DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lau (US 20150312774, hereinafter “Lau”).
Regarding claim 1, Lau discloses, A computer-implemented method (CIM) comprising:
providing an autonomous vehicle equipped with a signal strength detector structured and configured to detect signal strength of a first local area network ("LAN") located in a first geographic area ([0030]-[0031], [0035], and [0038]-[0039] describe an indoor Wi-Fi network containing wireless access points and an autonomous UAV or land robot equipped with wireless-channel measurement components that measure RSSI or other signal-strength information);
traversing, by the autonomous vehicle, at least a portion of the first geographic area ([0045]-[0046] describe The UAV autonomously or semi-autonomously traverses the indoor environment while collecting SIAM and wireless-channel measurement data);
during the traversing, detecting signal strength of the first LAN to create a set of network map inputs ([0039], [0046], [0051], and [0053] describes the wireless measurement component measures the access-point signal strength at the UAV's current location as the UAV traverses the environment. The resulting
signal-strength measurements and DAV-location data provide inputs for generating the wireless-coverage map);
creating or refining a network map that maps a plurality of portions of the first geographic area respectively to signal strength of the first LAN based on the network map inputs ([0041] and [0058] describes incrementally generates and refines a wireless signal-strength map as additional measurements are collected. Each signal-strength measurement is associated with the corresponding UAV location, thereby mapping locations throughout the indoor environment to their respective signal strengths.)
Regarding claim 2, Lau discloses,
wherein the network map includes an indication of a first LAN coverage zone where the signal strength of the first LAN exceeds a predetermined threshold ([0058]-[0061] describes signal-strength measurement with map locations, compares each measurement with a defined target strength, flags location below the target, and displays the resulting coverage levels as heat map. The mapped locations having values above the target constitute the claimed coverage zone)
Regarding claim 3, Lau discloses,
determining a corrective action based on the indication of the first LAN coverage zone, with the corrective action being at least one of the following: increase first LAN power, turn on additional LAN transceiver(s) and/or move one or more LAN transceiver(s) ([0061]-[0063] describes corrective actions from the signal-strength map and weak-coverage data. It expressly recommends new access-point locations, moving an existing access point, installing a new access point and increasing an existing access point’s power).
Regarding claim 7, Lau discloses, A computer program product (CPP) comprising:
a set of storage device(s) ([0037] teaches aspects of the systems, apparatuses, or processes explained in this disclosure can constitute machine-executable components embodied within machine(s), e.g., embodied in one or more computer-readable mediums (or media) associated with one or more machines); and
computer code stored collectively in the set of storage device(s), with the computer code including data and instructions to cause a processor(s) set to perform ([0043] teaches The one or more processors 216 can perform one or more of the functions described herein with reference to the systems and/or methods disclosed) at least the following operations:
providing an autonomous vehicle equipped with a signal strength detector structured and configured to detect signal strength of a first local area network ("LAN") located in a first geographic area ([0030]-[0031], [0035], and [0038]-[0039] describe an indoor Wi-Fi network containing wireless access points and an autonomous UAV or land robot equipped with wireless-channel measurement components that measure RSSI or other signal-strength information);
traversing, by the autonomous vehicle, at least a portion of the first geographic area ([0045]-[0046] describe The UAV autonomously or semi-autonomously traverses the indoor environment while collecting SIAM and wireless-channel measurement data);
during the traversing, detecting signal strength of the first LAN to create a set of network map inputs ([0039], [0046], [0051], and [0053] describes the wireless measurement component measures the access-point signal strength at the UAV's current location as the UAV traverses the environment. The resulting
signal-strength measurements and DAV-location data provide inputs for generating the wireless-coverage map);
creating or refining a network map that maps a plurality of portions of the first geographic area respectively to signal strength of the first LAN based on the network map inputs ([0041] and [0058] describes incrementally generates and refines a wireless signal-strength map as additional measurements are collected. Each signal-strength measurement is associated with the corresponding UAV location, thereby mapping locations throughout the indoor environment to their respective signal strengths.)
Regarding claim 8, Lau discloses,
wherein the network map includes an indication of a first LAN coverage zone where the signal strength of the first LAN exceeds a predetermined threshold ([0058]-[0061] describes signal-strength measurement with map locations, compares each measurement with a defined target strength, flags location below the target, and displays the resulting coverage levels as heat map. The mapped locations having values above the target constitute the claimed coverage zone)
Regarding claim 9, Lau discloses,
determining a corrective action based on the indication of the first LAN coverage zone, with the corrective action being at least one of the following: increase first LAN power, turn on additional LAN transceiver(s) and/or move one or more LAN transceiver(s) ([0061]-[0063] describes corrective actions from the signal-strength map and weak-coverage data. It expressly recommends new access-point locations, moving an existing access point, installing a new access point and increasing an existing access point’s power).
Regarding claim 13, Lau discloses, A computer system comprising:
a processors set and a set of storage device(s) ([0037] teaches aspects of the systems, apparatuses, or processes explained in this disclosure can constitute machine-executable components embodied within machine(s), e.g., embodied in one or more computer-readable mediums (or media) associated with one or more machines); and
computer code stored collectively in the set of storage device(s), with the computer code including data and instructions to cause a processor(s) set to perform ([0043] teaches The one or more processors 216 can perform one or more of the functions described herein with reference to the systems and/or methods disclosed) at least the following operations:
providing an autonomous vehicle equipped with a signal strength detector structured and configured to detect signal strength of a first local area network ("LAN") located in a first geographic area ([0030]-[0031], [0035], and [0038]-[0039] describe an indoor Wi-Fi network containing wireless access points and an autonomous UAV or land robot equipped with wireless-channel measurement components that measure RSSI or other signal-strength information);
traversing, by the autonomous vehicle, at least a portion of the first geographic area ([0045]-[0046] describe The UAV autonomously or semi-autonomously traverses the indoor environment while collecting SIAM and wireless-channel measurement data);
during the traversing, detecting signal strength of the first LAN to create a set of network map inputs ([0039], [0046], [0051], and [0053] describes the wireless measurement component measures the access-point signal strength at the UAV's current location as the UAV traverses the environment. The resulting
signal-strength measurements and DAV-location data provide inputs for generating the wireless-coverage map);
creating or refining a network map that maps a plurality of portions of the first geographic area respectively to signal strength of the first LAN based on the network map inputs ([0041] and [0058] describes incrementally generates and refines a wireless signal-strength map as additional measurements are collected. Each signal-strength measurement is associated with the corresponding UAV location, thereby mapping locations throughout the indoor environment to their respective signal strengths.)
Regarding claim 14, Lau discloses,
wherein the network map includes an indication of a first LAN coverage zone where the signal strength of the first LAN exceeds a predetermined threshold ([0058]-[0061] describes signal-strength measurement with map locations, compares each measurement with a defined target strength, flags location below the target, and displays the resulting coverage levels as heat map. The mapped locations having values above the target constitute the claimed coverage zone)
Regarding claim 15, Lau discloses,
determining a corrective action based on the indication of the first LAN coverage zone, with the corrective action being at least one of the following: increase first LAN power, turn on additional LAN transceiver(s) and/or move one or more LAN transceiver(s) ([0061]-[0063] describes corrective actions from the signal-strength map and weak-coverage data. It expressly recommends new access-point locations, moving an existing access point, installing a new access point and increasing an existing access point’s power).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau, and further in view of Kotecha (US 20160371985, hereinafter “Kotecha”).
Regarding claim 4, Lau discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however Lau does not disclose, the autonomous vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (“UAV”); the traversing by the autonomous vehicle includes substantial motion in all three spatial directions; and the network map is three dimensional.
In the same field of endeavor, Kotecha discloses, the autonomous vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (“UAV”); the traversing by the autonomous vehicle includes substantial motion in all three spatial directions; and the network map is three dimensional ([0013]-[0017] discloses The route planning service may generate one or more appropriate flight paths and transmit the flight path(s) to the UAV. The generated flight path may be optimized based on a number of criteria. For example, the route planning service may take into account local regulations, total distance of the flight path, topographical features, and/or network radio coverage over the flight path. In some implementations, the UAV operator may specify additional criteria or provide weightings of the importance of the various criteria).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lau by specifically providing the autonomous vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (“UAV”); the traversing by the autonomous vehicle includes substantial motion in all three spatial directions; and the network map is three dimensional, as taught by Kotecha for the purpose of optimizing the flight path to ensure that the UAVs maintain network coverage throughout the flight (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Lau discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7), however Lau does not disclose, the autonomous vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (“UAV”); the traversing by the autonomous vehicle includes substantial motion in all three spatial directions; and the network map is three dimensional.
In the same field of endeavor, Kotecha discloses, the autonomous vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (“UAV”); the traversing by the autonomous vehicle includes substantial motion in all three spatial directions; and the network map is three dimensional ([0013]-[0017] discloses The route planning service may generate one or more appropriate flight paths and transmit the flight path(s) to the UAV. The generated flight path may be optimized based on a number of criteria. For example, the route planning service may take into account local regulations, total distance of the flight path, topographical features, and/or network radio coverage over the flight path. In some implementations, the UAV operator may specify additional criteria or provide weightings of the importance of the various criteria).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lau by specifically providing the autonomous vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (“UAV”); the traversing by the autonomous vehicle includes substantial motion in all three spatial directions; and the network map is three dimensional, as taught by Kotecha for the purpose of optimizing the flight path to ensure that the UAVs maintain network coverage throughout the flight (abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Lau discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), however Lau does not disclose, the autonomous vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (“UAV”); the traversing by the autonomous vehicle includes substantial motion in all three spatial directions; and the network map is three dimensional.
In the same field of endeavor, Kotecha discloses, the autonomous vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (“UAV”); the traversing by the autonomous vehicle includes substantial motion in all three spatial directions; and the network map is three dimensional ([0013]-[0017] discloses The route planning service may generate one or more appropriate flight paths and transmit the flight path(s) to the UAV. The generated flight path may be optimized based on a number of criteria. For example, the route planning service may take into account local regulations, total distance of the flight path, topographical features, and/or network radio coverage over the flight path. In some implementations, the UAV operator may specify additional criteria or provide weightings of the importance of the various criteria).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lau by specifically providing the autonomous vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (“UAV”); the traversing by the autonomous vehicle includes substantial motion in all three spatial directions; and the network map is three dimensional, as taught by Kotecha for the purpose of optimizing the flight path to ensure that the UAVs maintain network coverage throughout the flight (abstract).
Claims 5, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau, and further in view of Mitchell et al. (US 20160277901, hereinafter “Mitchell”).
Regarding claim 5, Lau discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however Lau does not disclose, wherein: the first LAN is a Wi-Fi type LAN; and the signal strength detector measures a power of radio waves received at a predetermined operating frequency of the first LAN.
In the same field of endeavor, Mitchell discloses, wherein: the first LAN is a Wi-Fi type LAN; and the signal strength detector measures a power of radio waves received at a predetermined operating frequency of the first LAN ([0018]-[0019] and [0025] discloses an RF receiver operating in an RF band selected as a design choice, including ISM band and states that RSSI represents the RF power of the received radio signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lau by specifically providing wherein: the first LAN is a Wi-Fi type LAN; and the signal strength detector measures a power of radio waves received at a predetermined operating frequency of the first LAN, as taught by Mitchell for the purpose of providing the generation of 3-D RF performance maps of an environment by correlating RF performance data generated from known locations within the environment with spatial data generated of the environment (abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Lau discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7), however Lau does not disclose, wherein: the first LAN is a Wi-Fi type LAN; and the signal strength detector measures a power of radio waves received at a predetermined operating frequency of the first LAN.
In the same field of endeavor, Mitchell discloses, wherein: the first LAN is a Wi-Fi type LAN; and the signal strength detector measures a power of radio waves received at a predetermined operating frequency of the first LAN ([0018]-[0019] and [0025] discloses an RF receiver operating in an RF band selected as a design choice, including ISM band and states that RSSI represents the RF power of the received radio signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lau by specifically providing wherein: the first LAN is a Wi-Fi type LAN; and the signal strength detector measures a power of radio waves received at a predetermined operating frequency of the first LAN, as taught by Mitchell for the purpose of providing the generation of 3-D RF performance maps of an environment by correlating RF performance data generated from known locations within the environment with spatial data generated of the environment (abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Lau discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), however Lau does not disclose, wherein: the first LAN is a Wi-Fi type LAN; and the signal strength detector measures a power of radio waves received at a predetermined operating frequency of the first LAN.
In the same field of endeavor, Mitchell discloses, wherein: the first LAN is a Wi-Fi type LAN; and the signal strength detector measures a power of radio waves received at a predetermined operating frequency of the first LAN ([0018]-[0019] and [0025] discloses an RF receiver operating in an RF band selected as a design choice, including ISM band and states that RSSI represents the RF power of the received radio signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lau by specifically providing wherein: the first LAN is a Wi-Fi type LAN; and the signal strength detector measures a power of radio waves received at a predetermined operating frequency of the first LAN, as taught by Mitchell for the purpose of providing the generation of 3-D RF performance maps of an environment by correlating RF performance data generated from known locations within the environment with spatial data generated of the environment (abstract).
Claims 6, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau, and further in view of Chambers et al. (US 20180321687, hereinafter “Chambers”).
Regarding claim 6, Lau discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however Lau does not disclose, wherein the creating or refining of the network map includes: determination of signal strength at various points along a traversal path of the autonomous vehicle; and determination of a portion of a network boundary based upon rate of change in signal strength along the traversal path.
In the same field of endeavor, Chambers discloses, wherein the creating or refining of the network map includes: determination of signal strength at various points along a traversal path of the autonomous vehicle; and determination of a portion of a network boundary based upon rate of change in signal strength along the traversal path ([0086] teaches signals strength slope and it’s rate of change; [0087] teaches using those changes to identify weak or absent coverage; [0101] teaches continuous measurement while the robot moves and using slope changes to locate weak/no-coverage regions. [0139] teaches that strong, weak, and absent coverage regions are visible from slope region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lau by specifically providing wherein the creating or refining of the network map includes: determination of signal strength at various points along a traversal path of the autonomous vehicle; and determination of a portion of a network boundary based upon rate of change in signal strength along the traversal path, as taught by Chambers for the purpose of providing visual representations of the map information may indicate areas in the operating environment in which signal coverage by the wireless communication signals is weak or absent, and displaying, via the user interface, a suggestion for improvement of the signal coverage [0037].
Regarding claim 12, Lau discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7), however Lau does not disclose, wherein the creating or refining of the network map includes: determination of signal strength at various points along a traversal path of the autonomous vehicle; and determination of a portion of a network boundary based upon rate of change in signal strength along the traversal path.
In the same field of endeavor, Chambers discloses, wherein the creating or refining of the network map includes: determination of signal strength at various points along a traversal path of the autonomous vehicle; and determination of a portion of a network boundary based upon rate of change in signal strength along the traversal path ([0086] teaches signals strength slope and it’s rate of change; [0087] teaches using those changes to identify weak or absent coverage; [0101] teaches continuous measurement while the robot moves and using slope changes to locate weak/no-coverage regions. [0139] teaches that strong, weak, and absent coverage regions are visible from slope region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lau by specifically providing wherein the creating or refining of the network map includes: determination of signal strength at various points along a traversal path of the autonomous vehicle; and determination of a portion of a network boundary based upon rate of change in signal strength along the traversal path, as taught by Chambers for the purpose of providing visual representations of the map information may indicate areas in the operating environment in which signal coverage by the wireless communication signals is weak or absent, and displaying, via the user interface, a suggestion for improvement of the signal coverage [0037].
Regarding claim 18, Lau discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), however Lau does not disclose, wherein the creating or refining of the network map includes: determination of signal strength at various points along a traversal path of the autonomous vehicle; and determination of a portion of a network boundary based upon rate of change in signal strength along the traversal path.
In the same field of endeavor, Chambers discloses, wherein the creating or refining of the network map includes: determination of signal strength at various points along a traversal path of the autonomous vehicle; and determination of a portion of a network boundary based upon rate of change in signal strength along the traversal path ([0086] teaches signals strength slope and it’s rate of change; [0087] teaches using those changes to identify weak or absent coverage; [0101] teaches continuous measurement while the robot moves and using slope changes to locate weak/no-coverage regions. [0139] teaches that strong, weak, and absent coverage regions are visible from slope region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lau by specifically providing wherein the creating or refining of the network map includes: determination of signal strength at various points along a traversal path of the autonomous vehicle; and determination of a portion of a network boundary based upon rate of change in signal strength along the traversal path, as taught by Chambers for the purpose of providing visual representations of the map information may indicate areas in the operating environment in which signal coverage by the wireless communication signals is weak or absent, and displaying, via the user interface, a suggestion for improvement of the signal coverage [0037].
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20230311790: The present specification generally relates to systems to control a smart vehicle with wireless routing functionality and, more specifically, to systems to control functionality of smart features of the smart vehicle and automatic wireless routing selection with a smart mobile device paired with the smart vehicle and methods of use of such systems.
US 20220174473: The present invention relates to communication networks, and more particularly, is related to provisioning of a wireless network element.
US 11115813: The present disclosure generally relates to wireless communication, and more specifically, to improved techniques for providing fault tolerance for communications within a wireless local area network (LAN).
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641