DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-30 are pending. Claims 1, 15, 16, 17, 29 and 30 are independent.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 7-11 and 23-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11 and 25, the phrase "can be" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-4, 14-17 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Tan (US PG Pub. 2018/0240011).
As regarding claims 1, 15 and 16, Tan discloses A computer-implemented method for developing a central machine learning model, the method performed by a central system communicatively coupled to a plurality of satellite systems, the method comprising:
receiving, at the central system, a plurality of synthetic data samples from respective satellite systems of the plurality of satellite systems, wherein each of the plurality of synthetic data samples is based on an actual data sample of the respective satellite system [para. 83; receiving parameters (described in para. 57-58) representing a local machine learning model from a plurality of local sites];
generating one or more processing rules based on the synthetic data samples [para. 53; generating a plurality of synthesized data-label pairs]; and
developing a central machine learning model based on the one or more processing rules [para. 83; generating updated central machine learning model based on the plurality of synthesized data-label pairs].
As regarding claim 2, Tan further discloses The method of claim 1, comprising: transmitting the central machine learning model to the plurality of satellite systems [para. 64];
receiving a plurality of updated data values from respective satellite systems of the plurality of satellite systems, wherein the plurality of updated data values were generated from training the central machine learning model using the actual data samples of the plurality of satellite systems [para. 64];
aggregating the plurality of updated data values to generate a central update [para. 64]; and
updating the central machine learning model based on the central update [para. 64].
As regarding claim 3, Tan further discloses The method of claim 2, wherein aggregating the plurality of updated data values comprises applying one or more federated averaging algorithms to the updated data values [para. 25 and 77].
As regarding claim 4, Tan further discloses The method of claim 2, comprising training the updated central machine learning model on a testing data set of the central system [para. 46 and 83].
As regarding claims 14 and 28, Tan further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of synthetic data samples do not correspond to any actual data samples that correspond to PII [para. 86; data transmitted to the central system are not actual data].
As regarding claims 17, 29 and 30, Tan discloses A computer-implemented method for training a central machine learning model locally at a satellite system that is communicatively coupled to a central system that is communicatively coupled to a plurality of satellite systems, the method comprising:
generating, at the satellite system, a plurality of synthetic data samples based on actual data samples of the satellite system [para. 83; generating, at a local site, parameters (described in para. 57-58) representing a local machine learning model];
transmitting the plurality of synthetic data samples to the central system; receiving, from the central system, a central machine learning model, wherein the central machine learning model is generated based at least in part on the plurality of synthetic data samples [para. 83; transmitting the parameters to a central site];
training the central machine learning model using actual data samples of the satellite system to generate a local update [para. 19, 25, 46 and 64]; and
transmitting the local update to the central system [para. 19, 25, 46 and 63-64].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 5, 6, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (US PG Pub. 2018/0240011) in view of Sassin (US PG Pub. 2019/0318272).
As regarding claims 5 and 19, Tan does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of satellite systems store actual data samples according to a uniform data schema. However, Sassin discloses it [para. 20].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Tan’s system to further comprise the missing claim features, as disclosed by Sassin, for managing and maintaining data in the system.
As regarding claims 6 and 20, Tan and Sassin further disclose The method of claim 17, wherein the plurality of satellite systems store data samples according to different data schemas [Sassin 152-154].
12. Claims 12, 13, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (US PG Pub. 2018/0240011) in view of Silveira (US PG Pub. 2022/0141192).
As regarding claims 12 and 26, Tan does not explicitly disclose that the central system and each of the plurality of satellite systems comprises an independent virtual private cloud (VPC). However, Silveira discloses it [para. 175].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Tan’s system to further comprise the missing claim features, as disclosed by Silveira, to facilitate network security for the cloud system.
As regarding claims 13 and 27, Tan and Silveira further disclose The method of claim 1, wherein the central system is communicatively coupled to the plurality of satellite systems via secure point-to-point communication channels [Silveira para. 24 and 56].
13. Claims 18, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (US PG Pub. 2018/0240011) in view of Abdelsalam (US Patent 10,698,756).
As regarding claim 18, Tan does not explicitly disclose encrypting the local update before transmitting the local update to the central system. However, Abdelsalam discloses it [col. 6 lines 29-31; encrypting data using SSL protocol before transmitting the data to the central server].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Tan’s system to further comprise the missing claim features, as disclosed by Abdelsalam, in order to protect data from exposure to potentially malicious actors.
As regarding claim 21, Tan and Abdelsalam further disclose The method of claim 20, comprising:
receiving, at the satellite system, an encryption pipeline from the central system, wherein the encryption pipeline comprises encryption instructions [Abdelsalam col. 6 lines 29-31; exchanging SSL handshake instructions before transmitting data];
generating a plurality of encrypted data samples based on actual data samples of the satellite system in accordance with the encryption instructions [Abdelsalam col. 6 lines 29-31; encrypting data before transmission]; and
transmitting the plurality of encrypted data samples to the central system [col. 6 lines 29-31; transmitting encrypted data to the central server].
As regarding claim 22, Tan and Abdelsalam further disclose The method of claim 21, comprising storing, at the satellite system, a reverse mapping of the plurality of encrypted data samples [Abdelsalam col. 6 lines 29-31].
Conclusion
/THONG TRUONG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433