DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. The indicated allowability of claims 6, 8, 13, 19 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Cavallieri et al (USPN 2024/0204455). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21, the claimed feature “the potting material extends a third distance, greater than the first distance and less than the second distance” is not clear. The drawings and the specification do not support this claimed feature”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-3, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Cavallieri et al (USPN 2024/0204455).
Regarding claim 1, Cavallieri discloses a system (a system 200, see figures 3, 4, 7), comprising:
a choke (a choke 400), comprising:
an inner surface (an opening 404) defining a cavity, the inner surface configured to surround a plurality of conductive elements (terminals 106, 301);
an outer surface (414) configured to couple with a housing (a housing 202, see figure 4) for the plurality of conductive elements (106, 301); and
a magnetic material (magnesium zinc alloy material or an iron nickel alloy material 402 of the choke 400, see par. 0034) extending in a first direction perpendicular (a vertical direction of the choke 400) to a lateral plane (such as a lateral plane is formed by a width and length of the opening 404 of the choke 400 see figure 4), the lateral plane intersecting with the plurality of conductive elements (106, 301) (see figures 3, 4).
Regarding claim 2, Cavallieri discloses the plurality of conductive elements (106, 301) to electrically connect a multi-phase motor to an inverter (such as the terminals 106, 301 configured to coupled to an inverter (102) with an electric motor (104) in a vehicle, see par. 0002, 0020).
Regarding claim 3, Cavallieri discloses wherein the choke (the choke 400) comprises the outer surface (414) of the choke to couple with a first sidewall of the housing (202), see figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Cavallieri discloses the lateral plane is a bounding plane for the plurality of conductive elements (106, 301) surrounded by the inner surface (404) of the choke (400)(see figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 5-7, 9-10, 12-17, 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallieri et al (USPN 2024/0204455) in view of Mrad (USPN 2022/0270805).
Regarding claims 5, 6, 7, 12, 21, Cavallieri discloses wherein the choke (400) comprises the magnetic material (the choke 400 is made of the magnetic material 402) extends a first distance, in the first direction wherein the lateral plane is a bounding plane for the plurality of conductive elements (106, 301) surrounded by the inner surface (the opening 404) of the choke; and the housing (202) extends a second distance, greater than the first distance, to a portion thereof configured to interface with a cap (201) configured to retain a within the housing (see figures 3, 7), and
wherein the inner surface (the opening 404) to surround a second sidewall (510) of the housing (202) and a plurality of seals (203), the second sidewall (510) and the plurality of seals (203) configured to separate the plurality of conductive elements (301) (see figure4)
Cavallieri does not explicitly disclose a potting material as claimed.
Mrad discloses a choke apparatus (see figures 1, 3) comprises a potting material (a potting resin 4) in cavity (28) extends a third distance (a third distance 43), greater than a first distance (a high portion of a choke coil 3 that below a potting level 43) and less than a second distance (a second distance is a lower surface of a cap 12)(see figures 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the choke device of Cavallieri to incorporate a potting material as disclosed by Mrad in order to optimize a thermal stability.
Regarding claim 9, Cavallieri discloses a housing (a housing 202), comprising:
a first sidewall (inner housing 204, see figure 3, par. 0032 ) including an outer surface thereof; and
a second sidewall (210) including an inner surface thereof, the inner surface of the second sidewall (210) facing the outer surface of the first sidewall (204) to define a cavity (206) configured to receive a choke (a choke 400), the choke to surround a plurality of conductive elements (106, 301) bounded by the first sidewall (205) (see figures 6-7);
wherein: the choke extends a first distance (such as a distance from the bottom of the housing 202 to a top 406 of the choke 400) , in a first direction perpendicular to a lateral plane (the choke 400 received in the housing 202 in a vertical direction, see figure 7 that is perpendicular to a lateral plane which is formed by a width and a length of the choke 400), wherein the lateral plane is a bounding plane for the plurality of conductive elements (106, 301) surrounded by the inner surface of the choke; and
the cavity (206) extends second distance (a second distance from a bottom of the housing 202 to a component 504), greater than the first distance, to a portion thereof configured to interface with a cap (201) configured to retain within the housing.
Cavallieri does not explicitly disclose a potting material as claimed.
Mrad discloses a choke apparatus (see figures 1, 3) comprises a potting material (a potting resin 4) in cavity (28) (see figures 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the choke device of Cavallieri to incorporate a potting material as disclosed by Mrad in order to optimize a thermal stability.
Regarding claim 10, Cavallieri discloses the plurality of conductive elements (106, 301) to electrically connect a multi-phase motor to an inverter (such as the terminals 106, 301 configured to coupled to an inverter (102) with an electric motor (104) in a vehicle, see par. 0002, 0020).
Regarding claim 13, Cavallieri discloses the housing (202) extends a third distance (a distance from the bottom of the housing 202 to a side 201 of cover 201), greater than the second distance to a seal element (such as a cover 201).
Regarding claim 14, Cavallieri does not explicitly disclose a potting material as claimed.
Mrad discloses a choke apparatus (see figures 1, 3) comprises a potting material (a potting resin 4) in cavity (28) (see figures 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the choke device of Cavallieri to incorporate a potting material as disclosed by Mrad in order to optimize a thermal stability.
Regarding claims 15, 20, Cavallieri discloses a system (see figures 3-4, 6-7) comprises a housing (a housing 202), comprising:
a first sidewall (inner housing 204, see figure 3, par. 0032) including an outer surface thereof; and
a second sidewall (210) including an inner surface thereof, the inner surface of the second sidewall (210) facing the outer surface of the first sidewall (204) to define a cavity (206) and a choke (a choke 400) comprising
an inner surface (an opening 404) defining a cavity, the inner surface configured to surround a plurality of conductive elements (terminals 106, 301);
an outer surface (414) configured to couple with a housing (a housing 202, see figure 4) for the plurality of conductive elements (106, 301); and
a magnetic material (magnesium zinc alloy material or an iron nickel alloy material 402 of the choke 400, see par. 0034) extending in a first direction perpendicular (a vertical direction of the choke 400) to a lateral plane (such as a lateral plane is formed by a width and length of the opening 404 of the choke 400 see figure 4), wherein the lateral plane is a bounding plane for the plurality of conductive elements (106, 301) surrounded by the inner surface of the choke; and
the housing (202) extends second distance (a second distance from a bottom of the housing 202 to a component 504), greater than the first distance, to a portion thereof configured to interface with a cap (201) configured to retain within the housing.
Cavallieri does not explicitly disclose a potting material as claimed.
Mrad discloses a choke apparatus (see figures 1, 3) comprises a potting material (a potting resin 4) in cavity (28) (see figures 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the choke device of Cavallieri to incorporate a potting material as disclosed by Mrad in order to optimize a thermal stability.
Regarding claim 16, Cavallieri discloses a multi-phase motor (104, see figure 2) electrically connected to a first end of the plurality of conductive elements (106); and a multi-phase inverter (102) electrically connected to a second end of the plurality of conductive elements opposite the first end (see par. 0020).
Regarding claim 17, Cavallieri discloses wherein the outer surface (414) of the choke (400) couples with the first sidewall (204) of the housing (202).
5. Claims 4, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallieri et al (USPN 2024/0204455) in view of Fatemi et al (USPN 2024/0056012).
Regarding claims 4, 11, 18, Cavellieri discloses the magnetic material, but does not disclose the magnetic material as claimed. However, providing a magnetic material that comprises nanocrystalline is known in the art.
Fatemi discloses a choke (150, see figures 1, 4A) for a vehicle motor comprises a magnetic material comprises a nanocrystalline (see par. 0046).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the magnetic material of Cavallieri to incorporate a nanocrystalline material as disclosed by Fatemi in order to achieve permeability and high saturation limits over a wide frequency range.
Conclusion
/DANNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838