DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 01/23/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection in the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 in a reply filed 01/23/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been considered but is not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1:
The applicant acknowledges that LIU discloses “(Remarks – Page 13) Liu discloses that an RAR window may be configured longer in connection with repetition transmission, and that reserved bits in DCI format 1_0 (scrambled by an RA-RNTI) may convey uplink beam priority indication”. The applicant contends that ZHANG, Babaei, Zhuo, Cirik and LIU, alone or in combination, do not disclose “wherein a response window for receiving the RAR message is increased relative to a baseline response window and the UE receives downlink control information (DCI) including additional bits identifying a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) associated with the increased response window” recited in the amended claim 1.
However, examiner respectfully disagree. ZHANG discloses wherein the UE (Fig. 3 – UE 120) receives downlink control information (DCI) ([0054] In some aspects, the non-serving cell to which the timing advance relates may be identified by a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the non-serving cell... a corresponding TAG identifier, which may be signaled to the UE 120 using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), downlink control information (DCI), and/or the like; [0058] As shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 410, the UE 120 may receive DCI from the serving cell).
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein a response window for receiving the RAR message is increased relative to a baseline response window, and
additional bits identifying a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) associated with the increased response window.
However, LIU discloses wherein a response window for receiving the RAR message is increased relative to a baseline response window ([0129] the UE may start the RAR window at the first PDCCH occasion after the last PRACH transmission, and the RAR window can be configured longer considering the repetition transmission. The UE may stop the RAR window once the highest priority indication was received), and
additional bits identifying a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) ([0126] For example, reserved bits in DCI1_0 scrambled by RA-RNTI can be used for UL beam priority indication) associated with the increased response window ([0128] if the UE transmits a plurality preambles in ROs associated with different SSBs of the SSB bundle, the UE shall detect DCI1_0 scrambled by RA-RNTI in SearchSpaces associated with these SSBs. Once the highest priority indication was received, the UE can stop to detect DCI1_0 in remaining SearchSpaces, since the strongest UL beam is found already; [0129] The UE may stop the RAR window once the highest priority indication was received).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the RAR message and the DCI of ZHANG to include the response window for receiving the RAR message is increased and the additional bits identifying the RA-RNTI as taught by LIU in order to ensure the UE has enough time to detect and receive the RAR message, thus improving the random access reliability (LIU – [0113] If a preamble is detected in multiple ROs, multiple corresponding Msg2s can be transmitted to improve the success rate of access. For each PDCCH occasion, the UE may detect Msg2(s) using multiple RA-RNTIs (Random Access-Radio Network Temporary Identifier) associated with each RO of a RO bundle; [0125] the UE may transmit preamble(s) in one or multiple ROs associated with different SSBs belonging to the SSB bundle... the BS, may respond with one or more Msg2s, including the UL beam priority indication if a plurality of preambles are detected in the ROs associated with SSBs of the SSB bundle. The plurality of Msg2s can be transmitted after the detection of all ROs, since the detected UL beams may need to be ranked and the priority information of UL beams is included in Msg2).
Regarding independent claim 14, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 14. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for dependent claims of claims 1 and 14.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has NOT complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/411,231 (hereinafter, ‘231 application) and Application No. 63/419,772 (hereinafter, ‘772 application), fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
There is no description in the prior-filed application that discloses "wherein a power control priority level for transmitting the PRACH is different from that of a PRACH transmission on the serving cell”, “wherein power control priority level for transmitting the PRACH”, “wherein a power control priority level for transmitting the PRACH” as recited in Claims 4, 5 and 16, and 6, respectively. Nowhere in ‘231 and ‘772 applications, it is disclosed of a power control priority level for transmitting on the PRACH as required by claims 4-6, and 16.
However, the disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/466,496 (hereinafter, ‘496 application) provides support regarding the PRACH priority for power control (page 10-11 – Procedure 4.4-4.5).
Accordingly, claims 4-6, and 16 are NOT entitled to the benefit of the prior applications, ‘231 and ‘772 applications, but are entitled to the benefit of the prior application, Application No. 63/466,496.
Claim Interpretation
Note that the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of handover in “layer-1 (L1)/layer-2 (L2)-based handover” is the same as inter-cell mobility operation according to Babaei ([0211] the first BS may transmit… a request for configuration of one or more cells for handover/inter-cell mobility based on L1/L2 signaling (e.g., physical layer or MAC layer signaling)).
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 11, 13, 14, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 “the UE receives downlink control information (DCI)” should read “the UE receives a downlink control information (DCI)”
Claim 11 “resolving RA-RNTI” should read “resolving the RA-RNTI”
Claim 13 “after radio resource control (RRC)” should read “after a radio resource control (RRC)”
Claims 14, 18, and 20 have similar objections to claims 5, 11 and 13, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 11, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US 20210219255 A1, hereinafter, ZHANG) in view of LIU et al. (WO 2024040408 A1 which has an US application (US 20250261247 A1) that will be used for ease of reference, hereinafter LIU).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG discloses method comprising ([0006] In some aspects, a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving or determining information indicating a timing advance for a non-serving cell of the UE, and performing an inter-cell mobility operation based at least in part on the timing advance for the non-serving cell of the UE):
performing, by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3 – UE 120) connected with a serving cell (Fig. 3 – serving cell), a random access channel (RACH) procedure (Fig. 3; [0050] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example 300 of determining a timing advance for a non-serving cell using a RACH procedure) for a non-serving cell (Fig. 3 – non-serving cell);
acquiring, by the UE, a random access response (RAR) message (Fig. 3 – 360, RACH Response) that includes a time advance (TA) of the non-serving cell (Fig. 3 – 360; [0053] As shown by reference numbers 350 and 360, the UE 120 may receive a RACH response on the serving cell (e.g., a PCell, SCell, or SPCell) and/or the non-serving cell. For example, the RACH response may identify the timing advance.) based on the RACH procedure (Fig. 3); and
performing, by the UE, a layer-1 (L1)/layer-2 (L2)-based handover ([0055] As shown by reference number 370, the UE 120 may perform an inter-cell mobility operation (e.g., a Layer 1 or Layer 2-based inter-cell mobility operation(handover)) in accordance with the timing advance) from the serving cell to the non-serving cell with the acquired TA (Fig. 3 – 370; [0049] the UE may determine a timing advance for a non-serving cell, which reduces latency associated with inter-cell mobility operations including the non-serving cell and conserves computing resources associated with determining the timing advance once the non-serving cell is configured as a serving cell (handover)), and
wherein the UE (Fig. 3 – UE 120) receives downlink control information (DCI) ([0054] In some aspects, the non-serving cell to which the timing advance relates may be identified by a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the non-serving cell... a corresponding TAG identifier, which may be signaled to the UE 120 using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), downlink control information (DCI), and/or the like; [0058] As shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 410, the UE 120 may receive DCI from the serving cell).
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein a response window for receiving the RAR message is increased relative to a baseline response window, and
additional bits identifying a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) associated with the increased response window.
However, LIU discloses wherein a response window for receiving the RAR message is increased relative to a baseline response window ([0129] the UE may start the RAR window at the first PDCCH occasion after the last PRACH transmission, and the RAR window can be configured longer considering the repetition transmission. The UE may stop the RAR window once the highest priority indication was received), and
additional bits identifying a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) ([0126] For example, reserved bits in DCI1_0 scrambled by RA-RNTI can be used for UL beam priority indication) associated with the increased response window ([0128] if the UE transmits a plurality preambles in ROs associated with different SSBs of the SSB bundle, the UE shall detect DCI1_0 scrambled by RA-RNTI in SearchSpaces associated with these SSBs. Once the highest priority indication was received, the UE can stop to detect DCI1_0 in remaining SearchSpaces, since the strongest UL beam is found already; [0129] The UE may stop the RAR window once the highest priority indication was received).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the RAR message and the DCI of ZHANG to include the response window for receiving the RAR message is increased and the additional bits identifying the RA-RNTI as taught by LIU in order to ensure the UE has enough time to detect and receive the RAR message, thus improving the random access reliability (LIU - [0113] If a preamble is detected in multiple ROs, multiple corresponding Msg2s can be transmitted to improve the success rate of access. For each PDCCH occasion, the UE may detect Msg2(s) using multiple RA-RNTIs (Random Access-Radio Network Temporary Identifier) associated with each RO of a RO bundle; [0125] the UE may transmit preamble(s) in one or multiple ROs associated with different SSBs belonging to the SSB bundle... the BS, may respond with one or more Msg2s, including the UL beam priority indication if a plurality of preambles are detected in the ROs associated with SSBs of the SSB bundle. The plurality of Msg2s can be transmitted after the detection of all ROs, since the detected UL beams may need to be ranked and the priority information of UL beams is included in Msg2).
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG further discloses:
receiving, by the UE (Fig. 3 – UE 120), a PDCCH order triggering the RACH procedure for the non-serving cell (Fig. 3 – 310; [0051] The PDCCH order may trigger transmission, by the UE 120, of a RACH preamble on the non-serving cell. For example, the PDCCH order may initiate a physical RACH (PRACH) procedure on the non-serving cell), from a gNB of the serving cell (Fig. 3 – serving cell (BS 110); [0028] The terms “eNB”, “base station”, “NR BS”, “gNB”, “TRP”, “AP”, “node B”, “5G NB”, and “cell” may be used interchangeably herein),
wherein the PDCCH order comprises an identifier of a cell group or a TA group (TAG) for the non-serving cell through reserved bits of the PDCCH order ([0054] In some aspects, the non-serving cell to which the timing advance relates may be identified by a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the non-serving cell. In some aspects, a non-serving cell (e.g., each non-serving cell) may be associated with a corresponding TAG identifier, which may be signaled to the UE 120 using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), downlink control information (DCI) (DCI contains reserved bits and is transmitted in the PDCCH order), and/or the like. A TA control MAC-CE may update the timing advance for all cells of a TAG, which can include the non-serving cell or a corresponding PCI) or
through encoding in radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) scrambling of downlink control information (DCI) of the PDCCH order.
Regarding claim 11, ZHANG does not explicitly disclose resolving RA-RNTI ambiguity by extra bits in a DCI format; or
Configuring a delay for determining a starting time of the RAR window by the serving cell.
However, LIU discloses resolving RA-RNTI ambiguity ([0131] For another example as shown in FIG. 18, one SSB bundle {SSB0, SSB1, SSB2, SSB3} is configured, and the preambles {50,51} are used for PRACH repetitions. UE1 transmits PID50 in RO0 and RO1 associated with SSB0 and SSB1 of the SSB bundle, and UE2 transmits PID50 in RO2 and RO3 associated with SSB2 and SSB3 of the SSB bundle... As indicated by the length of the arrows, the strongest UL beam found by the UE1 is the beam associated with SSB1, and the strongest UL beam found by the UE2 is the beam associated with SSB2) by extra bits in a DCI format ([0126] reserved bits in DCI1_0 scrambled by RA-RNTI can be used for UL beam priority indication; [0128] if the UE transmits a plurality preambles in ROs associated with different SSBs of the SSB bundle, the UE shall detect DCI1_0 scrambled by RA-RNTI in SearchSpaces associated with these SSBs. Once the highest priority indication was received, the UE can stop to detect DCI1_0 in remaining SearchSpaces, since the strongest UL beam is found already).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the RA-RNTI of ZHANG and LIU to include resolving RA-RNTI ambiguity by extra bits in a DCI format as taught by LIU in order to improve the success rate of receiving the RAR (LIU - [0113] If a preamble is detected in multiple ROs, multiple corresponding Msg2s can be transmitted to improve the success rate of access. For each PDCCH occasion, the UE may detect Msg2(s) using multiple RA-RNTIs (Random Access-Radio Network Temporary Identifier) associated with each RO of a RO bundle).
Regarding claim 14, ZHANG discloses a user equipment (UE) ([0008] In some aspects, a UE for wireless communication may include) comprising:
a processor ([0008] one or more processors); and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that ([0010] a non-transitory computer-readable medium may store one or more instructions for wireless communication), when executed, cause the processor to ([0010] The one or more instructions, when executed by one or more processors of a UE, may cause the one or more processors to:):
perform a random access channel (RACH) procedure for a non-serving cell (Fig. 3 - 320; [0050] FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example 300 of determining a timing advance for a non-serving cell using a RACH procedure);
acquire a random access response (RAR) message (Fig. 3 – 360, RACH Response) that includes a time advance (TA) of the non-serving cell (Fig. 3 – 360; [0053] As shown by reference numbers 350 and 360, the UE 120 may receive a RACH response on the serving cell (e.g., a PCell, SCell, or SPCell) and/or the non-serving cell) based on the RACH procedure; and
perform a layer-1 (L1)/layer-2 (L2)-based handover ([0055] As shown by reference number 370, the UE 120 may perform an inter-cell mobility operation (e.g., a Layer 1 or Layer 2-based inter-cell mobility operation(handover)) in accordance with the timing advance) from the serving cell to the non-serving cell with the acquired TA ([0010] and perform an inter-cell mobility operation based at least in part on the timing advance for the non-serving cell of the UE, which reduces latency associated with inter-cell mobility operations including the non-serving cell and conserves computing resources associated with determining the timing advance once the non-serving cell is configured as a serving cell (handover)), and
wherein the UE (Fig. 3 – UE 120) receives downlink control information (DCI) ([0054] In some aspects, the non-serving cell to which the timing advance relates may be identified by a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the non-serving cell... a corresponding TAG identifier, which may be signaled to the UE 120 using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), downlink control information (DCI), and/or the like; [0058] As shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 410, the UE 120 may receive DCI from the serving cell).
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein a response window for receiving the RAR message is increased relative to a baseline response window, and
additional bits identifying a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) associated with the increased response window.
However, LIU discloses wherein a response window for receiving the RAR message is increased relative to a baseline response window ([0129] the UE may start the RAR window at the first PDCCH occasion after the last PRACH transmission, and the RAR window can be configured longer considering the repetition transmission. The UE may stop the RAR window once the highest priority indication was received), and
additional bits identifying a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) ([0126] For example, reserved bits in DCI1_0 scrambled by RA-RNTI can be used for UL beam priority indication) associated with the increased response window ([0128] if the UE transmits a plurality preambles in ROs associated with different SSBs of the SSB bundle, the UE shall detect DCI1_0 scrambled by RA-RNTI in SearchSpaces associated with these SSBs. Once the highest priority indication was received, the UE can stop to detect DCI1_0 in remaining SearchSpaces, since the strongest UL beam is found already; [0129] The UE may stop the RAR window once the highest priority indication was received).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the RAR message and the DCI of ZHANG to include the response window for receiving the RAR message is increased and the additional bits identifying the RA-RNTI as taught by LIU in order to ensure the UE has enough time to detect and receive the RAR message, thus improving the random access reliability (LIU - [0113] If a preamble is detected in multiple ROs, multiple corresponding Msg2s can be transmitted to improve the success rate of access. For each PDCCH occasion, the UE may detect Msg2(s) using multiple RA-RNTIs (Random Access-Radio Network Temporary Identifier) associated with each RO of a RO bundle; [0125] the UE may transmit preamble(s) in one or multiple ROs associated with different SSBs belonging to the SSB bundle... the BS, may respond with one or more Msg2s, including the UL beam priority indication if a plurality of preambles are detected in the ROs associated with SSBs of the SSB bundle. The plurality of Msg2s can be transmitted after the detection of all ROs, since the detected UL beams may need to be ranked and the priority information of UL beams is included in Msg2).
Regarding claim 18, ZHANG does not explicitly disclose resolve RA-RNTI ambiguity by extra bits in a DCI format; or
Configure a delay for determining a starting time of the RAR window by the serving cell.
However, LIU discloses resolve RA-RNTI ambiguity ([0131] For another example as shown in FIG. 18, one SSB bundle {SSB0, SSB1, SSB2, SSB3} is configured, and the preambles {50,51} are used for PRACH repetitions. UE1 transmits PID50 in RO0 and RO1 associated with SSB0 and SSB1 of the SSB bundle, and UE2 transmits PID50 in RO2 and RO3 associated with SSB2 and SSB3 of the SSB bundle... As indicated by the length of the arrows, the strongest UL beam found by the UE1 is the beam associated with SSB1, and the strongest UL beam found by the UE2 is the beam associated with SSB2) by extra bits in a DCI format ([0126] reserved bits in DCI1_0 scrambled by RA-RNTI can be used for UL beam priority indication; [0128] if the UE transmits a plurality preambles in ROs associated with different SSBs of the SSB bundle, the UE shall detect DCI1_0 scrambled by RA-RNTI in SearchSpaces associated with these SSBs. Once the highest priority indication was received, the UE can stop to detect DCI1_0 in remaining SearchSpaces, since the strongest UL beam is found already).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the RA-RNTI of ZHANG and LIU to include resolve RA-RNTI ambiguity by extra bits in a DCI format as taught by LIU in order to improve the success rate of receiving the RAR (LIU - [0113] If a preamble is detected in multiple ROs, multiple corresponding Msg2s can be transmitted to improve the success rate of access. For each PDCCH occasion, the UE may detect Msg2(s) using multiple RA-RNTIs (Random Access-Radio Network Temporary Identifier) associated with each RO of a RO bundle).
Claims 2, 7-8, 10, 12-13, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG and LIU in view of Babaei (US 20230199571 A1).
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG further discloses comprising:
receiving, by the UE (Fig. 3 – UE 120), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order triggering the RACH procedure for the non-serving cell (Fig. 3 - 310), from a gNodeB (gNB) of the serving cell (Fig. 3 – serving cell (BS 110); [0028] The terms “eNB”, “base station”, “NR BS”, “gNB”, “TRP”, “AP”, “node B”, “5G NB”, and “cell” may be used interchangeably herein),
wherein a synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration is configured ([0062] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating an example 500 of determining a timing advance for a non-serving cell using a synchronization signal block (SSB) procedure) and a RACH configuration of a non-serving cell group is configured in radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0054] In some aspects, a non-serving cell (e.g., each non-serving cell) may be associated with a corresponding TAG (Time Advance Group) identifier (the TAG contains the TA that was determined based on RACH procedure on each of the non-serving cell), which may be signaled to the UE 120 using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), downlink control information (DCI), and/or the like; [0049] In some aspects, the serving cell may update a TA of a TA group (TAG), which may update the TA for each cell (e.g., serving cell or non-serving cell) included in the TAG. The TA may be determined based at least in part on a random access channel (RACH) procedure on the non-serving cell, a reference signal (e.g., a sounding reference signal (SRS) and/or the like) transmitted by the UE, or signals transmitted by a serving cell and/or a non-serving cell).
ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose the SSB configuration is configured in RRC signaling.
However, Babaei discloses a SSB configuration is configured in RRC signaling ([0144] The gNB may provide, via RRC signaling, the UE with measurement configuration containing configurations of SSB/CSI resources and resource sets, reports and trigger states for triggering channel and interference measurements and reports. Beam level mobility may be dealt with at lower layers by means of physical layer and MAC layer control signaling, and RRC may not be required to know which beam is being used at a given point in time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the SSB configuration of ZHANG and LIU to include the RRC signaling as taught by Babaei in order to perform beam management and initiate fast cell switching (Babaei - [0140] A wireless device may store the configuration and may perform measurement and beam management and the UE may initiate fast cell switching based on L1/L2 signaling).
Regarding claim 7, ZHANG further discloses wherein performing the RACH procedure (Fig. 3 – 310, 320) comprises receiving, by the UE, from the serving cell, the RAR message (Fig. 3 – 360; [0053] As shown by reference numbers 350 and 360, the UE 120 may receive a RACH response on the serving cell (e.g., a PCell, SCell, or SPCell) and/or the non-serving cell) and a PDCCH order triggering the RACH procedure ([0051] The PDCCH order may trigger transmission, by the UE 120, of a RACH preamble on the non-serving cell. For example, the PDCCH order may initiate a physical RACH (PRACH) procedure on the non-serving cell). ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose receiving the message over a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) antenna port with a quasi co-location (QCL) that is the same as:
a control resource set (CORESET) associated with a common search space (CSS) for receiving a PDCCH; or
a QCL in a PDCCH order triggering the RACH procedure.
However, Babaei discloses receiving a message (Fig. 12A, 12B, 12C; [101] Msg2 may be the random access response (RAR)) over a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) antenna port with a quasi co-location (QCL) that is the same as a QCL in a PDCCH ([0121] An antenna port may be associated with one or more reference signals (DM-RS)… the UE may assume that two antenna ports are quasi co-located based on signaling received from the base station. Spatial quasi-colocation (QCL) between two signals may be, for example, due to the two signals being transmitted from the same location and in the same beam. If a receive beam is good for a signal in a group of signals that are spatially quasi co-located, it may be assumed also be good for the other signals in the group of signals; [0123] The Demodulation Reference Signals (DM-RSs) enables channel estimation for coherent demodulation of downlink physical channels (e.g., PDSCH, PDCCH and PBH) and uplink physical channels (e.g., PUSCH and PUCCH). The DM-RS may be located early in the transmission (e.g., front-loaded DM-RS) and may enable the receiver to obtain the channel estimate early and reduce the latency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the RAR message and the PDCCH of ZHANG and LIU to include receiving the message over DMRS antenna port with QCL that is the same as a QCL in a PDCCH as taught by Babaei in order to transmit messages/signals over a good beam and thus reduce latency (Baebei – [0123] The DM-RS may be located early in the transmission (e.g., front-loaded DM-RS) and may enable the receiver to obtain the channel estimate early and reduce the latency; [121] If a receive beam is good for a signal in a group of signals that are spatially quasi co-located, it may be assumed also be good for the other signals in the group of signals).
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG further discloses wherein:
performing the RACH procedure (Fig. 3 – 310, 320) comprises receiving, by the UE (Fig. 3 – UE 120), from the serving cell (Fig. 3 – Serving Cell), the RAR message comprising a TA for non-serving cells and a TA group (TAG) for the non-serving cell (Fig. 3 – 360; [0053] As shown by reference numbers 350 and 360, the UE 120 may receive a RACH response on the serving cell (e.g., a PCell, SCell, or SPCell) and/or the non-serving cell. For example, the RACH response may identify the timing advance; [0049] the TA may be signaled to the UE by a serving cell of the UE, or may be determined by the UE. In some aspects, the serving cell may update a TA of a TA group (TAG), which may update the TA for each cell (e.g., serving cell or non-serving cell) included in the TAG).
ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose the RAR message comprising a TA command for the TAG; and the TA is acquired based on a TA index value in the TA command.
However, Babaei discloses a RAR message comprising a TA command for a TAG ([0103] RAR may comprise a timing advance command; [0158] In an example, when a Timing Advance Command is received in a Random Access Response message for a Serving Cell belonging to a TAG or in a MSGB for an SpCell… the MAC entity may apply the Timing Advance Command for this TAG; start or restart the timeAlignmentTimer associated with this TAG); and the TA is acquired based on a TA index value in the TA command ([0164] A Timing Advance Command field may indicate the index value TA (e.g., 0, 1, 2... 63) used to control the amount of timing adjustment that MAC entity may have to apply).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the RAR message, TA and the TAG of ZHANG and LIU to include the TA command for TAG and the TA is acquired based on a TA index value in the TA command as taught by Babaei in order to adjust timing advance value for uplink transmission value and helps conserve computing resources associated with determining the timing advance (Babaei - [0164]; [0103] RAR may comprise a timing advance command for uplink timing adjustment at the UE; ZHANG – [0049] In this way, the UE may determine a timing advance for a non-serving cell, which reduces latency associated with inter-cell mobility operations including the non-serving cell and conserves computing resources associated with determining the timing advance once the non-serving cell is configured as a serving cell).
Regarding claim 10, ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 8, wherein the TA command comprises additional bits to indicate an identifier of the TAG.
However, Babaei discloses the TA command comprises additional bits to indicate an identifier of the TAG (In an example, the Timing Advance Command MAC CE may be identified by MAC subheader with an associated LCID. In an example, it may have a fixed size as shown in FIG. 17. In an example, a TAG Identity (TAG ID) field may indicate the TAG Identity of the addressed TAG. The TAG containing the SpCell may have the TAG Identity 0. The length of the field may be 2 bits. A Timing Advance Command field may indicate the index value TA (e.g., 0, 1, 2... 63) used to control the amount of timing adjustment that MAC entity may have to apply).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the TA command of ZHANG, LIU and Babaei to include the additional bits to indicate the identifier of the TAG as taught by Babaei in order to adjust timing advance value for uplink transmission value and conserve computing resources associated with determining the timing advance (Babaei - [0164]; [0103] RAR may comprise a timing advance command for uplink timing adjustment at the UE; ZHANG – [0049] In this way, the UE may determine a timing advance for a non-serving cell, which reduces latency associated with inter-cell mobility operations including the non-serving cell and conserves computing resources associated with determining the timing advance once the non-serving cell is configured as a serving cell).
Regarding claim 12, ZHANG further discloses wherein performing the RACH procedure (Fig. 3 – 310, 320) comprises receiving, by the UE (Fig. 3 – UE 120), from the serving cell (Fig. 3 – Serving Cell), the RAR message (Fig. 3 – 360; [0053] As shown by reference numbers 350 and 360, the UE 120 may receive a RACH response on the serving cell (e.g., a PCell, SCell, or SPCell) and/or the non-serving cell. For example, the RACH response may identify the timing advance) comprising information identifying a non-serving cell ([0054] In some aspects, the non-serving cell to which the timing advance relates may be identified by a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the non-serving cell).
ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose wherein the information is provided through extra bits in a DCI format, a medium access protocol (MAC)-packet data unit (PDU) of the RAR message, or a RA-RNTI calculation.
However, Babaei discloses an information is provided through a RA-RNTI calculation ([0103] Msg2 is for transmission of RAR by the base station… Msg2 may be associated with a random access temporary radio identifier (RA-RNTI) and may be received in a common search space of the UE. The RA-RNTI may be based on the PRACH occasion (e.g., time and frequency resources of a PRACH) in which a random access preamble is transmitted. RAR may comprise a timing advance command for uplink timing adjustment at the UE, an uplink grant for transmission of Msg3 and a temporary C-RNTI).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the information of ZHANG and LIU to be provided through the RA-RNTI calculation as taught by Babaei in order to transmit the RAR which comprises a TA command for adjust timing advance for uplink transmission and helps conserve computing resources associated with determining the timing advance (Babaei - [0164]; [0103] RAR may comprise a timing advance command for uplink timing adjustment at the UE; ZHANG – [0049] In this way, the UE may determine a timing advance for a non-serving cell, which reduces latency associated with inter-cell mobility operations including the non-serving cell and conserves computing resources associated with determining the timing advance once the non-serving cell is configured as a serving cell).
Regarding claim 13, ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose wherein:
the RACH procedure is triggered after radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration;
the RACH procedure is triggered based on an L1 measurement on the non-serving cell being larger than a threshold associated with a serving cell; or
the RACH procedure is triggered based on a time threshold.
However, Babaei discloses a RACH procedure (Fig. 16 – 4. Switch to new cell) is triggered after RRC reconfiguration (Fig. 16 – 3. RRCReconfiguration; [0142] The RRCReconfiguration message may include at least cell ID and information required to access the target cell so that the UE may access the target cell without reading system information. For some cases, the information required for contention-based and contention-free random access may be included in the RRCReconfiguration message) or
a RACH procedure is triggered based on a time threshold ([0102] The UE may perform a retransmission of the random access preamble if no response is received with the RAR window following the transmission of the preamble).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the RACH procedure of ZHANG and LIU to include the trigger of the RACH procedure is after RRC reconfiguration or is based on the time threshold as taught by Babaei in order to help the UE successfully move to the new target gNB (Babaei – [0142] For some cases, the information required for contention-based and contention-free random access may be included in the RRCReconfiguration message… The UE may move the RRC connection to the target gNB and may reply with the RRCReconfigurationComplete; [0142] the UE… may continue the uplink user data transmission to the source gNB until successful random access procedure to the target gNB) or retransmit the preamble until a RAR is received wherein the RAR comprises a TA command for adjust timing advance for uplink transmission and helps conserve computing resources associated with determining the timing advance (Babaei - [0164]; [0103] RAR may comprise a timing advance command for uplink timing adjustment at the UE; ZHANG – [0049] In this way, the UE may determine a timing advance for a non-serving cell, which reduces latency associated with inter-cell mobility operations including the non-serving cell and conserves computing resources associated with determining the timing advance once the non-serving cell is configured as a serving cell).
Regarding claim 15, ZHANG further discloses wherein the instructions further cause the processor to:
receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order triggering the RACH procedure for the non-serving cell (Fig. 3 – 310; [0051] The PDCCH order may trigger transmission, by the UE 120, of a RACH preamble on the non-serving cell. For example, the PDCCH order may initiate a physical RACH (PRACH) procedure on the non-serving cell), from a gNodeB (gNB) of the serving cell (Fig. 3 – serving cell (BS 110); [0028] The terms “eNB”, “base station”, “NR BS”, “gNB”, “TRP”, “AP”, “node B”, “5G NB”, and “cell” may be used interchangeably herein),
wherein a synchronization signal block (SSB) configuration is configured ([0062] FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating an example 500 of determining a timing advance for a non-serving cell using a synchronization signal block (SSB) procedure) and a RACH configuration of a non-serving cell group is configured in radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0054] In some aspects, a non-serving cell (e.g., each non-serving cell) may be associated with a corresponding TAG (Time Advance Group) identifier (the TAG contains the TA that was determined based on RACH procedure on the non-serving cell), which may be signaled to the UE 120 using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), downlink control information (DCI), and/or the like; [0049] In some aspects, the serving cell may update a TA of a TA group (TAG), which may update the TA for each cell (e.g., serving cell or non-serving cell) included in the TAG. The TA may be determined based at least in part on a random access channel (RACH) procedure on the non-serving cell, a reference signal (e.g., a sounding reference signal (SRS) and/or the like) transmitted by the UE, or signals transmitted by a serving cell and/or a non-serving cell); and
the PDCCH order comprises an identifier of a cell group or a TA group (TAG) for the non-serving cell through reserved bits of the PDCCH order ([0054] In some aspects, the non-serving cell to which the timing advance relates may be identified by a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the non-serving cell. In some aspects, a non-serving cell (e.g., each non-serving cell) may be associated with a corresponding TAG identifier, which may be signaled to the UE 120 using radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a MAC control element (MAC-CE), downlink control information (DCI) (DCI contains reserved bits and is transmitted in the PDCCH order), and/or the like. A TA control MAC-CE may update the timing advance for all cells of a TAG, which can include the non-serving cell or a corresponding PCI) or
through encoding in radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) scrambling of DCI of the PDCCH order.
ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose the SSB configuration is configured in RRC signaling.
However, Babaei discloses a SSB configuration is configured in RRC signaling ([0144] The gNB may provide, via RRC signaling, the UE with measurement configuration containing configurations of SSB/CSI resources and resource sets, reports and trigger states for triggering channel and interference measurements and reports. Beam level mobility may be dealt with at lower layers by means of physical layer and MAC layer control signaling, and RRC may not be required to know which beam is being used at a given point in time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the SSB configuration of ZHANG and LIU to include the RRC signaling as taught by Babaei in order to perform beam management and initiate fast cell switching (Babaei - [0140] A wireless device may store the configuration and may perform measurement and beam management and the UE may initiate fast cell switching based on L1/L2 signaling).
Regarding claim 19, ZHANG further discloses wherein, in performing the RACH procedure (Fig. 3 – 310, 320), the instructions further cause the processor to:
receive (Fig. 3 – UE 120), from the serving cell (Fig. 3 – Serving Cell), the RAR message (Fig. 3 – 360; [0053] As shown by reference numbers 350 and 360, the UE 120 may receive a RACH response on the serving cell (e.g., a PCell, SCell, or SPCell) and/or the non-serving cell. For example, the RACH response may identify the timing advance) comprising information identifying a non-serving cell ([0054] In some aspects, the non-serving cell to which the timing advance relates may be identified by a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the non-serving cell).
ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose wherein the information is provided through extra bits in a DCI format, a medium access protocol (MAC)-packet data unit (PDU) of the RAR, or an RA-RNTI calculation.
However, Babaei discloses an information is provided through RA-RNTI calculation ([0103] Msg2 is for transmission of RAR by the base station… Msg2 may be associated with a random access temporary radio identifier (RA-RNTI) and may be received in a common search space of the UE. The RA-RNTI may be based on the PRACH occasion (e.g., time and frequency resources of a PRACH) in which a random access preamble is transmitted. RAR may comprise a timing advance command for uplink timing adjustment at the UE, an uplink grant for transmission of Msg3 and a temporary C-RNTI).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the information of ZHANG and LIU to be provided through RA-RNTI calculation as taught by Babaei in order to transmit the RAR which comprises a TA command for adjust timing advance for uplink transmission and helps conserve computing resources associated with determining the timing advance (Babaei - [0164]; [0103] RAR may comprise a timing advance command for uplink timing adjustment at the UE; ZHANG – [0049] In this way, the UE may determine a timing advance for a non-serving cell, which reduces latency associated with inter-cell mobility operations including the non-serving cell and conserves computing resources associated with determining the timing advance once the non-serving cell is configured as a serving cell).
Regarding claim 20, ZHANG discloses wherein the instructions cause the processor ([0010];) to trigger the RACH procedure (Fig.3).
ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose wherein:
the RACH procedure is triggered after radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration;
the RACH procedure is triggered based on an L1 measurement on the non-serving cell being larger than a threshold associated with a serving cell; or
the RACH procedure is triggered based on a time threshold.
However, Babaei discloses a RACH procedure (Fig. 16 – 4. Switch to new cell) is triggered after RRC reconfiguration (Fig. 16 – 3. RRCReconfiguration; [0142] The RRCReconfiguration message may include at least cell ID and information required to access the target cell so that the UE may access the target cell without reading system information. For some cases, the information required for contention-based and contention-free random access may be included in the RRCReconfiguration message) or
a RACH procedure is triggered based on a time threshold ([0102] The UE may perform a retransmission of the random access preamble if no response is received with the RAR window following the transmission of the preamble).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the RACH procedure of ZHANG and LIU to include the trigger of the RACH procedure is after RRC reconfiguration or is based on the time threshold as taught by Babaei in order to help the UE successfully move to the new target gNB (Babaei – [0142] For some cases, the information required for contention-based and contention-free random access may be included in the RRCReconfiguration message… The UE may move the RRC connection to the target gNB and may reply with the RRCReconfigurationComplete; [0142] the UE… may continue the uplink user data transmission to the source gNB until successful random access procedure to the target gNB) or retransmit the preamble until a RAR is received wherein the RAR comprises a TA command for adjust timing advance for uplink transmission and helps conserve computing resources associated with determining the timing advance (Babaei - [0164]; [0103] RAR may comprise a timing advance command for uplink timing adjustment at the UE; ZHANG – [0049] In this way, the UE may determine a timing advance for a non-serving cell, which reduces latency associated with inter-cell mobility operations including the non-serving cell and conserves computing resources associated with determining the timing advance once the non-serving cell is configured as a serving cell).
Claims 4-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG and LIU in view of Zhou et al (US 20250240831 A1, hereinafter, Zhou).
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG further discloses wherein performing the RACH procedure comprises transmitting a physical RACH (PRACH) from the UE, to a non-serving cell (Fig. 3; [0051] The PDCCH order may trigger transmission, by the UE 120, of a RACH preamble on the non-serving cell. For example, the PDCCH order may initiate a physical RACH (PRACH) procedure on the non-serving cell).
ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose a PRACH transmission on the serving cell, and wherein a power control priority level for transmitting the PRACH is different from that of a PRACH transmission on the serving cell.
However, Zhuo discloses a PRACH transmission on a serving cell, and wherein a power control priority level for transmitting the PRACH is different from that of a PRACH transmission on the serving cell (Fig. 42, 43; [0531] In an example embodiment, the second uplink signal may (non-serving cell) be a PRACH (a RA preamble). The first uplink signal (serving cell) may be a PRACH/PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS. The transmission power priority order may be determined (from highest priority to lowest priority) as: PRACH via the source PCell (highest priority)… PRACH via the candidate target cell (second highest priority) (with a same priority of the PRACH via the serving cell other than the source PCell or lower than that of the PRACH via the serving cell other than the source PCell), (the PRACH transmissions have different priority order)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the PRACH transmissions of both the non-serving cell and the serving cell of ZHANG and LIU to include the different power control priority level as taught by Zhuo in order to maximize the UE’s efficiency by determining the power for transmissions which do not exceed an allowed maximum transmission power (Zhuo - [0535] In an example, based on the power priority order, of the first uplink signal and the second uplink signal, indicating that the second uplink signal has higher priority, the wireless device may allocate a first transmission power for the second uplink signal which does not exceed the allowed maximum transmission power (e.g., based on example embodiments described above with respect to FIG. 42) and then allocate a second transmission power for the first uplink signal which does not exceed a remaining transmission power which is the allowed maximum transmission power minus the first transmission power for the second uplink signal).
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the power control priority level for transmitting the PRACH on the non-serving cell is one level below the PRACH on the serving cell, or on a same level or one level below a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission with a higher priority index.
However, Zhuo discloses power control priority level for transmitting a PRACH on a non-serving cell is one level below a PRACH on a serving cell (Fig. 42, 43; [0531] In an example embodiment, the second uplink signal may (non-serving cell) be a PRACH (a RA preamble). The first uplink signal (serving cell) may be a PRACH/PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS. The transmission power priority order may be determined (from highest priority to lowest priority) as: PRACH via the source PCell (highest priority)… PRACH via the candidate target cell (second highest priority) (with a same priority of the PRACH via the serving cell other than the source PCell or lower than that of the PRACH via the serving cell other than the source PCell)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the power control priority level of ZHANG, LIU and Zhuo to include the power control priority level for transmitting the PRACH on the non-serving cell is one level below the PRACH on the serving cell as taught by Zhuo in order to maximize the UE’s efficiency by determining the power for transmissions which does not exceed an allowed maximum transmission power (Zhuo - [0535] In an example, based on the power priority order, of the first uplink signal and the second uplink signal, indicating that the second uplink signal has higher priority, the wireless device may allocate a first transmission power for the second uplink signal which does not exceed the allowed maximum transmission power (e.g., based on example embodiments described above with respect to FIG. 42) and then allocate a second transmission power for the first uplink signal which does not exceed a remaining transmission power which is the allowed maximum transmission power minus the first transmission power for the second uplink signal).
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG further discloses wherein performing the RACH procedure comprises transmitting a PRACH to a non-serving cell (Fig. 3; [0051] The PDCCH order may trigger transmission, by the UE 120, of a RACH preamble on the non-serving cell. For example, the PDCCH order may initiate a physical RACH (PRACH) procedure on the non-serving cell) and the PRACH is based on the PRACH transmission ([0051] a physical RACH (PRACH) procedure on the non-serving cell; [0047] “Non-serving cell” may refer to a neighbor cell or a candidate cell) being a transmission outside of a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary cell group (SCG) ([0047] The PCell and SCell may be referred to as serving cells… “SPCell” may refer to a PCell of a master cell group or a PSCell of a secondary cell group, or otherwise to the PCell (MCG and SCG are made of serving cells, hence the non-serving cell is outside of the MCG and SCG)).
ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose wherein a power control priority level for transmitting the PRACH is based on having a higher priority than a transmission in the MCG and the SCG.
However, Zhuo discloses transmitting a power control priority level for transmitting a PRACH ((Fig. 42, 43; [0531] In an example embodiment, the second uplink signal may (non-serving cell) be a PRACH (a RA preamble). The first uplink signal (serving cell) may be a PRACH/PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS. The transmission power priority order may be determined (from highest priority to lowest priority) as: PRACH via the source PCell (highest priority)… PRACH via the candidate target cell (second highest priority) (with a same priority of the PRACH via the serving cell other than the source PCell or lower than that of the PRACH via the serving cell other than the source PCell))) is based on the PRACH transmission having a higher priority than a transmission in the MCG and the SCG (Fig. 42; [0467] the wireless device may determine that Cell 1 has better channel quality than Cell 0… Upon receiving the layer 1/2 measurement report, the source base station and the candidate target base station may determine/coordinate whether Cell 1 is used as the target PCell for future cell switching; [0468]when determining Cell 1 is used as the target PCell for future HO/PCell switching (LTM procedure), the source base station …may transmit, at T2, from Cell 0… a first command… triggering an uplink transmission to (or via) Cell 1. The uplink transmission may be a transmission of a RA preamble or other uplink signals like SRS).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the PRACH transmission on the non-serving cell of ZHANG and LIU to include a power control priority level for the PRACH transmission is based on the PRACH transmission being the transmission outside of the master cell group (MCG) and the secondary cell group (SCG) and having a higher priority than the transmission in the MCG and the SCG as taught by Zhuo in order to efficiently determine the transmission power and improve performance by switching over to using a better quality channel (Zhuo - [0535] In an example, based on the power priority order, of the first uplink signal and the second uplink signal, indicating that the second uplink signal has higher priority, the wireless device may allocate a first transmission power for the second uplink signal which does not exceed the allowed maximum transmission power (e.g., based on example embodiments described above with respect to FIG. 42) and then allocate a second transmission power for the first uplink signal which does not exceed a remaining transmission power which is the allowed maximum transmission power minus the first transmission power for the second uplink signal; [0456] a cell of the plurality of candidate target PCells including Cell 1 may be a neighbor or a non-serving cell of the wireless device; [0468]when determining Cell 1 is used as the target PCell for future HO/PCell switching (LTM procedure)).
Regarding claim 16, ZHANG further discloses wherein in performing the RACH procedure, the instructions further cause the processor to:
transmit a physical RACH (PRACH) to a non-serving cell ([0051] The PDCCH order may trigger transmission, by the UE 120, of a RACH preamble on the non-serving cell. For example, the PDCCH order may initiate a physical RACH (PRACH) procedure on the non-serving cell).
ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose a PRACH transmission on the serving cell, wherein a power control priority level for transmitting the PRACH is one level below a PRACH transmission on the serving cell, or on a same level or one level below a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission with a higher priority index.
However, Zhuo discloses a PRACH transmission on the serving cell, wherein a power control priority level for transmitting the PRACH is one level below a PRACH transmission on the serving cell (Fig. 42, 43; [0531] In an example embodiment, the second uplink signal may (non-serving cell) be a PRACH (a RA preamble). The first uplink signal (serving cell) may be a PRACH/PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS. The transmission power priority order may be determined (from highest priority to lowest priority) as: PRACH via the source PCell (highest priority)… PRACH via the candidate target cell (second highest priority) (with a same priority of the PRACH via the serving cell other than the source PCell or lower than that of the PRACH via the serving cell other than the source PCell), (the PRACH transmissions have different priority order)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the PRACH transmissions of both the non-serving cell and the serving cell of ZHANG, LIU and Zhuo to include the power control priority level for transmitting the PRACH is one level below the PRACH transmission the serving cell as taught by Zhuo in order to maximize the UE’s efficiency by determining the power for transmissions which does not exceed an allowed maximum transmission power (Zhuo - [0535] In an example, based on the power priority order, of the first uplink signal and the second uplink signal, indicating that the second uplink signal has higher priority, the wireless device may allocate a first transmission power for the second uplink signal which does not exceed the allowed maximum transmission power (e.g., based on example embodiments described above with respect to FIG. 42) and then allocate a second transmission power for the first uplink signal which does not exceed a remaining transmission power which is the allowed maximum transmission power minus the first transmission power for the second uplink signal).
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG and LIU in view of Babaei in further view of Cirik et al (US-20250048287-A1, hereinafter, Cirik).
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG further discloses wherein a UE capability is based on an intra-frequency capability or an inter-frequency capability of the UE ([0210] In an example embodiment as shown in FIG. 33, a wireless device may transmit a capability message comprising one or more capability IEs. The one or more capability IEs may indicate that the wireless device is capable of and/or supports cell switching or handover based on L1/L2 signaling (e.g., physical layer or MAC layer signaling); Fig. 3; (the base station can communicate/operate using different frequency range – see [0035-0037], hence the UE is capable of intra-frequency or inter-frequency handover according to Fig. 3)).
ZHANG, LIU and Babaei do not explicitly disclose wherein a number of non-serving cell TAGs able to be support by the UE, per UE or per cell group, is based on the UE capability.
However, Cirik discloses a number of TAGs able to be supported by a UE, per UE or per cell group, is based on a UE capability ([0265] The UE capability message may indicate a supported number of TAGs (supportedNumberTAG); [0218] In an example embodiment, the one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for each non-serving cell of the non-serving cells, a respective TAG. Depending on the activated non-serving cell, the wireless device may use/apply, for uplink transmissions, the TAG associated with the activated non-serving cell. This may reduce signaling overhead).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the capability of the UE of ZHANG, LIU and Babaei to include the number of non-serving cell TAGs able to be support by the UE as taught by Cirik in order to reduce signaling overhead (Cirik - [0218] the TAG associated with the activated non-serving cell. This may reduce signaling overhead).
Regarding claim 17, ZHANG further discloses wherein in performing the RACH procedure (Fig. 3 – 310, 320), the instructions further cause the processor to:
receive, from the serving cell (Fig. 3 – Serving Cell), the RAR message comprising a TA for the non-serving cell and a TA group (TAG) for the non-serving cell (Fig. 3 – 360; [0053] As shown by reference numbers 350 and 360, the UE 120 may receive a RACH response on the serving cell (e.g., a PCell, SCell, or SPCell) and/or the non-serving cell. For example, the RACH response may identify the timing advance; [0049] the TA may be signaled to the UE by a serving cell of the UE, or may be determined by the UE. In some aspects, the serving cell may update a TA of a TA group (TAG), which may update the TA for each cell (e.g., serving cell or non-serving cell) included in the TAG) and wherein a UE capability is based on an intra-frequency capability or an inter-frequency capability of the UE ([0210] In an example embodiment as shown in FIG. 33, a wireless device may transmit a capability message comprising one or more capability IEs. The one or more capability IEs may indicate that the wireless device is capable of and/or supports cell switching or handover based on L1/L2 signaling (e.g., physical layer or MAC layer signaling); Fig. 3; (the base station can communicate/operate using different frequency range – see [0035-0037], hence the UE is capable of intra-frequency or inter-frequency handover according to Fig. 3)).
ZHANG and LIU do not explicitly disclose the RAR message comprising a TA command for the TAG; and the TA is acquired based on a TA index value in the TA command.
However, Babaei discloses a RAR message comprising a TA command for the TAG ([0103] RAR may comprise a timing advance command; [0158] In an example, when a Timing Advance Command is received in a Random Access Response message for a Serving Cell belonging to a TAG or in a MSGB for an SpCell… the MAC entity may apply the Timing Advance Command for this TAG; start or restart the timeAlignmentTimer associated with this TAG); and the TA is acquired based on a TA index value in the TA command ([0164] A Timing Advance Command field may indicate the index value TA (e.g., 0, 1, 2... 63) used to control the amount of timing adjustment that MAC entity may have to apply).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the RAR message, TA and the TAG of ZHANG and LIU to include the TA command for TAG and the TA is acquired based on a TA index value in the TA command as taught by Babaei in order to adjust timing advance value for uplink transmission value and helps conserve computing resources associated with determining the timing advance (Babaei - [0164]; [0103] RAR may comprise a timing advance command for uplink timing adjustment at the UE; ZHANG – [0049] In this way, the UE may determine a timing advance for a non-serving cell, which reduces latency associated with inter-cell mobility operations including the non-serving cell and conserves computing resources associated with determining the timing advance once the non-serving cell is configured as a serving cell).
ZHANG, LIU and Babaei do not explicitly disclose wherein a number of non-serving cell TAGs able to be support by the UE, per UE or per cell group, is based on the UE capability.
However, Cirik discloses a number of TAGs able to be supported by a UE, per UE or per cell group, is based on a UE capability ([0265] The UE capability message may indicate a supported number of TAGs (supportedNumberTAG); [0218] In an example embodiment, the one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for each non-serving cell of the non-serving cells, a respective TAG. Depending on the activated non-serving cell, the wireless device may use/apply, for uplink transmissions, the TAG associated with the activated non-serving cell. This may reduce signaling overhead).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the capability of the UE of ZHANG, LIU and Babaei to include the number of non-serving cell TAGs able to be support by the UE as taught by Cirik in order to reduce signaling overhead (Cirik - [0218] the TAG associated with the activated non-serving cell. This may reduce signaling overhead).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418 /Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418