DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-18, 21-23 and 26- 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2024/0322881).
Regarding claim 16, Khoshnevisan teaches a method comprising: generating, for transmission to a base station, a first indication of a number of supported channel state information (CSI) processing units (CPUs) (Paragraphs [0030]; [0185] describes the UE generating and transmitting a signal indicating a defined number of CSI processing units supported);
generating, for transmission to the base station, a second indication associating a first number of CPUs to a second number of channel measurement resources (CMRs) (Paragraphs [0031]; [0096]; [0099] describes that the UE determines and associates CPU occupations with specific CMR configurations (the CMR pairs and individual CMRS) the association is computed per hypothesis type (NCJT vs. single TRP) confirming that a CPU count is linked to a CMR count );
receiving, from the base station, a measurement configuration to configure a CSI measurement over a burst of a plurality of CMRs in a time-domain sequence (Paragraphs [0101]; [0106]; [0109] describes the UE receiving from the base station a detailed measurement configuration designating specific CMR subsets to monitor. The sequential nature of subset-1 then subset-2 monitoring constitutes a “time domain sequence”);
and performing the CSI measurement (Paragraphs [0109]; [0152] describes the UE performing CSI measurements (generating CQIs) based on the configured CMRs).
Regarding 17, Khoshnevisan teaches wherein the second indication indicates the first number of CPUs are to be occupied in processing the second number of CMRs (Paragraphs [0030]-[0031]; [0099]-[0100]; [0169]-[0173] describes that the UE determining “occupied CPUs associated with the configured CSI report” before generating the report is functionally the UE generating an indication that “the first number of CPUs are to be occupied in processing the second number of CMRs” ).
Regarding claim 18, Khoshnevisan teaches wherein the first indication is a number of supported CPUs per component carrier or across all component carriers (Paragraphs [0030]-[0031]; [0100]; [0169] describes CSI processes are typically configured per component carrier in carrier aggregation).
Regarding claim 21, Khoshnevisan teaches an apparatus comprising: interface circuitry; and processing circuitry coupled with the interface circuitry, the processing circuitry to: generate, for transmission to a base station via the interface circuitry (Paragraphs [0193]-[0196] describes a processor, receiver 1010 and transmitter 1015 (interface circuitry) and all components in communication with one another via buses),
a first indication of a number of supported channel state information (CSI) processing units (CPUs) (Paragraphs [0030]; [0185] describes the UE generating and transmitting a signal indicating a defined number of CSI processing units supported);
generate, for transmission to the base station, a second indication associating a first number of CPUs to a second number of channel measurement resources (CMRs) (Paragraphs [0031]; [0096]; [0099] describes that the UE determines and associates CPU occupations with specific CMR configurations (the CMR pairs and individual CMRS) the association is computed per hypothesis type (NCJT vs. single TRP) confirming that a CPU count is linked to a CMR count);
receive, from the base station, a measurement configuration to configure a CSI measurement over a burst of a plurality of CMRs in a time-domain sequence (Paragraphs [0101]; [0106]; [0109] describes the UE receiving from the base station a detailed measurement configuration designating specific CMR subsets to monitor. The sequential nature of subset-1 then subset-2 monitoring constitutes a “time domain sequence”);
and perform the CSI measurement (Paragraphs [0101]; [0106]; [0109] describes the UE receiving from the base station a detailed measurement configuration designating specific CMR subsets to monitor. The sequential nature of subset-1 then subset-2 monitoring constitutes a “time domain sequence”).
Claim 26 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 21 respectively.
Claims 22 and 27 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 17 respectively.
Claims 23 and 28 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 18 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-20, 24-25 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Narayanan et al. (US 2025/0016593).
Regarding claim 19, Khoshnevisan doesn’t teach further comprising: generating an aperiodic CSI report based on the one or more CSI measurements
In analogous art Narayanan teaches further comprising: generating an aperiodic CSI report based on the one or more CSI measurements (Paragraphs [0111]; [0118]-[0119] describes aperiodic CSI reporting to channel measurements ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Khoshnevisan to incorporate the teachings of Narayanan to provide a low-latency aperiodic CSI reporting mechanism with flexible CPU allocation to improve channel tracking accuracy through optimized CPU utilization (Narayanan, Paragraph [0072]).
Regarding claim 20, Khoshnevisan in view of Narayanan, Narayanan teaches wherein the aperiodic CSI report is a low-latency aperiodic CSI report and the method further comprises: occupying all CPUs of a slot to perform the one or more CSI measurements (Paragraphs [0211]; [0214]; [0215];[0219]; [0357] describes CSI feedback encompasses all CSI report types including aperiodic. Aperiodic CSI reports are inherently time critical. Low-latency requirements naturally apply to aperiodic reports, and describes occupying all CPUs of a slot).
Claims 24 and 29 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 19 respectively.
Claims 25 and 30 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 20 respectively.
Conclusion
/Chandrahas B Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/M.W.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2464