DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
This Office Action is in response to claim amendment filed on May 01, 2026 and wherein claims 1,4,10, 15, 16, 20, 26 and 27 being currently amended.
In virtue of this communication, claims 1, 4, 6-16,20 and 23-33 are currently pending in this Office Action.
The Office appreciates the explanation of the amendment and analyses of the prior arts, and however, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and MPEP 2145.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, Pages 9-10, filed on May 01, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 27 under 35 USC §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recited “and wherein the NDC-SSB is dropped based on … ”. It is suggested that applicant to replace “NDC-SSB” with “NCD-SSB” in line 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 27, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (US 20230224880 A1, hereinafter Xiong) in view of Li et al. (US 20250141626 A1, hereinafter Li).
Claim 1: Xiong teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (abstract), comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig.7, element 718, 720,726,722,724, [0279]), one or more memories (Fig. 7, element 712, 714, Fig.8, element 820, [0286], “The memory/storage devices 820 may include main memory, disk storage, or any suitable combination thereof”), individually or in combination, having instructions (Fig. 8, element 850, [0288], “ Instructions 850 may comprise software, a program, an application, an applet, an app, or other executable code for causing at least any of the processors 810 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein”); and one or more processors (Fig.8, elements 810 ,812, 814, [0285], “The processors 810 may include, for example, a processor 812 and a processor 814”), individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and to cause the apparatus to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver (Fig.7, element 718, 720,726,722,724, [0279]), signaling configuring the apparatus to communicate via one or more bandwidth parts BWPs ([0019], “the reduced BW of RedCap UE limits the configuration of initial DL or UL BWP and/or the active DL or UL BWP”,[0252], “the UE 602 can be configured with multiple BWPs where each BWP configuration has a different SCS”, Fig. 4, [0098], “For a serving cell with NOSB-FD operation, a symbol can be used to map both DL and UL physical channels or signals… a “sub-band” corresponds to a set of physical resources within a carrier that are contiguous in frequency, e.g., a number of consecutive Physical Resource Blocks (PRBs) on the Common Resource Block (CRB) grid… the sub-band configuration can be provided to the UE via UE-specific Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling” , [0088], “ if the NCD-SSB is not included within the bandwidth of the separate initial DL BWP, then the UE may expect to be switched to the RRC-configured DL BWP upon RRC connection setup”), wherein at least one of a cell defining synchronization signal block CD-SSB or a non-cell defining synchronization signal block NCD-SSB can be received via each of the one or more BWPs (Fig. 1, [0019], “a separate initial DL BWP of a RedCap UE may not include a cell-defining SSB (CD-SSB). This is for the case that the initial DL BWP is configured for random access but not for paging. On the other hand, an active DL BWP for a RedCap UE in connected mode, if it does not include a CD-SSB, a non-cell defining SSB (NCD-SSB) can be configured in the DL BWP”, [0029], “A separate initial DL BWP configured for RedCap UE may include the CD-SSB … a separate initial DL BWP in connected mode, if it does not include CD-SSB and the entire CORESET #0 and if it is configured for paging, a RedCap UE supporting mandatory feature group (FG) 6-1 (but not optional FG 6-1a) expects it to contain NCD-SSB”, [0030], “an RRC-configured active DL BWP in connected mode may include the CD-SSB … if it does not include CD-SSB and the entire CORESET #0, a RedCap UE supporting mandatory FG 6-1 (but not optional FG 6-1a) expects it to contain NCD-SSB”);
receive, via the at least one transceiver, an indication of a first set of time-domain resources (Fig. 2, [0058], “Given that the allocated resource for PUSCH transmission overlaps with the symbols for CD-SSB and NCD-SSB in slot n+1 and slot n+2, these two slots are not considered as available slots for PUSCH repetition type A and TBoMS”, [0057], “at least one of the symbols indicated by the indexed row of the used resource allocation table in the slot overlaps with a DL symbol indicated by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon or tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated if provided, or a symbol of an SS/PBCH block for NCD-SSB and/or CD-SSB”, [0040], “ for a set of symbols of a slot indicated to a UE for reception of CD-SSBs and/or NCD-SSBs, the UE does not transmit PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH in the slot if a transmission would overlap”);
receive, via the at least one transceiver and via a BWP of the one or more BWPs, an NCD-SSB within the first set of time-domain resources or within a subset of the time- domain resources of the first set (Fig. 2, [0057], “at least one of the symbols indicated by the indexed row of the used resource allocation table in the slot overlaps with a DL symbol indicated by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon or tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated if provided, or a symbol of an SS/PBCH block for NCD-SSB and/or CD-SSB” , [0040], “ for a set of symbols of a slot indicated to a UE for reception of CD-SSBs and/or NCD-SSBs, the UE does not transmit PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH in the slot if a transmission would overlap” [0029], “a separate initial DL BWP in connected mode, if it does not include CD-SSB and the entire CORESET #0 and if it is configured for paging, a RedCap UE supporting mandatory feature group (FG) 6-1 (but not optional FG 6-1a) expects it to contain NCD-SSB”, [0030], “an RRC-configured active DL BWP in connected mode … if it does not include CD-SSB and the entire CORESET #0, a RedCap UE supporting mandatory FG 6-1 (but not optional FG 6-1a) expects it to contain NCD-SSB”, [0027], “The presence of CD-SSB is configured by the ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 or in ServingCellConfigCommon … NCD-SSB may be configured with same periodicity and same time location in a period as CD-SSB … NCD-SSB may be configured with same periodicity as CD-SSB but with an offset to the time location of CD-SSB … The presence of NCD-SSB may share the configuration of ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 or in ServingCellConfigCommon”).
and drop the NCD-SSB (Fig. 11, [0041], “ if a valid RO or valid MsgA PUSCH triggered by higher layers is collided with an NCD-SSB, it is up to UE implementation whether to receive NCD-SSB or transmit PRACH”) based on the command ([0041]], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP”, [0045], “when SSB is not present in a separate initial DL BWP or RRC-configured active DL BWP, the transmission of a semi-statically configured or dynamically scheduled UL transmission can be transmitted, irrespective of the presence of a CD-SSB or NCD-SSB”).
However, Xiong does not explicitly teach receive, via the at least one transceiver, a command configured to enable collision handling by the apparatus;
Li, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches a command configured to enable collision handling by the apparatus ([0020], “ indication from a base station and/or a sidelink device to prioritize the reception of the reference signal for positioning, or to prioritize
the transmission of resources of the other uplink signals and/or channels or to
prioritize the transmission of other uplink signals and/or channels” wherein priority indication is reading as enable collision handling, [0102], disclose a synchronization signal block SSB including but not limited to a cell defined-SSB (CD-SSB) and non-cell-defined SSB (NCD-SSB));
Xiong and Li are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Xiong and the features of a command configured to enable collision handling by the apparatus as taught by Li, for the benefit for allowing UE to solve resource conflict based on configurable priority.
Claim 27 is a method of claim 1, and is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 32: Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is configured to operate as a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 7, element 702, Fig.6, element 602, [0026], “While the embodiments are described herein with reference to a RedCap UE, aspects of various embodiments may be used for non-RedCap (e.g., normal) UEs”).
Claim 10: The combination of Xiong and Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: communicate, via the at least one transceiver using half-duplex inter-band time-division duplex (TDD) ([0061], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP … This can apply for the RedCap UEs or non-RedCap UEs in TDD or HD-FDD systems”, [0065], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP, the symbols indicated for NCD-SSB and/or CD-SSB are considered as invalid symbols for PUSCH repetition Type B transmission. Note that this may apply for the RedCap UEs or non-RedCap UEs in TDD or HD-FDD systems”) carrier aggregation (CA) via a plurality of component carriers (CCs) including a first CC and a second CC, with a plurality of cells including a reference cell and another cell, wherein the first CC is associated with the other cell and the second CC is associated with the reference cell ([0245], “the UE 602 and RAN 604 may use carrier aggregation to allow the UE 602 to connect with a plurality of component carriers, each corresponding to a Pcell or Scell”); and wherein the NDC-SSB is dropped based on the NCD-SSB occupying one or more symbols of the first CC ([0191], “UE may drop SS/PBCH configured by UE-specific higher layer signaling, if the SS/PBCH overlaps with UL sub-band”, [0041], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP, if a valid RO or valid MsgA PUSCH triggered by higher layers is collided with an NCD-SSB, it is up to UE implementation whether to receive NCD-SSB or transmit PRACH”), or based on the one or more symbols of the second CC being configured as semi-static uplink or as radio resource control (RRC) uplink (alternative).
Claims 4, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (US 20230224880 A1, hereinafter Xiong) in view of Li et al. (US 20250141626 A1, hereinafter Li) and further in view of Liao et al. (US 20250274236 A1, hereinafter Liao).
Claim 4: Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
communicate, via the at least one transceiver, with a plurality of cells using half-duplex inter-band time-division duplex (TDD) ([0061], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP … This can apply for the RedCap UEs or non-RedCap UEs in TDD or HD-FDD systems”, [0065], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP, the symbols indicated for NCD-SSB and/or CD-SSB are considered as invalid symbols for PUSCH repetition Type B transmission. Note that this may apply for the RedCap UEs or non-RedCap UEs in TDD or HD-FDD systems”) carrier aggregation (CA) via a plurality of component carriers (CCs) ([0245], “the UE 602 and RAN 604 may use carrier aggregation to allow the UE 602 to connect with a plurality of component carriers, each corresponding to a Pcell or Scell”, Fig. 4).
However, Xiong does not explicitly teach inter-band time-division duplex TDD,
wherein at least one of: receive the CD-SSB via a first CC of the plurality of CCs within the first set of time-domain resources; and the NCD-SSB is received via a second CC of the plurality of CCs within the first set of time-domain resources or within the subset of the time-domain resources of the first set.
Liao, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches inter-band time-division duplex TDD ([0031], “The CCs are either intra-band (i.e., located in the same frequency band) or inter-band (i.e., across different frequency bands) … such as frequency-division duplexing (FDD) mode, TDD mode, flexible duplex mode, and sub-band full duplex mode, across CCs within a discrete cell are supported”),
wherein at least one of: receive the CD-SSB via a first CC of the plurality of CCs within the first set of time-domain resources; and the NCD-SSB is received via a second CC of the plurality of CCs within the first set of time-domain resources or within the subset of the time-domain resources of the first set ([0031], “ a cell-defining synchronization signal block (SSB) (e.g., including an SSB and system information broadcast with cell information) is transmitted/received on an anchor CC only, while no or sparse non-cell-defining
SSB (e.g., including an SSB only) is transmitted/received on other CCs. Note that different duplex modes, such as frequency-division duplexing (FDD) mode, TDD mode, flexible duplex mode, and sub-band full duplex mode, across CCs within a discrete cell are supported”, Fig. 6, [0042], disclose one TDD configuration may be associated with one or CCs, [0062-0064], disclose CD-SSB and NCD-SSB on different CC, and each of CCs support TDD and FDD mode.).
Xiong and Liao are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Xiong and the features of receiving CD-SSB and NCD-SSB via different CC as taught by Liao, for the benefit for allowing UE to perform carrier aggregation within the cell based on the CC configuration, and communicate data signals with the wireless network based on CC configuration (paragraph [0032]).
Claim 6: Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
communicate, via the at least one transceiver, with a plurality of cells using half-duplex inter-band time-division duplex (TDD) ([0061], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP … This can apply for the RedCap UEs or non-RedCap UEs in TDD or HD-FDD systems”, [0065], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP, the symbols indicated for NCD-SSB and/or CD-SSB are considered as invalid symbols for PUSCH repetition Type B transmission. Note that this may apply for the RedCap UEs or non-RedCap UEs in TDD or HD-FDD systems”) carrier aggregation (CA) via a plurality of component carriers (CCs) including a first CC and a second CC, wherein the plurality of cells comprises a reference cell and another cell, wherein the first CC is associated with the reference cell or the other cell ([0245], “the UE 602 and RAN 604 may use carrier aggregation to allow the UE 602 to connect with a plurality of component carriers, each corresponding to a Pcell or Scell”).
However, Xiong does not explicitly teach inter-band time-division duplex (TDD), and wherein the NCD-SSB is received via a first one or more symbols of the first CC.
Liao, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches inter-band time-division duplex (TDD) ([0031], “The CCs are either intra-band (i.e., located in the same frequency band) or inter-band (i.e., across different frequency bands) … such as frequency-division duplexing (FDD) mode, TDD mode, flexible duplex mode, and sub-band full duplex mode, across CCs within a discrete cell are supported”), and wherein the NCD-SSB is received via a first one or more symbols of the first CC ([0031], “ a cell-defining synchronization signal block (SSB) (e.g., including an SSB and system information broadcast with cell information) is transmitted/received on an anchor CC only, while no or sparse non-cell-defining SSB (e.g., including an SSB only) is transmitted/received on other CCs … for example … CC#2 is configure with TDD mode”, Fig. 6, [0042], disclose one TDD configuration may be associated with one or more CCs, [0062-0064], disclose CD-SSB and NCD-SSB on different CC, and each of CCs support TDD and FDD mode. [0040], “each TDD configuration is associated with a respective radio resource clusters of the DL/UL BWP and indicates which slot or orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols of a slot in a radio frame is or are configured for DL or UL”).
The motivation for combining Xiong and Liao regarding to the claim 4 is also applied to claim 6.
Claim 7: The combination of Xiong and Liao teaches the apparatus of claim 6, Liao additionally teaches wherein the first CC is associated with the reference cell (abstract, “ The cell configuration may include a plurality of component carrier (CC) configurations, each of which is corresponding to a respective one of a plurality of CCs associated with a cell”), and wherein the first one or more symbols are configured as at least one of semi-static downlink symbols (alternative) or radio resource configuration (RRC) downlink symbols ([0032], “The CC configurations may be included in a cell configuration that is received via a higher-layer signaling carried in the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) … The higher-layer signaling may include system information broadcast … or UE-specific radio resource control (RRC) signaling”).
The motivation for combining Xiong and Liao regarding to the claim 4 is also applied to claim 7.
Claim 8: The combination of Xiong and Liao teaches the apparatus of claim 6, Liao additionally wherein the first CC is associated with the other cell and the second CC is associated with the reference cell ([0031], “ a cell-defining synchronization signal block (SSB) (e.g., including an SSB and system information broadcast with cell information) is transmitted/received on an anchor CC only, while no or sparse non-cell-defining
SSB (e.g., including an SSB only) is transmitted/received on other CCs … for example … CC#2 is configure with TDD mode”, Fig. 6, [0042], disclose one TDD configuration may be associated with one or more CCs, [0062-0064], disclose CD-SSB and NCD-SSB on different CC, and each of CCs support TDD and FDD mode), and wherein the first one or more symbols of the second CC are configured as at least one of semi-static downlink symbols or radio resource configuration (RRC) downlink symbols ([0040], “each TDD configuration is associated with a respective radio resource clusters of the DL/UL BWP and indicates which slot or orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols of a slot in a radio frame is or are configured for DL or UL”).
The motivation for combining Xiong and Liao regarding to the claim 4 is also applied to claim 8.
Claim 9: Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
communicate, via the at least one transceiver using half-duplex inter-band time- division duplex (TDD) (Fig. 2, [0061], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP … This can apply for the RedCap UEs or non-RedCap UEs in TDD or HD-FDD systems”, [0065], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP, the symbols indicated for NCD-SSB and/or CD-SSB are considered as invalid symbols for PUSCH repetition Type B transmission. Note that this may apply for the RedCap UEs or non-RedCap UEs in TDD or HD-FDD systems”) carrier aggregation (CA) via a plurality of component carriers (CCs), with a plurality of cells including a reference cell and another cell ([0245], “the UE 602 and RAN 604 may use carrier aggregation to allow the UE 602 to connect with a plurality of component carriers, each corresponding to a Pcell or Scell”),
and drop at least a first symbol of the one or more symbols of the second CC based on at least one of: the NCD-SSB occupying the one or more symbols ([0040], “for a set of symbols of a slot indicated to a UE for reception of CD-SSBs and/or NCD-SSBs, the UE does not transmit PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH in the slot if a transmission would overlap with any symbol from the set of symbols and the UE does not transmit SRS in the set of symbols of the slot”, [0033-0038], disclose the several scenario that UE drop PUSCH or PUCCH when this slot is occupied by CD-SSB or NCD-SSB, [0296], “wherein if a semi-statically configured or dynamically scheduled UL transmission is collided with a NCD-SSB and/or CD-SSB, the NCD-SSB and/or CD-SSB is prioritized and the UL transmission is canceled”), or at least the first symbol being an uplink symbol ([0311], “receiving configuration information for a non-cell defining (NCD)-synchronization signal block (SSB); receiving a message to schedule an uplink transmission; identifying that the uplink transmission collides with the NCD-SSB; and determining whether or not to transmit the uplink transmission based on the collision”, [0191], “UE may drop
SS/PBCH configured by UE-specific higher layer signaling, if the SS/PBCH overlaps with UL sub-band”, [0301], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP, for PUSCH repetition type A with counting based on available slot … a slot is not counted … if at least one of the symbols indicated by the indexed row of the used resource allocation table in the slot overlaps with a symbol of an SS/PBCH block for NCD-SSB and/or CD-SSB”).
However, Xiong does not explicitly teach inter-band time- division duplex (TDD), wherein the plurality of CCs include a first CC associated with the reference cell and a second CC associated with the other cell, wherein the NCD-SSB is received via a first one or more symbols of the first CC.
Liao, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches inter-band time- division duplex (TDD) ([0031], “The CCs are either intra-band (i.e., located in the same frequency band) or inter-band (i.e., across different frequency bands) … such as frequency-division duplexing (FDD) mode, TDD mode, flexible duplex mode, and sub-band full duplex mode, across CCs within a discrete cell are supported”), wherein the plurality of CCs include a first CC associated with the reference cell and a second CC associated with the other cell, wherein the NCD-SSB is received via a first one or more symbols of the first CC ([0031], “ a cell-defining synchronization signal block (SSB) (e.g., including an SSB and system information broadcast with cell information) is transmitted/received on an anchor CC only, while no or sparse non-cell-defining SB (e.g., including an SSB only) is transmitted/received on other CCs … for example … CC#2 is configure with TDD mode”, Fig. 6, [0042], disclose one TDD configuration may be associated with one or more CCs, [0062-0064], disclose CD-SSB and NCD-SSB on different CC, and each of CCs support TDD and FDD mode, [0040], “each TDD configuration is associated with a respective radio resource clusters of the DL/UL BWP and indicates which slot or orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols of a slot in a radio frame is or are configured for DL or UL”, wherein one TDD include CD-SSB CC, NCD-SSB CC, UL CC, DL CC and etc.).
The motivation for combining Xiong and Liao regarding to the claim 4 is also applied to claim 9.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (US 20230224880 A1, hereinafter Xiong) in view of Li et al. (US 20250141626 A1, hereinafter Li) and further in view of Liao et al. (US 20250274236 A1, hereinafter Liao), and further in view of Lim et al. (US 20230208607 A1, hereinafter Lim)
Claim 12: Xiong teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
communicate, via the at least one transceiver, with a plurality of cells using half-duplex inter-band time-division duplex (TDD) (Fig. 2, [0061], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP … This can apply for the RedCap UEs or non-RedCap UEs in TDD or HD-FDD systems”, [0065], “when NCD-SSB is present in an RRC-configured active DL BWP, the symbols indicated for NCD-SSB and/or CD-SSB are considered as invalid symbols for PUSCH repetition Type B transmission. Note that this may apply for the RedCap UEs or non-RedCap UEs in TDD or HD-FDD systems”) carrier aggregation (CA) ([0245], “the UE 602 and RAN 604 may use carrier aggregation to allow the UE 602 to connect with a plurality of component carriers, each corresponding to a Pcell or Scell”) via a plurality of component carriers (CCs).
However, Xiong does not explicitly teach inter-band time-division duplex (TDD) , via a plurality of component carriers (CCs), transmit in response to a command configured to enable collision handling by the apparatus, an indication that the apparatus is configured for a non-legacy BWP switching delay.
Liao, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches inter-band time-division duplex (TDD) ([0031], “The CCs are either intra-band (i.e., located in the same frequency band) or inter-band (i.e., across different frequency bands) … such as frequency-division duplexing (FDD) mode, TDD mode, flexible duplex mode, and sub-band full duplex mode, across CCs within a discrete cell are supported”),
via a plurality of component carriers (CCs) (Fig. 3, [0034], disclose each CC may include one or multiple BWP clusters. Fig. 6, [0042], disclose TDD configuration associated with CCs, DL, UL and BWP, [0052], “Each of the one or more BWP
configuration indicates a BWP including one or more radio resource clusters, each of which includes a set of physically contiguous radio resources within one of the CCs. Also, processor 1012 may perform, via transceiver 1016, a carrier aggregation within the cell based on the CC configurations and the one or more BWP configurations”).
The motivation for combining Xiong and Liao regarding to the claim 4 is also applied to claim 12.
Lim, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches transmit, in response to a command configured to enable collision handling by the apparatus ([0011], “in case that a sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission on the first carrier and a physical channel transmission on a second carrier of the second serving cell collide and directionalCollisionHandling is configured as ‘enabled’ for the set of serving cells, applying a priority rule for the SRS transmission between the first carrier and the second carrier and then applying a procedure for directional collision handling”, [0559], “when a physical channel on a second carrier including a PDSCH and a PUSCH configured only with CQI collides with aperiodic SRS transmission on the first carrier, the UE may drop first the PUSCH configured only with CQI based on a priority rule for the SRS transmission, and then may drop the aperiodic SRS transmission based on directional collision handling”), an indication that the apparatus is configured for a non-legacy BWP switching delay ([0099], “the requirements for the BWP change delay time may support type 1 or type 2 according to a UE capability. The UE may report a supportable BWP delay time type to the BS”, [0100], “when the UE receives the DCI including a BWP change indicator in slot n according to the requirements for the BWP change delay time, the UE may complete a change to a new BWP indicated by the BWP change indicator at a time point that is not later than slot n+TBWP and transmit and receive a data channel scheduled by the corresponding DCI in the changed new BWP … when scheduling the data channel in the new BWP, the BS may schedule the corresponding data channel after the BWP change delay time using a method of determining the time domain resource allocation for the data channel … the UE may not expect that the DCI indicating the BWP change indicates a slot offset (K0 or K2) smaller than the BWP change delay time”, [0101], “If the UE receives the DCI indicating the BWP change … when the UE receives the DCI indicating the BWP change in slot n and a slot offset value indicated by the corresponding DCI is K, the UE may perform no transmission or reception from the third symbol of slot n to a symbol before slot n+K (that is, the last symbol of slot n+K-1)”).
Xiong and Lim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Xiong and the features of UE performing collision handling based on Collison enable/disable command, reporting a supportable BWP delay time type to the BS as taught by Lim, for the benefit for allowing BS control UE how and when to handle collision, and allowing BS scheduling the corresponding data channel after corresponding BWP change delay time to avoid resources collision during BWP switching (paragraph [0100]).
Claim 13: The combination of Xiong, Liao and Lim teach teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: monitor a first bandwidth-part (BWP) BWP of one or more of the plurality of CCs; and switch from the first BWP to a second BWP (Liao, Fig. 5, [0041], “the active DL/UL BWP may be dynamically switched from one BWP to another BWP to better adapt to traffic load variation and to reduce power consumption”, [0053], “processor
1012 may switch the first active UL/DL BWP from a first UL/DL BWP to a second UL/DL BWP based on the indication of the first active UL/DL BWP”) within the non-legacy BWP switching delay (Lim, [0098-0099], TABLE 3, disclose BWP switch delay for Type 1 and Type 2 based on UE capability, wherein Type 2 is reading as non-legacy BWP switching, and Type 1 is reading as non-legacy BWP switching [0100], “when the UE receives the DCI including a BWP change indicator in slot n according to the requirements for the BWP change delay time, the UE may complete a change to a new BWP indicated by the BWP change indicator at a time point that is not later than slot n+TBWP and transmit and receive a data channel scheduled by the corresponding DCI in the changed new BWP … when scheduling the data channel in the new BWP, the BS may schedule the corresponding data channel after the BWP change delay time using a method of determining the time domain resource allocation for the data channel … the UE may not expect that the DCI indicating the BWP change indicates a slot offset (K0 or K2) smaller than the BWP change delay time”).
Claim 14: The combination of Xiong, Liao and Lim teaches the apparatus of claim 12, Lim additionally teaches wherein the non-legacy BWP switching delay has a longer duration relative to a legacy switching delay ([0098-0099], TABLE 3, disclose BWP switch delay for Type 1 and Type 2 based on UE capability, wherein Type 2 delay time is longer than Type1, Type 2 is reading as non-legacy BWP switching, and Type 1 is reading as non-legacy BWP switching ).
The motivation for combining Xiong and Lim regarding to the claim 12 is also applied to claim 14.
Claims 15, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al. (US 20230224880 A1, hereinafter Xiong) in view of Li et al. (US 20250141626 A1, hereinafter Li) and further in view of Lim et al. (US 20230208607 A1, hereinafter Lim)
Claim 15: Xiong does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, via the at least one transceiver, an indication of whether the apparatus is capable of supporting half-duplex communications via time-division duplex (TDD) carrier aggregation (CA);
Lim, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches transmit, via the at least one transceiver, an indication of whether the apparatus is capable of supporting half-duplex communications via time-division duplex (TDD) carrier aggregation (CA) (Fig. 32, element S3210, [0551-0552], wherein the UE may identify whether it has a capability to support half-DuplexTDD-CA-SameSCS and report the capability information to the base station.);
Xiong and Lim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Xiong and the features of UE reporting TDD, CA capability to the BS, BS configure UE with collision handling enable/disable, as taught by Lim, for the benefit of providing flexible, configurable collision handling between BS and UE.
Claim 28: The combination of Xiong and Lim teaches the apparatus of claim 15, Lim additionally teaches wherein the capability for half-duplex communications is associated with inter-band TDD CA ([0540], “if the UE can simultaneously transmit the uplink signal and the SRS by using different RF transceivers in the inter-band CA environment, both are uplink transmissions and thus the UE may be assumed to support the uplink transmission even in a half-duplex TDD CA environment”).
The motivation for combining Xiong and Lim regarding to the claim 15 is also applied to claim 28.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
An updated search has been performed, and no prior art has been found that solely, or in any reasonable combination, reads on the claims 16 as recited, i.e. “ An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one transceiver; one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions; and one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE) via the at least one transceiver, signaling configuring the UE to communicate via one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs), wherein at least one of a cell defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB) or a non-cell defining synchronization signal block (NCD-SSB) can be transmitted via each of the one or more BWPs; transmit, to the UE via the at least one transceiver, an indication of a first set of time-domain resources; transmit, to the UE via the at least one transceiver, a command configured to enable collision handling at the UE; and transmit, to the UE via the at least one transceiver and via a BWP of the one or more BWPs, an NCD-SSB within the first set of time-domain resources or within a subset of the time-domain resources of the first set, wherein the NCD-SSB is transmitted within the first set of time-domain resources or within the subset of the time-domain resources of the first set is based on the command.”.
The closest prior art found by the Examiner is (US20230224880 A1) and (US20250141626 A1).
However, the references alone and in combination do not teach or suggest “transmit, to the UE via the at least one transceiver and via a BWP of the one or more BWPs, an NCD-SSB within the first set of time-domain resources or within a subset of the time-domain resources of the first set, wherein the NCD-SSB is transmitted within the first set of time-domain resources or within the subset of the time-domain resources of the first set is based on the command” as recited in claim 16.
For the reason set forth before, the dependent claims 20, 23-26,29-31 and 33 are in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472