DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 3/2/2026
Claims 1-20 are pending
Examiner decided to withdraw specification objection because applicant’s amendment to the specification overcome the rejections
Examiner decided to maintain 103 rejections
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10, filed 3/2/2026, with respect to the objection of 12/1/2025 to the Specification have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The objection of the Specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, filed 3/2/2026, with respect to the 103 rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 11-12, applicants argues “Chiu is not directed to a vacuum mass flow control apparatus, much less a controller (90) configured to regulate the vacuum flow rate in the second flow channel of such a vacuum mass flow control apparatus”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because the rejection does not rely on Chiu explicitly labeling its system as a “vacuum mass flow apparatus,” but rather on whether Chiu teaches the claimed structure and functionality.
Chiu teaches generating negative pressure using a venturi structure, wherein “a negative gas pressure is formed and solution is sucked into the venturi (Par. [0042], “compared to the solution transport pipeline 220, a negative gas pressure is formed at the diameter reducing part 212 relative to pipeline 220. Under the action of negative pressure, the aerosol generating solution in the liquid storage device 100 is sucked into the venturi 210”). Chiu further teaches regulating flow using a pressure regulating valve (Par. [0043], “the chemical delivery system 10 further includes a pressure control device 214”).
Thus, Chiu teaches controlling a vacuum-induced flow of fluid using a valve, which corresponds to the claimed vacuum mass flow control functionality.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 12-15, Applicant further argues “it is evident that in Ding, each flow channel requires a dedicated valve for independent control.”. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Ding does not require a one-valve-per-channel configuration. While Ding discloses embodiments including valves for individual channels, Ding further teaches that “The MFCS controller 270 is configured to be able to control each of the valves 230, independently” (Par. [0040]), indicating that multiple valves may be used in certain embodiments. However, this disclosure reflects an optional configuration and does not state or require that each flow channel must have its own dedicated valve.
Moreover, Ding is relied upon for its feedback control methodology, not for any specific valve arrangement. The rejection applies Ding’s control logic to Chiu’s structure, which already includes a configuration in which a valve in one channel controls flow in another channel via pressure interaction. Therefore, the combination does not require modifying Chiu to include a separate valve in the second channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, 14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al. USPGPUB 2023/0352318 A1 (hereinafter Chiu) in view of Ding et al. USPGPUB 2019/0339725 A1 (Hereinafter Ding).
Regarding claim 1, Chiu teaches a vacuum mass flow control apparatus (Fig. 1-3 and Par. [0028] “Chemical delivery system 10”; Par. [0042], “compared to the solution transport pipeline 220, a negative gas pressure is formed at the diameter reducing part 212 relative to pipeline 220. Under the action of negative pressure, the aerosol generating solution in the liquid storage device 100 is sucked into the venturi 210”; Par. [0043], “the chemical delivery system 10 further includes a pressure control device 214” - Chiu teaches generating negative pressure using a venturi structure, wherein a negative gas pressure is formed and solution is sucked into the venturi, as well as teaching regulating flow using a pressure regulating valve. Thus, Chiu teaches controlling a vacuum-induced flow of fluid using a valve, which corresponds to a vacuum mass flow control apparatus.), comprising:
a first flow channel (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] the pipe that leads to the first port 218 of the venturi pipe 210), and having a first starting point for being connected to a positive pressure gas source and a first terminating end (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] – the “gas interface 211” is the first starting point that connects a positive pressure gas sources to a first terminating end “first port 218“);
a second flow channel (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] “solution transport pipeline 220”), and having a second starting end (Fig. 1, Par. [0028] “liquid storage device 100”) for being connected to a peripheral device (Fig. 1, Par. [0028] “liquid flow meter 222”) and a second terminating end (Fig. 1, Par. [0028] “liquid inlet 223”);
a venturi tube (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] “venturi pipe 210”) having an inlet end (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] “first port 218”), an outlet end (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] “second port 219”) and a negative pressure suction port (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] “liquid inlet 223”), wherein when a positive pressure fluid flowing out of the first terminating end flows through the venturi tube via the inlet end, the positive pressure fluid sucks a negative pressure fluid at the second terminating end into the venturi tube via the negative pressure suction port and then flows out with the negative pressure fluid via the outlet end (Par. [0042], “As the diameter of the venturi pipe 210 becomes smaller, the flow speed of the gas increases, and the pressure at the diameter-reducing part 212 decreases accordingly. Therefore, the pressure in the solution transport pipeline 220 is stronger than the pressure at the diameter reducing part 212. That is, compared to the solution transport pipeline 220, a negative gas pressure is formed at the diameter reducing part 212 relative to pipeline 220. Under the action of negative pressure, the aerosol generating solution in the liquid storage device 100 is sucked into the venturi 210”); and
a regulating valve for regulating a flow-through cross-sectional area of the first flow channel (Fig 3, Par. [0043] - a “pressure regulating valve 214” is located in the first flow channel and regulates a cross-sectional area of the channel).
Chiu does not explicitly teach a housing, a first sensor for collecting a signal of fluid in the first channel, a second sensor for collecting a vacuum flow rate in the second flow channel, or a controller electronically connected to the regulating valve, the first sensor, and the second sensor.
However, Ding teaches a housing (Par. [0065] “The fluid control systems can be integrated systems, that is, the elements of the systems are included within one housing or enclosure”), a first and second sensor that collect a signal of fluid and a vacuum flow rate (Fig 3, Par. [0052] “first sensor 340 and second sensor 360), and a controller electrically connected to a regulating valve, a first sensor, and a second sensor (Par. [0037] “The MFCS controller 170 communicates 171 with a host controller 105 (e.g., to receive a mass flow control setpoint) and receives upstream pressure signals 172 and downstream pressure signals 174 which provide the basis for calculating the mass flow 180 (Q1) through the integrated mass flow control system 110. On the basis of the calculated mass flow 180 and a desired mass flow set point, the MFCS controller 170 controls 190 valve 130 to regulate the mass flow 180 to the desired mass flow”);
Wherein the controller is configured to:
Receive a target vacuum flow rate value, and compare the target vacuum flow rate value with the vacuum flow rate value detected by the second sensor (Par. [0037] “The MFCS controller 170 communicates 171 with a host controller 105 (e.g., to receive a mass flow control setpoint) and receives upstream pressure signals 172 and downstream pressure signals 174 which provide the basis for calculating the mass flow 180 (Q1) through the integrated mass flow control system 110.” - Where the downstream pressure signals come from Par. [0038] “downstream pressure sensor 174”); and
Regulate, when a difference between the target vacuum flow rate value and the detected vacuum flow rate value is greater than a preset difference, an opening degree of the regulating valve based on the signal collected by the first sensor and a current opening degree of the regulating valve, until the difference is within a preset difference range (Par. [0037] “On the basis of the calculated mass flow 180 and a desired mass flow set point, the MFCS controller 170 controls 190 valve 130 to regulate the mass flow 180 to the desired mass flow.” – Since a controller must know how much further to open or close the regulating valve in order to perform the adjustment taught in the prior art, the current opening degree is already inherently known, and using it in the control logic would have been an obvious design choice.).
Chiu and Ding are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They both relate to mass flow systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above mass flow system, as taught by Chiu, and incorporate Ding’s feedback control methodology including a controller electrically connected to the regulating valve, the first sensor, and the second sensor, as taught by Ding.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve space efficiency, flexibility, cost effectiveness, and simplicity of fluid control within a mass flow system, as suggested by Ding (Par. [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ding further teaches wherein a first connecting member is disposed in the housing (Par. [0065] “The fluid control systems can be integrated systems, that is, the elements of the systems are included within one housing or enclosure.” – a housing can include multiple connected structural portions), a hollow cavity is provided in the first connecting member to form the first flow channel (Par. [0065]), and a position detected by the first sensor is located upstream of the regulating valve in a fluid flowing direction (Fig. 5, Par. [0058] – an “upstream pressure sensor 560” is located upstream of the regulating “valve 530” in a fluid flowing direction).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ding further teaches “The fluid control systems can be integrated systems, that is, the elements of the systems are included within one housing or enclosure” (Par. [0065]).
Ding does not explicitly teach the specifics of the housing or enclosure.
However, with multiple connected flow channels, sensors, restrictors, and controllers in the mass flow system, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create separate compartments in the housing to support different areas of the system for the predictable result of overall stability.
Therefore, it would be obvious to have a branch flow channel in communication with the first flow channel (Fig. 4 – branch flow “shared flow channel 421” is in communication with the first “flow channel 420”) disposed in the first connecting member (Par. [0065]);
Having an open end of the branch flow channel in communication with the first flow channel (Fig. 4) and the other end thereof is a closed end (Par. [0065] - Having a closed end is merely design by choice of the housing);
And mounting a first sensor in the branch flow channel by means of sealing (Fig 4, Par. [0057] - “upstream pressure sensor 460” is located in the branch flow channel (Fig 4); Par. [0065] – Sealing the sensor is merely design by choice of the housing).
All housing modifications are merely design of choices with predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ding further teaches wherein a second connecting member is disposed in the housing, and the first connecting member is in communication with the regulating valve through the second connecting member (Par. [0065] – having a second connecting member is merely design by choice).
Adding a second connecting member to route the flow path is a routine and predictable modification, well within ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ding further teaches “The fluid control systems can be integrated systems, that is, the elements of the systems are included within one housing or enclosure” (Par. [0065]).
Ding does not explicitly teach the specifics of the housing or enclosure.
However, with multiple connected flow channels, sensors, restrictors, and controllers in the mass flow system, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create separate compartments in the housing to support different areas of the system for the predictable result of overall stability.
Therefore, it would be obvious to have a third connecting member disposed in the housing (Par. [0065]), a hollow cavity provided in the third connecting member to form the second flow channel (Fig. 6, “flow channel 620”), and the second sensor disposed in the second flow channel (Fig. 6, “Pressure sensor 660” is disposed in a second “flow channel 621”).
Adding a third connecting member is a routine and predictable modification, well within ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ding further teaches “The fluid control systems can be integrated systems, that is, the elements of the systems are included within one housing or enclosure” (Par. [0065]).
Ding does not explicitly teach the specifics of the housing or enclosure.
However, with multiple connected flow channels, sensors, restrictors, and controllers in the mass flow system, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to create separate compartments in the housing to support different areas of the system for the predictable result of overall stability.
Therefore, it would be obvious to include a fourth connecting member with cavities (Par [0065] – having fourth connecting member is merely design by choice) to hold the venturi tube and bypass cavity that connects the second terminating end of the second flow channel to the venturi tube taught by Chiu (Fig 3, Par. [0028]).
Adding a fourth connecting member is a routine and predictable modification, well within ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Chiu further teaches wherein the venturi tube comprises a first portion and a second portion which are sealingly disposed in the main cavity, with a converge gap formed therebetween and opposite to the bypass cavity (Fig. 3, Par. [0038] “The venturi pipe 210 has a first port 218 and a second port 219, a diameter reducing part 212 located between the first port 218 and the second port 219, and a liquid inlet connected to the diameter reducing part 212 to liquid inlet 223”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Chiu further teaches wherein a flow-through cross-sectional area of the first terminating end is smaller than that of the bypass cavity and larger than a minimum flow-through cross-sectional area of the venturi tube (Fig. 3, Par. [0038] “from the first port 218 and the second port 219 to the diameter reducing part 212, the diameter of the venturi pipe 210 decreases step by step”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ding further teaches wherein the controller comprises a circuit board disposed close to one side of the housing, and the housing allows for input and output of signals (Fig. 3, Par. [0065] “the housing provides at least fluid input and outputs and allows for input and output of signals, which allows incorporation of the integrated system within larger systems.”).
Neither Chiu nor Ding explicitly mention Dip switches.
However, Ding teaches a controller that handles electronic signals, valve commands, and sensor inputs (Fig. 3, Par. [0037] - [0042]). A need for configurable signal interfaces for different pressure/flow modes or calibration setups is standard in mass flow controller devices.
It is standard practice in electronic control circuitry to include: DIP switches, or equivalent small hardware configuration switches, to select between analog vs. digital signals, voltage range settings, communication modes, input/output configurations, or calibration modes.
Thus, adding DIP switches to Ding’s controller is a routine electrical design modification, providing user-selectable I/O modes without redesigning firmware.
Regarding claim 12, Chiu teaches a vacuum mass flow control method for a vacuum mass flow control apparatus (Fig. 1-3 and Par. [0028] “Chemical delivery system 10”; Par. [0042], “compared to the solution transport pipeline 220, a negative gas pressure is formed at the diameter reducing part 212 relative to pipeline 220. Under the action of negative pressure, the aerosol generating solution in the liquid storage device 100 is sucked into the venturi 210”; Par. [0043], “the chemical delivery system 10 further includes a pressure control device 214. The pressure control device 214” - Chiu teaches generating negative pressure using a venturi structure, wherein a negative gas pressure is formed and solution is sucked into the venturi, as well as teaching regulating flow using a pressure regulating valve. Thus, Chiu teaches controlling a vacuum-induced flow of fluid using a valve, which corresponds to a vacuum mass flow control apparatus.), wherein the vacuum mass flow control apparatus comprises:
a first flow channel (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] the pipe that leads to the first port 218 of the venturi pipe 210), and having a first starting end for being connected to a positive pressure gas source and a first terminating end (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] – the “gas interface 211” is the first starting point that connects a positive pressure gas sources to a first terminating end “first port 218“);
a second flow channel (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] “solution transport pipeline 220”), and having a second starting end (Fig. 1, Par. [0028] “liquid storage device 100”) for being connected to a peripheral device (Fig. 1, Par. [0028], “liquid flow meter 222”) and a second terminating end (Fig. 1, Par. [0028], “liquid inlet 223”);
a venturi tube (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] “venturi pipe 210”) having an inlet end (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] “first port 218”), an outlet end (Fig. 3, Par. [0028], “second port 219”) and a negative pressure suction port (Fig. 3, Par. [0028] “liquid inlet 223”), wherein when a positive pressure fluid flowing out of the first terminating end flows through the venturi tube via the inlet end, the positive pressure fluid sucks a negative pressure fluid at the second terminating end into the venturi tube via the negative pressure suction port and then flows out with the negative pressure fluid via the outlet end (Par. [0042], “As the diameter of the venturi pipe 210 becomes smaller, the flow speed of the gas increases, and the pressure at the diameter-reducing part 212 decreases accordingly. Therefore, the pressure in the solution transport pipeline 220 is stronger than the pressure at the diameter reducing part 212. That is, compared to the solution transport pipeline 220, a negative gas pressure is formed at the diameter reducing part 212 relative to pipeline 220. Under the action of negative pressure, the aerosol generating solution in the liquid storage device 100 is sucked into the venturi 210”);
a regulating valve for regulating a flow-through cross-sectional area of the first flow channel (Fig 3, Par. [0043] - a “pressure regulating valve 214” is located in the first flow channel and regulates a cross-sectional area of the channel).
Chiu does not explicitly teach a housing, a first sensor for collecting a signal of fluid in the first channel, a second sensor for collecting a vacuum flow rate in the second flow channel, a controller electronically connected to the regulating valve, the first sensor, and the second sensor, or
receiving a target vacuum flow rate value and comparing the target vacuum flow rate value with the vacuum flow rate value detected by the second sensor;
regulating, when a difference between the target vacuum flow rate value and the detected vacuum flow rate value is greater than a preset difference, an opening degree of the regulating valve based on the signal detected by the first sensor and a current opening degree of the regulating valve; and
controlling, when the difference is within a preset difference range, the regulating valve to stop regulating the opening degree.
However, Ding teaches teach a housing (Par. [0065] “The fluid control systems can be integrated systems, that is, the elements of the systems are included within one housing or enclosure”), a first sensor for collecting a signal of fluid in the first channel, a second sensor for collecting a vacuum flow rate (Fig 3, Par. [0052] “first sensor 340 and second sensor 360) in the second flow channel (Fig. 6, “flow channel 620”), a controller electronically connected to the regulating valve, the first sensor, and the second sensor (Par. [0037] “The MFCS controller 170 communicates 171 with a host controller 105 (e.g., to receive a mass flow control setpoint) and receives upstream pressure signals 172 and downstream pressure signals 174 which provide the basis for calculating the mass flow 180 (Q1) through the integrated mass flow control system 110. On the basis of the calculated mass flow 180 and a desired mass flow set point, the MFCS controller 170 controls 190 valve 130 to regulate the mass flow 180 to the desired mass flow”); and
receiving a target vacuum flow rate value and comparing the target vacuum flow rate value with the vacuum flow rate value detected by the second sensor; regulating, when a difference between the target vacuum flow rate value and the detected vacuum flow rate value is greater than a preset difference, an opening degree of the regulating valve based on the signal detected by the first sensor and a current opening degree of the regulating valve; and
controlling, when the difference is within a preset difference range, the regulating valve to stop regulating the opening degree (Par. [0037] “The MFCS controller 170 communicates 171 with a host controller 105 (e.g., to receive a mass flow control setpoint) and receives upstream pressure signals 172 and downstream pressure signals 174 which provide the basis for calculating the mass flow 180 (Q1) through the integrated mass flow control system 110. On the basis of the calculated mass flow 180 and a desired mass flow set point, the MFCS controller 170 controls 190 valve 130 to regulate the mass flow 180 to the desired mass flow”; Since a controller must know how much further to open or close the regulating valve in order to perform the adjustment taught in the prior art, the current opening degree is already inherently known, and using it in the control logic would have been an obvious design choice).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Chiu further teaches wherein the regulating valve is connected between the first flow channel and the venturi tube (Fig. 3, Par. [0043] “The pressure control device 214 is connected to the gas interface 211 of the Venturi pipe 210” – the pressure control device corresponds to a regulating valve, the gas flow path corresponds to the claimed first flow channel, and the venturi pipe 210 corresponds to the claimed venturi tube. As shown in Fig. 3, the regulating valve 214 is positioned upstream of the venturi pipe 210 such that gas flowing through the first flow channel passes through the regulating valve before entering the venturi tube.).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Chiu further teaches wherein the venturi tube comprises a minimum inner diameter section (Fig. 1-3, Par. [0038], “diameter reducing part 212 located between the first port 218 and the second port 219” – diameter reducing part corresponds to the minimum inner diameter section), and a flowthrough cross-sectional area of the minimum inner diameter section is the smallest of a flow-through cross-sectional area of the first terminating end (Fig. 1-3, Par. [0038] “from the first port 218 and the second port 219 to the diameter reducing part 212, the diameter of the venturi pipe 210 decreases step by step” – diameter reducing part 212 is smaller than at the first port 218 which corresponds to the first terminating end of the first flow channel.) and a flow-through cross-sectional area of a bypass cavity connected to the second terminating end of the second flow channel (Fig. 1-3, Par. [0038], “liquid inlet connected to the diameter reducing part 212 to liquid inlet 223”; Par. [0042], “aerosol generating solution in the liquid storage device 100 is sucked into the venturi 210” – liquid inlet 223 provides a flow path for fluid to enter the venturi from the second flow channel and corresponds to the bypass cavity connected to the second terminating end of the second flow channel.).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Chiu further teaches wherein the regulating valve is connected to the first flow channel (Fig. 3, Par. [0043] “pressure regulating valve 214.” – Since the regulating valve is disposed within the gas flow path leading to the venturi pipe 210 and regulates flow through it, the regulating valve is considered connected to the first flow channel); and
Chiu does not explicitly teach the controller is configured to regulate the opening degree of the regulating valve based on feedback values from the first sensor and the second sensor for real-time control of a vacuum mass flow rate of the second flow channel.
However, Ding teaches the controller is configured to regulate the opening degree of the regulating valve based on feedback values from the first sensor and the second sensor for real-time control of a vacuum mass flow rate of the second flow channel (Par. [0037] “The MFCS controller 170 communicates 171 with a host controller 105 (e.g., to receive a mass flow control setpoint) and receives upstream pressure signals 172 and downstream pressure signals 174 which provide the basis for calculating the mass flow 180 (Q1) through the integrated mass flow control system 110. On the basis of the calculated mass flow 180 and controls 190 valve 130 to regulate the mass flow 180 to the desired mass flow.” – this feedback operation requires ongoing receipt and processing of sensor signals to adjust the valve, which corresponds to real-time control.).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ding further teaches wherein the first flow channel, the first sensor, the second flow channel, the second sensor, the venturi tube, the regulating valve, and the controller are integrated in the housing (Par. [0065] “The fluid control systems can be integrated systems, that is, the elements of the systems are included within one housing or enclosure. Typically, for the fluid control systems described herein, the housing provides at least fluid input and outputs and allows for input and output of signals, which allows incorporation of the integrated system within larger systems.” – Chiu teaches the structural elements of the system, while Ding teaches that such components are integrated within a housing.)
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Chiu further teaches wherein the venturi tube is arranged perpendicular to the first flow channel and the second flow channel (Fig. 1-3, Par. [0038] “In one embodiment, the aerosol generating device includes a venturi pipe 210. The venturi pipe 210 has a first port 218 and a second port 219, a diameter reducing part 212 located between the first port 218 and the second port 219, and a liquid inlet connected to the diameter reducing part 212 to liquid inlet 223.”).
Chiu discloses a venturi tube connected between a first flow channel and a second flow channel, but does not specify a particular angular orientation between these components. Similarly, the present application depicts the venturi tube arranged approximately perpendicular to the flow channels, but does not describe perpendicularity as a required or critical feature. Accordingly, the relative orientation between the venturi tube and the flow channels represents a matter of spatial arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the venturi tube perpendicular to the first and second flow channels as a predictable variation in layout to accommodate packaging and routing constraints within the housing, without affecting the functional operation of the venturi system.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu in view of Ding, and further in view of Li et al. (Sensors and Actuators A, 2021) (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Chiu does not explicitly teach that the regulating valve is a piezoelectric proportional valve, and the controller regulates the opening degree of the piezoelectric proportional valve by regulating a duty ratio of the piezoelectric proportional valve.
However, Li teaches that a regulating valve can be a piezoelectric proportional valve by regulating a duty ratio of a piezoelectric proportional valve (Page 1, Par. 1 “regulation valves are divided into thermal, electrostatic, electromagnetic, and piezoelectric types”).
Chiu, Ding, and Li are analogous art. They relate to mass flow systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above mass flow system, as taught by Chiu, and incorporate a piezoelectric proportional valve controlled by a controller as taught by Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve response time, space efficiency, power efficiency, and anti-electromagnetic interference within a mass flow system as suggested by Li (Page 1, Par. 1).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu in view of Ding, and further in view of Li and Ace Pump Corporation (PWM Technical File, 2020) (hereinafter Ace).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Chiu, Ding, and Li teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ding teaches sending valve control signals to regulating valves by a controller (Par. [0052]), but does not explicitly teach sending, by the controller, a PWM drive signal to the piezoelectric proportional valve.
However, Ace teaches that “pulse-width modulation (PWM) is an efficient technique to control current to a proportional electrical hydraulic valve.” (Page 1, Par. 2), and can regulate the opening degree of the piezoelectric proportional valve by regulating a duty ratio of the piezoelectric proportional valve (Page 1, Par. 2 “The duty cycle can be anywhere from 0 (signal always off) to 1 (signal always on)”.
Chiu, Ding, Li, and Ace are analogous art. They relate to mass flow systems.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above mass flow system, as taught by Chiu, and incorporate a PWM Signal to control a piezoelectric proportional valve as taught by Ace.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve “quick rate changes for constant or variable rate applications, minimizing power required to run, reducing heat, and preventing foaming due to high bypass flows” as taught by Ace (Page 2, Par. 1).
Claim 15-16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu in view of Ding, and further in view of Terada et al. EP 2876759 A1 (hereinafter Terada).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ding further teaches a second sensor electrically connected to the controller (Par. [0037] “The MFCS controller 170 communicates 171 with a host controller 105 (e.g., to receive a mass flow control setpoint) and receives upstream pressure signals 172 and downstream pressure signals 174 which provide the basis for calculating the mass flow 180 (Q1) through the integrated mass flow control system 110. On the basis of the calculated mass flow 180 and a desired mass flow set point, the MFCS controller 170 controls 190 valve 130 to regulate the mass flow 180 to the desired mass flow).
Chiu and Ding do not explicitly teach a wire harness, and a groove for avoiding and positioning the wire harness is disposed on an outer surface of the first connecting member.
However, Terada teaches a wire harness, and a groove for avoiding and positioning the wire harness is disposed on an outer surface of the first connecting member (Par. [0003] “A U-shaped groove … a harness accommodating port is formed by this U-shaped groove, and the external member of the electric wire is held in a tube accommodating chamber located on an inner side of the harness accommodating port in a state where the external member is sandwiched” – the first connecting member is a structural component disposed in the housing and forming part of the fluid flow path as established in claim 4).
Chiu, Ding, and Terada are analogous art because they all relate to physical systems that include electrical components requiring routing and management of electrical connections within a structural assembly.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first connecting member of the above mass flow system, as taught by Chiu and Ding, and incorporate a groove on an outer surface for routing a wire harness in order to guide, secure, and protect electrical connections, as taught by Terada.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve component layout and integration and prevent interference with adjacent components, as taught by Terada (Par. [0014] - [0018]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Chiu and Ding teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Ding further teaches a second sensor electrically connected to the controller (Par. [0037] “The MFCS controller 170 communicates 171 with a host controller 105 (e.g., to receive a mass flow control setpoint) and receives upstream pressure signals 172 and downstream pressure signals 174 which provide the basis for calculating the mass flow 180 (Q1) through the integrated mass flow control system 110. On the basis of the calculated mass flow 180 and a desired mass flow set point, the MFCS controller 170 controls 190 valve 130 to regulate the mass flow 180 to the desired mass flow).
Chiu and Ding do not explicitly teach a wire harness, and a groove for avoiding and positioning the wire harness is disposed on an outer surface of the third connecting member.
However, Terada teaches a wire harness, and a groove for avoiding and positioning the wire harness is disposed on an outer surface of the first connecting member (Par. [0003] “A U-shaped groove … a harness accommodating port is formed by this U-shaped groove, and the external member of the electric wire is held in a tube accommodating chamber located on an inner side of the harness accommodating port in a state where the external member is sandwiched” – the third connecting member is a structural component disposed in the housing and forming part of the fluid flow path as established in claim 7).
Chiu, Ding, and Terada are analogous art because they all relate to physical systems that include electrical components requiring routing and management of electrical connections within a structural assembly.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the third connecting member in the above mass flow system, as taught by Chiu and Ding, and incorporate a groove on an outer surface for routing a wire harness in order to guide, secure, and protect electrical connections, as taught by Terada.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve component layout and integration and prevent interference with adjacent components, as taught by Terada (Par. [0014] - [0018]).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. [CN 202311359858 A] teaches a flow rate control device and method based on venturi and electromagnetic valve duty ratio adjustment.
Donald et al. [EP 3190050 A1] teaches a matched venturi assembly that includes a venturi component configured to provide for fluid communication between an inlet and an outlet, sensors coupled to the venturi component and configured to generate readings of characteristics of fluid flows proceeding through the venturi component and a venturi controller, which is receptive of the readings from the sensors.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER XU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119