DETAILED ACTION
Specification
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
This application contains polypeptide and/or polynucleotide sequences. Applicant is required to review the application for compliance with the above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, 18, 24, 25, 28-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/163532 and counterparts US 20200246467, US 20200330601, US 11077195, US 20220016249 and US 12521437 (collectively “WO 532”).
(Claims 1-3, 5, 18, 24, 25, 30) WO 532 describes in claim 1 an IL-2 conjugate (or salt, solvate or hydrate) comprising SEQ ID NO:3 which is identical to SEQ ID NO: 1 claimed.
WO 532 teaches that the amino acid at position P65 with reference to the amino acid positions within SEQ ID NO:1 is replaced by the structure of formula (I). This corresponds to amino acid at position P64 in SEQ ID NO:1.
Further structural details of Formula (I) being Formulas (IV) and/or (V) are given in claims 5, 8, 12, 13.
See also pages 5+:
WO 532 teaches combinations of the instant conjugates specifically with the anti-PD-1 antibodies covered in the claims. In claims 14-15 and embodiment 246 on page 306 the use for treating NSCLC and mesothelioma is claimed and in paragraph [00385] the administration in combination with pembrolizumab (a PD-1 inhibitor of the claimed sequences) is described. See also pages 181+ (Claims 32-35):
(Claims 4, 6-15) Cis-platin or pemetrexed or carboplatin or paclitaxel may also be administered (embodiment 305 on page 311 and paragraphs [00370] and [00372]). In paragraph [00516], dosages of the IL-2 conjugate of 8, 16, 24, 32 µg/kg are disclosed; in paragraph [00514], (Claim 28) administration of the IL-2 conjugate once every two weeks, three weeks or 4 weeks is disclosed and since in paragraphs [00374], [00377] and [00385] it is disclosed that the IL-2 conjugate is administered with (i.e. sequentially) pembrolizumab, this administration frequency also applies thereto. (Claims 37-39) In paragraph [00494] subcutaneous and intravenous administration is disclosed.
(Claim 31) Some of the claimed embodiments cover effective amounts and dosing regiments of the anti-PD-1 antibody.
However, optimization of cancer regimens involves shifting from maximum tolerated dose (MTD) strategies to personalized, patient-centric approaches that balance maximum efficacy with reduced toxicity and improved quality of life.
Moreover, the amount of HMB in the disclosed composition is a result-effective parameter that will affect the pharmacological and pharmacokinetic properties of the final composition.
In this manner, the amount of a specific ingredient in a composition and dosing regiments are clearly a result-effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize.
Specifically, it would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve a desired results. For any compound, the therapeutically effective dose can be estimated initially either in cell culture assays or in animal models, usually rats, rabbits, dogs, or pigs. The animal model also can be used to determine the appropriate concentration range and route of administration. Such information can then be used to determine useful doses and routes for administration in humans.
Therapeutic efficacy and toxicity, e.g., ED50 (the dose therapeutically effective in 50% of the population) and LD50 (the dose lethal to 50% of the population), can be determined by standard pharmaceutical procedures in cell cultures or experimental animals. The dose ratio of toxic to therapeutic effects is the therapeutic index, and it can be expressed as the ratio, LD50/ED5o. Pharmaceutical compositions which exhibit large therapeutic indices are preferred. The data obtained from cell culture assays and animal studies is used in formulating a range of dosage for human use. The dosage contained in such compositions is preferably within a range of circulating concentrations that include the ED50 with little or no toxicity. The dosage varies within this range depending upon the dosage form employed, sensitivity of the patient, and the route of administration. The exact dosage will be determined by the practitioner, in light of factors related to the subject that requires treatment. Dosage and administration are adjusted to provide sufficient levels of the active ingredient or to maintain the desired effect. Factors which can be taken into account include the severity of the disease state, general health of the subject, age, weight, and gender of the subject, diet, time and frequency of administration, drug combination(s), reaction sensitivities, and tolerance/response to therapy. Long-acting pharmaceutical compositions can be administered once or twice daily every 3 to 4 days, every week, or once every two weeks depending on the half-life and clearance rate of the particular formulation.
Normal dosage amounts can vary from micrograms to 100,000 micrograms, up to a maximum total dose, depending upon the route of administration. Guidance as to particular dosages and methods of delivery is provided in the literature and generally available to practitioners in the art.
In this way, optimization of these parameters is a routine practice, and consequently, would be prima facie obvious, absent factual evidence demonstrating an unexpected benefit of the claimed amount(s).
In view of the above, the difference between WO 532 and the claimed invention is that WO 532 does not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, WO teaches the elements of the claimed methods with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 18, 24, 25, 28-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of U.S. Patent No. 11077195. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Specifically, the conflicting claims may recite conjugates and compositions while the rejected claims recite methods of using the same. However, the specification of US 11077195 discloses the utility of the recited IL-2 conjugates as covered by the instant methods of using the conjugates to treat cancer, see Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Ltd., v. Eli Lilly and Co. where the district court ruled that the claims of the ‘826 patent were invalid in light of the ‘614 patent which disclosed gemcitabine’s use in cancer treatment, but did not claim it. In making this ruling, the district court relied on the Federal Circuit’s earlier rulings on double patenting of compound claims, mainly Geneva Pharmaceuticals, Inc, v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F. 3d 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2003), and Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2008). In both of these cases, the Federal Circuit found claims of a later patent invalid for obviousness-type double patenting where an earlier patent claimed a compound, disclosing its utility in the specification, and a later patent claimed a method of using the compound for a use described in the specification of the earlier patent. The cases also established that in determining the scope of compound claims for a double patenting rejection one must look to the specification to interpret the utility of the compound.
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646