DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, it appears “second hold” should read –second hole--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asplin (8,186,907) in view of Mack, II (7,461,997) (“Mack”).
Regarding claim 1, Asplin teaches a slab lifting and leveling method, comprising: in a first injection, injecting dried sand and pressurized air underneath the slab (82) (Column 5, Lines 30-55); after the first injection. Asplin fails to teach a second injection. Mack teaches a method for lifting a slab including injecting sand (68) below a slab (66) and then performing a second injection that includes injecting water (42) underneath the slab for a predetermined period of time and at the end of the predetermined period of time, stopping the water injection (when operator moves control handle to central and rearward position). Mack teaches that sand is injected first followed by the flow of water. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a water injection in the method of Asplin as taught by Mack as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. The combination of Asplin and Mack would inherently result in a third injection that includes injecting additional dried sand and pressurized air underneath the slab in a scenario where additional sand is needed to level the slab since Asplin teaches the operator repeats the process until the slab is leveled (Column 2, Lines 50-53).
Regarding claim 2, Asplin as modified by Mack teaches the pressurized air in the first injection and in the third injection has a first pressure (air pressure).
Regarding claim 4, Asplin as modified by Mack teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the predetermined period of time is 2-6 seconds. The examiner first notes that since the injection is controlled by the operator, the time period of injection is capable of being performed in the range of 2-6 seconds. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to inject the particulate of Asplin for a predetermined time period of 2-6 seconds, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 167 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5, Asplin as modified by Mack teaches drilling a hole (72) in the slab; and performing the first injection, the second injection, and the third injection via the hole (via 26).
Regarding claim 7, Asplin as modified by Mack teaches the slab is a concrete slab.
Regarding claim 8, Asplin teaches a concrete slab lifting and leveling method, comprising: in a first injection, injecting dried sand and pressurized air underneath the concrete slab slab (82) (Column 5, Lines 30-55); after the first injection. Asplin fails to teach a second injection. Mack teaches a method for lifting a slab including ; wetting the dried sand (68) that has been injected underneath the concrete slab (66) in the first injection by injecting water (42) underneath the concrete slab for a predetermined period of time and at the end of the predetermined period of time, stopping the water injection (when operator moves control handle to central and rearward position). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a water injection in the method of Asplin as taught by Mack as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. The combination of Asplin and Mack would inherently result in a second injection that includes injecting additional dried sand and pressurized air underneath the slab in a scenario where additional sand is needed to level the slab since Asplin teaches the operator repeats the process until the slab is leveled (Column 2, Lines 50-53).
Regarding claim 9, Asplin as modified by Mack teaches the pressurized air in the first injection and in the second injection has a first pressure.
Regarding claim 11, Asplin as modified by Mack teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the predetermined period of time is 2-6 seconds. The examiner first notes that since the injection is controlled by the operator, the time period of injection is capable of being performed in the range of 2-6 seconds. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to inject the particulate of Asplin for a predetermined time period of 2-6 seconds, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 167 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 12, Asplin as modified by Mack teaches drilling a hole (72) in the slab; and performing the first injection, the second injection, and the third injection via the hole (via 26).
Regarding claim 14, Asplin teaches a slab lifting and leveling system, comprising: an injection manifold (26) having an injection outlet port, a first inlet port (24) and a second inlet port (58), the injection outlet port (54) is fluidly connected to the first inlet port and to the second inlet port; a source of dried sand (16) and pressurized air fluidly connected to the first inlet port that supplies dried sand and pressurized air to the first inlet port (54); a first valve (78) that is located to control the flow of the dried sand and the pressurized air from the source of dried sand and pressurized air to the first inlet port (54). Asplin fails to teach a second injection. Mack teaches a method for lifting a slab including a first port (48) that controls the flow of dried sand, a source of water (42) fluidly connected to the second inlet port (54) that supplies water to the second inlet port; and a second valve (36) that is located to control the flow of the water from the source of water to the second inlet port. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a water injection in the method of Asplin as taught by Mack as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. The combination of Asplin and Mack would inherently result in a second injection that includes injecting additional dried sand and pressurized air underneath the slab in a scenario where additional sand is needed to level the slab since Asplin teaches the operator repeats the process until the slab is leveled (Column 2, Lines 50-53).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 10, 13 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to teach a second inlet port for delivering water and pressurized air at a second pressure greater than the first pressure of the first port that delivers sand and pressurized air. While the prior art does teach drilling more than one hole, it does not fairly suggest delivering sand in one port and water in a second port.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the attached PTO-892. Doan teaches a method for raising a slab by injecting particulate below the slab.
/ABIGAIL A RISIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 February 3, 2026