DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 26, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2025/0112750 to Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu).
In regard claim 1, Liu teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Figs. 18 and 22), comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig. 22, element 620); and
one or more processors each communicatively coupled with at least one of the one or more memories (see Fig. 22, elements 610 and 620), the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, operable to cause the apparatus to (see Figs. 18 and 22):
receive, from a network entity, downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first number of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (see paragraphs [0181], [0230], and [0233], when the UE may receive the first (or the last) symbol of the DCI carrying the Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s) (with or without DL assignment) indicated in the reference PDCCH candidate determined);
detect a switch between a multiple transmission and reception point (mTRP) mode and a single TRP (sTRP) mode in the UE based on the first number of TCI states being different than a second number of TCI states which were previously received by the UE (see paragraphs [0058], [0326], [0327], [0330], [0339], and [0350], scheduling DCI may contain 1 or 2 TCI states, so as to indicate a dynamic switch between single TRP (sTRP) transmission and multi-TRP (mTRP) transmission. Specifically, when a codepoint of a TCI field in the DCI indicates one TCI state, it indicates the sTRP transmission. When the codepoint indicates two TCI states, it indicates the mTRP transmission, and in this case, each of the TCI states is mapped to a specific resource for the TRP transmission, such as a code division multiplexing (CDM) group, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port, the number of transmission layers, a phase-tracking RS (PT-RS) port, a redundancy version (RV), and other contents related to PDSCH scheduling. Various methods of indicating the sTRP or mTRP operation modes or a dynamic switching between the sTRP or mTRP operation modes. The same DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with or without DL assignment) for Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s) indication could also indicate the sTRP or mTRP operation modes or a dynamic switching between the sTRP or mTRP modes);
communicate with the network entity in one or more channels configured to use a selected TCI state associated with the first number of TCI states using one or more predefined rules based on the switch between the mTRP mode and the sTRP mode (see paragraphs [0038], and [0058], the terminal device 110 may communicate with one or more core networks through a radio access network (RAN). Scheduling DCI may contain 1 or 2 TCI states, so as to indicate a dynamic switch between single TRP (sTRP) transmission and multi-TRP (mTRP) transmission. Specifically, when a codepoint of a TCI field in the DCI indicates one TCI state, it indicates the sTRP transmission. When the codepoint indicates two TCI states, it indicates the mTRP transmission, and in this case, each of the TCI states is mapped to a specific resource for the TRP transmission, such as a code division multiplexing (CDM) group, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port, the number of transmission layers, a phase-tracking RS (PT-RS) port, a redundancy version (RV), and other contents related to PDSCH scheduling).
In regard claim 2, Liu teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first number of TCI states includes a single TCI state in the sTRP mode of the UE and a plurality of TCI states in the mTRP mode of the UE (see paragraph [0058], scheduling DCI may contain 1 or 2 TCI states, so as to indicate a dynamic switch between single TRP (sTRP) transmission and multi-TRP (mTRP) transmission. Specifically, when a codepoint of a TCI field in the DCI indicates one TCI state, it indicates the sTRP transmission. When the codepoint indicates two TCI states, it indicates the mTRP transmission, and in this case, each of the TCI states is mapped to a specific resource for the TRP transmission, such as a code division multiplexing (CDM) group, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port, the number of transmission layers, a phase-tracking RS (PT-RS) port, a redundancy version (RV), and other contents related to PDSCH scheduling).
In regard claim 26, Liu teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for receiving, from a network entity, downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first number of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (see paragraphs [0181], [0230], and [0233], when the UE may receive the first (or the last) symbol of the DCI carrying the Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s) (with or without DL assignment) indicated in the reference PDCCH candidate determined);
means for detecting a switch between a multiple transmission and reception point (mTRP) mode and a single TRP (sTRP) mode in the UE based on the first number of TCI states being different than a second number of TCI states which were previously received by the UE (see paragraphs [0058], [0326], [0327], [0330], [0339], and [0350], scheduling DCI may contain 1 or 2 TCI states, so as to indicate a dynamic switch between single TRP (sTRP) transmission and multi-TRP (mTRP) transmission. Specifically, when a codepoint of a TCI field in the DCI indicates one TCI state, it indicates the sTRP transmission. When the codepoint indicates two TCI states, it indicates the mTRP transmission, and in this case, each of the TCI states is mapped to a specific resource for the TRP transmission, such as a code division multiplexing (CDM) group, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port, the number of transmission layers, a phase-tracking RS (PT-RS) port, a redundancy version (RV), and other contents related to PDSCH scheduling. Various methods of indicating the sTRP or mTRP operation modes or a dynamic switching between the sTRP or mTRP operation modes. The same DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with or without DL assignment) for Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s) indication could also indicate the sTRP or mTRP operation modes or a dynamic switching between the sTRP or mTRP modes); and
means for communicating with the network entity in one or more channels configured to use a selected TCI state associated with the first number of TCI states using one or more predefined rules based on the switch between the mTRP mode and the sTRP mode (see paragraphs [0038], and [0058], the terminal device 110 may communicate with one or more core networks through a radio access network (RAN). Scheduling DCI may contain 1 or 2 TCI states, so as to indicate a dynamic switch between single TRP (sTRP) transmission and multi-TRP (mTRP) transmission. Specifically, when a codepoint of a TCI field in the DCI indicates one TCI state, it indicates the sTRP transmission. When the codepoint indicates two TCI states, it indicates the mTRP transmission, and in this case, each of the TCI states is mapped to a specific resource for the TRP transmission, such as a code division multiplexing (CDM) group, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port, the number of transmission layers, a phase-tracking RS (PT-RS) port, a redundancy version (RV), and other contents related to PDSCH scheduling).
In regard claim 27, Liu teaches or discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first number of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (see paragraphs [0181], [0230], and [0233], when the UE may receive the first (or the last) symbol of the DCI carrying the Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s) (with or without DL assignment) indicated in the reference PDCCH candidate determined);
detecting a switch between a multiple transmission and reception point (mTRP) mode and a single TRP (sTRP) mode in the UE based on the first number of TCI states being different than a second number of TCI states which were previously received by the UE (see paragraphs [0058], [0326], [0327], [0330], [0339], and [0350], scheduling DCI may contain 1 or 2 TCI states, so as to indicate a dynamic switch between single TRP (sTRP) transmission and multi-TRP (mTRP) transmission. Specifically, when a codepoint of a TCI field in the DCI indicates one TCI state, it indicates the sTRP transmission. When the codepoint indicates two TCI states, it indicates the mTRP transmission, and in this case, each of the TCI states is mapped to a specific resource for the TRP transmission, such as a code division multiplexing (CDM) group, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port, the number of transmission layers, a phase-tracking RS (PT-RS) port, a redundancy version (RV), and other contents related to PDSCH scheduling. Various methods of indicating the sTRP or mTRP operation modes or a dynamic switching between the sTRP or mTRP operation modes. The same DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with or without DL assignment) for Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s) indication could also indicate the sTRP or mTRP operation modes or a dynamic switching between the sTRP or mTRP modes); and
communicating with the network entity in one or more channels configured to use a selected TCI state associated with the first number of TCI states using one or more predefined
rules based on the switch between the mTRP mode and the sTRP mode (see paragraphs [0038], and [0058], the terminal device 110 may communicate with one or more core networks through a radio access network (RAN). Scheduling DCI may contain 1 or 2 TCI states, so as to indicate a dynamic switch between single TRP (sTRP) transmission and multi-TRP (mTRP) transmission. Specifically, when a codepoint of a TCI field in the DCI indicates one TCI state, it indicates the sTRP transmission. When the codepoint indicates two TCI states, it indicates the mTRP transmission, and in this case, each of the TCI states is mapped to a specific resource for the TRP transmission, such as a code division multiplexing (CDM) group, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port, the number of transmission layers, a phase-tracking RS (PT-RS) port, a redundancy version (RV), and other contents related to PDSCH scheduling).
In regard claim 30, Liu teaches or discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising computer executable code, the code when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), causes the one or more processors to, individually or in combination:
receive, from a network entity, downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first number of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (see paragraphs [0181], [0230], and [0233], when the UE may receive the first (or the last) symbol of the DCI carrying the Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s) (with or without DL assignment) indicated in the reference PDCCH candidate determined);
detect a switch between a multiple transmission and reception point (mTRP) mode and a single TRP (sTRP) mode in the UE based on the first number of TCI states being different than a second number of TCI states which were previously received by the UE (see paragraphs [0058], [0326], [0327], [0330], [0339], and [0350], scheduling DCI may contain 1 or 2 TCI states, so as to indicate a dynamic switch between single TRP (sTRP) transmission and multi-TRP (mTRP) transmission. Specifically, when a codepoint of a TCI field in the DCI indicates one TCI state, it indicates the sTRP transmission. When the codepoint indicates two TCI states, it indicates the mTRP transmission, and in this case, each of the TCI states is mapped to a specific resource for the TRP transmission, such as a code division multiplexing (CDM) group, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port, the number of transmission layers, a phase-tracking RS (PT-RS) port, a redundancy version (RV), and other contents related to PDSCH scheduling. Various methods of indicating the sTRP or mTRP operation modes or a dynamic switching between the sTRP or mTRP operation modes. The same DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with or without DL assignment) for Rel. 17 unified TCI state(s) indication could also indicate the sTRP or mTRP operation modes or a dynamic switching between the sTRP or mTRP modes); and
communicate with the network entity in one or more channels configured to use a selected TCI state associated with the first number of TCI states using one or more predefined rules based on the switch between the TRP mode and the sTRP mode (see paragraphs [0038], and [0058], the terminal device 110 may communicate with one or more core networks through a radio access network (RAN). Scheduling DCI may contain 1 or 2 TCI states, so as to indicate a dynamic switch between single TRP (sTRP) transmission and multi-TRP (mTRP) transmission. Specifically, when a codepoint of a TCI field in the DCI indicates one TCI state, it indicates the sTRP transmission. When the codepoint indicates two TCI states, it indicates the mTRP transmission, and in this case, each of the TCI states is mapped to a specific resource for the TRP transmission, such as a code division multiplexing (CDM) group, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port, the number of transmission layers, a phase-tracking RS (PT-RS) port, a redundancy version (RV), and other contents related to PDSCH scheduling).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of US Pub. 2025/0240072 to Canonne-Velasquez et al. (hereinafter Canonne-Velasquez).
In regard claim 23, Liu may not explicitly teach or disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further operable to cause the apparatus to receive, from the network entity, a configuration that configures the UE to report channel state information (CSI) based on a Type II codebook for coherent joint transmission (CJT) in the mTRP mode.
However, Canonne-Velasquez teaches or disclose to receive, from the network entity, a configuration that configures the UE to report channel state information (CSI) based on a Type II codebook for coherent joint transmission (CJT) in the mTRP mode (see paragraphs [0171], [0180], a WTRU may receive a CSI reporting setting which may be configured for mTRP reporting as a (e.g., new) codebook type, codebookType=type2-r18, or type2-mTRP-r18. The WTRU may receive an indication of the measurement hypothesis for each pair (e.g. sTRP, C-JT or NC-JT). The pair may consist of multiple (e.g., at least two) RS groups. The WTRU may report CSI assuming the transmission hypothesis from the TRP pair associated to the RS pair. a WTRU may receive configuration information to report mTRP Type 2 CSI for TRP1 and TRP2, and co-phasing factor for TRP1 and TRP2. The WTRU may receive the configuration information and determine to report a (e.g., one) PMI per TRP, and one inter-TRP co-phasing factor between TRP1 and TRP2. A WTRU may report a (e.g., one) CQI per TRP, or a (e.g., one) joint CQI conditioned on the C-JT precoder P).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a wireless communication network system of Liu by including to receive, from the network entity, a configuration that configures the UE to report channel state information (CSI) based on a Type II codebook for coherent joint transmission (CJT) in the mTRP mode suggested by Canonne-Velasquez. This modification would provide to reduce feedback overhead and/or report PMIs and/or co-phase information for tRPs in JT read in paragraph [0003].
In regard claim 24, Liu may not explicitly teach or disclose the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further operable to cause the apparatus to transmit, to the network entity, UE capability information indicating support for CSI reporting of CJT operations based on the Type II codebook for CJT in the mTRP mode.
However, Canonne-Velasquez teaches or discloses to transmit, to the network entity, UE capability information indicating support for CSI reporting of CJT operations based on the Type II codebook for CJT in the mTRP mode (see paragraphs [0171], and [0180], a WTRU may report a (e.g., one) Type 2 PMI per TRP. The WTRU may report an inter-TRP co-phasing factor between TRP pairs. The WTRU may report the co-phasing factor, a, for example, such that the WTRU determines an optimal precoder P=[P1 α*P2], where P1 and P2 may be the per TRP (e.g., single TRP) PMIs from a Type II codebook, and α may be the co-phasing factor. P may be defined as the C-JT precoder. For example, a WTRU may receive configuration information to report mTRP Type 2 CSI for TRP1 and TRP2, and co-phasing factor for TRP1 and TRP2. The WTRU may receive the configuration information and determine to report a (e.g., one) PMI per TRP, and one inter-TRP co-phasing factor between TRP1 and TRP2. A WTRU may report a (e.g., one) CQI per TRP, or a (e.g., one) joint CQI conditioned on the C-JT precoder P).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a wireless communication network system of Liu by including to transmit, to the network entity, UE capability information indicating support for CSI reporting of CJT operations based on the Type II codebook for CJT in the mTRP mode suggested by Canonne-Velasquez. This modification would provide to reduce feedback overhead and/or report PMIs and/or co-phase information for tRPs in JT read in paragraph [0003].
In regard claim 25, Liu may not explicitly teach or disclose the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the Type II codebook for CJT in the mTRP mode is an extension based on one or more of an enhanced Type-II regular codebook, a further-enhanced Type-II port selection codebook, or a codebook dedicated for CJT operation.
However, Canonne-Velasquez teaches or discloses wherein the Type II codebook for CJT in the mTRP mode is an extension based on one or more of an enhanced Type-II regular codebook, a further-enhanced Type-II port selection codebook, or a codebook dedicated for CJT operation (see paragraphs [0171], and [0180], a WTRU may receive configuration information to report mTRP Type 2 CSI for TRP1 and TRP2, and co-phasing factor for TRP1 and TRP2. The WTRU may receive the configuration information and determine to report a (e.g., one) PMI per TRP, and one inter-TRP co-phasing factor between TRP1 and TRP2. A WTRU may report a (e.g., one) CQI per TRP, or a (e.g., one) joint CQI conditioned on the C-JT precoder P).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a wireless communication network system of Liu by including the Type II codebook for CJT in the mTRP mode is an extension based on one or more of an enhanced Type-II regular codebook, a further-enhanced Type-II port selection codebook, or a codebook dedicated for CJT operation suggested by Canonne-Velasquez. This modification would provide to reduce feedback overhead and/or report PMIs and/or co-phase information for tRPs in JT read in paragraph [0003].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-22, 28, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 3, 10, and 19-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Date: 02/03/2026
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476