DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 07/15/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 13-14, 16, 18, 23-25, and 28-30 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection in the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 13-14, 16, 18, 23-25, and 28-30 in a reply filed 07/15/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Regarding claim 1:
As previously stated during the interview (06/24/2026), the proposed amendments to claim 1 would overcome the previously 35 U.S.C 103 rejection in view of KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO.
Specifically, the examiner agrees that “Pratas does not disclose the features "the RSRP threshold is determined as a first RSRP threshold corresponding to a priority combination among the RSRP thresholds" and "the priority combination includes a pair of a value of a priority field included in the received LTE SCI and a value of a priority field included in an NR SCI to be transmitted."” (Remarks Pages 11-12, emphasis added).
Therefore, the examiner introduces new prior art, LI and changes the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection to be in view of KIILERICH PRATAS and LI et al. (US 20220086803 A1, hereinafter LI).
Regarding claim 1, KIILERICH PRATAS discloses:
receiving, from a base station (Fig. 7a), configuration information including information on reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements and information and thresholds ([0076] In mode 1, where the gNB is responsible for the SL resource allocation (the base station allocates/configures some amount of SL resources that are available for the UE to use for SL transmission; hence thresholds); [0077] In mode 2… a SL TX UE in NR SL mode 2 first performs a sensing procedure over the configured SL transmission resource pool(s), in order to obtain the knowledge of the reserved resource(s) by other nearby SL TX UE(s). Based on the knowledge obtained from sensing, the SL TX UE may select resource(s) from the available SL resources, accordingly; [0162] b. From the NR-V2X sidelink resource pool... and RSRP measurements (PSCCH-RSRP or PSSCH-RSRP, depending on (pre-)configured parameter sl-RS-ForSensing) associated with the NR SCIs where those reservations were made);
wherein the RSRP threshold (Fig 15. – step 3; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected; [0164] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention a PSFCH resource may be deemed as free (i.e., available) if: [0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold)) is determined as a first RSRP threshold corresponding to the thresholds ([0076] In mode 1, where the gNB is responsible for the SL resource allocation(the base station allocates/configures some amount of SL resources that are available for the UE to use for SL transmission; hence thresholds); [0165]; [0166] i. This RSRP threshold (e.g., first RSRP threshold) can be the same as the one used to determine if a candidate resource is free (the candidate resource is part of the configured resource pool(s) that the base station allocated the SL resources to) with respect to an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH and/or NR PSCCH/PSSCH future transmission; [0077] In mode 2… a SL TX UE in NR SL mode 2 first performs a sensing procedure over the configured SL transmission resource pool(s), in order to obtain the knowledge of the reserved resource(s) by other nearby SL TX UE(s). Based on the knowledge obtained from sensing, the SL TX UE may select resource(s) from the available SL resources, accordingly), and
wherein the first RSRP threshold is associated to the received LTE SCI and an NR SCI to be transmitted ([0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold; [0166] i. This RSRP threshold (e.g., the first RSRP threshold) can be the same as the one used to determine if a candidate resource is free with respect to an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH and/or NR PSCCH/PSSCH future transmission (e.g., SCI is transmitted on PSCCH/PSSCH according to [0111] this means that the intended NR receiver, upon decoding the SCI (both 1.sup.st-stage SCI and 2.sup.nd-stage SCI) associated with the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission)).
KIILERICH PRATAS does not explicitly disclose the information on RSRP thresholds,
the first RSRP threshold corresponding to a priority combination among the RSRP thresholds, and
wherein the priority combination includes a pair of a value of a priority field included in the received LTE SCI and a value of a priority field included in an NR SCI to be transmitted.
However, LI discloses information on RSRP thresholds ([0079] In resource allocation mode 2, the higher layer can request the UE to determine a subset of resources from which the higher layer will select resources for PSSCH/PSCCH transmission. To trigger this procedure, in slot n, the higher layer provides the following parameters for this PSSCH/PSCCH transmission; [0086] The following higher layer parameters affect this procedure:; [0088] SL-ThresRSRP_pi_pj: this higher layer parameter provides an RSRP threshold for each combination (p.sub.i, p.sub.j) (hence information on RSRP thresholds), where p.sub.i is the value of the priority field in a received SCI format 1-A and p.sub.j is the priority of the transmission of the UE selecting resources; for a given invocation of this procedure, p.sub.j=prio.sub.TX. [0089] RSforSensing selects if the UE uses the PSSCH-RSRP or PSCCH-RSRP measurement, as defined in clause 8.4.2.1. [0090] sl-ResourceReservePeriodList),
a first RSRP threshold corresponding to a priority combination among the RSRP thresholds ([0088] SL-ThresRSRP_pi_pj: this higher layer parameter provides an RSRP threshold (e.g., first RSRP threshold for first combination) for each combination (p.sub.i, p.sub.j), where p.sub.i is the value of the priority field in a received SCI format 1-A and p.sub.j is the priority of the transmission of the UE selecting resources; for a given invocation of this procedure, p.sub.j=prio.sub.TX), and
wherein the priority combination includes a pair of a value of a priority field included in a distinct received SCI and a value of a priority field included in a selected SCI to be transmitted ([0088] SL-ThresRSRP_pi_pj: this higher layer parameter provides an RSRP threshold for each combination (p.sub.i, p.sub.j), where p.sub.i is the value of the priority field in a received SCI format 1-A and p.sub.j is the priority of the transmission of the UE selecting resources; for a given invocation of this procedure, p.sub.j=prio.sub.TX; [0130] SCI format 1-A is used for the scheduling of PSSCH and 2.sup.nd-stage-SCI on PSSCH; [0222] In Step 1 of the resource (re-)selection procedure, a resource is not considered as a candidate resource if: [0212] In Mode-2, SCI payload indicates sub-channel(s) and slot(s) used by a UE and/or reserved by a UE for PSSCH (re-)transmission(s); [0223] The resource is indicated in a received SCI and the associated L1 SL-RSRP measurement is above an SL-RSRP threshold [0224] The SL-RSRP threshold is at least a function of the priority of the SL transmission indicated in the received SCI and the priority of the transmission for which resources are being selected by the UE).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the configuration information, the first RSRP, the received LTE SCI and the NR SCI to be transmitted of KIILERICH PRATAS to include the information on the RSRP thresholds, the first RSRP threshold corresponding to the priority combination among the RSRP thresholds, and wherein the priority combination includes the pair of he value of the priority field included in the distinct received SCI and the value of the priority field included in the selected SCI to be transmitted, wherein the received LTE SCI is associated with the distinct received SCI and the NR SCI to be transmitted is associated with the selected SCI to be transmitted as taught by LI in order to avoid interference to the receiver of other transmission pairs when determining the selected resources for the PSSCH/PSCCH transmission (LI - [0287] In Rel-16 mode 2 resource allocation, the Tx UE determines sidelink transmission resources for a transmission pair by the sensing and reservation mechanism. The reserved resources indicated by other Tx UEs may be excluded by the Tx UE through SCI decoding and SL-RSRP measurement. By doing so, the Tx UE can avoid interference to the receiver of other transmission pairs, depending on priorities; KIILERICH PRATAS - [0031] a) No harmful interference shall be caused to the application having priority; [0051] If multiple NR SL transmissions/receptions overlap with single LTE SL TX/RX, the highest priority NR SL TX/RX determines the priority of the NR SL).
Regarding independent claim 10, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 10, 13-14, 23-25, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIILERICH PRATAS et al (US 20250185028 A1, hereinafter, KIILERICH PRATAS) in view of LI et al. (US 20220086803 A1, hereinafter LI).
Regarding claim 1, KIILERICH PRATAS discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 15; Fig. 18A-18D; [0005] Example embodiments of this invention disclosure relates to methods and apparatus (UE) to improve sidelink related services and resource allocations in sidelink wireless communications; [0278] an apparatus, such as a mobile phone), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (Fig. 7a), configuration information including information on reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements and information and thresholds ([0076] In mode 1, where the gNB is responsible for the SL resource allocation (the base station allocates/configures some amount of SL resources that are available for the UE to use for SL transmission; hence thresholds); [0077] In mode 2… a SL TX UE in NR SL mode 2 first performs a sensing procedure over the configured SL transmission resource pool(s), in order to obtain the knowledge of the reserved resource(s) by other nearby SL TX UE(s). Based on the knowledge obtained from sensing, the SL TX UE may select resource(s) from the available SL resources, accordingly; [0162] b. From the NR-V2X sidelink resource pool... and RSRP measurements (PSCCH-RSRP or PSSCH-RSRP, depending on (pre-)configured parameter sl-RS-ForSensing) associated with the NR SCIs where those reservations were made) associated with co-channel coexistence of a long term evolution (LTE) sidelink and a new radio (NR) sidelink ([0009] FIG. 3A shows examples of LTE-V2X and NR-V2X co-channel coexistence in the same carrier; [0038] the V2X deployment scenario where both LTE V2X and NR V2X devices are to coexist in the same frequency channel… it is important that there is mechanism to efficiently utilize resource allocation by the two technologies without negatively impacting the operation of each technology; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected);
receiving LTE sidelink control information (SCI) ([0164] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention a PSFCH resource may be deemed as free (i.e., available) if: [0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold);
identifying candidate resources for a transmission of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Fig. 15 – step 2a; [0160] 2. The TX UE collects sensing information: [0161] a. From the LTE-V2X sidelink (SL communication LTE) resource pool, which includes reserved resources (including subframe, initial sub-channel and number of reserved sub-channels) and RSRP measurements (PSSCH-RSRP) associated with the LTE SCIs where those reservations were made);
in case of the co-channel coexistence of the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink ([0009] FIG. 3A shows examples of LTE-V2X and NR-V2X co-channel coexistence in the same carrier), identifying at least one candidate resource based on an RSRP measurement associated with the received LTE SCI and an RSRP threshold (Fig 15. – step 3; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected; [0164] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention a PSFCH resource may be deemed as free (i.e., available) if: [0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold); and
excluding the at least one candidate resource from the candidate resources for the transmission of the PSSCH (Fig. 15 – step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission; (hence candidate resources that are overlapping with the resources reserved for LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission are excluded)),
wherein the RSRP threshold (Fig 15. – step 3; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected; [0164] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention a PSFCH resource may be deemed as free (i.e., available) if: [0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold)) is determined as a first RSRP threshold corresponding to the thresholds ([0076] In mode 1, where the gNB is responsible for the SL resource allocation(the base station allocates/configures some amount of SL resources that are available for the UE to use for SL transmission; hence thresholds); [0165]; [0166] i. This RSRP threshold (e.g., first RSRP threshold) can be the same as the one used to determine if a candidate resource is free (the candidate resource is part of the configured resource pool(s) that the base station allocated the SL resources to) with respect to an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH and/or NR PSCCH/PSSCH future transmission; [0077] In mode 2… a SL TX UE in NR SL mode 2 first performs a sensing procedure over the configured SL transmission resource pool(s), in order to obtain the knowledge of the reserved resource(s) by other nearby SL TX UE(s). Based on the knowledge obtained from sensing, the SL TX UE may select resource(s) from the available SL resources, accordingly), and
wherein the first RSRP threshold is associated to the received LTE SCI and an NR SCI to be transmitted ([0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold; [0166] i. This RSRP threshold (e.g., the first RSRP threshold) can be the same as the one used to determine if a candidate resource is free with respect to an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH and/or NR PSCCH/PSSCH future transmission (e.g., SCI is transmitted on PSCCH/PSSCH according to [0111] this means that the intended NR receiver, upon decoding the SCI (both 1.sup.st-stage SCI and 2.sup.nd-stage SCI) associated with the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission)).
KIILERICH PRATAS does not explicitly disclose the information on RSRP thresholds,
the first RSRP threshold corresponding to a priority combination among the RSRP thresholds, and
wherein the priority combination includes a pair of a value of a priority field included in the received LTE SCI and a value of a priority field included in an NR SCI to be transmitted.
However, LI discloses information on RSRP thresholds ([0079] In resource allocation mode 2, the higher layer can request the UE to determine a subset of resources from which the higher layer will select resources for PSSCH/PSCCH transmission. To trigger this procedure, in slot n, the higher layer provides the following parameters for this PSSCH/PSCCH transmission; [0086] The following higher layer parameters affect this procedure:; [0088] SL-ThresRSRP_pi_pj: this higher layer parameter provides an RSRP threshold for each combination (p.sub.i, p.sub.j) (hence information on RSRP thresholds), where p.sub.i is the value of the priority field in a received SCI format 1-A and p.sub.j is the priority of the transmission of the UE selecting resources; for a given invocation of this procedure, p.sub.j=prio.sub.TX. [0089] RSforSensing selects if the UE uses the PSSCH-RSRP or PSCCH-RSRP measurement, as defined in clause 8.4.2.1. [0090] sl-ResourceReservePeriodList),
a first RSRP threshold corresponding to a priority combination among the RSRP thresholds ([0088] SL-ThresRSRP_pi_pj: this higher layer parameter provides an RSRP threshold (e.g., first RSRP threshold for first combination) for each combination (p.sub.i, p.sub.j), where p.sub.i is the value of the priority field in a received SCI format 1-A and p.sub.j is the priority of the transmission of the UE selecting resources; for a given invocation of this procedure, p.sub.j=prio.sub.TX), and
wherein the priority combination includes a pair of a value of a priority field included in a distinct received SCI and a value of a priority field included in a selected SCI to be transmitted ([0088] SL-ThresRSRP_pi_pj: this higher layer parameter provides an RSRP threshold for each combination (p.sub.i, p.sub.j), where p.sub.i is the value of the priority field in a received SCI format 1-A and p.sub.j is the priority of the transmission of the UE selecting resources; for a given invocation of this procedure, p.sub.j=prio.sub.TX; [0130] SCI format 1-A is used for the scheduling of PSSCH and 2.sup.nd-stage-SCI on PSSCH; [0222] In Step 1 of the resource (re-)selection procedure, a resource is not considered as a candidate resource if: [0212] In Mode-2, SCI payload indicates sub-channel(s) and slot(s) used by a UE and/or reserved by a UE for PSSCH (re-)transmission(s); [0223] The resource is indicated in a received SCI and the associated L1 SL-RSRP measurement is above an SL-RSRP threshold [0224] The SL-RSRP threshold is at least a function of the priority of the SL transmission indicated in the received SCI and the priority of the transmission for which resources are being selected by the UE).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the configuration information, the first RSRP, the received LTE SCI and the NR SCI to be transmitted of KIILERICH PRATAS to include the information on the RSRP thresholds, the first RSRP threshold corresponding to the priority combination among the RSRP thresholds, and wherein the priority combination includes the pair of he value of the priority field included in the distinct received SCI and the value of the priority field included in the selected SCI to be transmitted, wherein the received LTE SCI is associated with the distinct received SCI and the NR SCI to be transmitted is associated with the selected SCI to be transmitted as taught by LI in order to avoid interference to the receiver of other transmission pairs when determining the selected resources for the PSSCH/PSCCH transmission (LI - [0287] In Rel-16 mode 2 resource allocation, the Tx UE determines sidelink transmission resources for a transmission pair by the sensing and reservation mechanism. The reserved resources indicated by other Tx UEs may be excluded by the Tx UE through SCI decoding and SL-RSRP measurement. By doing so, the Tx UE can avoid interference to the receiver of other transmission pairs, depending on priorities; KIILERICH PRATAS - [0031] a) No harmful interference shall be caused to the application having priority; [0051] If multiple NR SL transmissions/receptions overlap with single LTE SL TX/RX, the highest priority NR SL TX/RX determines the priority of the NR SL).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses:
identifying a channel of the LTE sidelink ([0009] FIG. 3A shows examples of LTE-V2X and NR-V2X co-channel coexistence in the same carrier; [0038] the V2X deployment scenario where both LTE V2X and NR V2X devices are to coexist in the same frequency channel… it is important that there is mechanism to efficiently utilize resource allocation by the two technologies without negatively impacting the operation of each technology; and
performing a resource allocation (Fig. 15 – step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission).
KIILERICH PRATAS does explicitly disclose the channel is a channel busy rate (CBR); and
performing the resource allocation is based on in case that the CBR is more than a threshold.
However, LI discloses a channel busy rate (CBR) ([0325] for the resource reservation interval lower than 100 ms and set SL_RESOURCE_RESELECTION_COUNTER to the selected value; [0326] if configured by upper layers, overlapped in sl-MaxTxTransNumPSSCH indicated in sl-CBR-PSSCH-TxConfigList for the highest priority of the logical channel(s) allowed on the carrier and the CBR measured by lower layers according to clause 5.1.27 of TS 38.215 [24] if CBR measurement results are available or the corresponding si-defaultTxConfiglndex configured by RRC if CBR measurement results are not available); and
performing a resource allocation is based on in case that the CBR ([0325] for the resource reservation; [0326] if CBR measurement results are available; ; [0327] 3> select an amount of frequency resources within the range that is configured by RRC between sl-MinSubChannelNumPSSCH and sl-MaxSubchannelNumPSSCH included in sl-PSSCH-TxConfigList and, if configured by RRC, overlapped between MinSubChannelNumPSSCH and MaxSubchannelNumPSSCH indicated in sl-CBR-PSSCH-TxConfigList for the highest priority of the logical channel(s) allowed on the carrier and the CBR measured by lower layers according to clause 5.1.27 of TS 38.215 [24] if CBR measurement results are available or the corresponding sl-defaultTxConfiglndex configured by RRC if CBR measurement results are not available) is more than a threshold ([0326] if CBR measurement results are available (e.g., CBR measurement results are available > the CBR measurement results not available threshold); [0327] 3> and, if configured by RRC, overlapped between MinSubChannelNumPSSCH and MaxSubchannelNumPSSCH indicated in sl-CBR-PSSCH-TxConfigList for the highest priority of the logical channel(s) allowed on the carrier and the CBR measured by lower layers according to clause 5.1.27 of TS 38.215 [24] if CBR measurement results are available or the corresponding sl-defaultTxConfiglndex configured by RRC if CBR measurement results are not available).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the channel of the LTE sidelink and performing the resource allocation of KIILERICH PRATAS and LI to include the CBR and performing the resource allocation is based on the in case that the CBR is more than the threshold as taught by LI in order to improve the efficiency of sidelink communication (LI - [0165] Enhanced reliability and reduced latency allow the support of URLLC-type sidelink use cases in wider operation scenarios. The system level reliability and latency performance of sidelink is affected by the communication conditions such as the wireless channel status and the offered load, and Rel-16 NR sidelink is expected to have limitation in achieving high reliability and low latency in some conditions, e.g., when the channel is relatively busy. Solutions that can enhance reliability and reduce latency are required in order to keep providing the use cases requiring low latency and high reliability under such communication conditions).
Regarding claim 5, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses:
identifying that a conflict between the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink occurs (Fig. 15 – Step 7; [0178] 7. Perform resource re-selection check: [0179] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention when HARQ feedback is configured, evaluate the need to trigger resource re-selection due to either detected conflicts in the PSCCH/PSSCH or the associated PSFCH, by keeping decoding other UEs' PSCCH in both NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resource pools; [0181] i. (With respect to the LTE-V2X monitoring in accordance with example embodiments of the invention) The resource re-evaluation of the TX's selected PSCCH/PSSCH resources includes both the evaluation of SCIs (i.e., PSCCH) in the NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resources pools to check whether its intended transmission is still suitable, taking account of late-arriving SCIs; [0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5), or a number of a PSSCH retransmission exceeds a specific threshold; and
in case that the conflict occurs ([0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5) or the number of the PSSCH retransmission exceeds the specific threshold, performing a resource allocation of the NR sidelink (Fig. 15 – Step 5; [0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission).
Regarding claim 10, KIILERICH PRATAS discloses:
A user equipment (UE) ([0160] 2. The TX UE; Fig. 15; Fig. 18A-18D; [0005] Example embodiments of this invention disclosure relates to methods and apparatus (UE) to improve sidelink related services and resource allocations in sidelink wireless communications; [0278] an apparatus, such as a mobile phone), the UE comprising:
At least one transceiver (Fig. 17 – UE A, 10D; [0141] The UE A (user equipment A) includes… and one or more transceivers TRANS 10D interconnected through one or more buses. Each of the one or more transceivers TRANS 10D includes a receiver and a transmitter);
at least one processor (Fig. 17 – DP 10A) communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and
at least one memory (Fig. 17 – MEM 10B), communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions (Fig. 17- PROG 10C) executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to ([0141] The UE A (user equipment A) includes one or more processors DP 10A… and one or more transceivers TRANS 10D interconnected through one or more buses… The one or more memories MEM 10B and the computer program code PROG 10C are configured to cause, with the one or more processors DP 10A, the UE A to perform one or more of the operations as described herein):
receive, from a base station (Fig. 7a) , configuration information including information on reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements and information and thresholds ([0076] In mode 1, where the gNB is responsible for the SL resource allocation (the base station allocates/configures some amount of SL resources that are available for the UE to use for SL transmission; hence thresholds); [0077] In mode 2… a SL TX UE in NR SL mode 2 first performs a sensing procedure over the configured SL transmission resource pool(s), in order to obtain the knowledge of the reserved resource(s) by other nearby SL TX UE(s). Based on the knowledge obtained from sensing, the SL TX UE may select resource(s) from the available SL resources, accordingly; [0162] b. From the NR-V2X sidelink resource pool... and RSRP measurements (PSCCH-RSRP or PSSCH-RSRP, depending on (pre-)configured parameter sl-RS-ForSensing) associated with the NR SCIs where those reservations were made) associated with co-channel coexistence of a long term evolution (LTE) sidelink and a new radio (NR) sidelink ([0009] FIG. 3A shows examples of LTE-V2X and NR-V2X co-channel coexistence in the same carrier; [0038] the V2X deployment scenario where both LTE V2X and NR V2X devices are to coexist in the same frequency channel… it is important that there is mechanism to efficiently utilize resource allocation by the two technologies without negatively impacting the operation of each technology; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected);
receiving LTE sidelink control information (SCI) ([0164] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention a PSFCH resource may be deemed as free (i.e., available) if: [0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold);
identify candidate resources for a transmission of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Fig. 15 – step 2a; [0160] 2. The TX UE collects sensing information: [0161] a. From the LTE-V2X sidelink (SL communication LTE) resource pool, which includes reserved resources (including subframe, initial sub-channel and number of reserved sub-channels) and RSRP measurements (PSSCH-RSRP) associated with the LTE SCIs where those reservations were made),
in case of the co-channel coexistence of the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink ([0009] FIG. 3A shows examples of LTE-V2X and NR-V2X co-channel coexistence in the same carrier), identifying at least one candidate resource based on an RSRP measurement associated with the received LTE SCI and an RSRP threshold (Fig 15. – step 3; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected; [0164] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention a PSFCH resource may be deemed as free (i.e., available) if: [0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold); and
exclude the at least one candidate resource from the candidate resources for the transmission of the PSSCH (Fig. 15 – step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission; (hence candidate resources that are overlapping with the resources reserved for LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission are excluded)),
wherein the RSRP threshold (Fig 15. – step 3; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected; [0164] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention a PSFCH resource may be deemed as free (i.e., available) if: [0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold)) is determined as a first RSRP threshold corresponding to the thresholds ([0076] In mode 1, where the gNB is responsible for the SL resource allocation(the base station allocates/configures some amount of SL resources that are available for the UE to use for SL transmission; hence thresholds); [0165]; [0166] i. This RSRP threshold (e.g., first RSRP threshold) can be the same as the one used to determine if a candidate resource is free (the candidate resource is part of the configured resource pool(s) that the base station allocated the SL resources to) with respect to an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH and/or NR PSCCH/PSSCH future transmission; [0077] In mode 2… a SL TX UE in NR SL mode 2 first performs a sensing procedure over the configured SL transmission resource pool(s), in order to obtain the knowledge of the reserved resource(s) by other nearby SL TX UE(s). Based on the knowledge obtained from sensing, the SL TX UE may select resource(s) from the available SL resources, accordingly), and
wherein the first RSRP threshold is associated to the received LTE SCI and an NR SCI to be transmitted ([0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold; [0166] i. This RSRP threshold (e.g., the first RSRP threshold) can be the same as the one used to determine if a candidate resource is free with respect to an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH and/or NR PSCCH/PSSCH future transmission (e.g., SCI is transmitted on PSCCH/PSSCH according to [0111] this means that the intended NR receiver, upon decoding the SCI (both 1.sup.st-stage SCI and 2.sup.nd-stage SCI) associated with the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission)).
KIILERICH PRATAS does not explicitly disclose the information on RSRP thresholds,
the first RSRP threshold corresponding to a priority combination among the RSRP thresholds, and
wherein the priority combination includes a pair of a value of a priority field included in the received LTE SCI and a value of a priority field included in an NR SCI to be transmitted.
However, LI discloses information on RSRP thresholds ([0079] In resource allocation mode 2, the higher layer can request the UE to determine a subset of resources from which the higher layer will select resources for PSSCH/PSCCH transmission. To trigger this procedure, in slot n, the higher layer provides the following parameters for this PSSCH/PSCCH transmission; [0086] The following higher layer parameters affect this procedure:; [0088] SL-ThresRSRP_pi_pj: this higher layer parameter provides an RSRP threshold for each combination (p.sub.i, p.sub.j) (hence information on RSRP thresholds), where p.sub.i is the value of the priority field in a received SCI format 1-A and p.sub.j is the priority of the transmission of the UE selecting resources; for a given invocation of this procedure, p.sub.j=prio.sub.TX. [0089] RSforSensing selects if the UE uses the PSSCH-RSRP or PSCCH-RSRP measurement, as defined in clause 8.4.2.1. [0090] sl-ResourceReservePeriodList),
a first RSRP threshold corresponding to a priority combination among the RSRP thresholds ([0088] SL-ThresRSRP_pi_pj: this higher layer parameter provides an RSRP threshold (e.g., first RSRP threshold for first combination) for each combination (p.sub.i, p.sub.j), where p.sub.i is the value of the priority field in a received SCI format 1-A and p.sub.j is the priority of the transmission of the UE selecting resources; for a given invocation of this procedure, p.sub.j=prio.sub.TX), and
wherein the priority combination includes a pair of a value of a priority field included in a distinct received SCI and a value of a priority field included in a selected SCI to be transmitted ([0088] SL-ThresRSRP_pi_pj: this higher layer parameter provides an RSRP threshold for each combination (p.sub.i, p.sub.j), where p.sub.i is the value of the priority field in a received SCI format 1-A and p.sub.j is the priority of the transmission of the UE selecting resources; for a given invocation of this procedure, p.sub.j=prio.sub.TX; [0130] SCI format 1-A is used for the scheduling of PSSCH and 2.sup.nd-stage-SCI on PSSCH; [0222] In Step 1 of the resource (re-)selection procedure, a resource is not considered as a candidate resource if: [0212] In Mode-2, SCI payload indicates sub-channel(s) and slot(s) used by a UE and/or reserved by a UE for PSSCH (re-)transmission(s); [0223] The resource is indicated in a received SCI and the associated L1 SL-RSRP measurement is above an SL-RSRP threshold [0224] The SL-RSRP threshold is at least a function of the priority of the SL transmission indicated in the received SCI and the priority of the transmission for which resources are being selected by the UE).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the configuration information, the first RSRP, the received LTE SCI and the NR SCI to be transmitted of KIILERICH PRATAS to include the information on the RSRP thresholds, the first RSRP threshold corresponding to the priority combination among the RSRP thresholds, and wherein the priority combination includes the pair of he value of the priority field included in the distinct received SCI and the value of the priority field included in the selected SCI to be transmitted, wherein the received LTE SCI is associated with the distinct received SCI and the NR SCI to be transmitted is associated with the selected SCI to be transmitted as taught by LI in order to avoid interference to the receiver of other transmission pairs when determining the selected resources for the PSSCH/PSCCH transmission (LI - [0287] In Rel-16 mode 2 resource allocation, the Tx UE determines sidelink transmission resources for a transmission pair by the sensing and reservation mechanism. The reserved resources indicated by other Tx UEs may be excluded by the Tx UE through SCI decoding and SL-RSRP measurement. By doing so, the Tx UE can avoid interference to the receiver of other transmission pairs, depending on priorities; KIILERICH PRATAS - [0031] a) No harmful interference shall be caused to the application having priority; [0051] If multiple NR SL transmissions/receptions overlap with single LTE SL TX/RX, the highest priority NR SL TX/RX determines the priority of the NR SL).
Regarding claim 14, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to ([0141];):
identify that a conflict between the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink occurs (Fig. 15 – Step 7; [0178] 7. Perform resource re-selection check: [0179] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention when HARQ feedback is configured, evaluate the need to trigger resource re-selection due to either detected conflicts in the PSCCH/PSSCH or the associated PSFCH, by keeping decoding other UEs' PSCCH in both NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resource pools; [0181] i. (With respect to the LTE-V2X monitoring in accordance with example embodiments of the invention) The resource re-evaluation of the TX's selected PSCCH/PSSCH resources includes both the evaluation of SCIs (i.e., PSCCH) in the NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resources pools to check whether its intended transmission is still suitable, taking account of late-arriving SCIs; [0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5), or a number of physical shared channel (PSSCH) retransmission exceeds a threshold, and
in case that the conflict occurs ([0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5) or the number of PSSCH retransmission exceeds the threshold, perform the resource allocation of the NR sidelink (Fig. 15 – Step 5; [0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission).
Regarding claim 23, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses:
identifying information associated with the LTE sidelink, within a specific time range (Fig. 7- Sensing Window; [0122] In accordance with example embodiments of the invention, where there exists an overlap of an NR-V2X resource pool with an LTE-V2X resource pool, an NR device, when performing resource selection via mode 2, will have to perform sensing in such a way that it detects the activity of other NR and LTE devices in its neighbourhood. This means that the NR device may have to monitor the two overlapping resource pools and decode both the LTE SCIs (Sidelink Control Information) transmitted in the LTE-V2X resource pool and the NR SCIs transmitted in the NR-V2X resource pool; Fig. 15 – Step 1, 2, 7; [0181] i. (With respect to the LTE-V2X monitoring in accordance with example embodiments of the invention) The resource re-evaluation of the TX's selected PSCCH/PSSCH resources includes both the evaluation of SCIs (i.e., PSCCH) in the NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resources pools to check whether its intended transmission is still suitable, taking account of late-arriving SCIs), wherein excluding the at least one candidate resource is based on the information associated with the LTE sidelink ([0170]; [0181]; [0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5).
Regarding claim 24, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses:
wherein, in case that a candidate resource for the PSSCH overlaps with a resource associated with the LTE sidelink, the candidate resource is excluded from the candidate resources (Fig. 15 – step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission; (hence candidate resources that are overlapping with the resources reserved for LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission are excluded)).
Regarding claim 25, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses:
wherein the LTE SCI includes a resource reservation field (Fig. 15 – step 2a; [0161] a. From the LTE-V2X sidelink resource pool, which includes reserved resources (including subframe, initial sub-channel and number of reserved sub-channels) and RSRP measurements (PSSCH-RSRP) associated with the LTE SCIs where those reservations were made), and wherein the at least one candidate resource is further determined based on the resource reservation field ([0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission).
Regarding claim 28, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses:
wherein the instructions further cause the UE to ([0141];):
identify information associated with the LTE sidelink, within a specific time range (Fig. 7- Sensing Window; [0122] In accordance with example embodiments of the invention, where there exists an overlap of an NR-V2X resource pool with an LTE-V2X resource pool, an NR device, when performing resource selection via mode 2, will have to perform sensing in such a way that it detects the activity of other NR and LTE devices in its neighbourhood. This means that the NR device may have to monitor the two overlapping resource pools and decode both the LTE SCIs (Sidelink Control Information) transmitted in the LTE-V2X resource pool and the NR SCIs transmitted in the NR-V2X resource pool; Fig. 15 – Step 1, 2, 7; [0181] i. (With respect to the LTE-V2X monitoring in accordance with example embodiments of the invention) The resource re-evaluation of the TX's selected PSCCH/PSSCH resources includes both the evaluation of SCIs (i.e., PSCCH) in the NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resources pools to check whether its intended transmission is still suitable, taking account of late-arriving SCIs), and wherein excluding the at least one candidate resource is based on the information associated with the LTE sidelink ([0170]; [0181]; [0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5).
Regarding claim 29, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses:
wherein, in case that a candidate resource for the PSSCH overlaps with a resource associated with the LTE sidelink, the candidate resource is excluded from the candidate resources (Fig. 15 – step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission; (hence candidate resources that are overlapping with the resources reserved for LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission are excluded)).
Regarding claim 30, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses: wherein the LTE SCI includes a resource reservation field (Fig. 15 – step 2a; [0161] a. From the LTE-V2X sidelink resource pool, which includes reserved resources (including subframe, initial sub-channel and number of reserved sub-channels) and RSRP measurements (PSSCH-RSRP) associated with the LTE SCIs where those reservations were made), and wherein the at least one candidate resource is further determined based on the resource reservation field ([0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission).
Claims 7, 9, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIILERICH PRATAS and LI in view of XUE et al (US 20230109093 A1, hereinafter XUE).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses:
UE capability information including a UE capability of cross-system monitoring the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink ([0110] When an NR-V2X resource pool overlaps with an LTE-V2X resource pool, then an NR device, when performing resource selection via mode 2, will have to perform sensing in such a way that it detects the activity of other NR and LTE devices. This means that the NR device will have to monitor the two overlapping resource pools and decode both the LTE SCIs transmitted in the LTE-V2X resource pool and the NR SCIs transmitted in the NR-V2X resource pool. From those SCIs, the NR device becomes aware of future transmissions of other surrounding devices, and from there it can ascertain which resources will be available (i.e., should not be excluded) for its own NR-V2X sidelink transmission(s); [0124] According to the proposed mechanism, a simultaneous sensing of both LTE and NR sidelink resource pools is performed by a device. This is done by the simultaneous decoding of both LTE SCIs and NR SCIs. (The background assumption is that such a device has modules that allow it to use V2X sidelink transmissions both for LTE and NR and that these modules can communicate between them and exchange information)).
KIILERICH PRATAS and LI do not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the base station, the UE capability information.
However, XUE discloses transmitting, to a base station, a UE information ([0088] As a second example, a UE may transmit (e.g., report) channel sensing results regarding other UEs to a base station to aid in, for example, collision avoidance scheduling; [0092] For example, a UE operating in accordance with the first resource allocation mode may report (e.g., to a base station) information regarding one or more resources that are being used by UEs operating in accordance with the second resource allocation mode… The indication may therefore improve the scheduling among the UEs, thereby increasing throughput and improving the efficiency of sidelink communications).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the UE capability information of KIILERICH PRATAS and LI to include transmitting, to the base station, the UE information as taught by XUE in order to help improve scheduling and improve the efficiency of sidelink communications (XUE – [0088]; [0092]).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses:
in case that a conflict between the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink occurs ([0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered (resource reselection is triggered due to a conflict), then perform again step 5; [0178] 7. Perform resource re-selection check: [0179] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention when HARQ feedback is configured, evaluate the need to trigger resource re-selection due to either detected conflicts in the PSCCH/PSSCH or the associated PSFCH, by keeping decoding other UEs' PSCCH in both NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resource pools).
KIILERICH PRATAS and LI do not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the base station, information indicating that the conflict occurs.
However, XUE discloses transmitting, to a base station, information ([0093] Using the indication, the UE may be configured to report channel sensing results to the base station to assist the base station in performing scheduling (e.g., collision avoidance scheduling in the V2X scenario)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the information indicating that the conflict occurs of KIILERICH PRATAS and LI to include transmitting, to the base station, the information as taught by XUE in order to assist the BS to avoid collision when performing resource scheduling (XUE – [0093]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418