DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that Applicant uses the term “coil” in a manner inconsistent with its well known definition. In the disclosure, Applicant refers to elements 34 as coils. However, they do not have a helical form, nor are they concentric. They are simply curved members. Therefore, the office interprets the “coils” in the claims in the same manner as they are described in the disclosure- curved elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colleran et al. (Pub. No. US 2008/0147125 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Colleran et al. discloses a spinal device 100 (figures 1-5), comprising: an implantable elongated member 124 (figure 3); and an implantable biasing device 108/110 coupled to said implantable elongated member 124 (figure 3), said implantable biasing device 108/110 including a series of connected partial coils 154a, 154b, 154c, 154d, 154e, 154f 154g, 154h extending partially and not completely around said implantable elongated member 124 (figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, said series of connected partial coils subtends an angle of less than 360° (figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, said series of connected partial coils includes pairs of connected neighboring coils 108, 110, and wherein said pairs of connected neighboring coils are circumferentially separated from one another by a circumferential gap (figure 3- the gap between coils 108 and 110).
Regarding claim 4, the device comprises: a polyaxial-joint attachment member 106 (figure 3), wherein said implantable elongated member 124 extends from said polyaxial-joint attachment member 106 (figure 3).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, the spinal device comprises a fastener affixing said implantable biasing device 108/110 to said implantable elongated member 124, wherein said implantable biasing device includes an end portion, and said fastener affixes said end portion of said implantable biasing device 108/110 to said implantable elongated member 124 (paragraph 0034 discloses that the implantable biasing device 108/110 comprises ends which are secured to the elongated member 124 via various mechanical, chemical, or thermal attachment means, including pinning, screws, adhesives, etc).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colleran et al. (Pub. No. US 2008/0147125 A1) in view of Woods et al. (Pub. No. US 2007/0088359 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Colleran discloses the claimed invention, including wherein the fastener is a screw (paragraph 0034), but fails to disclose that the scew is a set screw.
Woods et al. teaches wherein a screw 28 that is used to affix a biasing device 18 to an elongated member 20 is a set screw (paragraph 0037; figure 13A).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention effectively filed to modify the screw disclosed by Colleran et al. to be a set screw as taught by Woods et al., in order to provide a low profile screw for fastening the biasing device to the elongated member, thereby reducing damage to the nearby tissue.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 9, 10, 11, 14, and 15 (see claim mapping below) of U.S. Patent No. 11723691 B2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus more specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by the patent claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Application claims
Patent claims
1
1, 9
2
1, 10
3
1, 11
4
4, 14, 15
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO form 892.
/LYNNSY M SUMMITT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773