Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's remarks filed 08/07/2026 with respect to double patenting rejection have been fully considered in view of applicant response (i.e. rejections be held in abeyance). However, the double patenting is maintained since no proper terminal disclaimer is being submitted yet.
3. Applicant's arguments filed 08/07/2026 with respect to 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts (pages 10-11 of remarks):
a) KIM does not disclose or suggest the claimed "indication of a modification of a single-access PDU session to a multi-access PDU session.”
b) However, the Examiner very kindly directs applicant to Fig.11 illustrates a PDU session modification command (i.e. indication) received by the UE of changing or modifying of an SSC mode 3 protocol data unit (PDU) session anchor (i.e. single access PDU session) with a plurality of PDU sessions (¶0503-504). Also, If the PDU session of SSC mode 3 has the plurality of PDU session anchors (e.g., in the case of multi-homed PDU sessions, or if a UL CL applies to the PDU session of SSC mode 3, the additional PDU session anchors may be released or allocated (¶0382). Therefore, KIM teaches command or indication of a change of single PDU session to plurality of PDU sessions (emphasis added).
c) Applicant further asserts: Yu does not disclose or suggest the claimed "indication whether the multi- access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device."
d) However, the Examiner very kindly directs applicant to Fig.7 illustrates sending by the UE to SMF (i.e. computing device) and based on the PDU session modification request that carry an indication message via the AMF a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK), i.e. indication) (see step 706). Therefore, PDU session is available for the UE.
e) Applicant's arguments with regards to dependent claims are based on the deficiency of the references to support the limitations of independent claims. The arguments are respectfully traversed for the same reason(s) as stated above for rejection of independent claims.
4. Therefore, the limitations of the claims are met, and the rejection is made final.
Double Patenting
a) Claims 1, 4-6, and 8-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 17-21, and 23-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,729,854 B2 in view of Yu (US 2021/0274585 A1).
Pending application 18/447579
U.S. Patent No. 11,729,854 B2
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device via a first access network, an indication of a modification of a single-access packet data unit (PDU) session to a multi-access PDU session via a second access network; and sending, by the wireless device to a computing device and based on the indication of the modification, an indication whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device.
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device via a first access network, an indication to modify a single-access packet data unit (PDU) session to a multi-access PDU session via a second access network; and sending, by the wireless device to a computing device and in response to the indication to modify the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session, a parameter indicating that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network cannot be established for the wireless device.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises a session management function (SMF).
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises a session management function (SMF).
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the wireless device via the first access network and for a registration process, an indicator of radio capability, and wherein the receiving the indication further comprises receiving, by the wireless device via the first access network and based on the indicator of radio capability, the indication of the modification.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: sending, by the wireless device via the first access network and for a registration process, an indicator of radio capability, and wherein the receiving the indication to modify the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session further comprises receiving, by the wireless device via the first access network and based on the indicator of radio capability, the indication to modify the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session via the second access network.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the indication comprises receiving a session modification command comprising at least one of:
an access type of the second access network; or an identifier of the single-access PDU session.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the indication to modify the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session comprises receiving a session modification command comprising at least one of: an access type of the second access network; or an identifier of the single-access PDU session.
8. A method comprising: sending, by a base station to a wireless device via a first access network, an indication of a modification of a single-access packet data unit (PDU) session to a multi-access PDU session via a second access network; receiving, from the wireless device, in response to the indication of the modification of the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session, a parameter indicating whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device; and sending, to a computing device, an acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session.
17. A method comprising: sending, by a base station to a wireless device via a first access network, an indication to modify a single-access packet data unit (PDU) session to a multi-access PDU session via a second access network; receiving, from the wireless device, in response to the indication to modify the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session, a parameter indicating that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network can be established for the wireless device; and sending, to a computing device, an acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the acknowledgement comprises a session modification command acknowledgement.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the acknowledgement comprises a session modification command acknowledgement.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein the computing device comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) device.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the computing device comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) device.
11. The method of claim 8, wherein the second access network comprises a non-3GPP access network.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the second access network comprises a non-3GPP access network.
12. The method of claim 8, wherein the sending the indication of the modification of the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session comprises sending a session modification command comprising at least one of: an access type of the second access network; or an identifier of the single-access PDU session.
21. The method of claim 17, wherein the sending the indication to modify the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session comprises sending a session modification command comprising at least one of: an access type of the second access network; or an identifier of the single-access PDU session.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein the sending the acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session is based on receiving the parameter indicating whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device.
23. The method of claim 17, wherein the sending the acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session is based on receiving the parameter indicating that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network can be established for the wireless device.
14. The method of claim 8, wherein the parameter further indicates that the wireless device supports the multi-access PDU session.
24. The method of claim 17, wherein the parameter further indicates that the wireless device supports the multi-access PDU session.
The claim of the patent application encompass the same subject matter except “an indication whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device.”
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches an indication whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Fig.7, step 706, sending by the UE to SMF (i.e. computing device) and based on the PDU session modification request that carry an indication message via the AMF a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK), i.e. indication); therefore PDU session is available for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the US 2021/0274585 A1 an acknowledgment as an availability of service because it was notoriously well known to provide highly reliable data transmission and ensure a low delay in wireless communication.
Further, the instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention of U.S. Patent No. US 11,729,854 B2 and differ only in terminology. To the extent that the instant claims are broader and therefore generic to the claimed invention of U.S. Patent No. US 11,729,854 B2, in re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if a species claim has previously been claimed in a co-pending application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-16, 18, 20, 22-30, 32, 34, and 36-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 2019/0116486 A1) in view of Yu (US 2021/0274585 A1).
As per claim 1, KIM teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device via a first access network, an indication of a modification of a single-access packet data unit (PDU) session to a multi-access PDU session via a second access network (Fig.11, ¶0504 and ¶0450, method of receiving by the UE (i.e. wireless device) via 3GPP access (i.e. first access network) PDU session modification command (i.e. indication) of a change procedure of SSC mode 3 PDU session anchor (i.e. single access PDU session) with the plurality of PDU sessions (i.e. multi access PDU session) via AMF (i.e. second access network).
However, KIM does not explicitly teach sending, by the wireless device to a computing device and based on the indication of the modification, an indication whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches sending, by the wireless device to a computing device and based on the indication of the modification, an indication whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Fig.7, step 706, sending by the UE to SMF (i.e. computing device) and based on the PDU session modification request that carry an indication message via the AMF a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK), i.e. indication); therefore PDU session is available for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Yu into invention of KIM in order to implement end-to-end reliable data transmission in a PDU session modification process.
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, KIM does not explicitly teach wherein sending the indication comprises sending the indication that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches wherein sending the indication comprises sending the indication that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Fig.7, step 706, sending command/indication and a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK)) via AMF (i.e. second access network); therefore PDU session is available for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Yu into invention of KIM in order to implement end-to-end reliable data transmission in a PDU session modification process.
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 1 above, KIM in view of Yu teaches wherein the computing device comprises a session management function (SMF) (Yu, Fig.7, session management function or SMF).
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 1 above, KIM teaches wherein the receiving the indication comprises receiving a session modification command (Fig.11, PDU session modification command) comprising at least one of: an access type of the second access network (¶0322, access type of the AMF); or an identifier of the single-access PDU session (¶0510-511, PDU session ID).
As per claim 8, KIM teaches a method comprising: sending, by a base station to a wireless device via a first access network, an indication of a modification of a single-access packet data unit (PDU) session to a multi-access PDU session via a second access network (Fig.11, ¶0504 and ¶0450, method of sending by RAN (i.e. base station) to the UE (i.e. wireless device) via 3GPP access (i.e. first access network) PDU session modification command (i.e. indication) of a change procedure of SSC mode 3 PDU session anchor (i.e. single access PDU session) with the plurality of PDU sessions (i.e. multi access PDU session) via AMF (i.e. second access network).
However, KIM does not explicitly teach receiving, from the wireless device, in response to the indication of the modification of the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session, a parameter indicating whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device; and sending, to a computing device, an acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches receiving, from the wireless device, in response to the indication of the modification of the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session, a parameter indicating whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Fig.7, step 706 and ¶0033, receiving from the UE and based on the PDU session modification request that carry an indication message a parameter via the AMF a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK), i.e. indication); therefore PDU session is available for the UE); and sending, to a computing device, an acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session (Fig.7, step 706, sending to the SMF (i.e. computing device) ACK for PDU session modification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Yu into invention of KIM in order to implement end-to-end reliable data transmission in a PDU session modification process.
As per claim 9 as applied to claim 8 above, KIM in view of Yu teaches wherein the acknowledgement comprises a session modification command acknowledgement (Yu, ¶0271, session modification command acknowledgement).
As per claim 10 as applied to claim 8 above, KIM further teaches wherein the computing device comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) device (Fig.11, access and mobility management function or AMF).
As per claim 11 as applied to claim 8 above, KIM further teaches wherein the second access network comprises a non-3GPP access network (¶0450, non-3GPP access).
As per claim 12 as applied to claim 8 above, KIM teaches wherein the sending the indication of the modification of the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session comprises sending a session modification command (Fig.11, PDU session modification command) comprising at least one of: an access type of the second access network (¶0322, access type of the AMF); or an identifier of the single-access PDU session (¶0510-511, PDU session ID).
As per claim 13 as applied to claim 8 above, KIM in view of Yu teaches wherein the sending the acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session is based on receiving the parameter indicating whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Yu, Fig.7, step 706 and ¶0033, sending a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK)) via AMF (i.e. second access network) based on the parameter; therefore PDU session is available for the UE).
As per claim 14 as applied to claim 8 above, KIM further teaches, wherein the parameter further indicates that the wireless device supports the multi-access PDU session (¶0354-355, UE supports the plurality/multi PDU sessions).
As per claim 15, KIM teaches a wireless device comprising: one or more processors (¶0560, UE comprising processor(s)); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (¶0562, memory storing instructions), cause the wireless device to: receive, via a first access network, an indication of a modification of a single-access packet data unit (PDU) session to a multi-access PDU session via a second access network (Fig.11, ¶0504 and ¶0450, receiving by the UE (i.e. wireless device) via 3GPP access (i.e. first access network) PDU session modification command (i.e. indication) of a change procedure of SSC mode 3 PDU session anchor (i.e. single access PDU session) with the plurality of PDU sessions (i.e. multi access PDU session) via AMF (i.e. second access network).
However, KIM does not explicitly teach send to a computing device and based on the indication of the modification, an indication whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches send, to a computing device and based on the indication of the modification, an indication whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Fig.7, step 706, sending by the UE to SMF (i.e. computing device) and based on the PDU session modification request that carry an indication message via the AMF a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK), i.e. indication); therefore PDU session is available for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Yu into invention of KIM in order to implement end-to-end reliable data transmission in a PDU session modification process.
As per claim 16 as applied to claim 15 above, KIM does not explicitly teach send to the computing device, the indication that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches send to the computing device, the indication that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Fig.7, step 706, sending command/indication and a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK)) to the SMF via AMF; therefore, PDU session is available for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Yu into invention of KIM in order to implement end-to-end reliable data transmission in a PDU session modification process.
As per claim 18 as applied to claim 15 above, Yu teaches wherein the computing device comprises a session management function (SMF) (Fig.7, session management function or SMF).
As per claim 20 as applied to claim 15 above, KIM teaches wherein the receiving the indication comprises receiving a session modification command (Fig.11, PDU session modification command) comprising at least one of: an access type of the second access network (¶0322, access type of the AMF); or an identifier of the single-access PDU session (¶0510-511, PDU session ID).
As per claim 22, KIM teaches a base station (Fig.11, RAN node (i.e. base station) comprising: one or more processors (¶0560, processor(s)); and memory storing instructions that (¶0562, memory storing instructions), when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to: send, to a wireless device via a first access network, an indication of a modification of a single-access packet data unit (PDU) session to a multi-access PDU session via a second access network (Fig.11, ¶0504 and ¶0450, method of sending by RAN (i.e. base station) to the UE (i.e. wireless device) via 3GPP access (i.e. first access network) PDU session modification command (i.e. indication) of a change procedure of SSC mode 3 PDU session anchor (i.e. single access PDU session) with the plurality of PDU sessions (i.e. multi access PDU session) via AMF (i.e. second access network).
However, KIM does not explicitly teach receive, from the wireless device, in response to the indication of the modification of the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session, a parameter indicating whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device; and send, to a computing device, an acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches receive, from the wireless device, in response to the indication of the modification of the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session, a parameter indicating whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Fig.7, step 706 and ¶0033, receiving from the UE and based on the PDU session modification request that carry an indication message a parameter via the AMF a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK), i.e. indication); therefore PDU session is available for the UE); and send, to a computing device, an acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session (Fig.7, step 706, sending to the SMF (i.e. computing device) ACK for PDU session modification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Yu into invention of KIM in order to implement end-to-end reliable data transmission in a PDU session modification process.
As per claim 23 as applied to claim 22 above, KIM in view of Yu teaches wherein the acknowledgement comprises a session modification command acknowledgement (Yu, ¶0271, session modification command acknowledgement).
As per claim 24 as applied to claim 22 above, KIM further teaches wherein the computing device comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) device (Fig.11, access and mobility management function or AMF).
As per claim 25 as applied to claim 22 above, KIM further teaches wherein the second access network comprises a non-3GPP access network (¶0450, non-3GPP access).
As per claim 26 as applied to claim 22 above, KIM teaches wherein the sending the indication of the modification of the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session comprises sending a session modification command (Fig.11, PDU session modification command) comprising at least one of: an access type of the second access network (¶0322, access type of the AMF); or an identifier of the single-access PDU session (¶0510-511, PDU session ID).
As per claim 27 as applied to claim 22 above, KIM in view of Yu teaches wherein the sending the acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session is based on receiving the parameter indicating whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Yu, Fig.7, step 706 and ¶0033, sending a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK)) via AMF (i.e. second access network) based on the parameter; therefore PDU session is available for the UE).
As per claim 28 as applied to claim 22 above, KIM further teaches, wherein the parameter further indicates that the wireless device supports the multi-access PDU session (¶0354-355, UE supports the plurality/multi PDU sessions).
As per claim 29, KIM teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed, configure a wireless device (¶0562, computer readable medium storing instructions of the UE) to: receive, via a first access network, an indication of a modification of a single-access packet data unit (PDU) session to a multi-access PDU session via a second access network (Fig.11, ¶0504 and ¶0450, receiving by the UE (i.e. wireless device) via 3GPP access (i.e. first access network) PDU session modification command (i.e. indication) of a change procedure of SSC mode 3 PDU session anchor (i.e. single access PDU session) with the plurality of PDU sessions (i.e. multi access PDU session) via AMF (i.e. second access network).
However, KIM does not explicitly teach send to a computing device and based on the indication of the modification, an indication whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches send, to a computing device and based on the indication of the modification, an indication whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Fig.7, step 706, sending by the UE to SMF (i.e. computing device) and based on the PDU session modification request that carry an indication message via the AMF a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK), i.e. indication); therefore PDU session is available for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Yu into invention of KIM in order to implement end-to-end reliable data transmission in a PDU session modification process.
As per claim 30 as applied to claim 29 above, KIM does not explicitly teach send the indication that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches send the indication that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Fig.7, step 706, sending command/indication and a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK)) to the SMF via AMF; therefore, PDU session is available for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Yu into invention of KIM in order to implement end-to-end reliable data transmission in a PDU session modification process.
As per claim 32 as applied to claim 29 above, Yu teaches wherein the computing device comprises a session management function (SMF) (Fig.7, session management function or SMF).
As per claim 34 as applied to claim 29 above, KIM teaches wherein the receiving the indication comprises receiving a session modification command (Fig.11, PDU session modification command) comprising at least one of: an access type of the second access network (¶0322, access type of the AMF); or an identifier of the single-access PDU session (¶0510-511, PDU session ID).
As per claim 36, KIM teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed, configure a base station (¶0562, computer readable medium storing instructions configure the RAN node) to: send, to a wireless device via a first access network, an indication of a modification of a single-access packet data unit (PDU) session to a multi-access PDU session via a second access network (Fig.11, ¶0504 and ¶0450, method of sending by RAN (i.e. base station) to the UE (i.e. wireless device) via 3GPP access (i.e. first access network) PDU session modification command (i.e. indication) of a change procedure of SSC mode 3 PDU session anchor (i.e. single access PDU session) with the plurality of PDU sessions (i.e. multi access PDU session) via AMF (i.e. second access network).
However, KIM does not explicitly teach receive, from the wireless device, in response to the indication of the modification of the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session, a parameter indicating whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device; and send, to a computing device, an acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session.
In the same field of endeavor, Yu teaches receive, from the wireless device, in response to the indication of the modification of the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session, a parameter indicating whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Fig.7, step 706 and ¶0033, receiving from the UE and based on the PDU session modification request that carry an indication message a parameter via the AMF a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK), i.e. indication); therefore PDU session is available for the UE); and send, to a computing device, an acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session (Fig.7, step 706, sending to the SMF (i.e. computing device) ACK for PDU session modification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Yu into invention of KIM in order to implement end-to-end reliable data transmission in a PDU session modification process.
As per claim 37 as applied to claim 36 above, KIM in view of Yu teaches wherein the acknowledgement comprises a session modification command acknowledgement (Yu, ¶0271, session modification command acknowledgement).
As per claim 38 as applied to claim 36 above, KIM further teaches wherein the computing device comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) device (Fig.11, access and mobility management function or AMF).
As per claim 39 as applied to claim 36 above, KIM further teaches wherein the second access network comprises a non-3GPP access network (¶0450, non-3GPP access).
As per claim 40 as applied to claim 36 above, KIM teaches wherein the sending the indication of the modification of the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session comprises sending a session modification command (Fig.11, PDU session modification command) comprising at least one of: an access type of the second access network (¶0322, access type of the AMF); or an identifier of the single-access PDU session (¶0510-511, PDU session ID).
As per claim 41 as applied to claim 36 above, KIM in view of Yu teaches wherein the sending the acknowledgement for modifying the single-access PDU session to the multi-access PDU session is based on receiving the parameter indicating whether the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is available for the wireless device (Yu, Fig.7, step 706 and ¶0033, sending a response (PDU session modification command acknowledgement (ACK)) via AMF (i.e. second access network) based on the parameter; therefore PDU session is available for the UE).
As per claim 42 as applied to claim 36 above, KIM further teaches, wherein the parameter further indicates that the wireless device supports the multi-access PDU session (¶0354-355, UE supports the plurality/multi PDU sessions).
B) Claims 3, 5, 7, 17, 19, 21, 31, 33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 2019/0116486 A1) in view of Yu (US 2021/0274585 A1) and further in view of DAO (US 2018/0198867 A1).
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 1 above, KIM in view of Yu does not explicitly teach sending the indication that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is unavailable for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor, DAO teaches sending the indication that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is unavailable for the wireless device (¶0375, sending a release message when PDU session via AMF is not available for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of DAO into invention of KIM and Yu in order to manage PDU sessions in the communication network to reduce signaling overhead and connection time issues in the network.
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 1 above, KIM in view of Yu does not explicitly teach sending, by the wireless device via the first access network and for a registration process, an indicator of radio capability, and wherein the receiving the indication further comprises receiving, by the wireless device via the first access network and based on the indicator of radio capability, the indication of the modification.
In the same field of endeavor, DAO teaches sending, by the wireless device via the first access network and for a registration process (¶0282, sending via RAN node 204 for registration an indication for radio capability), an indicator of radio capability, and wherein the receiving the indication further comprises receiving (¶0188 and ¶0280, PDU session modification such as state transition of single PDU session or multiple PDU session), by the wireless device via the first access network and based on the indicator of radio capability, the indication of the modification (¶0280 and ¶0282, based on the indication of radio capability to change or modify PDU session via RAN nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of DAO into invention of KIM and Yu in order to manage PDU sessions in the communication network to reduce signaling overhead and connection time issues in the network.
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 1 above, KIM in view of Yu does not explicitly teach sending, by the wireless device to a session management function (SMF), a session modification command negative acknowledgement indicating that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is unavailable for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor, DAO teaches sending, by the wireless device to a session management function (SMF), a session modification command negative acknowledgement indicating that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is unavailable for the wireless device (¶0444, sending to SMF session modification rejected (i.e. negative acknowledgement) which indicates the rejection of PDU sessions modification using target/second RAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of DAO into invention of KIM and Yu in order to manage PDU sessions in the communication network to reduce signaling overhead and connection time issues in the network.
As per claim 17 as applied to claim 15 above, KIM in view of Yu does not explicitly teach send the indication that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is unavailable for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor, DAO teaches send the indication that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is unavailable for the wireless device (¶0375, sending a release message when PDU session via AMF is not available for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of DAO into invention of KIM and Yu in order to manage PDU sessions in the communication network to reduce signaling overhead and connection time issues in the network.
As per claim 19 as applied to claim 15 above, KIM in view of Yu does not explicitly teach send, via the first access network for a registration process, an indicator of radio capability, and wherein the receiving the indication further comprises receive, via the first access network and based on the indicator of radio capability, the indication of the modification.
In the same field of endeavor, DAO teaches send, via the first access network and for a registration process (¶0282, sending via RAN node 204 for registration an indication for radio capability), an indicator of radio capability, and wherein the receiving the indication further comprises receiving (¶0188 and ¶0280, PDU session modification such as state transition of single PDU session or multiple PDU session), via the first access network and based on the indicator of radio capability, the indication of the modification (¶0280 and ¶0282, based on the indication of radio capability to change or modify PDU session via RAN nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of DAO into invention of KIM and Yu in order to manage PDU sessions in the communication network to reduce signaling overhead and connection time issues in the network.
As per claim 21 as applied to claim 15 above, KIM in view of Yu does not explicitly teach sending, by the wireless device to a session management function (SMF), a session modification command negative acknowledgement indicating that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is unavailable for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor, DAO teaches sending, by the wireless device to a session management function (SMF), a session modification command negative acknowledgement indicating that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is unavailable for the wireless device (¶0444, sending to SMF session modification rejected (i.e. negative acknowledgement) which indicates the rejection of PDU sessions modification using target/second RAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of DAO into invention of KIM and Yu in order to manage PDU sessions in the communication network to reduce signaling overhead and connection time issues in the network.
As per claim 31 as applied to claim 29 above, KIM in view of Yu does not explicitly teach send the indication that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is unavailable for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor, DAO teaches send the indication that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is unavailable for the wireless device (¶0375, sending a release message when PDU session via AMF is not available for the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of DAO into invention of KIM and Yu in order to manage PDU sessions in the communication network to reduce signaling overhead and connection time issues in the network.
As per claim 33 as applied to claim 29 above, KIM in view of Yu does not explicitly teach send, via the first access network for a registration process, an indicator of radio capability, and wherein the receiving the indication further comprises receive, via the first access network and based on the indicator of radio capability, the indication of the modification.
In the same field of endeavor, DAO teaches send, via the first access network and for a registration process (¶0282, sending via RAN node 204 for registration an indication for radio capability), an indicator of radio capability, and wherein the receiving the indication further comprises receiving (¶0188 and ¶0280, PDU session modification such as state transition of single PDU session or multiple PDU session), via the first access network and based on the indicator of radio capability, the indication of the modification (¶0280 and ¶0282, based on the indication of radio capability to change or modify PDU session via RAN nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of DAO into invention of KIM and Yu in order to manage PDU sessions in the communication network to reduce signaling overhead and connection time issues in the network.
As per claim 35 as applied to claim 29 above, KIM in view of Yu does not explicitly teach sending, by the wireless device to a session management function (SMF), a session modification command negative acknowledgement indicating that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is unavailable for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor, DAO teaches sending, by the wireless device to a session management function (SMF), a session modification command negative acknowledgement indicating that the multi-access PDU session via the second access network is unavailable for the wireless device (¶0444, sending to SMF session modification rejected (i.e. negative acknowledgement) which indicates the rejection of PDU sessions modification using target/second RAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of DAO into invention of KIM and Yu in order to manage PDU sessions in the communication network to reduce signaling overhead and connection time issues in the network.
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643