Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: “biasing member” should be --bias member-- for proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 9,394,706). In considering the embodiment shown in Figs. 1-15, Lin discloses a support member (1) comprising: an outer housing extending along an longitudinal axis from a flanged end (5) to a insertion end (6) for engagement and encased in poured cement (37, Figs. 14-15); a flange (33) extending outwardly from the flanged end for resisting pullout from the concrete; an insertion opening at the insertion end opposite the flange for receiving a threaded shaft (4); the outer housing defining an inner space (11) with a tapered surface (38) lessening in diameter towards the axis and opening; a jaw assembly including a plurality of jaws (7) disposed in the inner space each having an inner threaded surface (12) and a bias member (9) for biasing the jaws towards the central axis; wherein the outer housing includes an upper portion (33) threadedly connected to a lower portion (10) with complementary male and female threads. The tapered surface is disposed on the lower surface where the bias member urges the jaws towards the tapered surface. Lin additionally teaches the support member can be a part of an anchor assembly (Figs. 16-35) including a base member (52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claim Lin above, and further in view of Thompson (US 9,181,691). Lin does not disclose the bias member is a coil spring. Thompson discloses a support member including a bias member similar to Lin but in Thompson the bias member is a coil spring (41). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the bias member of Lin with a coil spring as disclosed in Thompson because Thompson describes the coil spring as one of a group of bias members which would yield the same results (column 4, paragraph beginning line 18).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ziltener (US 2024/0376927) and Iwamoto (US 5,468,105) are cited to teach other examples of two part support members with a flange opposite an insertion opening. Naka (US 4,211,048) is cited to teach another example of a cement anchor of general interest.
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675