Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 10, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura US 20250193884.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 16, Matsumura teaches receiving, by a wireless device, one or more messages indicating two or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, wherein each TCI state of the two or more TCI states is associated with a respective physical cell identifier (PCI) different from a PCI of a serving cell;
receiving downlink control information (DCI) scheduling reception of a downlink signal via the serving cell; and
based on each TCI state, of the two or more TCI states, being associated with the respective PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell, receiving the downlink signal using a TCI state, among the two or more TCI states, that is associated with a control resource set (CORESET) having a lowest CORESET identifier (claim 7, 9, 10, 11).
Regarding claim 2, a time offset between the DCI and the downlink signal is less than a threshold (abstract).
Regarding claim 6, the downlink signal comprises at least one of:
an aperiodic channel-state information reference signal (CSI-RS); or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception (PDSCH, [0033]).
Claim(s) 1, 10, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SHAHMOHAMMADIAN US 20240039582.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 16, SHAHMOHAMMADIAN teaches receiving, by a wireless device, one or more messages indicating two or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, wherein each TCI state of the two or more TCI states is associated with a respective physical cell identifier (PCI) different from a PCI of a serving cell;
receiving downlink control information (DCI) scheduling reception of a downlink signal via the serving cell; and
based on each TCI state, of the two or more TCI states, being associated with the respective PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell, receiving the downlink signal using a TCI state, among the two or more TCI states, that is associated with a control resource set (CORESET) having a lowest CORESET identifier ([0094]).
Regarding claim 2, a time offset between the DCI and the downlink signal is less than a threshold (SHAHMOHAMMADIAN: [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, the downlink signal comprises at least one of:
an aperiodic channel-state information reference signal (CSI-RS); or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception (SHAHMOHAMMADIAN: PDSCH, aperiodic CSI-RS, [0029]).
Regarding claim 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, receiving a media access control control element (MAC-CE) indicating activation of a subset of the two or more TCI states; and mapping the subset of the two or more TCI states to one or more TCI codepoints, wherein each TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints indicates one or more TCI states (SHAHMOHAMMADIAN: [0031, 0033, 0036]).
Regarding claim 11, determining that the two or more TCI states are associated with the PCI of the cell; and
selecting one of the two or more TCI states having a lowest TCI state index (SHAHMOHAMMADIAN: claim 17).
Regarding claim 12, (SHAHMOHAMMADIAN: TCI state, TCI state pool index, [0118]).
Regarding claim 21, receiving one or more messages indicating two or more TCI states comprises:
receiving second DCI indicating the two or more TCI states (SHAHMOHAMMADIAN: The unified TCI state may be indicated by a codepoint value in a TCI field of DCI format 1_1 or 1_2, wherein the codepoint value maps to one or more activated unified TCI states (e.g., up to 8 activated states), [0031]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHAHMOHAMMADIAN as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Frenne US 20240421877.
Although SHAHMOHAMMADIAN teaches Release 17 ([0003]), the reference is silent on the downlink signal is a repetition of a PDSCH.
Frenne teaches, in a Release 17, the downlink signal is a repetition of a PDSCH (Rel-17, PDSCH, repeated, [0035]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of SHAHMOHAMMADIAN by the downlink signal is a repetition of a PDSCH, as shown by Frenne. This modification would benefit the system by improving the TRPs reliability ([0035]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHAHMOHAMMADIAN as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Matsumura US 20230115642.
SHAHMOHAMMADIAN is silent on selecting comprises selecting a TCI state, among the first TCI state and the second TCI state, having a highest TCI state index.
Matsumura teaches selecting comprises selecting a TCI state, among the first TCI state and the second TCI state, having a highest TCI state index ([0322]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of SHAHMOHAMMADIAN by selecting comprises selecting a TCI state, among the first TCI state and the second TCI state, having a highest TCI state index, as shown by Matsumura. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for selecting a TCI state.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Frenne US 20240421877.
Matsumura US 20250193884 is silent on the downlink signal is a repetition of a PDSCH.
Frenne teaches, in a Release 17, the downlink signal is a repetition of a PDSCH (Rel-17, PDSCH, repeated, [0035]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Matsumura US 20250193884 by the downlink signal is a repetition of a PDSCH, as shown by Frenne. This modification would benefit the system by improving the TRPs reliability ([0035]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura US 20250193884 ‘884 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Matsumura US 20230115642 ‘642.
‘884 is silent on selecting comprises selecting a TCI state, among the first TCI state and the second TCI state, having a highest TCI state index.
‘642 teaches selecting comprises selecting a TCI state, among the first TCI state and the second TCI state, having a highest TCI state index ([0322]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of ‘884 by selecting comprises selecting a TCI state, among the first TCI state and the second TCI state, having a highest TCI state index, as shown by ‘642. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for selecting a TCI state.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (6/30/26) with respect to the amended independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment (6/30/26) necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476