DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. Amendments filed on 02/11/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 13-14, 16, 18, 23-25, and 28-30 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 13-14, 16, 18, 23-25, and 28-30 in a reply filed 02/11/2026 regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
5a. Claims 1, 7, 10 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 “associated with LTE sidelink control information (SCI)” should read “associated with an LTE sidelink control information (SCI)”
Claim 7 “UE capability information including a UE capability” should read “a capability information of the UE including the capability”
Claims 10 and 16 have similar informalities as claims 1 and 7. Therefore, the same objections are applied.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5b. Claims 1, 5, 10, 14, 23-25, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1: The applicant claimed “receiving, from a base station, radio resource control (RRC) information including information on thresholds”. However, the applicant gives no support for “receiving, from a base station, an RRC information” in the specification ([0152] In a specific example, for SCI with a same priority, when it is from LTE detection and NR detection, RSRP thresholds Th(p.sub.i, p.sub.j) used may be different, for example, they are configured by different RRC parameters respectively, or the threshold of LTE is the threshold configured by NR plus an offset; [0041] a method for sidelink communication performed by a user equipment UE including… requesting to acquire a configuration or pre-configuration related to a second sidelink communication system from a base station, acquiring the configuration or pre-configuration related to the second sidelink communication system from the base station).
Claim 10 has the similar claimed subject matter. Therefore, the examiner applied the same reasoning for the rejection as claim 1. Claims 5, 14, 23-25, and 28-30 are dependent of claims 1 and 10, and therefore are subjected to the same rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 5, 10, 14, 23-25, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIILERICH PRATAS et al (US 20250185028 A1, hereinafter, KIILERICH PRATAS) in view of Talarico et al. (US 20250220687 A1, hereinafter TALARICO).
Regarding claim 1, KIILERICH PRATAS discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 15; Fig. 18A-18D; [0005] Example embodiments of this invention disclosure relates to methods and apparatus (UE) to improve sidelink related services and resource allocations in sidelink wireless communications; [0278] an apparatus, such as a mobile phone), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (Fig. 7a) , information including information on thresholds ([0076] In mode 1, where the gNB is responsible for the SL resource allocation (the base station allocates/configures some amount of SL resources that are available for the UE to use for SL transmission; hence thresholds); [0077] In mode 2… a SL TX UE in NR SL mode 2 first performs a sensing procedure over the configured SL transmission resource pool(s), in order to obtain the knowledge of the reserved resource(s) by other nearby SL TX UE(s). Based on the knowledge obtained from sensing, the SL TX UE may select resource(s) from the available SL resources, accordingly) associated with co-channel coexistence of a long term evolution (LTE) sidelink and a new radio (NR) sidelink ([0009] FIG. 3A shows examples of LTE-V2X and NR-V2X co-channel coexistence in the same carrier; [0038] the V2X deployment scenario where both LTE V2X and NR V2X devices are to coexist in the same frequency channel… it is important that there is mechanism to efficiently utilize resource allocation by the two technologies without negatively impacting the operation of each technology; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected);
identifying candidate resources for a transmission of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Fig. 15 – step 2a; [0160] 2. The TX UE collects sensing information: [0161] a. From the LTE-V2X sidelink (SL communication LTE) resource pool, which includes reserved resources (including subframe, initial sub-channel and number of reserved sub-channels) and RSRP measurements (PSSCH-RSRP) associated with the LTE SCIs where those reservations were made);
in case of the co-channel coexistence of the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink ([0009] FIG. 3A shows examples of LTE-V2X and NR-V2X co-channel coexistence in the same carrier), identifying at least one candidate resource based on a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement associated with LTE sidelink control information(SCI) and a threshold (Fig 15. – step 3; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected; [0164] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention a PSFCH resource may be deemed as free (i.e., available) if: [0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold), and
excluding the at least one candidate resource from the candidate resources for the transmission of the PSSCH (Fig. 15 – step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission; (hence candidate resources that are overlapping with the resources reserved for LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission are excluded)),
wherein the threshold (Fig 15. – step 3; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected; [0164] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention a PSFCH resource may be deemed as free (i.e., available) if: [0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold)) is determined among the thresholds ([0076] In mode 1, where the gNB is responsible for the SL resource allocation (hence thresholds); [0165]; [0166] i. This RSRP threshold can be the same as the one used to determine if a candidate resource is free (the candidate resource is part of the configured resource pool(s) that the base station allocated the SL resources to) with respect to an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH and/or NR PSCCH/PSSCH future transmission; [0077] In mode 2… a SL TX UE in NR SL mode 2 first performs a sensing procedure over the configured SL transmission resource pool(s), in order to obtain the knowledge of the reserved resource(s) by other nearby SL TX UE(s). Based on the knowledge obtained from sensing, the SL TX UE may select resource(s) from the available SL resources, accordingly).
KIILERICH PRATAS does not explicitly disclose wherein the receiving information is a radio resource control (RRC) information and the threshold is determined based on a combination of a value of a priority field included in the LTE SCI and a value of a priority field included in an NR SCI to be transmitted.
However, TALARICO discloses receiving information is a radio resource control (RRC) information ([0047] resources within an NR SL resource pool may be divided into two types: type I where resources are used such that LTE and NR V2X may be operated in an orthogonal manner via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC configuration)) and a threshold is determined based on a combination of a value of a priority field included in the LTE SCI and a value of a priority field included in an NR SCI ([0056] UE receives an NR SCI (i.e., format 1-A) and/or an LTE SCI which reserves SL resources overlapping with a candidate resource; [0058] In one option, only LTE reserved SL resources overlapping with a candidate resource which are associated with a higher or same priority as the candidate resource are considered. [0059] Reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement (i.e., NR+LTE) is higher than the configured threshold defined based on the Rx NR priority (i.e., carried in NR SCI format 1-A) or Rx LTE priority (i.e., carried in LTE SCI format 1) or the highest (or lowest) or more stringent (or more relaxed) between the two. In addition, the priority of the resources reserved for the LTE system can be interpreted as having the highest priority despite of the priority set in the related LTE SCI information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the information and the threshold of KIILERICH PRATAS to include receiving the information is the RRC information and the threshold is determined based on the combination of the value of the priority field included in the LTE SCI and NR SCI as taught by TALARICO in order to optimize the use of the shared sidelink spectrum by ensuring that the UEs prioritize resources with adequate signal strength relative to the importance of the information being transmitted (KIILERICH PRATAS - [0038] the V2X deployment scenario where both LTE V2X and NR V2X devices are to coexist… t is important that there is mechanism to efficiently utilize resource allocation by the two technologies without negatively impacting the operation of each technology; TALARICO – [0055] a UE may exclude any candidate single-slot resource if it meets all the following example conditions (and/or one or more additional/alternative conditions): [0056] UE receives an NR SCI (i.e., format 1-A) and/or an LTE SCI which reserves SL resources overlapping with a candidate resource; [0058]; [0076] in another option a UE may only consider the LTE reserved SL resources which are associated with an higher or same priority as the candidate resource or the resource over which a transmission may be meant).
Regarding claim 5, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying that a conflict between the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink occurs (Fig. 15 – Step 7; [0178] 7. Perform resource re-selection check: [0179] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention when HARQ feedback is configured, evaluate the need to trigger resource re-selection due to either detected conflicts in the PSCCH/PSSCH or the associated PSFCH, by keeping decoding other UEs' PSCCH in both NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resource pools; [0181] i. (With respect to the LTE-V2X monitoring in accordance with example embodiments of the invention) The resource re-evaluation of the TX's selected PSCCH/PSSCH resources includes both the evaluation of SCIs (i.e., PSCCH) in the NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resources pools to check whether its intended transmission is still suitable, taking account of late-arriving SCIs; [0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5), or a number of a PSSCH retransmission exceeds a specific threshold; and
in case that the conflict occurs ([0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5) or the number of the PSSCH retransmission exceeds the specific threshold, performing a resource allocation of the NR sidelink (Fig. 15 – Step 5; [0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission).
Regarding claim 10, KIILERICH PRATAS discloses a user equipment (UE) ([0160] 2. The TX UE; Fig. 15; Fig. 18A-18D; [0005] Example embodiments of this invention disclosure relates to methods and apparatus (UE) to improve sidelink related services and resource allocations in sidelink wireless communications; [0278] an apparatus, such as a mobile phone), the UE comprising:
At least one transceiver (Fig. 17 – UE A, 10D; [0141] The UE A (user equipment A) includes… and one or more transceivers TRANS 10D interconnected through one or more buses. Each of the one or more transceivers TRANS 10D includes a receiver and a transmitter);
at least one processor (Fig. 17 – DP 10A) communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and
at least one memory (Fig. 17 – MEM 10B), communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions (Fig. 17- PROG 10C) executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to ([0141] The UE A (user equipment A) includes one or more processors DP 10A… and one or more transceivers TRANS 10D interconnected through one or more buses… The one or more memories MEM 10B and the computer program code PROG 10C are configured to cause, with the one or more processors DP 10A, the UE A to perform one or more of the operations as described herein):
receive, from a base station (Fig. 7a) , information including information on thresholds ([0076] In mode 1, where the gNB is responsible for the SL resource allocation (the base station allocates some amount of SL resources that are available for the UE to use for SL transmission; hence thresholds); [0077] In mode 2… a SL TX UE in NR SL mode 2 first performs a sensing procedure over the configured SL transmission resource pool(s), in order to obtain the knowledge of the reserved resource(s) by other nearby SL TX UE(s). Based on the knowledge obtained from sensing, the SL TX UE may select resource(s) from the available SL resources, accordingly) associated with co-channel coexistence of a long term evolution (LTE) sidelink and a new radio (NR) sidelink ([0009] FIG. 3A shows examples of LTE-V2X and NR-V2X co-channel coexistence in the same carrier; [0038] the V2X deployment scenario where both LTE V2X and NR V2X devices are to coexist in the same frequency channel… it is important that there is mechanism to efficiently utilize resource allocation by the two technologies without negatively impacting the operation of each technology; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected);
identify candidate resources for a transmission of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Fig. 15 – step 2a; [0160] 2. The TX UE collects sensing information: [0161] a. From the LTE-V2X sidelink (SL communication LTE) resource pool, which includes reserved resources (including subframe, initial sub-channel and number of reserved sub-channels) and RSRP measurements (PSSCH-RSRP) associated with the LTE SCIs where those reservations were made),
in case of the co-channel coexistence of the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink ([0009] FIG. 3A shows examples of LTE-V2X and NR-V2X co-channel coexistence in the same carrier), identify at least one candidate resource based on a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement associated with an LTE sidelink control information (SCI) and a threshold (Fig 15. – step 3; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected; [0164] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention a PSFCH resource may be deemed as free (i.e., available) if: [0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold), and
exclude the at least one candidate resource from the candidate resources for the transmission of the PSSCH (Fig. 15 – step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission; (hence candidate resources that are overlapping with the resources reserved for LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission are excluded)),
wherein the threshold (Fig 15. – step 3; [0163] 3. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention there is identifying NR-V2X SL (SL communication NR) slots configured with PSFCH where an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission is expected; [0164] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention a PSFCH resource may be deemed as free (i.e., available) if: [0165] i. The RSRP measurement according to the received LTE SCI is below an RSRP threshold)) is determined among the thresholds ([0076] In mode 1, where the gNB is responsible for the SL resource allocation (hence thresholds); [0165]; [0166] i. This RSRP threshold can be the same as the one used to determine if a candidate resource is free (the candidate resource is part of the configured resource pool(s) that the base station allocated the SL resources to) with respect to an overlapping LTE PSCCH/PSSCH and/or NR PSCCH/PSSCH future transmission; [0077] In mode 2… a SL TX UE in NR SL mode 2 first performs a sensing procedure over the configured SL transmission resource pool(s), in order to obtain the knowledge of the reserved resource(s) by other nearby SL TX UE(s). Based on the knowledge obtained from sensing, the SL TX UE may select resource(s) from the available SL resources, accordingly).
KIILERICH PRATAS does not explicitly disclose wherein receive, the information is a radio resource control (RRC) information and the threshold is determined based on a combination of a value of a priority field included in the LTE SCI and a value of a priority field included in an NR SCI to be transmitted.
However, TALARICO discloses receive, information is a radio resource control (RRC) information ([0047] resources within an NR SL resource pool may be divided into two types: type I where resources are used such that LTE and NR V2X may be operated in an orthogonal manner via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC configuration)) and a threshold is determined based on a combination of a value of a priority field included in the LTE SCI and a value of a priority field included in an NR SCI to be transmitted ([0056] UE receives an NR SCI (i.e., format 1-A) and/or an LTE SCI which reserves SL resources overlapping with a candidate resource; [0058] In one option, only LTE reserved SL resources overlapping with a candidate resource which are associated with a higher or same priority as the candidate resource are considered. [0059] Reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement (i.e., NR+LTE) is higher than the configured threshold defined based on the Rx NR priority (i.e., carried in NR SCI format 1-A) or Rx LTE priority (i.e., carried in LTE SCI format 1) or the highest (or lowest) or more stringent (or more relaxed) between the two. In addition, the priority of the resources reserved for the LTE system can be interpreted as having the highest priority despite of the priority set in the related LTE SCI information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the information and the threshold of KIILERICH PRATAS to include the information is the RRC information and the threshold is determined based on the combination of the value of the priority field included in the LTE SCI and NR SCI determined based on the priority field included in the LTE SCI as taught by TALARICO in order to optimize the use of the shared sidelink spectrum by ensuring that the UEs prioritize resources with adequate signal strength relative to the importance of the information being transmitted (KIILERICH PRATAS - [0038] the V2X deployment scenario where both LTE V2X and NR V2X devices are to coexist… t is important that there is mechanism to efficiently utilize resource allocation by the two technologies without negatively impacting the operation of each technology; TALARICO – [0055] a UE may exclude any candidate single-slot resource if it meets all the following example conditions (and/or one or more additional/alternative conditions): [0056] UE receives an NR SCI (i.e., format 1-A) and/or an LTE SCI which reserves SL resources overlapping with a candidate resource; [0058]; [0076] in another option a UE may only consider the LTE reserved SL resources which are associated with an higher or same priority as the candidate resource or the resource over which a transmission may be meant) .
Regarding claim 14, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to ([0141];):
identify that a conflict between the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink occurs (Fig. 15 – Step 7; [0178] 7. Perform resource re-selection check: [0179] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention when HARQ feedback is configured, evaluate the need to trigger resource re-selection due to either detected conflicts in the PSCCH/PSSCH or the associated PSFCH, by keeping decoding other UEs' PSCCH in both NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resource pools; [0181] i. (With respect to the LTE-V2X monitoring in accordance with example embodiments of the invention) The resource re-evaluation of the TX's selected PSCCH/PSSCH resources includes both the evaluation of SCIs (i.e., PSCCH) in the NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resources pools to check whether its intended transmission is still suitable, taking account of late-arriving SCIs; [0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5), or a number of physical shared channel (PSSCH) retransmission exceeds a threshold, and
in case that the conflict occurs ([0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5) or the number of PSSCH retransmission exceeds the threshold, perform the resource allocation of the NR sidelink (Fig. 15 – Step 5; [0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission).
Regarding claim 23, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying information associated with the LTE sidelink, within a specific time range (Fig. 7- Sensing Window; [0122] In accordance with example embodiments of the invention, where there exists an overlap of an NR-V2X resource pool with an LTE-V2X resource pool, an NR device, when performing resource selection via mode 2, will have to perform sensing in such a way that it detects the activity of other NR and LTE devices in its neighbourhood. This means that the NR device may have to monitor the two overlapping resource pools and decode both the LTE SCIs (Sidelink Control Information) transmitted in the LTE-V2X resource pool and the NR SCIs transmitted in the NR-V2X resource pool; Fig. 15 – Step 1, 2, 7; [0181] i. (With respect to the LTE-V2X monitoring in accordance with example embodiments of the invention) The resource re-evaluation of the TX's selected PSCCH/PSSCH resources includes both the evaluation of SCIs (i.e., PSCCH) in the NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resources pools to check whether its intended transmission is still suitable, taking account of late-arriving SCIs), wherein excluding the at least one candidate resource is based on the information associated with the LTE sidelink ([0170]; [0181]; [0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5).
Regarding claim 24, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses method of claim 1:
wherein, in case that a candidate resource for the PSSCH overlaps with a resource associated with the LTE sidelink, the candidate resource is excluded from the candidate resources (Fig. 15 – step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission; (hence candidate resources that are overlapping with the resources reserved for LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission are excluded)).
Regarding claim 25, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses method of claim 1:
wherein the LTE SCI includes a resource reservation field (Fig. 15 – step 2a; [0161] a. From the LTE-V2X sidelink resource pool, which includes reserved resources (including subframe, initial sub-channel and number of reserved sub-channels) and RSRP measurements (PSSCH-RSRP) associated with the LTE SCIs where those reservations were made), and wherein the at least one candidate resource is further determined based on the resource reservation field ([0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission).
Regarding claim 28, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the instructions further cause the UE to ([0141];):
identify information associated with the LTE sidelink, within a specific time range (Fig. 7- Sensing Window; [0122] In accordance with example embodiments of the invention, where there exists an overlap of an NR-V2X resource pool with an LTE-V2X resource pool, an NR device, when performing resource selection via mode 2, will have to perform sensing in such a way that it detects the activity of other NR and LTE devices in its neighbourhood. This means that the NR device may have to monitor the two overlapping resource pools and decode both the LTE SCIs (Sidelink Control Information) transmitted in the LTE-V2X resource pool and the NR SCIs transmitted in the NR-V2X resource pool; Fig. 15 – Step 1, 2, 7; [0181] i. (With respect to the LTE-V2X monitoring in accordance with example embodiments of the invention) The resource re-evaluation of the TX's selected PSCCH/PSSCH resources includes both the evaluation of SCIs (i.e., PSCCH) in the NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resources pools to check whether its intended transmission is still suitable, taking account of late-arriving SCIs), and wherein excluding the at least one candidate resource is based on the information associated with the LTE sidelink ([0170]; [0181]; [0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered, then perform again step 5).
Regarding claim 29, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses the UE of claim 10:
wherein, in case that a candidate resource for the PSSCH overlaps with a resource associated with the LTE sidelink, the candidate resource is excluded from the candidate resources (Fig. 15 – step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission; (hence candidate resources that are overlapping with the resources reserved for LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission are excluded)).
Regarding claim 30, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses the UE of claim 10: wherein the LTE SCI includes a resource reservation field (Fig. 15 – step 2a; [0161] a. From the LTE-V2X sidelink resource pool, which includes reserved resources (including subframe, initial sub-channel and number of reserved sub-channels) and RSRP measurements (PSSCH-RSRP) associated with the LTE SCIs where those reservations were made), and wherein the at least one candidate resource is further determined based on the resource reservation field ([0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission).
7. Claims 4, 7, 9, 13, 16, and 18are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO in view of XUE et al (US 20230109093 A1, hereinafter XUE).
Regarding claim 4, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
performing a resource allocation (Fig. 15 – step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission).
KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO do not explicitly disclose identifying a channel busy rate (CBR) of the LTE sidelink; in case that the CBR is more than a threshold, performing the resource allocation.
However, XUE discloses identifying a channel busy rate (CBR) ([0077] Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 305 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling by determining a channel busy rate (CBR) associated with various sidelink channels, which may be used for rate control (e.g., by indicating a maximum number of resource blocks that the UE 305 may use for a particular set of subframes)) and in case the CBR is more than a threshold ([0126] In measuring the loading contributed from the receiver UE 601-2, a subchannel may be counted as “busy” if the detected SCI indicates use of the second resource allocation mode and the demodulation reference signal (DMRS)/reference signal received power (RSRP) is above a threshold), performing a particular resource allocation ([0077] the UE 305 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling by determining a channel busy rate (CBR) associated with various sidelink channels).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify performing the resource allocation of KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO to include performing the particular resource allocation based on identifying a channel busy rate (CBR) and in case that the CBR is more than a threshold, wherein performing the resource allocation is associated just the same way as performing the particular resource allocation as taught by XUE in order to improve the efficiency of sidelink communication ([0092] Using the indication, the UE may be configured to report loading contributions to complement legacy CBR measurements… one or more resources that are being used by UEs operating in accordance with the second resource allocation mode, such as a loading contribution of UEs operating in the second resource allocation mode associated with a CBR measurement. The indication may therefore improve the scheduling among the UEs, thereby increasing throughput and improving the efficiency of sidelink communications).
Regarding claim 7, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
UE capability information including a UE capability of cross-system monitoring the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink ([0110] When an NR-V2X resource pool overlaps with an LTE-V2X resource pool, then an NR device, when performing resource selection via mode 2, will have to perform sensing in such a way that it detects the activity of other NR and LTE devices. This means that the NR device will have to monitor the two overlapping resource pools and decode both the LTE SCIs transmitted in the LTE-V2X resource pool and the NR SCIs transmitted in the NR-V2X resource pool. From those SCIs, the NR device becomes aware of future transmissions of other surrounding devices, and from there it can ascertain which resources will be available (i.e., should not be excluded) for its own NR-V2X sidelink transmission(s); [0124] According to the proposed mechanism, a simultaneous sensing of both LTE and NR sidelink resource pools is performed by a device. This is done by the simultaneous decoding of both LTE SCIs and NR SCIs. (The background assumption is that such a device has modules that allow it to use V2X sidelink transmissions both for LTE and NR and that these modules can communicate between them and exchange information)).
KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO do not explicitly disclose transmitting, to a base station, a UE capability information.
However, XUE discloses transmitting, to a base station, a UE information ([0088] As a second example, a UE may transmit (e.g., report) channel sensing results regarding other UEs to a base station to aid in, for example, collision avoidance scheduling; [0092] For example, a UE operating in accordance with the first resource allocation mode may report (e.g., to a base station) information regarding one or more resources that are being used by UEs operating in accordance with the second resource allocation mode… The indication may therefore improve the scheduling among the UEs, thereby increasing throughput and improving the efficiency of sidelink communications).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the UE capability information of KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO to include transmitting, to a base station, the UE information as taught by XUE in order to help improve scheduling and improve the efficiency of sidelink communications (XUE – [0088]; [0092]).
Regarding claim 9, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
in case that a conflict between the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink occurs ([0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered (resource reselection is triggered due to a conflict), then perform again step 5; [0178] 7. Perform resource re-selection check: [0179] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention when HARQ feedback is configured, evaluate the need to trigger resource re-selection due to either detected conflicts in the PSCCH/PSSCH or the associated PSFCH, by keeping decoding other UEs' PSCCH in both NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resource pools).
KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO do not explicitly disclose transmitting, to a base station, information indicating that the conflict occurs.
However, XUE discloses transmitting, to a base station, information ([0093] Using the indication, the UE may be configured to report channel sensing results to the base station to assist the base station in performing scheduling (e.g., collision avoidance scheduling in the V2X scenario)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the information indicating that the conflict occurs of KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO to include transmitting, to the base station, the information as taught by XUE in order to assist the BS to avoid collision when performing resource scheduling (XUE – [0093]).
Regarding claim 13, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the instruction further cause the UE to ([0141];):
perform a resource allocation (Fig. 15 – step 5; [0170] 5. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention candidate resource sets are formed for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission: [0171] a. Set of candidate resources for NR PSCCH/PSSCH transmission with HARQ feedback—this will include all candidate (single-slot) resources not overlapping with a reserved resource, for which the associated PSFCH resource does not overlap with a resource reserved for an LTE PSCCH/PSSCH transmission).
KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO do not explicitly disclose identify a channel busy rate (CBR) of the LTE sidelink; in case that the CBR is more than a threshold, perform the resource allocation.
However, XUE discloses identify a channel busy rate (CBR) ([0077] Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 305 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling by determining a channel busy rate (CBR) associated with various sidelink channels, which may be used for rate control (e.g., by indicating a maximum number of resource blocks that the UE 305 may use for a particular set of subframes)) and in case the CBR is more than a threshold ([0126] In measuring the loading contributed from the receiver UE 601-2, a subchannel may be counted as “busy” if the detected SCI indicates use of the second resource allocation mode and the demodulation reference signal (DMRS)/reference signal received power (RSRP) is above a threshold), perform a particular resource allocation ([0077] the UE 305 may perform resource selection and/or scheduling by determining a channel busy rate (CBR) associated with various sidelink channels).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify perform the resource allocation of KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO to include perform the particular resource allocation based on identifying a channel busy rate (CBR) and in case that the CBR is more than a threshold, wherein perform the resource allocation is associated just the same way as perform the particular resource allocation as taught by XUE in order to improve the efficiency of sidelink communication ([0092] Using the indication, the UE may be configured to report loading contributions to complement legacy CBR measurements… one or more resources that are being used by UEs operating in accordance with the second resource allocation mode, such as a loading contribution of UEs operating in the second resource allocation mode associated with a CBR measurement. The indication may therefore improve the scheduling among the UEs, thereby increasing throughput and improving the efficiency of sidelink communications).
Regarding claim 16, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the instructions further cause the UE to ([0141];):
UE capability information including a UE capability of cross-system monitoring between the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink ([0110] When an NR-V2X resource pool overlaps with an LTE-V2X resource pool, then an NR device, when performing resource selection via mode 2, will have to perform sensing in such a way that it detects the activity of other NR and LTE devices. This means that the NR device will have to monitor the two overlapping resource pools and decode both the LTE SCIs transmitted in the LTE-V2X resource pool and the NR SCIs transmitted in the NR-V2X resource pool. From those SCIs, the NR device becomes aware of future transmissions of other surrounding devices, and from there it can ascertain which resources will be available (i.e., should not be excluded) for its own NR-V2X sidelink transmission(s); [0124] According to the proposed mechanism, a simultaneous sensing of both LTE and NR sidelink resource pools is performed by a device. This is done by the simultaneous decoding of both LTE SCIs and NR SCIs. (The background assumption is that such a device has modules that allow it to use V2X sidelink transmissions both for LTE and NR and that these modules can communicate between them and exchange information)).
KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO do not explicitly disclose transmit, to a base station, a UE capability information.
However, XUE discloses transmit, to a base station, a UE information ([0088] As a second example, a UE may transmit (e.g., report) channel sensing results regarding other UEs to a base station to aid in, for example, collision avoidance scheduling; [0092] For example, a UE operating in accordance with the first resource allocation mode may report (e.g., to a base station) information regarding one or more resources that are being used by UEs operating in accordance with the second resource allocation mode… The indication may therefore improve the scheduling among the UEs, thereby increasing throughput and improving the efficiency of sidelink communications).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the UE capability information of KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO to include transmit, to a base station, the UE information as taught by XUE in order to help improve scheduling and improve the efficiency of sidelink communications (XUE – [0088]; [0092]).
Regarding claim 18, KIILERICH PRATAS further discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein the instructions further cause the UE to ([0141];):
in case that a conflict between the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink occurs ([0186] 8. In case resource re-selection is triggered (resource reselection is triggered due to a conflict), then perform again step 5; [0178] 7. Perform resource re-selection check: [0179] a. In accordance with example embodiments of the invention when HARQ feedback is configured, evaluate the need to trigger resource re-selection due to either detected conflicts in the PSCCH/PSSCH or the associated PSFCH, by keeping decoding other UEs' PSCCH in both NR-V2X and LTE-V2X sidelink resource pools).
KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO do not explicitly disclose transmit, to a base station, information indicating that the conflict occurs.
However, XUE discloses transmit, to a base station, information ([0093] Using the indication, the UE may be configured to report channel sensing results to the base station to assist the base station in performing scheduling (e.g., collision avoidance scheduling in the V2X scenario)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the information indicating that the conflict occurs of KIILERICH PRATAS and TALARICO to include transmit, to the base station, the information as taught by XUE in order to assist the BS to avoid collision when performing resource scheduling (XUE – [0093]).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. PTO-892 form.
He et al. (US 20250301485 A1) teaches sidelink co-channel coexistence with NR and LTE sidelink wherein the LTE RSRP threshold is based on a data priority of the second UE and a data priority of the one or more other UEs.
KO et al (US 20230171719 A1) teaches sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) transmit by a base station, an NR V2X S-SSB signal and use
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418