DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 21, the claim recites “the left and right compartments comprise opaque compartments that seal off the left and right eyes to prevent the right eye from seeing the left visible light display…the left eye from seeing the right visible display…” which is a function that does not follow from the recited structure (MPEP 2173.05(g)). Specifically, neither the claims nor the originally filed disclosure provide the structure of the opaque compartment to seal the left and right eyes from each other. Is this an opaque divider between the eyes (not disclosed)? Is this some other structural element which separates the eye compartments? The metes and bounds are unclear since a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to draw a clear boundary what does and does not infringe the function to prevent the right eye from seeing the left visible display, the left eye from seeing the right visible display.
For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will understand that so long as the displays don’t display, or light is block for each, the limitation is met.
Claim 22 is rejected as dependent upon claim 21.
Claim 22 recites “in complete darkness” which is unclear what is, and is not, “complete darkness” (MPEP 2173.05(b)). Applicant’s claims/specification do not provide an objective metric what is “complete”. Examiner will understand so long as the eyes are sealed via an opaque compartment, such darkness is necessarily complete.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 23, the claim recites “the object displayed to the left eye and the right eye remains stationary on both the left and right visible light displays between multiple successive iterations of displaying and stop displaying of the object on each of the left and right displays” which appears to be prohibitive new matter. Specifically, while Applicant’s specification discusses the displayed object can be stationary1, the specification does not specify stationary displaying between successive iterations. Examiner requests Applicant to particularly point out support for such subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oz et al. (US 2018/0028057 - Oz) in view of Zidan et al. (US 2020/0397288 - Zidan; cited by Applicant).
As to claim 1, Oz teaches a system for performing a cover-uncover eye test, the system comprising (Oz Fig. 2a; Fig. 2b; para. [0055], [0057]-[0059])
a headset comprising
a left visible light display (Oz Fig. 2a - 10, 14; Fig. 6 - 10, 16; para. [0029], [0032], [0058]);
a left compartment o fit over a left eye of a user (Oz Fig. 2a - 10; Fig. 2b; para. [0058]).
a right visible display (Oz Fig. 2a - 10, 16; Fig. 6 - 10, 16; para. [0029], [0032], [0058])
a right compartment to fit over a right eye of the user (Oz Fig. 2a - 10; Fig. 2b; para. [0058]),
wherein the left compartment and the right compartment are configured so that when the headset has been fitted over the user’s eyes, i) the user cannot see the right visible display using only their left eye (Oz Fig. 2b; para. [0059], [0029]) and ii) the user cannot see the left visible light display using only their right eye (Oz Fig. 2b; para. [0059], [0029]);
a non-visible light-based eye tracking subsystem adapted for tracking a position of the left eye and a position of the right eye (Oz Fig. 2a - 14; para. [0065], [0066]),
and a processor configured to, when the headset has been fitted over the left eye and the right eye of the user (Oz Fig. 2a - 12)
i) signal the left visible light display and the right visible light display to display an object the user sees as a single object while the left eye and the right eye are open (Oz Figs. 3a-e; Fig. 4b; Fig. 6; para. [0071], [0055]);
ii) record the tracked position of the left eye while signaling the left visible light display to stop displaying the object while the object remains displayed and stationary in the right visible display (Oz Fig. 3b; Fig. 4b - Step 1, Step 2; para. [0065], [0066], [0072]);
iii) record the tracked position of the right eye while signaling the right visible light display to stop displaying the object while the object remains displayed and stationary in the left visible light display (Oz Fig. 3c; Fig. 4b - Step 1, Step 2; para. [0065], [0066], [0073]).
While Oz teaches the headset can be an eye-individualized near-eye display with direction projection into the individual eye (Oz para. [0058]) and the blocking unit and display unit can be integrated within the same housing (Oz para. [0057]), Oz doesn’t elaborate on the near-eye displays such that the displays stop displaying the object.
In the same field of endeavor Zidan teaches an eye testing headset with displays (Zidan Fig. 19 - 242, 244; Fig. 20 - 236, 238; Fig. 48 - 330, 332; Fig. 49 - 330, 332) - whereby the object ceases to be displayed on the left display while displaying on a right display (Zidan Fig. 48 - 330, 332; para. [0217]) and ceases to be displayed on the right display while displaying on the left display (Zidan Fig. 49 - 330, 332; para. [0217]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such display scene since, as taught by Zidan, such displaying occlusion is well known in the art for phoria and/or tropia testing via headsets (Zidan para. [0217]).
As to claim 2, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Oz further teaches the processor signals the left visible light display so the object disappears from the left visible display but remains displayed as stationary in the right visible display (Oz Fig. 3b).
As to claim 3, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Oz further teaches the processor is external to the headset (Oz Fig. 2a - 12; para. [0062], [0063]), and the headset comprises a wired or wireless communications network interface through which image data from the eye tracking subsystem is sent to the processor (Oz Fig. 2a; para. [0062], [0063]).
As to claim 4, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Oz further teaches the processor is external to the headset (Oz Fig. 2a - 12; para. [0062], [0063]), and the headset comprises a wired or wireless communications network interface through which the tracked positions of the left eye and the right eye are sent to the processor (Oz Fig. 2a - 12; para. [0062], [0063]).
As to claim 5, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Oz further teaches the processor is further configured to signal a further display to display the tracked positions of the left eye and the right eye (Oz para. [0063]).
As to claim 6, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Oz further teaches the eye tracking subsystem images an entirety of the left eye and an entirety of the right eye (Oz Fig. 2a - 14; para. [0065], [0066]), and wherein the processor determines gaze angles of the left eye and the right eye based on:
knowledge of distance between the left eye and the left visible light display (Oz para. [0065], [0067]);
distance between the right eye and the right visible display (Oz para. [0065], [0067]), and
location of a left pupil within the left eye and a right pupil within the right eye, or interpupillary distance (Oz para. [0065], [0067]).
As to claim 7, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Oz further teaches the processor signaling the left display or the right display to stop displaying the object comprises the processor signaling the left display or the right display to darken until the object disappears (Oz Figs. 2a,b; para. [0021], [0059]).
As to claim 8, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 7, and Oz further teaches the processor signaling the left display or the right display to stop displaying the object comprises the processor signaling the left display or the right display to darken completely(Oz Figs. 2a,b; para. [0021], [0059]).
As to claim 9, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Oz further teaches the processor is further configured to before ii) and iii) and while the user fixates on the object (Oz Fig. 4a - Step 1; para. [0077]),
iv) record a combined calibration position of the left eye and a combined calibration position of the right eye while the left and right visible light displays are simultaneously displaying the object that the user would see as a single object (Oz Fig. 4a - Step 1; para. [0076], [0077]), while their left and right eyes are both open simultaneously (Oz Fig. 4a - Step 1; para. [0076], [0077]), if their eyes were centered (Oz Fig. 4a - Step 1; para. [0076], [0077]).
As to claim 10, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Oz further teaches in ii) record the tracked position of the right eye as an individual right eye calibration position (Oz Fig. 4a - Step 1, initial ET data RGZ; para. [0076], [0077]), and
iii) record the tracked position of the left eye as an individual left eye calibration position (Oz Fig. 4a - Step 1, initial ET data LGZ; para. [0076], [0077]);
and determine a deviation of the left eye or right eye based on a difference between the combined calibration positions in iv) and the individual right and left eye calibration positions (Oz Fig. 4a - New RGZ - RGZ = 0?; New LGZ - LGZ = 0?).
As to claim 11, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 10, and Oz further teaches the processor is further configured to prepare data for displaying the deviation of the left eye or the right eye (Oz Fig. 4a - Step 5).
As to claim 12, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Oz further teaches the eye tracking subsystem for tracking the position of the left eye and the position of the right eye performs imaging of an entirety of the left eye and an entirety of the right eye (Oz Fig. 2a - 14; para. [0066]), and the processor is configure to process said imaging to generate each of the tracked position of the left eye and the tracked position of the right eye as an absolute position with respect to the wearer’s head, measure interpupillary distance, register virtual coordinates of the object to gaze coordinates, and define a virtual prism correction (Oz Fig. 4b - step 4; para. [0032], [0065], [0067], [0079]).
As to claim 13, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 12, and Oz further teaches the processor is configured to display the virtual prism correction as a measure of tropia of the user (Oz Fig. 4b - step 4; para. [0076], [0079]).
As to claim 14, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Oz further teaches the eye tracking subsystem performs imaging of i) an entirety of the left eye to produce an imaged left eye (Oz Fig. 2a - 14; para. [0065], [0066]), and ii) an entirety of the right eye to produce an imaged right eye (Oz Fig. 2a - 14; para. [0065], [0066]), and the processor is configured to:
shift coordinates of the object, resulting in shifted object coordinates, until the imaged right eye and the imaged left eye become aligned or centered (Oz Fig. 4b - step 3; para. [0077]); and
convert the shifted object coordinates to an angular position or to a prism diopter measurement, of the left eye or of the right eye (Oz Fig. 4b - step 4; para. [0077]-[0079]).
As to claim 15, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 14, and Oz further teaches the processor is configured to display the prism diopter measurement as a measure of tropia of the user (Oz Fig. 4b - step 4; para. [0076], [0079]).
As to claim 21, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Zidan further teaches the left and right compartments comprise opaque compartments that seal off the left and right eyes to prevent the right eye from seeing the left visible light display and the left eye from seeing the right visible light display when the headset is fitted over the left and right eyes (Zidan Fig. 13 - 212; para. [0169], [0170]).
As to claim 22, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 22, and Zidan further teaches the left and right compartments comprise entirely opaque compartments that seal off the left and right eyes in complete darkness when the left and right visible light displays are turned off (Zidan Fig. 13 - 210, 212; para. [0168]-[0170]).
As to claim 23, Oz in view of Zidan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Zidan further teaches the object displayed to the left eye and the right eye remains stationary on both the left and right visible displays between multiple successive iterations of displaying and stop displaying of the object on each of the left and right visible light displays (Zidan Figs. 48-49; para. [0144], [0217].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Barraza-Bernal et al. (US 10,405,742; 2019/0209005) is cited as an additional example of a cover, uncover test with stationary displayed image(s).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 March 9, 2026
1 Originally filed specification para. [00021]