DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9 with traverse in the reply filed on 05/01/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). As such, non-elected claims 10-20 are being withdrawn as to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN 113358316 A.
CN 113358316 A discloses doping natural gas (methane) flowing within a pipeline with both hydrogen gas (H2) and a liquid volume/carrier containing a corrosion inhibitor, see abstract, paragraphs [0060]-[0072] and claims. Applicant’s claims are thus deemed to be directly anticipated over CN 113358316 A said disclosure.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113358316 A in view of Moloney U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2017/0247798 A1.
CN 113358316 A has been described above and differs from Applicant’s claimed invention in that the reference does not seem to explicitly disclose what types of corrosion inhibitors are used.
Moloney discloses a corrosion inhibiting composition is provided which comprises a salt of a fatty acid-amine condensate and an aromatic solvent. The composition can be used in reducing, inhibiting or preventing corrosion of a metal surface used in recovery, transportation, refining or storage of a hydrocarbon fluid containing elemental sulfur or polysulfide, see abstract.
Moloney paragraph [0078] reads as followed: “The fluid or gas in which the composition is introduced can be contained in and/or exposed to many different types of apparatuses. For example, the fluid or gas can be contained in an apparatus that transports fluid or gas from one point to another, such as an oil and/or gas pipelines. The apparatus can be part of an oil and/or gas refinery, such as a pipeline, a separation vessel, a dehydration unit, or a gas line. The composition can be introduced to large diameter flow lines of from about 1 inch to about 4 feet in diameter, small gathering lines, small flow lines and headers. The fluid can be contained in and/or exposed to an apparatus used in oil extraction and/or production, such as a wellhead. The apparatus can be part of a coal-fired power plant. The apparatus can be a scrubber (e.g., a wet flue gas desulfurizer, a spray dry absorber, a dry sorbent injector, a spray tower, a contact or bubble tower, or the like). The apparatus can be a cargo vessel, a storage vessel, a holding tank, or a pipeline connecting the tanks, vessels, or processing units. The fluid or gas can be contained in water systems, condensate/oil systems/gas systems, or any combination thereof.”.
It would have been very obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the disclosure of the secondary reference to Moloney as strong motivation to actually use a corrosion inhibitor comprising a salt of a fatty acid-amine condensate and an aromatic solvent as the corrosion inhibitor used in CN 113358316 A process of doping natural gas with hydrogen. As stated above, both references are in the same filed of endeavor.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113358316 A.
CN 113358316 A has been described above and differs from Applicant’s claimed invention in that it is unclear if the hydrogen gas is combined with a hydrocarbon before being added to the natural gas medium.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art actually combine the hydrogen gas with a hydrocarbon carrier prior to its addition to the natural gas stream. Such is an obvious addition to one having ordinary skill in the art because it would improve the dissolubility of the hydrogen gas within the natural gas medium.
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2013/0313165 A1.
Kim et al. discloses a method of simultaneously removing sulfur and mercury from a hydrocarbon material, such as crude oil, natural gas and natural gas condensate as well as the gas, light naphtha, heavy naphtha, kerosene, light gas oil (LGO), heavy gas oil (HGO), atmospheric oil residues and the like comprising: hydrotreating (i.e. contacting with hydrogen gas) the hydrocarbon material containing sulfur and mercury in the presence of a catalyst including a metal supported with a carrier to convert sulfur into hydrogen sulfide, and adsorb mercury on a metal active site or a carrier of the catalyst in the form of mercury sulfide, see abstract, paragraph [0005] and claim 1. Said process results in a hydrocarbon product which is much better suited for further petrochemical processes, see paragraph [0006].
Kim et al. further discloses comprising adding a sulfur compound, such as at least one selected from the group consisting of hydrogen sulfide, dimethylsulfide (DMS), dimethyldisulfide (DMDS), diethylsulfide (DES), diethyldisulfide (DEDS), and sour gas to the hydrocarbon material, see Examples 2-4 and claims 7-9. Please note that said sulfur compounds are known in the art to function as corrosion inhibitors of metal surfaces.
Applicant’s claims are thus deemed to be directly anticipated over Kim et al.’s said disclosure.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2013/0313165 A1.
Kim et al. has been described above and differs from Applicant’s claimed invention in that it is unclear if the hydrogen gas is combined with a hydrocarbon before being added to the hydrocarbon material/medium.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art actually combine the hydrogen gas with a hydrocarbon carrier prior to its addition to the hydrocarbon material/medium. Such is an obvious addition to one having ordinary skill in the art because it would improve the dissolubility of the hydrogen gas within the hydrocarbon material/medium.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 19 of copending Application No. 18/804,570 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims are deemed to be a subset of the pending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/JOSEPH D ANTHONY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764