DETAILED ACTION
Status
Claims 1-20 (Original) are pending for prosecution on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Pollica et al. US 20240042874.
Regarding claim 1, Pollica discloses a charging port [Fig. 1A, 117] for a vehicle [Fig. 1A, 100b], comprising:
a housing [Fig. 2C, 2D (see reproduced below), the housing for EV port 117] comprising a plurality of electrically insulated contact supports including contact supports for a first alternating current (AC) phase, contact supports for a second AC phase, contact supports for a third AC phase, contact supports for a neutral line, and contact supports for two DC lines [Fig. 2C and 2D, Type 2 or Combo 2 connectors/ ports support three phase AC and/or DC. Par. 0058. Insulated supports are implicitly present due to the contacts L1, L2, D1, D2 etc.].
Regarding claim 7, Pollica discloses the charging port for the vehicle of claim 1, where the charging port is electrically coupled to an AC to DC converter [Fig. 12A, e.g., AC/DC 1505a].
Regarding claim 8, Pollica discloses the charging port for the vehicle of claim 7, where the AC to DC converter [Fig. 12A, e.g., AC/DC 1505a] converts three phase AC power to DC power [par. 0058].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackenzie et al. US 20220072967 in view of Pollica et al. US 20240042874.
Regarding claim 9, Mackenzie discloses a method for supplying electric power from a grid [par. 0037 power is transferred between vehicle and grid], comprising:
inserting a first electric coupler [Fig. 1, charger coupler 24] into a recess [Fig. 2, inlet port 26] of a vehicle charging port [charge port assembly 18] during a first condition [par. 0038];
inserting an adapter [Fig. 3 (see reproduced below), EVSE connector 32] into the recess [inlet port 26] of the vehicle charging port during a second condition [par. 0042]; and
inserting a second electric coupler [Fig. 1, charger coupler 24] into the adapter [charger coupler 24 can accommodate two couplers; one into port 36 and one into port 38], the second electric coupler different than the first electric coupler [pars. 0042-0047].
Mackenzie does not disclose supplying electric power from a vehicle.
Pollica discloses supplying electric power from a vehicle [Fig. 4A, BEV 100b, pars. 0023, 0060].
Mackenzie and Pollica are analogous EV’s which receive charging power through a connector from an EVSE. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate V2G capability, as taught by Pollica, into Mackenzie’s charging system for the benefit of using EV’s as power sources [Pollica, par. 0060].
Regarding claim 12, Mackenzie discloses: further comprising supplying electric power to the vehicle via the first electric coupler [par. 0048].
Regarding claim 13, Mackenzie discloses: where the electric power is AC electric power [par. 0040]; and Pollica discloses the use of three phase AC power [par. 0058].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate three phase capability, as taught by Pollica, into Mackenzie’s charging system for the benefit of providing more power during AC charging.
Regarding claim 14, Mackenzie discloses: further comprising supplying electric power to the vehicle via the second electric coupler [par. 0048].
Regarding claim 15, Mackenzie discloses: where the electric power is single phase electric power [par. 0040].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not disclose or suggest, “16. A charging port for a vehicle, comprising: a housing configured to receive a Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) J3068 coupler without an adapter and the adapter without the SAE J3068 coupler via a single SAE J3068 coupler receiving port, the housing also configured to accept a Combined Charging System (CCS) DC coupler”. Claims 17-20 depend from 16 and are allowable for the same reasons.
Claims 2-6, 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose or suggest, “2. The charging port for the vehicle of claim 1, further comprising a recess in the housing, the recess configured to receive a SAE J1772 coupler during a first condition, the recess configured to receive an adapter during a second condition”. Claims 3-6 depend from 2 and are allowable for the same reasons.
The prior art does not disclose or suggest, “10. The method of claim 9, where the adapter is inserted into a port in the vehicle charging port and the port is configured to receive a SAE J3068 coupler”. Claim 11 depends from 10 and is allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250091456 belongs to the instant assignee and is cited for background relevance.
US 20260038313, US 20160144728 are representative of the art in which multiple varieties of connectors can be used to charge EV’s.
unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be contacted at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273- 8300.
RICHARD V. MURALIDAR
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2859
/RICHARD V MURALIDAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859