DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In p6/l16-24 through p7/l1-6, the applicant argues that the portion of 21 present in the asperities is not able to be the second sealing portion because the asperities are only found on the end face of the electrode active material of Honda. This is not persuasive because the asperities at the ends of the electrode active material would also create asperities along the edges indicated in the annotated Fig. 21 below.
The asperities created on these edges would be asperities on the side faces of 11a/b which would also be filled with 21, meaning the part of 21 filling these asperities along the edges of 11a/b meets the structural requirements of the second sealing portion of the amended claim 1.
On p8/l1-7, the applicant further argues against a combination of embodiments that is not what the examiner has presented. The examiner’s proposed combination of embodiments does not comprise changing the counter-electrode insulating layer from the z-axis direction to the x-axis direction. The examiner instead indicates that the presence of the insulating layer inside the asperities of 11a/b would mean that a portion of the insulating material would fill the asperities on the edges indicated in the annotated figure above. This would maintain the original positioning of the counter electrode layer along the z-axis while also providing a second portion that is present that extends into the x-axis direction in these asperities on the edges of 11a/b. For these reasons, this argument is not persuasive and the examiner will maintain the same interpretation of the cited art in the rejection of the amended claim 1.
There are key differences between the cited art and the instant which the applicant has not argued but that the examiner finds relevant to potential future amendments:
1. The cited reference differs from the instant in that the process of manufacture taught in the cited reference involves forming the sealing member following the lamination of the electrode active material layers, current collectors, and electrolyte layers (see Fig. 22). This differs from the method of the instant where the sealing member is provided before the lamination process, and it is this process that creates the second portion of the sealing member of the instant’s claim 1.
2. The sealing portions of the instant cover only the active material layers and the current collectors, and does not cover the separator/electrolyte layer. This differs from the cited reference which only teaches that the sealing portion may be provided to not cover a portion of the electrolyte layer 130 [0134], but does not depict any specific embodiments where this is true.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim limitation “length of the second sealing portion” in claim 6 is indefinite because the length direction has not been adequately defined in the claim language. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine which dimension of the second sealing portion is being compared to the thickness of the first sealing portion because the direction of the measurement has not been adequately defined.
For the purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting the length is measured in a depth direction of Fig. 2C, in other words length along the axis which the cross section is viewed down.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20240222809-A1, Honda.
Regarding claim 1, Honda teaches an electrode (110) for a battery, comprising:
a laminate (110) including an active material layer (112) and a current collector (111); and
a sealing portion (1021) covering an end portion surface (End face of laminate viewed down x-axis, see Fig. 5) of the laminate, wherein
the laminate includes two principal faces (surface of 111 and 112 facing each other) that face each other, and an end face (End face of laminate viewed down x-axis, see Fig. 5) that is a surface that is different from the two principal faces (See Fig. 21),
the end portion surface includes the end face, and an adjacent face that is a portion adjacent to the end face on each of the two principal faces (portions of principal faces which extend from the end face to where the sealing portion in the asperities ends, Paragraph 282).
the adjacent face includes one or more asperities (Paragraph 282),
the sealing portion includes a first sealing portion (1021 covering 11a and 11b that are visible in Fig. 21) covering the end face, and a second sealing portion covering at least part of the adjacent face (Portion of 21 which is present in the asperities, see Paragraph 282), and
the first sealing portion and the second sealing portion are connected (Paragraph 131-137, the sealing portion is described as being in one piece and there is nothing to suggest that the embodiment in Fig. 21 is any different).
Honda further teaches the second sealing portion is present in one or more recessed portions of the one or more asperities of the adjacent face (Paragraph 282).
Honda does not teach the second sealing portion does not include a portion higher than a height position of the one or more asperities, the height position being highest in the one or more asperities.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention would have found it obvious while implementing the embodiment in Fig. 21 to form the electrode insulating layer 21 to not cover a part of the solid electrolyte layer 130 as described in Paragraph 134. It would have been obvious to do so because doing so would amount to no more than combining elements from different embodiments of the same invention to achieve predictable results.
Honda teaches further teaches the two principal faces are perpendicular to a laminating direction (z-axis, see Figs. 1A-C or Fig. 21) of the laminate; and the end face is parallel to the laminating direction of the laminate (See Figs. 1A-C).
Regarding claim 3, Honda teaches a battery (1) comprising the electrode.
Regarding claim 4, Honda teaches the battery is an all-solid-state battery (Paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 5:
The teachings of Honda are taught above in the rejections of claims 1-4.
Honda also teaches, A manufacturing method of the electrode (Fig. 22), the manufacturing method comprising:
a first step (S10) of preparing the laminate including the active material layer and the current collector;
a second step (S30) of coating a liquid containing a material of the sealing portion on the end portion surface of the laminate; and
a third step (S20) of shaping the second sealing portion by pressing the laminate in a laminating direction (Paragraph 297). See Paragraphs 284 through 296 for detailed descriptions of the process of Fig. 22.
Honda does not teach that the material of the sealing portion is pressed into the one or more recessed portions of the adjacent face during S20, nor that these steps are performed in the order of the instant.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention would have found it obvious that switching S20 and S30 would produce a predictable and similar result to the final product of Honda. During this switch, the material of the sealing portion would predictably be pressed into the recessed portions of the adjacent face.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant would have found the above modification to the process of manufacture to be obvious, as it would amount to no more than changing the order of S20 and S30 in the procedure which would predictably produce the same final product as the original order. Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. See In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (see MPEP § 2144.04, IV, C)
Regarding claim 6, Honda teaches the length of the sealing member in the y-axis direction is greater than the thickness of the sealing member in the z-axis direction (see Fig. 5). As explained in the 35 USC. 112(b) rejection of claim 6, the examiner is interpreting the “length” of claim 6 to be measured in the depth direction which corresponds to the y-direction of Honda. Therefore, claim 6 is unpatentable over Honda because the length of the sealing member of Honda is greater than the thickness of the sealing member.
Regarding claim 7, Honda teaches the laminate comprises a separator layer which is a solid electrolyte layer (130).
Regarding claim 8, Honda teaches the sealing portion is held at the end portion surface by an anchor effect of the second sealing portion embedded in the one or more recessed portions of the one of the asperities of the adjacent face [0282] (“improve adhesion strength” is a result of an “anchor effect” even if none is explicitly stated).
Regarding claim 9, the second sealing portion of Honda as designated in the rejection of claim 1 and further elaborated on in the response to arguments is only the part of the sealing portion that exists in the asperities along the edge of 11a/b. Therefore, the second sealing portion is absent inside the active material layer except the one or more recessed portions of the one or more asperities of the adjacent face.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE JAMES IANNUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721