DETAILED ACTION
1. The office action is in response to the application filled on 8/10/2023.
3. Claims 1-20 Are pending and has been examined.
Drawings
4 The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “360” has been used to designate both rear wheel set and inverter. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Samie et al. (20240235336).
Regarding claim 1, Samie et al. disclose a system (refer to figure 3 below), comprising: a choke (i.e. the stator core 334 and the rotor core 335), comprising: an inner surface (para. 0046); refer to “inside surface of stator core 334”) defining a cavity (e.g. air gap 332)(fig.3), the inner surface configured to surround a plurality of conductive elements ((para. 00048); e.g. “the conductive fluid”); and an outer surface ((para. 0046) i.e. “ outer surface of the rotor core 335”) configured to couple with a housing for the plurality of conductive elements (e.g. housing 116, figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Samie et al. disclose wherein the system comprises the plurality of conductive elements to electrically connect a multi-phase motor (120) to an inverter (110) (refer also to para. 0035).
Regarding claim 3, Samie et al. disclose wherein the choke comprises the outer surface of the choke to couple with a first sidewall of the housing (see the upper the stator core 334 and the rotor core 335 as shown on figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 5, Samie et al. disclose wherein the choke (refer to figure 3; i.e. the stator core 334 and the rotor core 335) comprises the inner surface to surround a second sidewall (see the lower stator core 334 and the rotor core 335 as shown on figure 3 above) of the housing cavity ((para. 0046) “the air gap 332 may provide a physical gap between an inside surface of the stator core 334 and an outer surface of the rotor core 335”) and a plurality of seals ((para. 007), e.g. the first sealing ring and the second sealing ring), the second sidewall and the plurality of seals (i.e. The inner sealing ring 381 and the outer sealing ring 383, refer to figure 3 above) from a potting material ((0050), i.e. “The inner sealing ring 381 and the outer sealing ring 383 may be elastomeric material”).
Regarding claim 7, Samie et al. disclose wherein the choke (refer to figure 3; i.e. the stator core 334 and the rotor core 335) is configured to couple with the housing (e.g. housing 116, figure 1) via a potting material ((0050), i.e. “The inner sealing ring 381 and the outer sealing ring 383 may be elastomeric material”).
Regarding claim 9, Samie et al. disclose a housing (e.g. housing 116, figure 1), comprising: a first sidewall including an outer surface (e.g. the inner surface of the second sidewall facing the outer surface of the first sidewall ((para. 0046), e.g. an outer surface of the rotor core 335 as shown on figure 3 above) to define a cavity configured to receive a choke (i.e. the air gap 332 may provide a physical gap between an inside surface of the stator core 334 and an outer surface of the rotor core 335), the choke (the stator core 334 and the rotor core 335) to surround a plurality of conductive elements bounded by the first sidewall (as shown on figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 10, Samie et al. disclose (figure 1) wherein the plurality of conductive elements (a multi- phase motor control power bus (AC bus) 111) are to electrically connect a multi-phase motor to a multi-phase inverter ((para. 0035), i.e. “110 is a three- phase power inverter and the motor 120 is a three-phase motor”, refer to figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Samie et al. disclose (refer to figure 3 above) wherein the first sidewall laterally surrounds a plurality of seals (i.e. The inner sealing ring 381 and the outer sealing ring 383, refer to figure 3 above) vertically spaced from the cavity, the second sidewall and the plurality of seals configured to separate the plurality of conductive elements from a potting material ((0050), i.e. “The inner sealing ring 381 and the outer sealing ring 383 may be elastomeric material”).
Regarding claim 14, Samie et al. disclose (refer to figure 3 above) wherein the housing (e.g. housing 116) is configured to couple with the choke via a potting material ((0050), i.e. “The inner sealing ring 381 and the outer sealing ring 383 may be elastomeric material”).
Regarding claim 15, Samie et al. disclose a system (refer to figure 3 above), comprising: a housing (e.g. housing 116, figure 1), comprising: a first sidewall including an outer surface thereof, a second sidewall including an inner surface thereof, the inner surface of the second sidewall facing the outer surface of the first sidewall to define a cavity ((para. 0046); i.e. “the air gap 332 may provide a physical gap between an inside surface of the stator core 334 and an outer surface of the rotor core 335”); and a choke (refer to figure 3; i.e. the stator core 334 and the rotor core 335), comprising: an inner surface configured to surround a plurality; and an outer surface configured to couple with the housing (e.g. housing 116, figure 1) of conductive elements ((para. 00048); e.g. “liquid metals such as gallium or gallium alloys such as gallium-tin alloys and gallium-indium-tin alloys which are liquid at relatively low temperatures may serve as the conductive fluid”).
Regarding claim 16, Samie et al. disclose (figure 1) a multi-phase motor (e.g. 120) electrically connected to a first end of the plurality of conductive elements (a multi- phase motor control power bus (AC bus) 111); and a multi-phase inverter (e.g. 110 is a three- phase power inverter, figure 1) electrically connected to a second end of the plurality of conductive elements (i.e. “a multi- phase motor control power bus (AC bus) 111” as shown on figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Samie et al. disclose (refer to figure 3 above) wherein the outer surface of the choke (refer to figure 3 above; i.e. the stator core 334 and the rotor core 335) couples with the first sidewall of the housing ((para. 0046) “the air gap 332 may provide a physical gap between an inside surface of the stator core 334 and an outer surface of the rotor core 335”).
Regarding claim 20, Samie et al. disclose (refer to figure 3 above) wherein the cavity comprises a potting material ((0050), i.e. “The inner sealing ring 381 and the outer sealing ring 383 may be elastomeric material”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samie et al. (20240235336) in view of Ivan et al. (20240396382).
Regarding claim 4, , Samie et al. disclose the system of claim 1.
However, Samie et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the choke comprises a magnetic material comprising nanocrystalline materials.
Ivan discloses wherein (figure 1) the choke (150) comprises a magnetic material comprising nanocrystalline materials (i.e. “another aspect of the disclosure may be where the plurality of core segments is comprised of a nano-crystal material”) (para. 0016).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samie et al. with the teaching of Ivan et al. in order to improve the potential to exhibit outstanding physical, mechanical and chemical properties so the power losses across an entire system is reduced.
Regarding claim 11, Samie et al. disclose the system of claim 1.
However, Samie et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the choke comprises a magnetic material comprising nanocrystalline materials.
Ivan discloses wherein (figure 1) the choke (150) comprises a magnetic material comprising nanocrystalline materials (i.e. “another aspect of the disclosure may be where the plurality of core segments is comprised of a nano-crystal material”) (para. 0016).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samie et al. with the teaching of Ivan et al. in order to improve the potential to exhibit outstanding physical, mechanical and chemical properties so the power losses across an entire system is reduced.
Regarding claim 18, Samie et al. disclose the system of claim 1.
However, Samie et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the choke comprises a magnetic material comprising nanocrystalline materials.
Ivan discloses wherein (figure 1) the choke (150) comprises a magnetic material comprising nanocrystalline materials (i.e. “another aspect of the disclosure may be where the plurality of core segments is comprised of a nano-crystal material”) (para. 0016).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Samie et al. with the teaching of Ivan et al. in order to improve the potential to exhibit outstanding physical, mechanical and chemical properties so the power losses across an entire system is reduced.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 6, 8, 13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, Samie et al. disclose the system of claim 1.
Samie et al. does not teach, wherein the choke comprising, a magnetic material extending a first distance, in a first direction perpendicular to a lateral plane, wherein the lateral plane is a bounding plane for the plurality of conductive elements surrounded by the inner surface of the choke; and the housing extends a second distance, greater than the first distance, to a portion thereof configured to interface with a cap configured to retain a potting material within the housing.
Prior art, Reuter et al. (US 20190157947) figure 1, Ivan er al. (US 20240396381) figure 1, Nehi et al. (US 20210143693) figure 2 are found to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “wherein the choke comprising, a magnetic material extending a first distance, in a first direction perpendicular to a lateral plane, wherein the lateral plane is a bounding plane for the plurality of conductive elements surrounded by the inner surface of the choke; and the housing extends a second distance, greater than the first distance, to a portion thereof configured to interface with a cap configured to retain a potting material within the housing.”
Regarding claim 8, Samie et al. disclose the system of claim 1.
Samie et al. does not teach, wherein the choke comprises: a magnetic material extending in a first direction perpendicular to a lateral plane; and the lateral plane is a bounding plane for the plurality of conductive elements surrounded by the inner surface of the choke.
Prior art, Reuter et al. (US 20190157947) figure 1, Ivan er al. (20240396381) figure 1, Nehi et al. (20210143693) figure 2 are found to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “wherein the choke comprises: a magnetic material extending in a first direction perpendicular to a lateral plane; and the lateral plane is a bounding plane for the plurality of conductive elements surrounded by the inner surface of the choke.”
Regarding claim 13, Samie et al. disclose the housing of claim 9.
Samie et al. does not teach, wherein the choke extends a first distance, in a first direction perpendicular to a lateral plane, wherein the lateral plane is a bounding plane for the plurality of conductive elements surrounded by the inner surface of the choke;
the cavity extends second distance, greater than the first distance, to a portion thereof configured to interface with a cap configured to retain a potting material within the housing; and
the housing extends a third distance, greater than the second distance to a seal element.
Prior art, Reuter et al. (US 20190157947) figure 1, Ivan er al. (20240396381) figure 1, Nehi et al. (20210143693) figure 2 are found to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “wherein the choke extends a first distance, in a first direction perpendicular to a lateral plane, wherein the lateral plane is a bounding plane for the plurality of conductive elements surrounded by the inner surface of the choke; the cavity extends second distance, greater than the first distance, to a portion thereof configured to interface with a cap configured to retain a potting material within the housing; and the housing extends a third distance, greater than the second distance to a seal element.”
Regarding claim 19, Samie et al. disclose the system of claim 15.
Samie et al. does not teach, wherein the choke comprises: a magnetic material extending a first distance, in a first direction perpendicular to a lateral plane, wherein the lateral plane is a bounding plane for the plurality of conductive elements surrounded by the inner surface of the choke; and the housing extends a second distance, greater than the first distance, to a portion thereof configured to interface with a cap configured to retain a potting material within the housing.
Prior art, Reuter et al. (US 20190157947) figure 1, Ivan er al. (20240396381) figure 1, Nehi et al. (20210143693) figure 2 are found to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “wherein the choke comprises: a magnetic material extending a first distance, in a first direction perpendicular to a lateral plane, wherein the lateral plane is a bounding plane for the plurality of conductive elements surrounded by the inner surface of the choke; and the housing extends a second distance, greater than the first distance, to a portion thereof configured to interface with a cap configured to retain a potting material within the housing.”
Conclusion
/AFEWORK DEMISSE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838