. The information of the target N3IWF indicates that the N3IWF currently connected to the UE does not support the requested NSSAI and this reads on receiving, from the gateway function, via the non-3GPP access point, a response to the request, the response indicating that use of the gateway function to access the core network is rejected, the response comprising information about one or more alternative gateway functions for the terminal device to use to access the core network).
Solution on selecting N3IWF does not specifically teach the terminal device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the terminal device to perform the instructions; and the response including an indication of a cause of rejection of the request, wherein the indication of the cause of the rejection indicates that the gateway function does not support network slicing requirements of the terminal device.
Park teaches a terminal device comprising: at least one processor (1811, Fig. 18); and at least one memory (1812, Fig.2) including computer program code, wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the terminal device to perform the instructions (see paragraphs [0701] – [0702] and Fig. 18, Software code stored in memory and driven by the processor reads on a terminal device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the terminal device to perform the instructions); and an indication of a cause of rejection of the request, wherein the indication of the cause of the rejection indicates that the gateway function does not support network slicing requirements of the terminal device (see paragraphs [0612] – [0615], The network may send a reject message, the network may include in the reject message a cause value representing that it cannot support the required slice/service of the UE (e.g., requested slice is not supported) and rejects it. This reads on an indication of a cause of rejection of the request, wherein the indication of the cause of the rejection indicates that the gateway function does not support network slicing requirements of the terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the terminal device and the response in the UE Solution on selecting N3IWF adapt to include the terminal device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the terminal device to perform the instructions; and the response including an indication of a cause of rejection of the request, wherein the indication of the cause of the rejection indicates that the gateway function does not support network slicing requirements of the terminal device because it would allow for an efficient mechanism for a UE to identify that a first gateway function cannot support a second slice/service thereby improving connectivity to the core network (see Salkintzis, paragraphs [0038] – 0041]).
Regarding claim 2 Solution on selecting N3IWF teaches wherein the gateway function comprises a Non-3GPP Interworking Function (N3IWF) or a Trusted Non-3GPP Gateway Function (TNGF) (see page 3 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 1, The UE selects an N3IWF in a 5G PLMN. This reads on wherein the candidate gateway function comprises a Non-3GPP Interworking Function (N3IWF) or a Trusted Non-3GPP Gateway Function).
Regarding claim 3 Solution on selecting N3IWF teaches determining one or more requested network slices for by the terminal device, and wherein the request includes an identifier of a set of network slices comprising the one or more requested network slices (see page 3 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 5, The UE includes the requested NSSAI in the request and this reads on determining one or more requested network slices for by the terminal device, and wherein the request includes an identifier of a set of network slices comprising the one or more requested).
Regarding claim 4 Solution on selecting N3IWF teaches wherein each respective requested network slice of the one or more requested network slices is identified by a corresponding Single Network Slice Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) (see page 3 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 5, The UE includes the requested NSSAI in the request and this reads on wherein each respective requested network slice of the one or more requested network slices is identified by a corresponding Single Network Slice Assistance Information).
Regarding claim 5 Solution on selecting N3IWF teaches wherein the response includes an identifier of a set of allowed network slices for use by the terminal device, the set of allowed network slices comprising at least one of the one or more requested network slices for the terminal device (see pages 3-4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 9, The AMF may send a Registration Accept message to the N3IWF that includes the allowed NSSAI for the access type for the UE. This reads on wherein the response includes an identifier of a set of allowed network slices for use by the terminal device, the set of allowed network slices comprising at least one of the one or more requested network slices for the terminal device).
Regarding claim 6 Solution on selecting N3IWF teaches wherein the request comprises a registration request for registering the terminal device with the communication network (see pages 3-4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 5 and Step 8a) and the response comprises a registration response indicating acceptance of the registration request for registering the terminal device with the communication network (see pages 3-4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 9, The AMF may send a Registration Accept message to the N3IWF that includes the allowed NSSAI for the access type for the UE. This reads on the response comprises a registration response indicating acceptance of the registration request for registering the terminal device with the communication network).
Regarding claim 7 Solution on selecting N3IWF teaches wherein the request comprises an authentication request for authenticating the terminal device with the communication device and the response comprises an authentication response indicating that the terminal device is authenticated by the communication device (see pages 3-4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 5 and Step 8b, The registration request includes IKE_Auth Req and the registration response includes the AMF initiating authentication and security procedure to finish the registration procedure. This reads on wherein the request comprises an authentication request for authenticating the terminal device with the communication device and the response comprises an authentication response indicating that the terminal device is authenticated by the communication device).
Regarding claim 9 Solution on selecting N3IWF teaches a network device for a communications network to perform at least: receiving, from a terminal device, a request for use of a gateway function to access a core network of the communications networks, via an access point of the communications network (see page 3 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 1b and Step 5, The UE selects an N3IWF and sends a Registration Request message including AN parameters used by the N3IWF for selecting an AMF in the 5G core network and requested NSSAI. The request is sent via the non-3GPP access network which includes non-3GPP access point. This reads on receiving, from a terminal device, a request for use of a gateway function to access a core network of the communications networks, via an access point of the communications network); obtaining gateway slicing information for the gateway function, the gateway slicing information indicating one or more network slices supported by the gateway function (see page 4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 7, The AMF determines whether the N3IWF connected with UE supports the requested NSSAI needed by the UE. This indicates that the AMF has information of one or more network slices supported by the gateway function and reads on obtaining gateway slicing information for the gateway function, the gateway slicing information indicating one or more network slices supported by the gateway function); retrieving terminal slicing information indicative of one or more allowed network slices for the terminal device (see page 4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Steps 5 & 7, The AMF receives the NSSAI requested by the UE and this reads on retrieving terminal slicing information indicative of one or more allowed network slices for the terminal device); determining whether a network slice of the one or more network slices supported by the gateway function is one or the one or more allowed network slices for the terminal device; based on the determining that a network slice of the one or more network slices supported by the gateway function is not one of the one or more allowed network slices for the terminal device (see page 4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 7, The AMF determines whether the N3IWF connected with UE supports the requested NSSAI needed by the UE. This indicates that the AMF has information of one or more network slices supported by the gateway function. The AMF receives the NSSAI requested by the UE. The AMF determines that the N3IWF does not support the requested NSSAI. This reads on determining whether a network slice of the one or more network slices supported by the gateway function is one or the one or more allowed network slices for the terminal device; based on the determining that a network slice of the one or more network slices supported by the gateway function is not one of the one or more allowed network slices for the terminal device) and transmitting, a response to the request, the response indicating the request of the terminal device for use of the gateway function to access the core network is rejected (see page 4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 7 and Step 8a, The selected AMF determines whether the N3IWF connected with the UE currently supports the request NSSAI needed by the UE. If the selected N3EWF does not support the request NSSAI, the AMF may determine a target N3IWF that supports the request NSSAI. The AMF may provide target N3IWF information to the UE within a registration reject message. The information of the target N3IWF indicates that the N3IWF currently connected to the UE does not support the requested NSSAI. This reads on transmitting, a response to the request, the response indicating the request of the terminal device for use of the gateway function to access the core network is rejected).
Solution on selecting N3IWF does not specifically teach the network device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the terminal device to perform the instructions; and the response including an indication of a cause of rejection of the request, wherein the indication of the cause of the rejection indicates that the gateway function does not support network slicing requirements of the terminal device.
Park teaches a network device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the terminal device to perform the instructions (see paragraphs [0653], The CCNF/AMF includes a processor, wherein the processor and memory are configured to execute instructions (see paragraphs [0683] – [0686]). This reads on a network device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the terminal device to perform the instructions); and an indication of a cause of rejection of the request, wherein the indication of the cause of the rejection indicates that the gateway function does not support network slicing requirements of the terminal device (see paragraphs [0612] – [0615], The network may send a reject message, the network may include in the reject message a cause value representing that it cannot support the required slice/service of the UE (e.g., requested slice is not supported) and rejects it. This reads on an indication of a cause of rejection of the request, wherein the indication of the cause of the rejection indicates that the gateway function does not support network slicing requirements of the terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the network device and the response in the UE Solution on selecting N3IWF adapt to include the network device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the terminal device to perform the instructions; and the response including an indication of a cause of rejection of the request, wherein the indication of the cause of the rejection indicates that the gateway function does not support network slicing requirements of the terminal device because it would allow for an efficient mechanism for a UE to identify that a first gateway function cannot support a second slice/service thereby improving connectivity to the core network (see Salkintzis, paragraphs [0038] – 0041]).
Regarding claim 10 Solution on selecting N3IWF, Park, and Salkintzis teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 10 is rejected for the same reason given above.
Regarding claim 12 Solution on selecting N3IWF, Park, and Salkintzis teach limitations as recited in claim 4 and therefore claim 12 is rejected for the same reason given above.
Regarding claim 15 Solution on selecting N3IWF teaches identifying an alternative gateway function based on the terminal slicing information, and wherein the response further comprises information about the alternative gateway function that is identified (see page 4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 7 and Step 8a, The selected AMF determines whether the N3IWF connected with the UE currently supports the request NSSAI needed by the UE. If the selected N3EWF does not support the request NSSAI, the AMF may determine a target N3IWF that supports the request NSSAI. The AMF may provide target N3IWF information to the UE within a registration reject message. This reads on identifying an alternative gateway function based on the terminal slicing information, and wherein the response further comprises information about the alternative gateway function that is identified).
Regarding claim 19 Solution on selecting N3IWF, Park, and Salkintzis teach limitations as recited in claims 6-7 and therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reason given above.
Regarding claim 21 Solution on selecting N3IW teaches selecting an alternative gateway function of the one or more alternative gateway functions for accessing the core network of the communications system (see page 4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 7 and Step 8a, The selected AMF determines whether the N3IWF connected with the UE currently supports the request NSSAI needed by the UE. If the selected N3EWF does not support the request NSSAI, the AMF may determine a target N3IWF that supports the request NSSAI. The AMF may provide target N3IWF information to the UE within a registration reject message. This reads on selecting N3IW teaches selecting an alternative gateway function of the one or more alternative gateway functions for accessing the core network of the communications system).
Regarding claim 22 Solution on selecting N3IWF teaches a network device for a communications network to perform at least: receiving, from a terminal device via a non-3rd generation partnership program (non-3GPP) access point, a request for use of a gateway function to access a core network of the communications networks, the request comprising an identifier of a set of network slices, the set of network slices comprising one or more network slices requested by the terminal device (see page 3 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 1b and Step 5, The UE selects an N3IWF and sends a Registration Request message including AN parameters used by the N3IWF for selecting an AMF in the 5G core network and the requested NSSAI. The request is sent via the non-3GPP access network which includes non-3GPP access point. This reads on receiving, from a terminal device via a non-3rd generation partnership program (non-3GPP) access point, a request for use of a gateway function to access a core network of the communications networks, the request comprising an identifier of a set of network slices, the set of network slices comprising one or more network slices requested by the terminal device); determining whether the gateway function supports any of the one or more network slices requested by the terminal; based on the gateway function not supporting any of the one or more network slices requested by the terminal device (see page 4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 7, The AMF determines whether the N3IWF connected with UE supports the requested NSSAI needed by the UE. This indicates that the AMF has information of one or more network slices supported by the gateway function. The AMF receives the NSSAI requested by the UE. The AMF determines that the N3IWF does not support the requested NSSAI. This reads on determining whether the gateway function supports any of the one or more network slices requested by the terminal; based on the gateway function not supporting any of the one or more network slices requested by the terminal device) and transmitting a response to the request the response indicating the rejection of the request of the terminal device for use of the gateway function to access the core network (see page 4 and Figure 6.X.3-1: Registration via untrusted non-3GPP access, Step 7 and Step 8a, The selected AMF determines whether the N3IWF connected with the UE currently supports the request NSSAI needed by the UE. If the selected N3EWF does not support the request NSSAI, the AMF may determine a target N3IWF that supports the request NSSAI. The AMF may provide target N3IWF information to the UE within a registration reject message. The information of the target N3IWF indicates that the N3IWF currently connected to the UE does not support the requested NSSAI. This reads on transmitting a response to the request the response indicating the rejection of the request of the terminal device for use of the gateway function to access the core network).
Solution on selecting N3IWF does not specifically teach the network device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the terminal device to perform the instructions; and the response including an indication of a cause of rejection of the request, wherein the indication of the cause of the rejection indicates that the gateway function does not support any of the one or more network slices requested by the terminal device.
Park teaches a network device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the terminal device to perform the instructions (see paragraphs [0653], The CCNF/AMF includes a processor, wherein the processor and memory are configured to execute instructions (see paragraphs [0683] – [0686]). This reads on a network device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the terminal device to perform the instructions); and an indication of a cause of rejection of the request, wherein the indication of the cause of the rejection indicates that the gateway function does not support any of the one or more network slices requested by the terminal device (see paragraphs [0612] – [0615], The network may send a reject message, the network may include in the reject message a cause value representing that it cannot support the required slice/service of the UE (e.g., requested slice is not supported) and rejects it. This reads on an indication of a cause of rejection of the request, wherein the indication of the cause of the rejection indicates that the gateway function does not support any of the one or more network slices requested by the terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the network device and the response in the UE Solution on selecting N3IWF adapt to include the network device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the terminal device to perform the instructions; and the response including an indication of a cause of rejection of the request, wherein the indication of the cause of the rejection indicates that the gateway function does not support any of the one or more network slices requested by the terminal device because it would allow for an efficient mechanism for a UE to identify that a first gateway function cannot support a second slice/service thereby improving connectivity to the core network (see Salkintzis, paragraphs [0038] – 0041]).
Response to Arguments
IV. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-10, 12, 15, 19, and 21-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
V. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. Pub. No.: US 2019/0029065 A1 discloses registration method of user terminal in wireless communication system and apparatus therefor including a network rejecting an S-NSSAI provided by a UE in a requested NSSAI having a rejected cause (see paragraph [0500]).
Jin et al. Pub. No.: US 2019/0075512 A1 discloses radio access network slice generation method, radio access network, and slice manager including a gateway determining whether to allow access of a RAN slice, wherein the gateway may determine that the service type cannot be supported by the core network slice corresponding to the gateway, and wherein context information of the gateway is sent including access capability information (see paragraph [0087]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
January 22, 2026