DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner has taken notice that claims 1-12, 15, 21-26, 29, and 30 have been amended. Claims 1-30 are now pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 15, 29, and 30 under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Beale and Wong.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 13-18 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf et al. (US 2024/0155583; hereinafter Rudolf) in view of Beale et al. (US 2023/0142814; hereinafter Beale) in further view of Wong (US 2025/0267588; hereinafter Wong).
Regarding claim 1, Rudolf teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (Paragraphs [0047]-[0048] describes a UE with memory and processors):
Rudolf teaches receive first control signaling indicating a first configuration comprising a set of symbols associated with subband full duplex operation (Paragraphs [0004]-[0006] describes receiving first information (signaling) and the frequency-domain subband is inherently associated with subband full duplex operation),
Rudolf teaches wherein the set of symbols comprises one or more of a first subset of downlink symbols, a second subset of flexible symbols, a third subset of uplink symbols, or a combination thereof ((Paragraphs [0004]-[0006]; [0114] describes three types of symbols/slots),
Rudolf doesn’t teach and wherein the second subset of flexible symbols comprises first resources of an uplink subband and second resources of a flexible subband that overlap in time with the first resources;
In analogous art Beale teaches and wherein the second subset of flexible symbols comprises first resources of an uplink subband and second resources of a flexible subband that overlap in time with the first resources (Fig. 12, Paragraphs [0087]-[0088] describes that flexible symbols comprise first resource of an uplink subband and second resource that overlap in time);
Rudolf teaches receive second control signaling indicating a second configuration associated with monitoring a physical downlink control channel (Paragraph [0089] the PDCCH-config is a second configuration associated with monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) “decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH” shows this configuration is for PDCCH monitoring);
Rudolf teaches receive downlink control information based at least in part on monitoring the physical downlink control channel (Paragraph [0095] describes receiving “DCI field” information, which is downlink control information (DCI) and references “PDSCH carrying” which implies monitoring PDCCH to receive the DCI that schedules the PDSCH),
Rudolf teaches wherein the downlink control information comprises a slot format indicator (Paragraphs [0095]; [0212] describes “DCI field “Transmission Configuration Indication”” is essentially a slot format indicator, as it indicates transmission configuration which inherently includes slot format information for flexible symbols),
Rudolf teaches and wherein the slot format indicator indicates one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols as uplink or downlink, or a combination thereof (Paragraphs [0174]-[0175] describes dynamic assignment of symbols/slots to either DL or UL configurations (“SBFD DL and UL subband configurations”) which means flexible symbols are being indicated as either uplink or downlink based on the configuration received),
Rudolf doesn’t teach and perform wireless communication in accordance with an interpretation of the slot format indicator, wherein the interpretation indicates whether the first resources apply as uplink resources or downlink resources,
In analogous art Wong teaches and perform wireless communication in accordance with an interpretation of the slot format indicator, wherein the interpretation indicates whether the first resources apply as uplink resources or downlink resources (Paragraph [0053] describes the interpretation (SFI and Grant) determines the conversion or determines whether resources apply as UL or DL. The PDSCH/PUSCH transmission only occurs after the interpretation. If converted to DL, PDSCH transmitted. If converted to UL, PUSCH is transmitted),
Rudolf teaches and wherein the wireless communication is performed based at least in part on the first configuration, the second configuration, or the downlink control information, or a combination thereof (Paragraph [0175] describes “determines the frequency-domain occupancy” followed by “based on” the various configurations shows the UE is performing wireless communication operations (determining where to transmit/receive ) based on the received configurations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf and Beale to incorporate the teachings of Wong to provide a dynamic slot format indicator (SFI) mechanisms that indicates flexible symbols dynamically as DL, UL or remain as flexible. Doing so would enhance resource allocation flexibility and reduce latency in symbol conversion. (Wong, Paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 2, Rudolf in view of Beale and Wong, Wong teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: perform the wireless communication based at least in part on the one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols being indicated by the slot format indicator as downlink or flexible (Paragraph [0053] describes communication happens after instruction from the SFI on symbols that remain flexible; PDSCH can only be scheduled because symbols are flexible).
Regarding claim 3, Rudolf in view of Beale and Wong, Wong teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: perform the wireless communication based at least in part on the downlink control information including the slot format indicator (Paragraph [0053] describes the SFI transmitted within the group common DCI, or DCI (downlink control information) includes the slot format indicator).
Regarding claim 4, Rudolf in view of Beale and Wong, Wong teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: perform the wireless communication based at least in part on the slot format indicator indicating the one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols as flexible, uplink, downlink, or a combination thereof (Paragraph [0053] describes that the SFI indicates flexible symbols as DL(downlink), UL (uplink), or remaining as flexible).
Regarding claim 13, Rudolf in view of Beale and Wong, Rudolf teaches wherein, to receive the first control signaling, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a radio resource control message indicating the first configuration comprising the set of symbols associated with the subband full duplex operation (Paragraphs [0212]; [0219]; [0231] describes RRC messaging (“higher layer signaling”) providing SBFD symbol configurations associated with subband full duplex operation).
Regarding claim 14, Rudolf in view of Beale and Wong, Wong teaches wherein the downlink control information comprises a downlink control information format, and the downlink control information format comprises a downlink control information format 2_0 (Paragraph [0053] describes that the control information being transmitted is structured according to the rules defined for DCI format 2_0).
Regarding claim 16, Rudolf in view of Beale and Wong, Rudolf teaches wherein the one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols are indicated as downlink or flexible based at least in part on the slot format indicator (Paragraphs [0175]; [0198] describes the UE making determinations about symbol usage. The “SBFD DL and UL subband configurations indicates the UE is determining whether symbols are for DL or UL use).
Regarding claim 17, Rudolf in view of Beale and Wong, Rudolf teaches wherein the downlink control information includes the slot format indicator (Paragraphs [0089]; [0095] the UE must determine whether the received DCI contains “the DCI field “transmission configuration indication” which functions as a slot format indicator. The phrase “mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field” implies the UE checks for the presence of this field in the DCI).
Regarding claim 18, Rudolf in view of Beale and Wong, Rudolf teaches wherein the slot format indicator indicates the one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols as flexible, uplink, downlink, or a combination thereof (Paragraphs [0174]; [0212]; [0198] shows the UE determining that the same symbols can be configured for both DL and UL, and the UE’s wireless communication (frequency-domain occupancies) is based on this determination).
Claims 15, 29 and 30 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 respectively.
Claim 27 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13 respectively.
Claim 28 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 14 respectively.
Claim(s) 5-7, 9-10, 19-21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf in view of Beale in further view of Wong and Farag et al. (US 2024/0422853; hereinafter Farag).
Regarding claim 5, Rudolf doesn’t teach wherein the slot format indicator indicates the one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols as uplink or downlink, or a combination thereof, based at least in part on the slot format indicator comprising a slot format value below a threshold value.
However, in analogous art Farag teaches wherein the slot format indicator indicates the one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols as uplink or downlink, or a combination thereof, based at least in part on the slot format indicator comprising a slot format value below a threshold value (Paragraphs [0089]; [0244] [0302] describes using specific values in DCI formats to determine symbol configuration based on threshold-like comparisons of those values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rudolf, Beale and Wong by incorporating the teaching of Farag’s beam indication signaling to improve radio interface efficiency (Farag, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, Rudolf in view of Beale in further view of Wong and Farag, Farag teaches wherein the slot format indicator indicates the one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols as downlink based at least in part on the slot format indicator comprising the slot format value below the threshold value (Paragraphs [0244]; [0440] shows that specific TCI states codepoint values (below certain thresholds in the list ) are applied to determine slot types, including downlink configuration for flexible SBFD slots),
Wong teaches and performance of the wireless communication is based at least in part on the slot format indicator indicating the one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols as downlink (paragraph [0053] describes communication happens after instruction from the SFI on symbols that remain flexible; PDSCH can only be scheduled because symbols are flexible).
Regarding claim 7, Rudolf in view of Beale in further view of Wong and Farag, Wong teaches wherein the interpretation indicates that the second resources of the flexible subband apply as downlink resources, to maintain the first resources of the uplink subband as uplink resources (Paragraph [0053] describes the interpretation preserve UL resources as Uplink and UL grant scheduling a PUSCH (not converted to DL) ),
Rudolf teaches and to maintain third resources of one or more guard bands of the one or more flexible symbols as guard band resources (Paragraphs [0153]; [0167] describes that Guard bands exist as RBs that are not assigned as DL or UL subbands or Guard band resources as distinct from UL/DL),
Rudolf teaches and performance of the wireless communication is based at least in part on the indication that the second resources apply as downlink resources maintain the first resources of the uplink subband as uplink communications (Paragraphs [0164]-[0167] describes that SBFD UL subband configurations are maintained as reference points while other configurations can be updated, demonstrating the “maintains the uplink subband” concept),
Rudolf teaches and to maintain the third resources of the one or more guard bands of the one or more flexible symbols as guard band resources (Paragraphs [0153]; [0155] describes Guard bands are defined by what they are not (not DL, not UL) which means they are maintained as guard bands).
Regarding claim 9, Rudolf in view of Beale in further view of Wong and Farag, Wong teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: perform the wireless communication based at least in part on the slot format indicator indicating one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols as uplink (Paragraph [0053] describes flexible symbols within full-duplex slots being configured for “UL subbands”).
Regarding claim 10, Rudolf in view of Beale in further view of Wong and Farag, Wong teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: perform the wireless communication based at least in part on the slot format indicator indicating one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols as flexible (Paragraph [0053] teaches that the SFI can indicate flexible symbols to remain as flexible).
Regarding claim 19, Rudolf in view of Beale in further view of Wong and Farag, Farag teaches wherein the slot format indicator comprises a slot format value below a threshold value (Paragraphs [0089]; [0244] [0302] describes using specific values in DCI formats to determine symbol configuration based on threshold-like comparisons of those values).
Regarding claim 20, Rudolf in view of Beale in further view of Wong and Farag, Farag teaches wherein the slot format indicator indicates the one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols as downlink based at least in part on the slot format indicator comprising the slot format value below the threshold value (Paragraphs [0244]; [0440] shows that specific TCI states codepoint values (below certain thresholds in the list ) are applied to determine slot types, including downlink configuration for flexible SBFD slots).
Regarding claim 23, Rudolf in view of Beale in further view of Wong and Farag, Rudolf teaches wherein the slot format indicator indicates one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols as uplink (Paragraph [0198] describes flexible symbols being indicated for “UL transmission” and “UL-only” modes. Paragraph [0212] describes “time-domain locations” of symbols for UL subband use through signaling mechanisms.
Regarding claim 24, Rudolf in view of Beale in further view of Wong and Farag, Rudolf teaches wherein the slot format indicator indicates one or more flexible symbols of the second subset of flexible symbols as flexible (Paragraphs [0120]; [0132]; [0198] describes the specific wireless communication behavior (simultaneous DL/UL with interference cancellation) that occurs when symbols are indicated as flexible).
Claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7 respectively.
Claim(s) 8, 11-12, 22 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf in view of Beale in further view of Wong , Farag and OH et al. (US 2023/0328704; hereinafter OH).
Regarding claim 8, Rudolf doesn’t teach wherein the interpretation indicates that the first resources of the uplink subband, the second resources of the flexible subband, and third resources of one or more guard bands apply as downlink resources, and performance of the wireless communication is based at least in part on the indication that the first resources of the uplink subband, the second resources of the flexible subband, and the third resources of the one or more guard bands apply as downlink resources.
In analogous art OH teaches wherein the interpretation indicates that the first resources of the uplink subband, the second resources of the flexible subband, and third resources of one or more guard bands apply as downlink resources (Fig. 14, Fig. 15, Fig. 16 and Paragraphs [0246]-[0247]; [0258]; [0271] describes uplink bandwidth resources block sets being determined as downlink resource block, flexible resource block sets being determined or interpreted for downlink reception, guard band regions divided into resource block sets used for downlink transmission or reception. Figs showing all three resource types within bandwidth parts and how they can be configured as downlink),
and performance of the wireless communication is based at least in part on the indication that the first resources of the uplink subband, the second resources of the flexible subband, and the third resources of the one or more guard bands apply as downlink resources (Paragraphs [0272]; [0273]; [0277] describes the DCI and configuration information that indicates whether resources apply as downlink. Paragraph [0287] describes the indication to performance capability. Paragraphs [0247]; [0258]; [0261] shows performance uses resources from guard bands, shows uplink bandwidth resources can be indicated as downlink, flexible resources can be indicated as downlink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudolf, Beale Wong and Farag to incorporate the teachings of OH to provide flexible resource allocation between uplink and downlink to improve the spectral efficiency and the overall network performances (OH, Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 11, Rudolf in view of Beale in further view of Wong, Farag and OH, OH teaches wherein the interpretation indicates that the second resources of the flexible subband apply as flexible resources, to maintain the first resources of the uplink subband as uplink resources, and to maintain third resources of one or more guard bands as guard band resources (Paragraphs [0261]; [0271] describes flexible resources remain flexible, maintain the capability for either uplink or downlink rather than being fixed to one type. Paragraphs [0101]; [0236]; [0258] describes that resources in the uplink bandwidth/bandwidth part are maintained as uplink resource block sets. Paragraphs [0241]; [0243] describes that guard band-like resources (flexible resources allocated to reduce interference) shows these resources maintain their guard band even while potentially being allocated for other uses),
and performance of the wireless communication is based at least in part on the indication that the second resources of the flexible subband apply as flexible resources, to maintain the first resources of the uplink subband as uplink resources, and to maintain the third resources of the one or more guard bands as guard band resources (Paragraphs [0076]; [0243]; [0247]; [0258]; [0287] describes uplink subband resources are maintained as uplink. Shows performance operates according to configurations, flexible resources maintain flexible performance capability (can do either uplink or downlink) and performance uses guard band resources while they maintain their guard band configuration).
Regarding claim 12, Rudolf in view of Beale in further view of Wong, Farag and OH, OH teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: the interpretation indicates to that the first resources of the uplink subband, the second resources of the flexible subband, and third resources of one or more guard bands apply as flexible resources (Paragraphs [0041]; [0075]; [0241]; [0247]; [0261]; [0271] describes and RB-set including in uplink subband can be configured as flexible, flexible subband resources apply as flexible (dual capability) and Guard band resources perform both uplink/downlink (flexible)),
and performance of the wireless communication is based at least in part on the indication that the first resources of the uplink subband, the second resources of the flexible subband, and the third resources of the one or more guard bands apply as flexible resources (Paragraphs [0076]; [0247]; [0261]; [0287] describes performance capability or operations based on indication and all resource types can apply as flexible simultaneously).
Claim 22 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8 respectively.
Claim 25 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11 respectively.
Claim 26 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 12 respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464