Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-2, 21-22, and 29-31 have been amended. Claims 1-15 and 17-31 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 21-22, and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250023611, hereinafter, “Jeon”) in view of Nishio et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20140177601, hereinafter, “Nishio”), further in view of Rahman et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20200084006, hereinafter, “Rahman”).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon teaches:
An apparatus of wireless communication for a user equipment (UE), comprising (Jeon: [0179] As illustrated in FIG. 12, in step 1210, the UE is provided from a serving gNB ... Fig. 12):
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to (Jeon: [0052] As shown in FIG. 3, the UE 116 includes … [0055] The processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116 ... Fig. 3):
receive, from a network entity, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration comprising a set of sub-configurations, wherein each sub--configuration in the set of sub-configurations corresponds to a transmission setting associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Jeon: [0179] As illustrated in FIG. 12, in step 1210, the UE is provided from a serving gNB by a higher layer signaling a CSI report configuration including M sub-configurations, wherein i-th sub-configuration is associated with Ni CSI-RS resources from a set of N CSI-RS resources, ... In step 1220, the UE receives an indication from the serving gNB to send CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from the M CSI report sub-configurations. Fig. 12);
determine one or more selected CSIs corresponding to a subset of the set of sub-configurations (Jeon: [0180] The UE receives an indication from the serving gNB to provide a CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from M CSI report sub-configurations 1230. [0181] The UE determines CSI reports for L CSI report sub-configurations, wherein, for j-th sub-configuration, a CRI is selected from Nj CSI-RS resources and other CSI report quantities are derived for the CRI 1230. Fig. 12);
drop, based on an order indicator, one or more dropped CSIs to obtain the one or more selected CSIs (Jeon: [0207] The UE determines CSI payload from the CSI report for L sub-configurations according to a dropping rule that can be provided with a code rate that is not larger than the maximum code rate 1630 … the UE may be provided from the serving cell a particular order of dropping CSIs [i.e., order indicator] from the L (or M) CSI report sub-configuration indexes. In the CSI payload, the UE may indicate an actual number of reported CSIs, which may be different from the requested number of CSI report sub-configurations L, and a list of reported sub-configuration indexes.);.
Although Jeon teaches the UE receiving an indication from the serving gNB to provide a CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from M CSI report sub-configurations, and receiving a particular order of dropping CSIs [i.e., order indicator] from the L (or M) CSI report sub-configuration indexes, Jeon does not explicitly teach:
incorporate the one or more selected CSIs into one or more CSI reports based on the order indicator; and
transmit, to the network entity, one or more uplink control information (UCI) bit sequences comprising the one or more CSI reports based on the incorporation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nishio teaches:
incorporate the one or more selected CSIs into one or more CSI reports based on the order indicator (Nishio: [0050] In macro base station 100 shown in FIG. 5, control section 101 controls the CSI-RS (that is, transmission point) that is a CSI measurement and reporting target in each terminal 300 … [0053] … control section 101 determines at least one specific CSI-RS that is a CSI measurement target from among a plurality of CSI-RSs. Control section 101 generates the configuration of the determined CSI-RS (at least one specific CSI-RS) as a "CSI-RS measurement list (CML)." That is, the "CSI-RS measurement list" is determined using information indicating the specific CSI-RS, which is information relating to at least one CSI-RS corresponding to the reception power that satisfies the reporting condition among the plurality of CSI-RSs shown in the CSI-RS candidate list. Here, the CSI-RS measurement list may include information about the time/frequency resource of the CSI-RS or the like, or may use an identifier of the CSI-RS resource given in the CSI-RS candidate list (that is, information indicating the order of the CSI-RS configuration in the CSI-RS candidate list [i.e., order indicator]). When the identifier of the latter CSI-RS resource is used, it is possible to reduce the amount of information indicating the CSI-RS measurement list …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon to include the features as taught by Nishio above in order to reduce the overhead for CSI reporting. (Nishio, ¶ [0021]).
Although Jeon-Nishio teaches the UE receiving an indication from the serving gNB to provide a CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from M CSI report sub-configurations, and receiving a particular order of dropping CSIs [i.e., order indicator] from the L (or M) CSI report sub-configuration indexes, and using identifier to indicate ordering of CSI-RS candidate list, Jeon-Nishio does not explicitly teach:
transmit, to the network entity, one or more uplink control information (UCI) bit sequences comprising the one or more CSI reports based on the incorporation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rahman teaches:
transmit, to the network entity, one or more uplink control information (UCI) bit sequences comprising the one or more CSI reports based on the incorporation (Rahman : [0199] Next, in step 1304, the UE identifies the number of UCI parts for the CSI reporting. [0200] In one embodiment, a value of the number of UCI parts … equals two indicating that the UCI includes two parts (UCI 1 and UCI 2). [0201] In one embodiment, when the value of the number of UCI parts equals two indicating that the UCI includes two parts (UCI 1 and UCI 2) [i.e., UCI bit sequences]: the determined CSI report is partitioned into CSI 1 comprising CSI for N1 BSs and CSI 2 comprising CSI for N2 BSs … [0204] Subsequently, in step 1306, the UE determines a CSI report based on the identified number of UCI parts … [0206] Finally, in step 1310, the UE transmits, to the one or more identified BSs, via an uplink channel, a UCI including the determined CSI report…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio to include the features as taught by Rahman above in order to efficiently and effectively perform wireless data communication. (Rahman, ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Rahman further teaches:
further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein, to receive the CSI report configuration, the at least one processor is configured to receive the CSI report configuration via the transceiver, the one or more selected CSIs each include a first part (Rahman : [0198] As illustrated in FIG. 13, the method 1300 begins at step 1302. In step 1302, the UE receives, from at least one base station (BS) of a group of (N) BSs, channel state information (CSI) configuration information including a number of uplink control information (UCI) parts for a CSI reporting … [0119] … the information about the size of the CSI part i or UCI part i is configured to the UE. For example, such a configuration is signaled via DCI or higher layer (RRC) or MAC CE based signaling …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Rahman is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman discloses on the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Jeon further teaches:
incorporate the one or more selected CSIs into one CSI report, wherein the one CSI report includes an incorporated first part based on the first parts of the one or more selected CSIs (Jeon: [0120] ... For CSI reports transmitted on a PUCCH, if all CSI reports includes one part, the UE may omit a portion of CSI reports. Omission of CSI is according to the priority order determined from the Pri.sub.i,CSI(y,k,c,s) value as defined in 3GPP specification. CSI report is omitted beginning with the lowest priority level until the CSI report code rate is less or equal to the one configured by the higher layer parameter maxCodeRate …).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman discloses on the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Jeon further teaches:
multiplex the first parts of the one or more selected CSIs to form the first UCI bit sequence (Jeon: [0204] When, for example, a UE multiplexes in a PUCCH using a PUCCH resource several UCI types, including CSI reports associated with different network operating states, a number of REs of the PUCCH resource for the UCI multiplexing may not be sufficient to achieve a target UCI reliability, i.e., a resulting code rate exceeds a (maximum) code rate the UE is indicated by L1 or higher layers. Then, in order to reduce a code rate for the UCI, the UE can drop some of the UCI. In case the UE reports multiple CSIs corresponding to multiple network operating states (adaptation hypotheses), together with HARQ-ACK information or SR, a dropping rule for the multiple CSIs needs to be defined …).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman discloses on the features with respect to claim 8 as outlined above.
Jeon further teaches:
multiplex the second parts of the one or more selected CSIs to form the second UCI bit sequence (Jeon: [0213] ... However, it is also possible that the UE prioritizes the second CSI reports over one or more of the HARQ-ACK information/SR/first CSI reports. For example, the UE can prioritize multiplexing in the PUCCH of the second CSI report and drop (not multiplex) parts of the first CSI reports. The UE behavior for the prioritization of CSI reports associated with network operating states relative to other UCI in a PUCCH can be defined in the specifications of the system operation or can be indicated from a serving gNB by higher layers.).
Regarding claim 21, Jeon teaches:
An apparatus of wireless communication for a network entity, comprising (Jeon: [0179] As illustrated in FIG. 12, in step 1210, the UE is provided from a serving gNB ... Fig. 12):
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to (Jeon: [0043] As shown in FIG. 2, the gNB 102 includes … [0047] The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as processes for supporting a transmission of CSI reporting for multiple hypothesis in a wireless communication system. The controller/processor 225 can move data into or out of the memory 230 as required by an executing process. Fig. 2):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a channel state information (CSI) report configuration comprising a set of sub-configurations, wherein each sub--configuration in the set of sub-configurations corresponds to a transmission setting associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Jeon: [0179] As illustrated in FIG. 12, in step 1210, the UE is provided from a serving gNB by a higher layer signaling a CSI report configuration including M sub-configurations, wherein i-th sub-configuration is associated with Ni CSI-RS resources from a set of N CSI-RS resources, ... In step 1220, the UE receives an indication from the serving gNB to send CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from the M CSI report sub-configurations. Fig. 12);and
wherein one or more dropped CSIs are dropped according to an order indicator to obtain the one or more selected CSIs (Jeon: [0207] The UE determines CSI payload from the CSI report for L sub-configurations according to a dropping rule that can be provided with a code rate that is not larger than the maximum code rate 1630 … the UE may be provided from the serving cell a particular order of dropping CSIs [i.e., order indicator] from the L (or M) CSI report sub-configuration indexes. In the CSI payload, the UE may indicate an actual number of reported CSIs, which may be different from the requested number of CSI report sub-configurations L, and a list of reported sub-configuration indexes.).
Although Jeon teaches the UE receiving an indication from the serving gNB to provide a CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from M CSI report sub-configurations, and receiving a particular order of dropping CSIs [i.e., order indicator] from the L (or M) CSI report sub-configuration indexes, Jeon does not explicitly teach:
receive, from the UE, one or more uplink control information (UCI) bit sequences comprising one or more CSI reports incorporating one or more selected CSIs corresponding to a subset of the set of sub-configurations based on the order indicator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nishio teaches:
receive, from the UE, one or more CSI reports incorporating one or more selected CSIs corresponding to a subset of the set of sub-configurations based on the order indicator (Nishio: [0050] In macro base station 100 shown in FIG. 5, control section 101 controls the CSI-RS (that is, transmission point) that is a CSI measurement and reporting target in each terminal 300 … [0053] … control section 101 determines at least one specific CSI-RS that is a CSI measurement target from among a plurality of CSI-RSs. Control section 101 generates the configuration of the determined CSI-RS (at least one specific CSI-RS) as a "CSI-RS measurement list (CML)." That is, the "CSI-RS measurement list" is determined using information indicating the specific CSI-RS, which is information relating to at least one CSI-RS corresponding to the reception power that satisfies the reporting condition among the plurality of CSI-RSs shown in the CSI-RS candidate list. Here, the CSI-RS measurement list may include information about the time/frequency resource of the CSI-RS or the like, or may use an identifier of the CSI-RS resource given in the CSI-RS candidate list (that is, information indicating the order of the CSI-RS configuration in the CSI-RS candidate list [i.e., order indicator]). When the identifier of the latter CSI-RS resource is used, it is possible to reduce the amount of information indicating the CSI-RS measurement list …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon to include the features as taught by Nishio above in order to reduce the overhead for CSI reporting. (Nishio, ¶ [0021]).
Although Jeon-Nishio teaches the UE receiving an indication from the serving gNB to provide a CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from M CSI report sub-configurations, and receiving a particular order of dropping CSIs [i.e., order indicator] from the L (or M) CSI report sub-configuration indexes, and using identifier to indicate ordering of CSI-RS candidate list, Jeon-Nishio does not explicitly teach:
receive, from the UE, one or more uplink control information (UCI) bit sequences comprising one or more CSI reports incorporating one or more selected CSIs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rahman teaches:
receive, from the UE, one or more uplink control information (UCI) bit sequences comprising one or more CSI reports incorporating one or more selected CSIs (Rahman : [0199] Next, in step 1304, the UE identifies the number of UCI parts for the CSI reporting. [0200] In one embodiment, a value of the number of UCI parts … equals two indicating that the UCI includes two parts (UCI 1 and UCI 2). [0201] In one embodiment, when the value of the number of UCI parts equals two indicating that the UCI includes two parts (UCI 1 and UCI 2) [i.e., UCI bit sequences]: the determined CSI report is partitioned into CSI 1 comprising CSI for N1 BSs and CSI 2 comprising CSI for N2 BSs … [0204] Subsequently, in step 1306, the UE determines a CSI report based on the identified number of UCI parts … [0206] Finally, in step 1310, the UE transmits, to the one or more identified BSs, via an uplink channel, a UCI including the determined CSI report…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio to include the features as taught by Rahman above in order to efficiently and effectively perform wireless data communication. (Rahman, ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 22, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman discloses on the features with respect to claim 21 as outlined above.
Rahman further teaches:
further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein, to transmit the CSI report configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to transmit the CSI report configuration via the transceiver, and wherein the one or more selected CSIs each include a first part (Rahman : [0198] As illustrated in FIG. 13, the method 1300 begins at step 1302. In step 1302, the UE receives, from at least one base station (BS) of a group of (N) BSs, channel state information (CSI) configuration information including a number of uplink control information (UCI) parts for a CSI reporting … [0119] … the information about the size of the CSI part i or UCI part i is configured to the UE. For example, such a configuration is signaled via DCI or higher layer (RRC) or MAC CE based signaling …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Rahman is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 21.
Regarding claim 29, Jeon teaches:
A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (Jeon: [0179] As illustrated in FIG. 12, in step 1210, the UE is provided from a serving gNB ... Fig. 12):
receiving, from a network entity, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration comprising a set of sub-configurations, wherein each sub-configuration in the set of sub-configurations corresponds to a transmission setting associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Jeon: [0179] As illustrated in FIG. 12, in step 1210, the UE is provided from a serving gNB by a higher layer signaling a CSI report configuration including M sub-configurations, wherein i-th sub-configuration is associated with Ni CSI-RS resources from a set of N CSI-RS resources, ... In step 1220, the UE receives an indication from the serving gNB to send CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from the M CSI report sub-configurations. Fig. 12);
determining one or more selected CSIs corresponding to a subset of the set of sub- configurations (Jeon: [0180] The UE receives an indication from the serving gNB to provide a CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from M CSI report sub-configurations 1230. [0181] The UE determines CSI reports for L CSI report sub-configurations, wherein, for j-th sub-configuration, a CRI is selected from Nj CSI-RS resources and other CSI report quantities are derived for the CRI 1230. Fig. 12);
dropping, based on an order indicator, one or more dropped CSIs to obtain the one or more selected CSIs (Jeon: [0207] The UE determines CSI payload from the CSI report for L sub-configurations according to a dropping rule that can be provided with a code rate that is not larger than the maximum code rate 1630 … the UE may be provided from the serving cell a particular order of dropping CSIs [i.e., order indicator] from the L (or M) CSI report sub-configuration indexes. In the CSI payload, the UE may indicate an actual number of reported CSIs, which may be different from the requested number of CSI report sub-configurations L, and a list of reported sub-configuration indexes.).
Although Jeon teaches the UE receiving an indication from the serving gNB to provide a CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from M CSI report sub-configurations, and receiving a particular order of dropping CSIs [i.e., order indicator] from the L (or M) CSI report sub-configuration indexes, Jeon does not explicitly teach:
incorporating the one or more selected CSIs into one or more CSI reports based on the order indicator; and
transmitting, to the network entity, one or more uplink control information (UCI) bit sequences comprising the one or more CSI reports based on the incorporation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nishio teaches:
incorporating the one or more selected CSIs into one or more CSI reports based on the order indicator (Nishio: [0050] In macro base station 100 shown in FIG. 5, control section 101 controls the CSI-RS (that is, transmission point) that is a CSI measurement and reporting target in each terminal 300 … [0053] … control section 101 determines at least one specific CSI-RS that is a CSI measurement target from among a plurality of CSI-RSs. Control section 101 generates the configuration of the determined CSI-RS (at least one specific CSI-RS) as a "CSI-RS measurement list (CML)." That is, the "CSI-RS measurement list" is determined using information indicating the specific CSI-RS, which is information relating to at least one CSI-RS corresponding to the reception power that satisfies the reporting condition among the plurality of CSI-RSs shown in the CSI-RS candidate list. Here, the CSI-RS measurement list may include information about the time/frequency resource of the CSI-RS or the like, or may use an identifier of the CSI-RS resource given in the CSI-RS candidate list (that is, information indicating the order of the CSI-RS configuration in the CSI-RS candidate list [i.e., order indicator]). When the identifier of the latter CSI-RS resource is used, it is possible to reduce the amount of information indicating the CSI-RS measurement list …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon to include the features as taught by Nishio above in order to reduce the overhead for CSI reporting. (Nishio, ¶ [0021]).
Although Jeon-Nishio teaches the UE receiving an indication from the serving gNB to provide a CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from M CSI report sub-configurations, and receiving a particular order of dropping CSIs [i.e., order indicator] from the L (or M) CSI report sub-configuration indexes, and using identifier to indicate ordering of CSI-RS candidate list, Jeon-Nishio does not explicitly teach:
transmitting, to the network entity, one or more uplink control information (UCI) bit sequences comprising the one or more CSI reports based on the incorporation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rahman teaches:
transmitting, to the network entity, one or more uplink control information (UCI) bit sequences comprising the one or more CSI reports based on the incorporation (Rahman : [0199] Next, in step 1304, the UE identifies the number of UCI parts for the CSI reporting. [0200] In one embodiment, a value of the number of UCI parts … equals two indicating that the UCI includes two parts (UCI 1 and UCI 2). [0201] In one embodiment, when the value of the number of UCI parts equals two indicating that the UCI includes two parts (UCI 1 and UCI 2) [i.e., UCI bit sequences]: the determined CSI report is partitioned into CSI 1 comprising CSI for N1 BSs and CSI 2 comprising CSI for N2 BSs … [0204] Subsequently, in step 1306, the UE determines a CSI report based on the identified number of UCI parts … [0206] Finally, in step 1310, the UE transmits, to the one or more identified BSs, via an uplink channel, a UCI including the determined CSI report …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio to include the features as taught by Rahman above in order to efficiently and effectively perform wireless data communication. (Rahman, ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 30, Jeon teaches:
A method of wireless communication at a network entity, comprising (Jeon: [0179] As illustrated in FIG. 12, in step 1210, the UE is provided from a serving gNB ... Fig. 12):
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a channel state information (CSI) report configuration comprising a set of sub-configurations, wherein each sub-configuration in the set of sub-configurations corresponds to a transmission setting associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Jeon: [0179] As illustrated in FIG. 12, in step 1210, the UE is provided from a serving gNB by a higher layer signaling a CSI report configuration including M sub-configurations, wherein i-th sub-configuration is associated with Ni CSI-RS resources from a set of N CSI-RS resources, ... In step 1220, the UE receives an indication from the serving gNB to send CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from the M CSI report sub-configurations. Fig. 12); and
wherein one or more dropped CSIs are dropped according to an order indicator to obtain the one or more selected CSIs (Jeon: [0207] The UE determines CSI payload from the CSI report for L sub-configurations according to a dropping rule that can be provided with a code rate that is not larger than the maximum code rate 1630 … the UE may be provided from the serving cell a particular order of dropping CSIs [i.e., order indicator] from the L (or M) CSI report sub-configuration indexes. In the CSI payload, the UE may indicate an actual number of reported CSIs, which may be different from the requested number of CSI report sub-configurations L, and a list of reported sub-configuration indexes.).
Although Jeon teaches the UE receiving an indication from the serving gNB to provide a CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from M CSI report sub-configurations, and receiving a particular order of dropping CSIs [i.e., order indicator] from the L (or M) CSI report sub-configuration indexes, Jeon does not explicitly teach:
receiving, from the UE, one or more uplink control information (UCI) bit sequences comprising one or more CSI reports incorporating one or more selected CSIs corresponding to a subset of the set of sub-configurations based on the order indicator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nishio teaches:
receiving, from the UE, one or more CSI reports incorporating one or more selected CSIs corresponding to a subset of the set of sub-configurations based on the order indicator (Nishio: [0050] In macro base station 100 shown in FIG. 5, control section 101 controls the CSI-RS (that is, transmission point) that is a CSI measurement and reporting target in each terminal 300 … [0053] … control section 101 determines at least one specific CSI-RS that is a CSI measurement target from among a plurality of CSI-RSs. Control section 101 generates the configuration of the determined CSI-RS (at least one specific CSI-RS) as a "CSI-RS measurement list (CML)." That is, the "CSI-RS measurement list" is determined using information indicating the specific CSI-RS, which is information relating to at least one CSI-RS corresponding to the reception power that satisfies the reporting condition among the plurality of CSI-RSs shown in the CSI-RS candidate list. Here, the CSI-RS measurement list may include information about the time/frequency resource of the CSI-RS or the like, or may use an identifier of the CSI-RS resource given in the CSI-RS candidate list (that is, information indicating the order of the CSI-RS configuration in the CSI-RS candidate list [i.e., order indicator]). When the identifier of the latter CSI-RS resource is used, it is possible to reduce the amount of information indicating the CSI-RS measurement list …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon to include the features as taught by Nishio above in order to reduce the overhead for CSI reporting. (Nishio, ¶ [0021]).
Although Jeon-Nishio teaches the UE receiving an indication from the serving gNB to provide a CSI report for L CSI report sub-configurations from M CSI report sub-configurations, and receiving a particular order of dropping CSIs [i.e., order indicator] from the L (or M) CSI report sub-configuration indexes, and using identifier to indicate ordering of CSI-RS candidate list, Jeon-Nishio does not explicitly teach:
receiving, from the UE, one or more uplink control information (UCI) bit sequences comprising one or more CSI reports incorporating one or more selected CSIs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rahman teaches:
receiving, from the UE, one or more uplink control information (UCI) bit sequences comprising one or more CSI reports incorporating one or more selected CSIs (Rahman : [0199] Next, in step 1304, the UE identifies the number of UCI parts for the CSI reporting. [0200] In one embodiment, a value of the number of UCI parts … equals two indicating that the UCI includes two parts (UCI 1 and UCI 2). [0201] In one embodiment, when the value of the number of UCI parts equals two indicating that the UCI includes two parts (UCI 1 and UCI 2) [i.e., UCI bit sequences]: the determined CSI report is partitioned into CSI 1 comprising CSI for N1 BSs and CSI 2 comprising CSI for N2 BSs … [0204] Subsequently, in step 1306, the UE determines a CSI report based on the identified number of UCI parts … [0206] Finally, in step 1310, the UE transmits, to the one or more identified BSs, via an uplink channel, a UCI including the determined CSI report…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio to include the features as taught by Rahman above in order to efficiently and effectively perform wireless data communication. (Rahman, ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 31, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman discloses on the features with respect to claim 29 as outlined above.
Rahman further teaches:
wherein the one or more selected CSIs each include a first part (Rahman : [0198] As illustrated in FIG. 13, the method 1300 begins at step 1302. In step 1302, the UE receives, from at least one base station (BS) of a group of (N) BSs, channel state information (CSI) configuration information including a number of uplink control information (UCI) parts for a CSI reporting … [0119] … the information about the size of the CSI part i or UCI part i is configured to the UE. For example, such a configuration is signaled via DCI or higher layer (RRC) or MAC CE based signaling …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Rahman is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 29.
Claims 4-5 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon-Nishio-Rahman in view of Myung (WIPO (PCT) Patent Application Publication, WO2024172504A1, hereinafter, “Myung”).
Regarding claim 4, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman discloses on the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above.
Jeon-Nishio-Rahman does not explicitly teach:
concatenate the first parts of the one or more selected CSIs corresponding to the subset of the set of sub-configurations to form the incorporated first part for the one CSI report.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Myung teaches:
concatenate the first parts of the one or more selected CSIs corresponding to the subset of the set of sub-configurations to form the incorporated first part for the one CSI report (Myung: [0124] … Approach 2: CSI mapping order for CSI Part 1 or Part 2 and CSI omission/priority rule are performed per sub-configuration - CSI Part 1: CSI quantities (such as CRI, RI and CQI when applicable) corresponding to each sub-configuration is separately generated then concatenated into a single bit sequence for CSI part 1 for the CSI report configuration - CSI part 2: two priority reporting levels can be allocated to each sub-configuration, i.e., 2 x N priority reporting levels in total …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio-Rahman to include the features as taught by Myung above in order to efficiently transmit and receive a reference signal and a measurement report. (Myung, ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Myung discloses on the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above.
Myung further teaches:
concatenate the second parts of the one or more selected CSIs to form the incorporated second part of the one CSI report (Myung: [0124] … Approach 2: CSI mapping order for CSI Part 1 or Part 2 and CSI omission/priority rule are performed per sub-configuration - CSI Part 1: CSI quantities (such as CRI, RI and CQI when applicable) corresponding to each sub-configuration is separately generated then concatenated into a single bit sequence for CSI part 1 for the CSI report configuration - CSI part 2: two priority reporting levels can be allocated to each sub-configuration, i.e., 2 x N priority reporting levels in total …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Myung is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 4.
Regarding claim 23, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman discloses on the features with respect to claim 22 as outlined above.
Jeon further teaches:
receive one CSI report comprising the one or more selected CSIs corresponding to the subset of the set of sub-configurations, wherein the one CSI report includes an incorporated first part based on (Jeon: [0120] ... For CSI reports transmitted on a PUCCH, if all CSI reports includes one part, the UE may omit a portion of CSI reports. Omission of CSI is according to the priority order determined from the Pri.sub.i,CSI(y,k,c,s) value as defined in 3GPP specification. CSI report is omitted beginning with the lowest priority level until the CSI report code rate is less or equal to the one configured by the higher layer parameter maxCodeRate …).
Jeon-Nishio-Rahman does not explicitly teach:
a concatenation of the first parts of the one or more selected CSIs corresponding to the subset of the set of sub-configurations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Myung teaches:
a concatenation of the first parts of the one or more selected CSIs corresponding to the subset of the set of sub-configurations (Myung: [0124] … Approach 2: CSI mapping order for CSI Part 1 or Part 2 and CSI omission/priority rule are performed per sub-configuration - CSI Part 1: CSI quantities (such as CRI, RI and CQI when applicable) corresponding to each sub-configuration is separately generated then concatenated into a single bit sequence for CSI part 1 for the CSI report configuration - CSI part 2: two priority reporting levels can be allocated to each sub-configuration, i.e., 2 x N priority reporting levels in total …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio-Rahman to include the features as taught by Myung above in order to efficiently transmit and receive a reference signal and a measurement report. (Myung, ¶ [0003]).
Claims 6-7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon-Nishio-Rahman in view of Yi et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240388345, hereinafter, “Yi”).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman discloses on the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above.
Jeon-Nishio-Rahman does not explicitly teach:
multiplex the first parts of the one or more selected CSIs corresponding to the subset of the set of sub-configurations to form the incorporated first part for the one CSI report.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches:
multiplex the first parts of the one or more selected CSIs corresponding to the subset of the set of sub-configurations to form the incorporated first part for the one CSI report (Yi: [0294] Referring to FIG. 20, for energy saving of the base station, the base station may indicate to transmit N CSI reports through CSI-reportConfig having N sub-configurations corresponding to multiple SD patterns. Thereafter, the priorities of the respective N CSI reports may be determined through the method of the first embodiment. Thereafter, the terminal may sequentially multiplex the full CSI report [CSI report#0, CSI PART1], based on the priorities (2001) …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio-Rahman to include the features as taught by Yi above in order to provide energy saving. (Yi, ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Yi discloses on the features with respect to claim 6 as outlined above.
Yi further teaches:
multiplex the second parts of the one or more selected CSIs to form the incorporated second part for the one CSI report (Yi: [0294] Referring to FIG. 20, for energy saving of the base station, the base station may indicate to transmit N CSI reports through CSI-reportConfig having N sub-configurations corresponding to multiple SD patterns. Thereafter, the priorities of the respective N CSI reports may be determined through the method of the first embodiment. Thereafter, the terminal may sequentially multiplex the full CSI report [CSI report#0, CSI PART2], based on the priorities (2001) …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Yi is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Jeon-Nishio-Rahman does not explicitly teach:
transmit the one or more CSI reports according to a first report priority of the one or more CSI reports, wherein the first report priority is based on a first number of sub--configurations in the subset of sub-configurations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches:
transmit the one or more CSI reports according to a first report priority of the one or more CSI reports, wherein the first report priority is based on a first number of sub--configurations in the subset of sub-configurations (Yi: [0342] In this case, as described in the scheduled PUSCH resource 1804 of FIG. 18, CSI part 1 of the sub-configurations is always transmitted first [i.e., first report priority], and then a level-by-level CSI part 2 dropping rule according the UL resource may be applied. To this end, new priority reporting levels for Part 2 CSI of sub-configuration may be defined as shown in Table 14 below. Alternatively, a configuration of a sub-configuration level may be added to the existing priority rule table.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio-Rahman to include the features as taught by Yi above in order to provide energy saving. (Yi, ¶ [0002]).
Claims 10-12, 14-15, 24-25, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon-Nishio-Rahman in view of Deghel et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250266885, hereinafter, “Deghel”).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman discloses on the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
Jeon-Nishio-Rahman does not explicitly teach:
wherein the order indicator includes a sequence of sub--configuration indices indicating an order for the corresponding sub-configurations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deghel teaches:
wherein the order indicator includes a sequence of sub--configuration indices indicating an order for the corresponding sub-configurations (Deghel: [0078] By use of one or more of Option 1 and Option 2, the MAC CE may include at least one field to indicate activation or deactivation of the sub-configurations of CSI report configuration(s). In some embodiments, this indication may be in form of a codepoint representing index of a sub-configuration to activate or deactivate or representing a set of sub-configurations to activate or deactivate ... Alternatively, a number of sub-configurations to activate or deactivate may be indicated, and the UE follows a defined order (based on specifications or configuration) to determine the sub-configuration(s) to activate or deactivate, such as by e.g., considering the sub-configurations with lowest/highest index or identity first [i.e., an order].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio-Rahman to include the features as taught by Deghel above in order to provide enhanced channel state information (CSI) activation/deactivation. (Deghel, ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel discloses on the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Deghel further teaches:
wherein the order for the corresponding sub--configurations is from a first sub-configuration index to a last sub-configuration index in the sequence of sub-configuration indices (Deghel: [0078] By use of one or more of Option 1 and Option 2, the MAC CE may include at least one field to indicate activation or deactivation of the sub-configurations of CSI report configuration(s) ... Alternatively, a number of sub-configurations to activate or deactivate may be indicated, and the UE follows a defined order (based on specifications or configuration) to determine the sub-configuration(s) to activate or deactivate, such as by e.g., considering the sub-configurations with lowest/highest index or identity first.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Deghel is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel discloses on the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Deghel further teaches:
wherein the order for the corresponding sub--configurations is from a last sub-configuration index to a first sub-configuration index in the sequence of sub-configuration indices (Deghel: [0078] By use of one or more of Option 1 and Option 2, the MAC CE may include at least one field to indicate activation or deactivation of the sub-configurations of CSI report configuration(s) ... Alternatively, a number of sub-configurations to activate or deactivate may be indicated, and the UE follows a defined order (based on specifications or configuration) to determine the sub-configuration(s) to activate or deactivate, such as by e.g., considering the sub-configurations with lowest/highest index or identity first.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Deghel is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 10.
Regarding claim 14, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel discloses on the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Deghel further teaches:
receive, from the network entity, a medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE) for the one or more CSI reports, wherein the MAC-CE includes the order indicator (Deghel: [0078] By use of one or more of Option 1 and Option 2, the MAC CE may include at least one field to indicate activation or deactivation of the sub-configurations of CSI report configuration(s) … a number of sub-configurations to activate or deactivate may be indicated, and the UE follows a defined order (based on … configuration) to determine the sub-configuration(s) to activate or deactivate, such as by e.g., considering the sub-configurations with lowest/highest index or identity first.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Deghel is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 10.
Regarding claim 15, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel discloses on the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Deghel further teaches:
wherein the one or more CSI reports are periodic CSI (P-CSI) reports, and the CSI report configuration includes the order indicator (Deghel: [Table 5 under [0054]] Agreement For a CSI report config with L sub-configuration(s), support a framework that enables a UE toreport N CSI(s) in one reporting instance where the N CSI(s) are associated with N sub-configuration(s) from L (where) and each CSI corresponds to one sub-configuration … For Periodic CSI reporting, at least the case of N=L is supported where N>=1.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Deghel is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 10.
Regarding claim 24, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman discloses on the features with respect to claim 21 as outlined above.
Jeon-Nishio-Rahman does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more selected CSIs corresponding to the subset of the set of sub-configurations in the one or more CSI reports are based on an order indicator, wherein the order indicator includes a sequence of sub-configuration indices indicating an order for the corresponding sub-configurations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Deghel teaches:
wherein the one or more selected CSIs corresponding to the subset of the set of sub-configurations in the one or more CSI reports are based on an order indicator, wherein the order indicator includes a sequence of sub-configuration indices indicating an order for the corresponding sub-configurations (Deghel: [0078] By use of one or more of Option 1 and Option 2, the MAC CE may include at least one field to indicate activation or deactivation of the sub-configurations of CSI report configuration(s) … a number of sub-configurations to activate or deactivate may be indicated, and the UE follows a defined order (based on … configuration) to determine the sub-configuration(s) to activate or deactivate, such as by e.g., considering the sub-configurations with lowest/highest index or identity first.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio-Rahman to include the features as taught by Deghel above in order to provide enhanced channel state information (CSI) activation/deactivation. (Deghel, ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 25, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel discloses on the features with respect to claim 24 as outlined above.
Deghel further teaches:
wherein the order for the corresponding sub-configurations is one of:
from a first sub-configuration index to a last sub-configuration index in the sequence of sub-configuration indices (Deghel: [0078] By use of one or more of Option 1 and Option 2, the MAC CE may include at least one field to indicate activation or deactivation of the sub-configurations of CSI report configuration(s) ... Alternatively, a number of sub-configurations to activate or deactivate may be indicated, and the UE follows a defined order (based on specifications or configuration) to determine the sub-configuration(s) to activate or deactivate, such as by e.g., considering the sub-configurations with lowest/highest index or identity first.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Deghel is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 24.
Regarding claim 27, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel discloses on the features with respect to claim 25 as outlined above.
Deghel further teaches:
wherein the one or more CSI reports are semi-persistent CSI (SP-CSI) reports on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the network entity to (Deghel: [0050] Semi-persistent CSI reporting on the PUCCH supports Type I CSI. Semi-persistent CSI reporting on the PUCCH format 2 supports Type I CSI with wideband frequency granularity. Semi-persistent CSI reporting on PUCCH formats 3 or 4 supports Type I CSI with wideband and sub-band frequency granularities and Type II CSI Part 1.):
transmit, to the UE, a medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE) for the one or more CSI reports, wherein the MAC-CE includes the order indicator (Deghel: [0078] By use of one or more of Option 1 and Option 2, the MAC CE may include at least one field to indicate activation or deactivation of the sub-configurations of CSI report configuration(s) … a number of sub-configurations to activate or deactivate may be indicated, and the UE follows a defined order (based on … configuration) to determine the sub-configuration(s) to activate or deactivate, such as by e.g., considering the sub-configurations with lowest/highest index or identity first.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Deghel is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 24.
Regarding claim 28, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel discloses on the features with respect to claim 25 as outlined above.
Deghel further teaches:
wherein the one or more CSI reports are periodic CSI (P-CSI) reports, and wherein the CSI report configuration includes the order indicator (Deghel: [Table 5 under 0054] Agreement For a CSI report config with L sub-configuration(s), support a framework that enables a UE toreport N CSI(s) in one reporting instance where the N CSI(s) are associated with N sub-configuration(s) from L (where) and each CSI corresponds to one sub-configuration … For Periodic CSI reporting, at least the case of N=L is supported where N>=1.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Deghel is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 24.
Claims 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel in view of Jeon et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240284223, hereinafter, “Jeon ‘223”).
Regarding claim 13, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel discloses on the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above.
Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more CSI reports are aperiodic CSI (A-CSI) reports or semi-persistent CSI (SP-CSI) reports on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
receive, from the network entity, downlink control information (DCI) activating a trigger state for the one or more CSI reports, wherein the trigger state includes the order indicator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon ‘223 teaches:
wherein the one or more CSI reports are aperiodic CSI (A-CSI) reports or semi-persistent CSI (SP-CSI) reports on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
receive, from the network entity, downlink control information (DCI) activating a trigger state for the one or more CSI reports, wherein the trigger state includes the order indicator (Jeon ‘223: [0136] In one example, the UE (e.g., UE 116) receives an indication from the serving gNB for one or more indexes to CSI report sub-configurations, from the set of configurations provided in the CSI report configuration by higher layers, via a PDCCH providing DCI indicating a trigger state defining a set of CSI report sub-configurations, which is also provided by higher layers. An existing DCI format can be used, or a new DCI format can be defined. For instance, for a semi-persistent or an aperiodic CSI report on PUSCH, DCI format 0_1 can indicate an index to a trigger state, which refers to a subset of CSI report sub-configurations from the set of CSI report sub-configurations associated with the CSI report ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel to include the features as taught by Jeon ‘223 above in order to provide enhancements for channel state information (CSI) measurement and reporting. (Jeon ‘223, ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claim 26, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel discloses on the features with respect to claim 25 as outlined above.
Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more CSI reports are aperiodic CSI (A-CSI) reports or semi-persistent CSI (SP-CSI) reports on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the network entity to:
transmit, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) activating a trigger state for the one or more CSI reports, wherein the trigger state includes the order indicator.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon ‘223 teaches:
wherein the one or more CSI reports are aperiodic CSI (A-CSI) reports or semi-persistent CSI (SP-CSI) reports on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the network entity to (Jeon ‘223: [0106] For semi-persistent CSI reporting on PUSCH, a CSI report is triggered using a ‘CSI Request’ field in a DCI format 0_1 with CRC scrambled by a SP-CSI-RNTI. The operating details are similar to those for an aperiodic CSI report.):
transmit, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) activating a trigger state for the one or more CSI reports, wherein the trigger state includes the order indicator (Jeon ‘223: [0136] In one example, the UE (e.g., UE 116) receives an indication from the serving gNB for one or more indexes to CSI report sub-configurations, from the set of configurations provided in the CSI report configuration by higher layers, via a PDCCH providing DCI indicating a trigger state defining a set of CSI report sub-configurations, which is also provided by higher layers. An existing DCI format can be used, or a new DCI format can be defined. For instance, for a semi-persistent or an aperiodic CSI report on PUSCH, DCI format 0_1 can indicate an index to a trigger state, which refers to a subset of CSI report sub-configurations from the set of CSI report sub-configurations associated with the CSI report ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Deghel to include the features as taught by Jeon ‘223 above in order to provide enhancements for channel state information (CSI) measurement and reporting. (Jeon ‘223, ¶ [0002]).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Yi in view of Jeon et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240284223, hereinafter, “Jeon ‘223”).
Regarding claim 18, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Yi discloses on the features with respect to claim 17 as outlined above.
Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Yi does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first report priority of the one or more CSI reports with more than one sub-configuration in the subset of sub-configurations is equal to a second report priority for a second CSI report with one sub-configuration in the subset of sub-configurations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon ‘223 teaches:
wherein the first report priority of the one or more CSI reports with more than one sub-configuration in the subset of sub-configurations is equal to a second report priority for a second CSI report with one sub-configuration in the subset of sub-configurations (Jeon ‘223: [0173] When a UE multiplexes several UCI types in a PUCCH, a number of REs for the UCI multiplexing in the PUCCH may not be sufficient for a resulting code rate to be smaller than or equal to a code rate the UE is indicated by L1 or higher layers. Then, in order to reduce a code rate, the UE can drop some of the UCI. In case the UE reports multiple CSIs associated with multiple candidate SD/PD configurations, together with HARQ-ACK information or SR or CSI for a current SD/PD configuration, a priority for the multiple CSIs when the UE needs to drop some UCI needs to be defined. In one approach, the UE drops CSIs from the multiple CSIs sequentially, for example in a descending order of a corresponding index or all of the multiple CSIs [i.e., equal priority], until a resulting code rate is smaller than or equal to the indicated code rate …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Yi to include the features as taught by Jeon ‘223 above in order to provide enhancements for channel state information (CSI) measurement and reporting. (Jeon ‘223, ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claim 19, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Yi discloses on the features with respect to claim 17 as outlined above.
Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Yi does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first report priority of the one or more CSI reports with more than one sub-configuration in the subset of sub-configurations is higher than a second report priority for a second CSI report with one sub-configuration in the subset of sub-configurations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon ‘223 teaches:
wherein the first report priority of the one or more CSI reports with more than one sub-configuration in the subset of sub-configurations is higher than a second report priority for a second CSI report with one sub-configuration in the subset of sub-configurations (Jeon ‘223: [0173] When a UE multiplexes several UCI types in a PUCCH, a number of REs for the UCI multiplexing in the PUCCH may not be sufficient for a resulting code rate to be smaller than or equal to a code rate the UE is indicated by L1 or higher layers. Then, in order to reduce a code rate, the UE can drop some of the UCI. In case the UE reports multiple CSIs associated with multiple candidate SD/PD configurations, together with HARQ-ACK information or SR or CSI for a current SD/PD configuration, a priority for the multiple CSIs when the UE needs to drop some UCI needs to be defined. In one approach, the UE drops CSIs from the multiple CSIs sequentially, for example in a descending order of a corresponding index or all of the multiple CSIs, until a resulting code rate is smaller than or equal to the indicated code rate. In another approach, a priority order for the multiple CSIs is indicated to the UE by a serving gNB via higher layers. For example, the priority for reporting the multiple CSIs can be indicated to be larger than the priority for reporting the CSI for a current SD/PD configuration. For example, a first (indicated or specified) number of the multiple CSI reports can have larger priority than the CSI for a current SD/PD configuration and the remaining of the multiple CSI reports can have lower priority).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Yi to include the features as taught by Jeon ‘223 above in order to provide enhancements for channel state information (CSI) measurement and reporting. (Jeon ‘223, ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claim 20, Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Yi discloses on the features with respect to claim 17 as outlined above.
Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Yi does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first report priority of the one or more CSI reports with more than one sub-configuration in the subset of sub-configurations is lower than a second report priority for a second CSI report with one sub-configuration in the subset of sub-configurations.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon ‘223 teaches:
wherein the first report priority of the one or more CSI reports with more than one sub-configuration in the subset of sub-configurations is lower than a second report priority for a second CSI report with one sub-configuration in the subset of sub-configurations (Jeon ‘223: [0173] When a UE multiplexes several UCI types in a PUCCH, a number of REs for the UCI multiplexing in the PUCCH may not be sufficient for a resulting code rate to be smaller than or equal to a code rate the UE is indicated by L1 or higher layers. Then, in order to reduce a code rate, the UE can drop some of the UCI. In case the UE reports multiple CSIs associated with multiple candidate SD/PD configurations, together with HARQ-ACK information or SR or CSI for a current SD/PD configuration, a priority for the multiple CSIs when the UE needs to drop some UCI needs to be defined. In one approach, the UE drops CSIs from the multiple CSIs sequentially, for example in a descending order of a corresponding index or all of the multiple CSIs, until a resulting code rate is smaller than or equal to the indicated code rate. In another approach, a priority order for the multiple CSIs is indicated to the UE by a serving gNB via higher layers. For example, the priority for reporting the multiple CSIs can be indicated to be larger than the priority for reporting the CSI for a current SD/PD configuration. For example, a first (indicated or specified) number of the multiple CSI reports can have larger priority than the CSI for a current SD/PD configuration and the remaining of the multiple CSI reports can have lower priority).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Jeon-Nishio-Rahman-Yi to include the features as taught by Jeon ‘223 above in order to provide enhancements for channel state information (CSI) measurement and reporting. (Jeon ‘223, ¶ [0002]).
Conclusion
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416