DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (US 2017/0059971 A1; Takano) in view of AMANO (US 2015/0070778 A1).
As of claim 1, Takano teaches an optical device (projection apparatus) [fig 1] that projects an image [0048], which is displayed on an image display surface SC [fig 1] on a reduction side RG (rear group) [fig 3] [0054], to a magnification side FG (front group) [fig 3] [0054], the optical device comprising: a first optical system RG [fig 3]; and a second optical system FG [fig 3], in order from the magnification side FG [fig 3] to the reduction side RG [fig 3] along an optical path (A Axis) [fig 3], wherein the first optical system RG [fig 3] is an image forming optical system (having light valve LV) [fig 3] which is not telecentric on the reduction side (refractive optical system 11 in Examples 1 and 2 is non-telecentric) [fig 1] [0234].
Takano does not teach the second optical system is telecentric on the reduction side, the first optical system is housed in a first lens barrel, and the second optical system is housed in a second lens barrel, and an optical system on the optical path from a surface closest to the magnification side in the first optical system to a surface closest to the reduction side in the second optical system is shift-able with respect to the image display surface.
AMANO teaches a variable magnification projection optical system [fig 1] having the second optical system is telecentric on the reduction side (the magnification side, in which the variable magnification projection optical system is configured such that the reduction side is telecentric) [0014], the first optical system is housed in a first lens barrel, and the second optical system is housed in a second lens barrel (two lens groups may include a lens with substantially no power, an optical element other than a lens, such as a stop, a cover glass, a filter, and the like, a lens flange, a lens barrel) [0030], and an optical system G1, G2 [fig 1] on the optical path from a surface closest to the magnification side in the first optical system G1 [fig 1] to a surface closest to the reduction side in the second optical system G2 [fig 1] is shift-able with respect to the image display surface 1 [fig 1] [0049] (variable magnification projection optical system may be installed, for example, in a projection display apparatus and usable as a projection lens that projects image information displayed on a light valve onto a screen) [0047].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second optical system is telecentric on the reduction side, the first optical system is housed in a first lens barrel, and the second optical system is housed in a second lens barrel, and an optical system on the optical path from a surface closest to the magnification side in the first optical system to a surface closest to the reduction side in the second optical system is shift-able with respect to the optical device as taught by AMANO to the light module as disclosed by Takano to produce two-group variable magnification projection optical system suitable for magnifying and projecting a light beam having image information (AMANO; [0003]).
As of claim 2, Takano teaches the first optical system RG [fig 3] and the second optical system RG [fig 3] are coaxial systems [fig 3] having a common first optical axis A Axis) [fig 3].
As of claim 19, Takano teaches a projection type display apparatus [fig 1] comprising: a light valve LV [fig 1] that outputs the image [0038]; and the optical device 11 [fig 1].
As of claim 20, Takano teaches an optical system 11 (refractive optical system) [fig 1] incorporated in an optical device (projection apparatus) [fig 1] that projects an image [0048], which is displayed on an image display surface SC [fig 1] on a reduction side RG (rear group) [fig 3] [0054], to a magnification side FG (front group) [fig 3] [0054], wherein the optical system 11 [fig 1] is disposed on an optical path (A Axis) [fig 3] on the reduction side RG [fig 3] of an image forming optical system (having light valve LV) [fig 3] which is not telecentric on the reduction side (refractive optical system 11 in Examples 1 and 2 is non-telecentric) [fig 1] [0234].
Takano does not teach the second optical system is telecentric on the reduction side, the first optical system is housed in a first lens barrel, and the second optical system is housed in a second lens barrel, and an optical system on the optical path from a surface closest to the magnification side in the first optical system to a surface closest to the reduction side in the second optical system is shift-able with respect to the image display surface.
AMANO teaches a variable magnification projection optical system [fig 1] having the second optical system is telecentric on the reduction side (the magnification side, in which the variable magnification projection optical system is configured such that the reduction side is telecentric) [0014], the first optical system is housed in a first lens barrel, and the second optical system is housed in a second lens barrel (two lens groups may include a lens with substantially no power, an optical element other than a lens, such as a stop, a cover glass, a filter, and the like, a lens flange, a lens barrel) [0030], and an optical system G1, G2 [fig 1] on the optical path from a surface closest to the magnification side in the first optical system G1 [fig 1] to a surface closest to the reduction side in the second optical system G2 [fig 1] is shift-able with respect to the image display surface 1 [fig 1] [0049] (variable magnification projection optical system may be installed, for example, in a projection display apparatus and usable as a projection lens that projects image information displayed on a light valve onto a screen) [0047].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second optical system is telecentric on the reduction side, the first optical system is housed in a first lens barrel, and the second optical system is housed in a second lens barrel, and an optical system on the optical path from a surface closest to the magnification side in the first optical system to a surface closest to the reduction side in the second optical system is shift-able with respect to the optical device as taught by AMANO to the light module as disclosed by Takano to produce two-group variable magnification projection optical system suitable for magnifying and projecting a light beam having image information (AMANO; [0003]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (US 2017/0059971 A1; Takano) in view of AMANO (US 2015/0070778 A1) and further in view of KONDO (US 2021/0003907 A1).
Takano in view of AMANO teaches the invention as cited above except for the first optical system is configured to be interchangeable.
KONDO teaches an interchangeable lens [fig 1] [0064] having the first optical system 10 (lens barrel) [fig 1] [0212] is configured to be interchangeable [0212].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first optical system is configured to be interchangeable as taught by KONDO to the light module as disclosed by Takano in view of AMANO to attach ably and detachably mounted on a cameral body through the mount (KONDO; [0212]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (US 2017/0059971 A1; Takano) in view of AMANO (US 2015/0070778 A1) and further in view of NAGATOSHI et al. (US 2021/0063709 A1; NAGATOSHI).
Takano in view of AMANO teaches the invention as cited above except for the optical system between the first optical system and the image display surface is only the second optical system, and an intermediate image is formed closer to the reduction side than the first optical system.
NAGATOSHI teaches an imaging optical system [fig 1] having the optical system [fig 1] between the first optical system G1 [fig 1] and the image display surface Sim [fig 1] is only the second optical system G3 [fig 1], and an intermediate image MI2 [fig 1] is formed closer to the reduction side PP [fig 1] than the first optical system G1 [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the optical system between the first optical system and the image display surface is only the second optical system, and an intermediate image is formed closer to the reduction side than the first optical system as taught by NAGATOSHI to the light module as disclosed by Takano in view of AMANO to provide an imaging optical system which is capable of using a wide area of an image circle including the vicinity of the optical axis and has favorable optical performance by keeping a lens diameter small while having a wide angle of view (NAGATOSHI; [0008]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 5, the closest prior art Takano et al. (US 2017/0059971 A1; Takano) teaches a refractive optical system 11, which is also referred to as a lens system, a planar mirror 12, and a concave mirror 13 constitute a projection optical system PO. The A axis in FIG. 1 is an optical axis of the refractive optical system 11. Hereinafter, the optical axis is also referred to simply as the A axis. The planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13 constitute a reflective optical system RO. The image light rays, which have been emitted from the illumination optical system LS, are reflected by the image on the image display surface LV so that the intensity of the image light rays has been modulated. The modulated image light rays pass through the refractive optical system 11 and are sequentially reflected by the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13. The image light rays having been reflected by the concave mirror 13 become image-forming light rays. The image-forming light rays penetrate through the dust-proof glass 14, thereby becoming image-forming light rays, which are then projected onto a screen SC as the projection surface. The image display element SE, the image display device SS including the image display element SE and the illumination optical system LS, the projection optical system PO (11, 12, and 13), and the dust-proof glass 14 are incorporated in a housing H. The image light rays pass through the refractive optical system 11, and are sequentially reflected by the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13 of the reflective optical system RO. The reflected light rays become the image-forming light rays, advancing to the dust-proof glass 14, and to the screen SC. The optical path of the image light rays and the image-forming light rays ranging from the image display surface LV to the screen SC is referred to as a projection optical path. The image display surface LV is on the reduction side of the projection optical path. The screen SC is on the magnification side of the projection optical path. That is, the projection optical system PO (11, 12, and 13) includes the reflective optical system RO (12 and 13) on the magnification side, and the refractive optical system 11 on the reduction side along the projection optical path. The reflective optical system RO includes at least one reflective optical element 12 or 13 having a power. According to the present embodiment, the concave mirror 13 of the constituent elements (the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13) of the reflective optical element has a positive power. Takano does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the second optical system includes a group that moves by changing a spacing between adjacent groups during magnification change.
As of claim 6, the closest prior art Takano et al. (US 2017/0059971 A1; Takano) teaches a refractive optical system 11, which is also referred to as a lens system, a planar mirror 12, and a concave mirror 13 constitute a projection optical system PO. The A axis in FIG. 1 is an optical axis of the refractive optical system 11. Hereinafter, the optical axis is also referred to simply as the A axis. The planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13 constitute a reflective optical system RO. The image light rays, which have been emitted from the illumination optical system LS, are reflected by the image on the image display surface LV so that the intensity of the image light rays has been modulated. The modulated image light rays pass through the refractive optical system 11 and are sequentially reflected by the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13. The image light rays having been reflected by the concave mirror 13 become image-forming light rays. The image-forming light rays penetrate through the dust-proof glass 14, thereby becoming image-forming light rays, which are then projected onto a screen SC as the projection surface. The image display element SE, the image display device SS including the image display element SE and the illumination optical system LS, the projection optical system PO (11, 12, and 13), and the dust-proof glass 14 are incorporated in a housing H. The image light rays pass through the refractive optical system 11, and are sequentially reflected by the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13 of the reflective optical system RO. The reflected light rays become the image-forming light rays, advancing to the dust-proof glass 14, and to the screen SC. The optical path of the image light rays and the image-forming light rays ranging from the image display surface LV to the screen SC is referred to as a projection optical path. The image display surface LV is on the reduction side of the projection optical path. The screen SC is on the magnification side of the projection optical path. That is, the projection optical system PO (11, 12, and 13) includes the reflective optical system RO (12 and 13) on the magnification side, and the refractive optical system 11 on the reduction side along the projection optical path. The reflective optical system RO includes at least one reflective optical element 12 or 13 having a power. According to the present embodiment, the concave mirror 13 of the constituent elements (the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13) of the reflective optical element has a positive power. Takano does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the optical system between the first optical system and the image display surface is only the second optical system, and a principal ray with a maximum angle of view incident on the optical device from the image does not intersect with the first optical axis at a position closer to the reduction side than a surface closest to the reduction side in the first optical system.
As of claim 7, the closest prior art Takano et al. (US 2017/0059971 A1; Takano) teaches a refractive optical system 11, which is also referred to as a lens system, a planar mirror 12, and a concave mirror 13 constitute a projection optical system PO. The A axis in FIG. 1 is an optical axis of the refractive optical system 11. Hereinafter, the optical axis is also referred to simply as the A axis. The planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13 constitute a reflective optical system RO. The image light rays, which have been emitted from the illumination optical system LS, are reflected by the image on the image display surface LV so that the intensity of the image light rays has been modulated. The modulated image light rays pass through the refractive optical system 11 and are sequentially reflected by the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13. The image light rays having been reflected by the concave mirror 13 become image-forming light rays. The image-forming light rays penetrate through the dust-proof glass 14, thereby becoming image-forming light rays, which are then projected onto a screen SC as the projection surface. The image display element SE, the image display device SS including the image display element SE and the illumination optical system LS, the projection optical system PO (11, 12, and 13), and the dust-proof glass 14 are incorporated in a housing H. The image light rays pass through the refractive optical system 11, and are sequentially reflected by the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13 of the reflective optical system RO. The reflected light rays become the image-forming light rays, advancing to the dust-proof glass 14, and to the screen SC. The optical path of the image light rays and the image-forming light rays ranging from the image display surface LV to the screen SC is referred to as a projection optical path. The image display surface LV is on the reduction side of the projection optical path. The screen SC is on the magnification side of the projection optical path. That is, the projection optical system PO (11, 12, and 13) includes the reflective optical system RO (12 and 13) on the magnification side, and the refractive optical system 11 on the reduction side along the projection optical path. The reflective optical system RO includes at least one reflective optical element 12 or 13 having a power. According to the present embodiment, the concave mirror 13 of the constituent elements (the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13) of the reflective optical element has a positive power. Takano does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a third optical system on the optical path closer to the reduction side than the second optical system, wherein the third optical system is a coaxial system having a second optical axis, the first optical axis and the second optical axis are parallel to each other, and an intermediate image is formed closer to the reduction side than the first optical system.
Claims 8-10 are allowed as being dependent on claim 7.
As of claim 11, the closest prior art Takano et al. (US 2017/0059971 A1; Takano) teaches a refractive optical system 11, which is also referred to as a lens system, a planar mirror 12, and a concave mirror 13 constitute a projection optical system PO. The A axis in FIG. 1 is an optical axis of the refractive optical system 11. Hereinafter, the optical axis is also referred to simply as the A axis. The planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13 constitute a reflective optical system RO. The image light rays, which have been emitted from the illumination optical system LS, are reflected by the image on the image display surface LV so that the intensity of the image light rays has been modulated. The modulated image light rays pass through the refractive optical system 11 and are sequentially reflected by the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13. The image light rays having been reflected by the concave mirror 13 become image-forming light rays. The image-forming light rays penetrate through the dust-proof glass 14, thereby becoming image-forming light rays, which are then projected onto a screen SC as the projection surface. The image display element SE, the image display device SS including the image display element SE and the illumination optical system LS, the projection optical system PO (11, 12, and 13), and the dust-proof glass 14 are incorporated in a housing H. The image light rays pass through the refractive optical system 11, and are sequentially reflected by the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13 of the reflective optical system RO. The reflected light rays become the image-forming light rays, advancing to the dust-proof glass 14, and to the screen SC. The optical path of the image light rays and the image-forming light rays ranging from the image display surface LV to the screen SC is referred to as a projection optical path. The image display surface LV is on the reduction side of the projection optical path. The screen SC is on the magnification side of the projection optical path. That is, the projection optical system PO (11, 12, and 13) includes the reflective optical system RO (12 and 13) on the magnification side, and the refractive optical system 11 on the reduction side along the projection optical path. The reflective optical system RO includes at least one reflective optical element 12 or 13 having a power. According to the present embodiment, the concave mirror 13 of the constituent elements (the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13) of the reflective optical element has a positive power. Takano does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, assuming that a combined lateral magnification of an entire optical system between the first optical system and the image display surface is β, where β is a value in a case where the magnification side is an object side and the reduction side is an image side, and β is a value at a wide angle end in a case where the optical device includes a variable magnification optical system, Conditional Expression (1) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.25<|β|<2 (1).
Claim 14 is allowed as being dependent on claim 11.
As of claim 12, the closest prior art Takano et al. (US 2017/0059971 A1; Takano) teaches a refractive optical system 11, which is also referred to as a lens system, a planar mirror 12, and a concave mirror 13 constitute a projection optical system PO. The A axis in FIG. 1 is an optical axis of the refractive optical system 11. Hereinafter, the optical axis is also referred to simply as the A axis. The planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13 constitute a reflective optical system RO. The image light rays, which have been emitted from the illumination optical system LS, are reflected by the image on the image display surface LV so that the intensity of the image light rays has been modulated. The modulated image light rays pass through the refractive optical system 11 and are sequentially reflected by the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13. The image light rays having been reflected by the concave mirror 13 become image-forming light rays. The image-forming light rays penetrate through the dust-proof glass 14, thereby becoming image-forming light rays, which are then projected onto a screen SC as the projection surface. The image display element SE, the image display device SS including the image display element SE and the illumination optical system LS, the projection optical system PO (11, 12, and 13), and the dust-proof glass 14 are incorporated in a housing H. The image light rays pass through the refractive optical system 11, and are sequentially reflected by the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13 of the reflective optical system RO. The reflected light rays become the image-forming light rays, advancing to the dust-proof glass 14, and to the screen SC. The optical path of the image light rays and the image-forming light rays ranging from the image display surface LV to the screen SC is referred to as a projection optical path. The image display surface LV is on the reduction side of the projection optical path. The screen SC is on the magnification side of the projection optical path. That is, the projection optical system PO (11, 12, and 13) includes the reflective optical system RO (12 and 13) on the magnification side, and the refractive optical system 11 on the reduction side along the projection optical path. The reflective optical system RO includes at least one reflective optical element 12 or 13 having a power. According to the present embodiment, the concave mirror 13 of the constituent elements (the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13) of the reflective optical element has a positive power. Takano does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, assuming that an on-axis ray of which an angle θ1 with an optical axis satisfies sin θ1=0.1 in an air spacing adjacent to the reduction side in the second optical system is a first on-axis ray, an angle between the first on-axis ray and the optical axis in an air spacing adjacent to the magnification side in the second optical system is θ, a lateral magnification of the second optical system is β2, where β2 is a value in a case where the magnification side is an object side and the reduction side is an image side, a total number of lenses included in the second optical system is k, a natural number from 1 to k is i, a refractive index of an i-th lens of the second optical system at a d line from the magnification side is Ni, a focal length of the i-th lens of the second optical system from the magnification side is fi, and a distance on the optical axis from a surface closest to the magnification side in the second optical system to the surface closest to the reduction side in the second optical system is DU2, where θ, β2, and DU2 are values at a wide angle end in a case where the optical device includes a variable magnification optical system, Conditional Expressions (2) and (3) are satisfied, which are represented by .Math.{sin.Math.θ.Math./(.Math.β2.Math.×0.1)-1}×100.Math.<0.2,(2) and DU2.Math..Math.i=1k(1Ni×fi).Math.<1.(3)
Claims 15-16 are allowed as being dependent on claim 12.
As of claim 13, the closest prior art Takano et al. (US 2017/0059971 A1; Takano) teaches a refractive optical system 11, which is also referred to as a lens system, a planar mirror 12, and a concave mirror 13 constitute a projection optical system PO. The A axis in FIG. 1 is an optical axis of the refractive optical system 11. Hereinafter, the optical axis is also referred to simply as the A axis. The planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13 constitute a reflective optical system RO. The image light rays, which have been emitted from the illumination optical system LS, are reflected by the image on the image display surface LV so that the intensity of the image light rays has been modulated. The modulated image light rays pass through the refractive optical system 11 and are sequentially reflected by the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13. The image light rays having been reflected by the concave mirror 13 become image-forming light rays. The image-forming light rays penetrate through the dust-proof glass 14, thereby becoming image-forming light rays, which are then projected onto a screen SC as the projection surface. The image display element SE, the image display device SS including the image display element SE and the illumination optical system LS, the projection optical system PO (11, 12, and 13), and the dust-proof glass 14 are incorporated in a housing H. The image light rays pass through the refractive optical system 11, and are sequentially reflected by the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13 of the reflective optical system RO. The reflected light rays become the image-forming light rays, advancing to the dust-proof glass 14, and to the screen SC. The optical path of the image light rays and the image-forming light rays ranging from the image display surface LV to the screen SC is referred to as a projection optical path. The image display surface LV is on the reduction side of the projection optical path. The screen SC is on the magnification side of the projection optical path. That is, the projection optical system PO (11, 12, and 13) includes the reflective optical system RO (12 and 13) on the magnification side, and the refractive optical system 11 on the reduction side along the projection optical path. The reflective optical system RO includes at least one reflective optical element 12 or 13 having a power. According to the present embodiment, the concave mirror 13 of the constituent elements (the planar mirror 12 and the concave mirror 13) of the reflective optical element has a positive power. Takano does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, assuming that a maximum image height on the reduction side in the second optical system is Ymax, a distance to a sagittal image plane at the maximum image height of the second optical system with respect to a paraxial image formation position on the reduction side in the second optical system as an origin in a direction of optical axis is Sr, and a distance to a tangential image plane at the maximum image height of the second optical system with respect to the paraxial image formation position on the reduction side in the second optical system as an origin in the direction of optical axis is Tr, where a sign of each distance of Sr and Tr on the magnification side from each origin is negative and a sign of each distance of Sr and Tr on the reduction side from each origin is positive, and Sr, Tr, and Ymax are values at a wide angle end in a case where the optical device includes a variable magnification optical system, Conditional Expressions (4) and (5) are satisfied, which are represented by
−10< {(Sr + Tr)/2} × 1000/Ymax<20 (4), and
|Sr−Tr|×1000/Ymax<30 (5).
Claims 17-18 are allowed as being dependent on claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art Masui et al. (US 20210286155 A1) teaches a projection optical system that projects, while enlarging, an image displayed on an image display surface includes in order from an enlargement side: a first negative refractive power lens group; a second negative refractive power lens group; at least one positive or negative refractive power lens group; a stop; and a first positive refractive power lens group. The projection optical system causes magnification variation by varying distances between lens groups. The at least one positive or negative refractive power lens groups disposed between the second negative refractive power lens group and the stop is movable during the magnification variation. The first positive refractive power lens group is an only lens group that is positioned closer to a reduction side than the stop and is also movable during the magnification variation;
- Prior Art BABA (US 20140307328 A1) teaches a single lens which includes a surface having the smallest effective beam diameter or a cemented lens is designated as a reference lens, a system substantially consisting of lenses disposed closer to a magnification side than the reference lens is designated as a front group, and a system substantially consisting of lenses disposed closer to a reduction side than the reference lens is designated as a rear group, the projection lens satisfying conditional expressions (1) and (2) given below as well as conditional expressions (3) and (4):
75<2. omega. (1), beta. P & lt;10 (2), |fM / fF| & lt;2.0 (3), and |fM/ fR| & lt;2.0 (4).
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882