DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on May 17, 2024. Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 17 are amended. Claims 13-16 are cancelled. Claims 20-23 are added. Claims 1-12 and 17-23 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 12, 17, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 of claim 12 recites: “…includes a crane arm pivotally…”. It is recommended to be changed to read: “…includes the crane arm pivotally…”. See claim 1 line 4.
Line 9 of claim 17 recites: “…a camera supported on at a front end of…”. It is recommended to be changed to read: “…a camera supported on a front end of…”.
Line 2 of claim 20 recites: “…mounted on front and rears axles on…”. It is recommended to be changed to read: “…mounted on front and rear axles on…”.
Line 17 of claim 20 recites: “…longitudinal movement the column…”. It is recommended to be changed to read: “…longitudinal movement of the column…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McLaughlin (CA 3054501).
Regarding claim 1, McLaughlin discloses a mobile camera crane unit (FIGS. 1-7), comprising: a mobile base having wheels ((16), [0012]) mounted on a chassis ((12), [0012]); a camera crane (FIGS. 2, 3) having a column ((58), [0019]) on the chassis ([0019]); a crane arm (FIGS. 2, 3, (66), [0019]) pivotally attached to the column ([0019]), a front end of the crane arm configured to attach to a camera head or a camera platform ((64), [0019]); levelling rods pivotally attached to the column for levelling the column (indicated below); and a drive system configured to move the column linearly on the chassis (“Track 30 is a linear track that…defines a linear path along which a mobile camera mount 50 is able to move…”, [0015]; “…mobile camera mount…50, has a mounting platform 52 that engages the flanges 36 of track 30 via a plurality of mount wheels 54 that allow camera mount 50 to move freely along track 30…”, [0018]; “…camera mount 50 has an attachment 58…”, [0019]).
Regarding claim 2, McLaughlin further discloses the mobile camera crane unit of claim 1 wherein the drive system comprises rails ((30), [0015]) on a deck of the chassis ([0015]), the column mounted on a plate ((50), [0018]; “…camera mount 50 has an attachment 58…”, [0019]) slidably positioned on the rails (“Track 30 is a linear track that…defines a linear path along which a mobile camera mount 50 is able to move…”, [0015]; “…mobile camera mount…50, has a mounting platform 52 that engages the flanges 36 of track 30 via a plurality of mount wheels 54 that allow camera mount 50 to move freely along track 30…”, [0018]); and the levelling rods attached to the plate (FIGS. 1-3, 6).
Regarding claim 7, McLaughlin further discloses the mobile camera crane unit of claim 1 wherein the column is supported on rollers engaged with a track on the chassis (“…camera mount 50 has an attachment 58…”, [0019]; “…mobile camera mount…50, has a mounting platform 52 that engages the flanges 36 of track 30 via a plurality of mount wheels 54 that allow camera mount 50 to move freely along track 30…”, [0018]).
Regarding claim 12, McLaughlin further discloses the mobile camera crane unit of claim 1 wherein the camera crane includes the crane arm pivotally mounted on a U-shaped upright (indicated below) by a pivot axle (indicated below) to allow the crane arm to tilt up and down (FIGS. 2, 3, [0019]), and the U-shaped upright is rotatably mounted on the column to allow the crane arm to pan horizontally (“Jib 66 may also be rotatable about a vertical axis with respect to camera mount 50…”, [0019]), further comprising a remotely-operated camera head or camera platform pivotally attached to a front end of the crane arm (FIGS. 2, 3, (64), [0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaughlin (CA 3054501) as applied to claims 1, 2, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of Yang (CN 112303401).
Regarding claim 3:
McLaughlin discloses the mobile camera crane unit of claim 1.
McLaughlin does not specifically disclose an electric motor configured to move the column longitudinally by pulling on one or more cables or chains.
Yang teaches a drive system (FIGS. 3-5), comprising: a drive system including an electric motor ((42), [0032]) configured to move a mounting plate ((5), [0032]) longitudinally by pulling on one or more cables or chains ((44), [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Yang’s with the mobile camera crane unit taught by McLaughlin to enable an electric motor to move the column longitudinally for the purpose of enabling effortless automatic control of the camera crane unit.
Regarding claim 4:
McLaughlin discloses the mobile camera crane unit of claim 1.
McLaughlin does not specifically disclose a hydraulic or electric linear actuator having a first end attached to the chassis and a second end attached to the column.
Yang teaches a drive system (FIGS. 3-5) comprises an electric linear actuator (linear movement of (5), [0032]) having a first end attached to a base ((42), [0032]) and a second end attached to a mounting plate ((44) attached to (5), [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Yang’s with the mobile camera crane unit taught by McLaughlin to enable an electric linear actuator having a first end attached to the chassis and a second end attached to the column for the purpose of enabling effortless automatic control of the camera crane unit.
Regarding claim 6:
McLaughlin and Yang disclose and teach of the mobile camera crane unit of claim 3 wherein together McLaughlin and Yang further disclose that the drive system includes a first cable or chain attached to a first side of the camera crane and a second cable or chain attached to a second side of the camera crane (McLaughlin already discloses the camera crane as explained above; Yang: FIG. 3, wherein (44) is attached to both sides of (5), [0032]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaughlin (CA 3054501) as applied to claims 1, 2, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of Chapman et al. (WO 2011/140245).
Regarding claim 5:
McLaughlin discloses the mobile camera crane unit of claim 1.
McLaughlin does not specifically disclose a drive system comprises a gear rack on the column and a pinion gear rotated by an electric motor on the chassis.
Chapman teaches a drive system (FIG. 13) comprises a gear rack on the track (“a rack on the track 132”, [0060]) and a pinion gear ((160), [0060]) rotated by an electric motor ((156)/(158), [0060]) on the carriage ((146), [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Chapman’s with the mobile camera crane unit taught by McLaughlin to enable a gear rack on the column and a pinion gear rotated by an electric motor on the chassis for the purpose of enabling effortless automatic control of the camera crane unit.
Furthermore, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable a gear rack on the column and a pinion gear on the chassis, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaughlin (CA 3054501) as applied to claims 1, 2, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of Tan et al. (JP 2007239842).
Regarding claim 8:
McLaughlin discloses the mobile camera crane unit of claim 2 wherein McLaughlin further discloses that the mobile base has a wheelbase DD between front and rear axles (indicated below), and the column is movable via the drive system from a first position at least 0.3DD in front of the rear axle, to a second position within 0.1DD of the rear axle (“Track 30 may have stops 38 at first end 32 and second end 34 to confine camera mount 50 on track 30…”, [0015]; thus, “camera mount” (50) has the moving range illustrated below, which includes 0.3DD in front of the rear axle, indicated below, and within 0.1DD of the rear axle).
McLaughlin does not specifically disclose that a back end of the crane arm pivotable to a position below the deck when the column is in the second position.
Tan teaches a camera crane device, wherein: a back end of the crane arm (FIGS. 1-8, (9), [0016]) pivotable to a position below a deck ((4), [0017]) when the column ((42), [0017]) is in a position near an edge (FIGS. 2, 7, 8; see below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Tan’s with the mobile camera crane unit taught by McLaughlin to enable a back end of the crane arm to be pivotable to a position below the deck when the column is in the second position for the purpose of providing high degree of freedom of camera movement while having a simple structure (Tan: [0006]).
Regarding claim 17:
McLaughlin discloses a method of operating a camera crane unit (FIGS. 1-7 , [0021-0027]) having a camera crane (FIGS. 2, 3) on a mobile base (base with (16), [0012]), comprising: operating the mobile base to move the camera crane unit to a filming location (“Camera dolly 10 is first moved to a desired location…”, [0022]) with the camera crane in a first position on a deck of the mobile base (“…mobile camera mount 50 may be mounted onto track 30 before camera dolly 10 is moved to the desired location…”, [0022]; (50) may move to any position within the moving range indicated below); with the mobile base stationary (“…work platform 14 is immobilized to remain in that position…”, [0022]), moving the camera crane linearly to a second position spaced apart from the first position and behind the first position on the mobile base ((50) may move to a subsequent position that is closer to the rear axle than the previous position; “Mobile camera mount 50 is then moved along track 30 to allow camera 60 to capture a tracking shot.”, [0024]); operating the camera crane by tilting a crane arm of the camera crane (FIGS. 2, 3, “…jib 66…allow further freedom of movement of camera 60 in space…”, [0019]); and operating a camera supported on a front end of the crane arm (“…new desired location for capturing another tracking shot…”, [0027]).
McLaughlin does not specifically disclose that a back end of the crane arm is below the deck.
Tan teaches a camera crane device, wherein: a back end of the crane arm (FIGS. 1-8, (9), [0016]) is below the deck ((4), [0017]; see below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Tan’s with the mobile camera crane unit taught by McLaughlin to enable a back end of the crane arm to be below the deck for the purpose of providing high degree of freedom of camera movement while having a simple structure (Tan: [0006]).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaughlin (CA 3054501) and Tan et al. (JP 2007239842) as applied to claims 8 and 17 above, and further in view of Yang (CN 112303401).
Regarding claim 18:
McLaughlin and Tan disclose and teach of the method of claim 17.
McLaughlin and Tan do not specifically disclose moving the camera crane linearly by using a computer controller.
Yang teaches moving a mounting plate ((5), [0032]) linearly by using a computer controller electrically connected to a drive element on the base ((42), [0032]) and mechanically connected to the mounting plate (FIGS. 3-5, [0031-0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Yang’s with the mobile camera crane unit taught by McLaughlin and Tan to enable moving the camera crane linearly by using a computer controller electrically connected to a drive element on the mobile base and mechanically connected to a column of the camera crane for the purpose of enabling effortless automatic control of the camera crane unit.
Regarding claim 19:
McLaughlin, Tan, and Yang disclose and teach of the method of claim 18 wherein Tan further discloses that the camera crane is a telescoping camera crane (FIGS. 1-8, (3) composed of (31)/(32)/(33), [0018]), further comprising using the computer controller to control telescoping movement of the camera crane (FIG. 3, motor (63) controlled by controller (85), [0022, 0023]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaughlin (CA 3054501) as applied to claims 1, 2, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of Jadaud (WO 2014/033404).
Regarding claim 9:
McLaughlin discloses the mobile camera crane unit of claim 2.
McLaughlin does not specifically disclose a computer controller electrically connected to the drive system and configured to control movement of the column on the chassis; an encoder electrically connected to the computer controller, the encoder configured to measure a longitudinal position of the column on the rails.
Jadaud teaches a computer controller electrically connected to the drive system and configured to control movement of the column on the chassis (electronics (40) necessary for remote control/automatic piloting of “trolley” (2), [0053]; maintain camera at predetermined height by a motor provided in telescopic “column” (42), [0061]; orientation head (3) and chassis are controlled by programmable remote controls (52), [0063]); an encoder electrically connected to the computer controller, the encoder configured to measure a longitudinal position of the column on the rails (“encoder” (30) for transmitting data on the movement of the “trolley” (2) to a control unit, [0019, 0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Jadaud’s with the mobile camera crane unit taught by McLaughlin for the purpose of providing real-time information to better control the movement of the column on the chassis to prevent damage (Jadaud: [0038, 0061, 0071]).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaughlin (CA 3054501) and Jadaud (WO 2014/033404) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Tan et al. (JP 2007239842).
Regarding claim 10:
McLaughlin and Jadaud disclose and teach of the mobile camera crane unit of claim 9.
McLaughlin and Jadaud do not specifically disclose a telescoping crane arm.
Tan teaches the camera crane includes a telescoping crane arm (FIGS. 1-8, (3) composed of (31)/(32)/(33), [0018]) and the computer controller is also configured to control telescoping movement of the telescoping crane arm (FIG. 3, motor (63) controlled by controller (85), [0022, 0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Tan’s with the mobile camera crane unit taught by McLaughlin and Jadaud for the purpose of providing high degree of freedom of camera movement while having a simple structure (Tan: [0006]).
Regarding claim 11:
McLaughlin, Jadaud, and Tan disclose and teach of the mobile camera crane unit of claim 10 wherein together Jadaud and Tan further disclose that the computer controller includes a memory configured to store programming for movement of the column on the chassis and telescoping movement of the telescoping crane arm (Jadaud: recording data relating to movements of carriage in order to memorize sequences of movements carried out and to be able to carry out memorized sequences again or new sequences established from memorized sequences, [0062]; Tan: storage unit (86) in which movement locus information is stored, based on detection signal from (81)/(82), motor (63) is driven to expand/contract arm (3), [0029]).
Claim(s) 20, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaughlin (CA 3054501) as applied to claims 1, 2, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of Tan et al. (JP 2007239842) and Jadaud (WO 2014/033404).
Regarding claim 20:
McLaughlin discloses a mobile camera crane unit (FIGS. 1-7), comprising: a mobile base having wheels ((16), [0012]) mounted on front and rear axles (indicated below) on a chassis ((12), [0012]) having a wheelbase DD (indicated below); a camera crane (FIGS. 2, 3) including a crane arm (FIGS. 2, 3, (66), [0019]) pivotally mounted on a U-shaped upright (indicated below) by a pivot axle (indicated below) to allow the crane arm to tilt up and down (FIGS. 2, 3, [0019]), and the U-shaped upright is rotatably mounted on a column ((58), [0019]) to allow the crane arm to pan horizontally (“Jib 66 may also be rotatable about a vertical axis with respect to camera mount 50…”, [0019]),
further comprising a remotely-operated camera head or a camera platform pivotally attached to a front end of the crane arm (FIGS. 2, 3, (64), [0019]); the column ((58), [0019]) mounted on a plate ((50), [0018]; “…camera mount 50 has an attachment 58…”, [0019]) movable longitudinally (“Track 30 is a linear track that…defines a linear path along which a mobile camera mount 50 is able to move…”, [0015]; “…mobile camera mount…50, has a mounting platform 52 that engages the flanges 36 of track 30 via a plurality of mount wheels 54 that allow camera mount 50 to move freely along track 30…”, [0018]) on rails ((30), [0015]) on a deck of the chassis ([0015]); levelling rods attached to the plate and to the column (indicated below); a drive system configured to move the column linearly on the chassis (“Track 30 is a linear track that…defines a linear path along which a mobile camera mount 50 is able to move…”, [0015]; “…mobile camera mount…50, has a mounting platform 52 that engages the flanges 36 of track 30 via a plurality of mount wheels 54 that allow camera mount 50 to move freely along track 30…”, [0018]; “…camera mount 50 has an attachment 58…”, [0019]), the drive system configured to move the column longitudinally on the rails from a first position at least 0.4DD in front of the rear axle to a second position within 0.1DD of the rear axle (“Track 30 may have stops 38 at first end 32 and second end 34 to confine camera mount 50 on track 30…”, [0015]; thus, “camera mount” (50) has the moving range illustrated below, which includes 0.4DD in front of the rear axle and within 0.1DD of the rear axle).
McLaughlin does not specifically disclose that the drive system including a motor; a back end of the crane arm pivotable to a position below the deck when the column is in the second position; and a computer controller electrically connected to the drive system and configured to control longitudinal movement of the column, and an encoder electrically connected to the computer controller, the encoder configured to measure a longitudinal position of the column on the rails.
Tan teaches a camera crane device, comprising: a drive system including a motor (FIG. 3, motor (63) controlled by controller (85), [0022, 0023]); and a back end of the crane arm (FIGS. 1-8, (9), [0016]) pivotable to a position below the deck ((4), [0017]) when the column ((42), [0017]) is in a position near an edge (FIGS. 2, 7, 8; see below).
Jadaud teaches a drive system including a motor, and a computer controller electrically connected to the drive system and configured to control longitudinal movement of the column (electronics (40) necessary for remote control/automatic piloting of “trolley” (2), [0053]; maintain camera at predetermined height by a motor provided in telescopic “column” (42), [0061]; orientation head (3) and chassis are controlled by programmable remote controls (52), [0063]), and an encoder electrically connected to the computer controller, the encoder configured to measure a longitudinal position of the column on the rails (“encoder” (30) for transmitting data on the movement of the “trolley” (2) to a control unit, [0019, 0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Tan’s with the mobile camera crane unit taught by McLaughlin to enable a back end of the crane arm to be pivotable to a position below the deck when the column is in the second position for the purpose of providing high degree of freedom of camera movement while having a simple structure (Tan: [0006]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Jadaud’s with the mobile camera crane unit taught by McLaughlin and Tan for the purpose of providing real-time information to better control the movement of the column on the chassis to prevent damage (Jadaud: [0038, 0061, 0071]).
Regarding claim 22:
McLaughlin, Tan, and Jadaud disclose and teach of the mobile camera crane unit of claim 20 wherein Tan further discloses that the camera crane includes a telescoping crane arm (FIGS. 1-8, (3) composed of (31)/(32)/(33), [0018]) and the computer controller is also configured to control telescoping movement of the telescoping crane arm (FIG. 3, motor (63) controlled by controller (85), [0022, 0023]).
Regarding claim 23:
McLaughlin, Tan, and Jadaud disclose and teach of the mobile camera crane unit of claim 22 wherein together Jadaud and Tan further disclose that the computer controller includes a memory configured to store programming for movement of the column and telescoping movement of the telescoping crane arm (Jadaud: recording data relating to movements of carriage in order to memorize sequences of movements carried out and to be able to carry out memorized sequences again or new sequences established from memorized sequences, [0062]; Tan: storage unit (86) in which movement locus information is stored, based on detection signal from (81)/(82), motor (63) is driven to expand/contract arm (3), [0029]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLaughlin (CA 3054501), Tan et al. (JP 2007239842), and Jadaud (WO 2014/033404) as applied to claims 20, 22, and 23 above, and further in view of Yang (CN 112303401).
Regarding claim 21:
McLaughlin, Tan, and Jadaud disclose and teach of the mobile camera crane unit of claim 20 wherein McLaughlin already discloses the camera crane (see claim 20 above).
McLaughlin, Tan, and Jadaud do not specifically disclose a first cable or chain attached to a first side of the camera crane and a second cable or chain attached to a second side of the camera crane.
Yang teaches a drive system (FIGS. 3-5), comprising a first cable or chain attached to a first side of a mounting plate and a second cable or chain attached to a second side of the mounting plate (FIG. 3, wherein (44) is attached to both sides of (5), [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Yang’s with the mobile camera crane unit taught by McLaughlin, Tan, and Jadaud to enable a first cable or chain to be attached to a first side of the camera crane and a second cable or chain to be attached to a second side of the camera crane for the purpose of enabling effortless automatic control of the camera crane unit.
Conclusion
/FANG-CHI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852