Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/30/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 7-12, 14-16, and 19-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FL Summary #2 on SRS Enhancements (R1-2101914), hereinafter 3GPP 1 in view of 3GPP TS 38.211 V16.5.0 (Release 16), hereinafter 3GPP 2.
Re. Claims 1, 9 and 14, 3GPP 1 teaches a network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory has a computer program stored thereon, and a terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory has a computer program stored thereon, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to enable the network device to perform: an initial number of resource blocks (RBs) for transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) on each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol in consecutive OFDM symbols, the first correspondence being a correspondence between frequency-domain related parameters and initial numbers of RBs (Pg. 4, Section 4 - Support to transmit SRS only in 1/PF mSRS,BSRS contiguous RBs in one OFDM symbol, where mSRS, BSRS indicates the number of RBs configured by BSRS and CSRS); first consecutive RBs for transmitting the SRS (Pg. 4, Section 4 - Support to transmit SRS only in 1/PF mSRS,BSRS contiguous RBs in one OFDM symbol, where mSRS, BSRS indicates the number of RBs configured by BSRS and CSRS); and adjusting, by the terminal device based on an adjustment factor, the initial number of RBs to obtain an actual number of RBs smaller than the initial number of RBs, and determining, by the terminal device based on position information, a position of second consecutive RBs for transmitting the SRS in the first consecutive RBs on each OFDM symbol, a number of RBs comprised in the second consecutive RBs being the actual number of RBs (Pg. 4, Section 4 - Support to transmit SRS only in 1/PF mSRS,BSRS contiguous RBs in one OFDM symbol, where mSRS, BSRS indicates the number of RBs configured by BSRS and CSRS… FFS detailed signaling mechanism to determine PF and the location of the 1/PF mSRS,BSRS RBs).
Yet, 3GPP 1 does not expressly teach determining, by a terminal device based on a frequency-domain related parameter and a first correspondence.
However, 3GPP 2 explicitly teaches determining, by a terminal device based on a frequency-domain related parameter and a first correspondence (6.4.1.4.1, Pg. 84 – An SRS resource is configured by the SRS-Resource IE or the SRS-PosResource IE and consists of… [a] number of antenna ports… consecutive OFDM symbols… the starting position in the time domain… [and] the frequency-domain starting position of the sounding reference signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of 3GPP 2 to the teaching of 3GPP 1. The motivation for such would be as 3GPP 2 provides that the terminal device is provided a frequency-domain related parameter and a first correspondence (6.4.1.4.1, Pg. 84). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 2, 10, and 15, 3GPP 1 and 3GPP 2 teaches Claims 1, 9, and 15.
Additionally, 3GPP 1 further teaches wherein the adjustment factor is greater than 1 (Pg. 4, Section 4 - Support at least one Pf value from {2, [3], 4, 8}).
Re. Claims 3, 11, and 16, 3GPP 1 and 3GPP 2 teaches Claims 1, 9, and 15.
Additionally, 3GPP 1 further teaches wherein the adjustment factor is any one of elements in any one of sets: {2,3,4,8}, {2,4,8}, {2,4}, OR {2} (Pg. 4, Section 4 - Support at least one Pf value from {2, [3], 4, 8}. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”).
Re. Claim 4, 3GPP 1 teaches Claim 2.
Yet, 3GPP 1 does not expressly teach wherein when a number of consecutive OFDM symbols occupied by the SRS is equal to 1, the position information has a value being any one in a set {0,1, ...PF-1}, where PF represents the adjustment factor.
However, 3GPP 2 explicitly teaches wherein when a number of consecutive OFDM symbols occupied by the SRS is equal to 1, the position information has a value being any one in a set {0,1, ...PF-1}, where PF represents the adjustment factor (6.4.1.4.1, Pg. 84 - N SRS Symb ∈ {1,2,4,8,12} consecutive OFDM symbols given by the field nofSymbols. Examiner interprets that if PF-1 is the maximum number of symbols in the consecutive RB list then the NSRS Symb set would be likewise restricted to the maximum number possible, much like here it is dictated by nofSymbols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of 3GPP 2 to the teaching of 3GPP 1. The motivation for such would be as 3GPP 2 provides that position information is included in the set of numbers between 0 and PF-1 (6.4.1.4.1, Pg. 84). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 7 and 19, 3GPP 1 teaches Claims 1 and 14.
Additionally, 3GPP 1 further teaches wherein the adjustment factor is configured based on each SRS resource (Pg. 4, Section 4 - Support to transmit SRS only in 1/Pf mSRS,BSTS contiguous RBs in one OFDM symbol, where mSRS, BSRS indicates the number of RBs configured by BSRS and CSRS. Examiner interprets that in the above stated algorithm, the Pf is configured for each mSRS,BSRS resource. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”) OR all SRS resources in each SRS set.
Re. Claims 8 and 20, 3GPP 1 teaches Claims 1 and 14.
Additionally, 3GPP 1 further teaches wherein the position information is configured based on each SRS resource (Pg. 4, Section 4 - Support to transmit SRS only in 1/Pf mSRS,BSTS contiguous RBs in one OFDM symbol, where mSRS, BSRS indicates the number of RBs configured by BSRS and CSRS. Examiner interprets that the position information is the selection of the RB in the range between 1 and Pf-1, which, if the Pf is interpreted to b3e configured on each SRS resource individually, then the position information would be configured the same. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”) OR all SRS resources in each SRS set.
Claims 5, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP 2 and Wang, Hua-lei (CN 111277389 A), hereinafter Wang.
Re. Claims 5, 12, and 17, 3GPP 1 teaches Claim 2.
Yet, 3GPP 1 does not expressly teach the position information has a value being any one in a set {0,1, ...PF-1 }, where PF represents the adjustment factor.
However, 3GPP 2 expressly teaches the position information has a value being any one in a set {0,1, ...PF-1 }, where PF represents the adjustment factor (6.4.1.4.1, Pg. 84 - N SRS Symb ∈ {1,2,4,8,12} consecutive OFDM symbols given by the field nofSymbols. Examiner interprets that if PF-1 is the maximum number of symbols in the consecutive RB list then the NSRS Symb set would be likewise restricted to the maximum number possible, much like here it is dictated by nofSymbols).
Yet, the combination of 3GPP 1 and 3GPP 2 does not expressly teach wherein when a number of consecutive OFDM symbols occupied by the SRS is greater than 1, in response to determining to start frequency hopping based on the frequency-domain related parameter and determining that frequency-domain positions of the SRS on the first consecutive RBs corresponding respectively to the consecutive OFDM symbols are identical based on the position information.
However, Wang explicitly teaches wherein when a number of consecutive OFDM symbols occupied by the SRS is greater than 1 (Pg. 5, Line 15- on the SRS region the first SRS comprises N sub-band SRS bandwidth through the terminal device to send, the N is greater than 1), in response to determining to start frequency hopping based on the frequency-domain related parameter (Fig. 3, & Pg. 9, Line 11 - FIG. 3 depicts the frequency hopping of the first SRS.) and determining that the SRS has an identical frequency domain position on the first consecutive RBs corresponding respectively to each OFDM symbol of the consecutive OFDM symbols based on the position information (Pg. 4, Line 6 - RB number of the resource block RB number of said SRS-area is less than or equal to the sub-band to which the SRS region belongs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of 3GPP 2 and Wang to the teaching of 3GPP 1. The motivation for such would be as 3GPP 2 provides that position information is included in the set of numbers between 0 and PF-1 (6.4.1.4.1, Pg. 84, 3GPP 2) and Wang provides an explanation for frequency hopping (Fig. 3, Wang). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 6, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP 1 in view of Qin et al. (WO 2019096244 A1), hereinafter Qin.
Re. Claims 6, 13, and 18, 3GPP 1 teaches Claim 1.
However, 3GPP 1 does not expressly teach wherein the adjustment factor and the position information are jointly encoded or independently encoded.
Yet, Qin explicitly teaches wherein the adjustment factor and the position information are jointly encoded (Pg. 4, Line 37 - With reference to the first aspect, in some implementations of the first aspect, the start symbol of the SRS resource in one time unit, and the number of symbols occupied by the SRS resource in one time unit… The repetition factor with the SRS resource is jointly encoded.) OR independently encoded.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Qin to the teaching of 3GPP 1. The motivation for such would be as Qin provides the adjustment factor and position information can be jointly encoded (Pg. 4, Line 37, Qin). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of the references herein referred to as 3GPP1 and 3GPP2 do not adequately disclose “position information”. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this interpretation. It appears that Applicant’s interpretation of the claims is narrower than the actual breadth of the claims. During examination, the claims are given its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In their argument, Applicant provides an example of “the position of the reduced RBs relative to the initial RBs” and builds their argument from this example. However, Examiner notes that the claimed language referred to in its entirety is “determining, by the terminal device based on position information, a position…” with no further explanation or narrowing provided by the claimed language, allowing for a reasonably broad interpretation. Examiner maintains that the cited lines of 3GPP1, Section 4 (Support to transmit SRS only in 1/PF mSRS,BSRS contiguous RBs in one OFDM symbol, where mSRS, BSRS indicates the number of RBs configured by BSRS and CSRS… FFS detailed signaling mechanism to determine PF and the location of the 1/PF mSRS,BSRS RBs) provides a mechanism to determine the location of the respective resource blocks, which are subsequently used to transmit the SRS, which is analogous to the terminal device determining a subset of RBs to transmit SRS’s on each OFDM symbol as claimed in the present invention. Thus, in light of this, Examiner interprets that FFS detailed signaling mechanism to determine PF and the location of the 1/PF mSRS,BSRS RBs as outlined in 3GPP 1 provides location or “position information” in a manner that is structurally similar to that claimed herein. As such, Examiner upholds the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for independent claims 1, 9, and 14, as well as all claims depending therein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US 11323221 B2) – Fig. 2, Column 3, Lines 6-18, & Column 12, Line 55 – Column 13, Line 3.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475