DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s remarks submitted February 6, 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 13-42 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claim 13-20) in the reply filed on February 6, 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant has added new claims 31-42.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed on February 6, 2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because the claims 1-12 include improper identifiers: “(Withdrawn – Canceled Herein).” Nevertheless, these claims are interpreted as canceled.
Drawings
Figures 2-5 and 13 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated (see, e.g., U.S. Publication Nos: 2022/0247457 A1; 2022/0240309 A1; 2022/0248397 A1). See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 13-16, 18-20, 22, 31-34, 36, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO Publication No. 2020/125424 A1 (hereinafter “Katranaras”)1, in view of U.S. Publication No. 2026/0040334 A1 (hereinafter “Ma”), and alternatively in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0235420 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 13 and 31: Katranaras teaches a receiving user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
obtain configuration information associated with sidelink synchronization signal block (SSB) monitoring, the configuration information indicating a quantity of sidelink SSBs to be monitored by the receiving UE (see, e.g., [0014], [0019]; a quantity of SL SSBs is obtained by a receiving UE and a transmitting UE); and
monitor the quantity of sidelink SSBs in accordance with the configuration information (see, e.g., [0014], [0019]; transmission and reception alignment is in accordance with the configuration). Katranaras does not explicitly state the accordance with a sidelink SSB monitoring capability of the receiving UE. However, this feature is taught by Ma (see, e.g., [0120]-[0128]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to configuring and/or indicating a quantity of S-SSBs). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Ma, such as the configuration functionality, within the system of Katranaras, in order to ensure synchronization among terminals with different capabilities.
Katranaras modified by Ma does explicitly state configuration to “monitor” according to the obtained configuration information. To the extent this feature is not inherent to Katranaras modified by Ma (by virtue of the configured reception in accordance with obtained configuration information taught therein, Id.; note also Ma [0120]), this feature is nevertheless taught in Kim (see, e.g., [0215]-[0217]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Kim, such as the configuration functionality, within the system of Katranaras modified by Ma, in order to determine transmitted SSBs.
The rationale set forth above regarding the receiving UE of claim 13 is applicable to the method of claim 31.
Regarding claims 14 and 32: Katranaras modified by Ma, and alternatively Kim, further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the configuration information that indicates the quantity of sidelink SSBs to be monitored by the receiving UE, are configured to obtain configuration information that indicates for the receiving UE to monitor for a first quantity of sidelink SSBs in accordance with the receiving UE being a first type of receiving UE having a first sidelink SSB monitoring capability, a second quantity of sidelink SSBs in accordance with the receiving UE being a second type of receiving UE having a second sidelink SSB monitoring capability, the second quantity of sidelink SSBs being greater than the first quantity of sidelink SSBs, or a third quantity of sidelink SSBs in accordance with the receiving UE being a third type of receiving UE having a third sidelink SSB monitoring capability, the third quantity of sidelink SSBs being greater than the second quantity of sidelink SSBs (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 13 is applicable to claim 14.
The rationale set forth above regarding the receiving UE of claim 14 is applicable to the method of claim 32.
Regarding claims 15 and 33: Katranaras modified by Ma, and alternatively Kim, further teaches wherein the first quantity of sidelink SSBs corresponds to a single sidelink SSB that is located in a first sidelink SSB candidate slot, the second quantity of sidelink SSBs corresponds to a subset of sidelink SSBs having a quantity that is greater than one and that is less than a total quantity of sidelink SSB candidates, and the third quantity of sidelink SSBs corresponds to all sidelink SSBs included in the total quantity of sidelink SSB candidates (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 13 is applicable to claim 15.
The rationale set forth above regarding the receiving UE of claim 15 is applicable to the method of claim 33.
Regarding claim 16: Katranaras modified by Ma, and alternatively Kim, further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to monitor the quantity of sidelink SSBs, are configured to monitor, in accordance with the receiving ULE being the first type of receiving UE having the first sidelink SSB monitoring capability, the single sidelink SSB in the first sidelink SSB candidate slot using a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) scrambling sequence (see, e.g., Katranaras [0016, [0044], [0062]; Ma [0039]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 13 is applicable to claim 16.
Regarding claims 18 and 36: Katranaras modified by Ma, and alternatively Kim, further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to identify a location of the first sidelink SSB candidate slot, and configure a resource pool in an initial synchronization, in accordance with a previous sidelink SSB candidate slot location (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144], [0155]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 13 is applicable to claim 18.
The rationale set forth above regarding the receiving UE of claim 18 is applicable to the method of claim 36.
Regarding claim 19: Katranaras modified by Ma, and alternatively Kim, further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to monitor the quantity of sidelink SSBs, are configured to monitor, in accordance with the receiving ULE being the second type of receiving UE having the second sidelink SSB monitoring capability, the subset of sidelink SSBs having the quantity that is greater than one and that is less than the total quantity of sidelink SSB candidates (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 13 is applicable to claim 19.
Regarding claims 20 and 37: Katranaras modified by Ma, and alternatively Kim, further teaches wherein the subset of sidelink SSBs corresponds to a plurality of contiguous sidelink SSBs that begins at the first sidelink SSB candidate slot (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 13 is applicable to claim 20.
The rationale set forth above regarding the receiving UE of claim 20 is applicable to the method of claim 37.
Regarding claim 22: Katranaras modified by Ma, and alternatively Kim, further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to monitor the quantity of sidelink SSBs, are configured to monitor, in accordance with the receiving ULE being the third type of receiving ULE having the third sidelink SSB monitoring capability, all sidelink SSBs included in the total quantity of sidelink SSB candidates (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 13 is applicable to claim 22.
Regarding claim 34: Katranaras modified by Ma, and alternatively Kim, further teaches wherein monitoring the quantity of sidelink SSBs comprises at least one of monitoring, in accordance with the receiving UE being the first type of receiving UE having the first sidelink SSB monitoring capability, the single sidelink SSB in the first sidelink SSB candidate slot using a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH) scrambling sequence (see, e.g., Katranaras [0016, [0044], [0062]; Ma [0039]); monitoring, in accordance with the receiving UE being the second type of receiving UE having the second sidelink SSB monitoring capability, the subset of sidelink SSBs having the quantity that is greater than one and that is less than the total quantity of sidelink SSB candidates; or monitoring, in accordance with the receiving UE being the third type of receiving UE having the third sidelink SSB monitoring capability, all sidelink SSBs included in the total quantity of sidelink SSB candidates (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 31 is applicable to claim 34.
9. Claims 23-26, 28-30, and 39-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katranaras, in view of Ma.
Regarding claims 23 and 39: Katranaras teaches a transmitting user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
obtain configuration information associated with a sidelink synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission, the configuration information indicating one or more sidelink SSB candidates to be used by the transmitting ULE for transmitting sidelink SSBs (see, e.g., [0014], [0019]; a quantity of SL SSBs is obtained by a receiving UE and a transmitting UE); and
transmit a quantity of sidelink SSBs in the one or more sidelink SSB candidates in accordance with the configuration information and (see, e.g., [0014], [0019]; transmission and reception alignment is in accordance with the configuration). Katranaras does not explicitly state the accordance with a sidelink SSB monitoring capability of the receiving UE. However, this feature is taught by Ma (see, e.g., [0120]-[0128]; note also overlapping teachings with respect to configuring and/or indicating a quantity of S-SSBs). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Ma, such as the configuration functionality, within the system of Katranaras, in order to ensure synchronization among terminals with different capabilities.
The rationale set forth above regarding the transmitting UE of claim 23 is applicable to the method of claim 39.
Regarding claims 24 and 40: Katranaras modified by Ma further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the configuration information that indicates the one or more sidelink SSB candidates to be used by the transmitting UE for transmitting sidelink SSBs, are configured to obtain configuration information that indicates for the transmitting UE to transmit one or more sidelink SSBs in a first quantity of sidelink SSB candidates in accordance with the transmitting UE being a first type of transmitting UE having a first sidelink SSB transmission capability, one or more sidelink SSBs in a second quantity of sidelink SSB candidates in accordance with the transmitting UE being a second type of transmitting UE having a second sidelink SSB transmission capability, the second quantity of sidelink SSB candidates being greater than the first quantity of sidelink SSB candidates, or one or more sidelink SSB in a third quantity of sidelink SSB candidates in accordance with the transmitting UE being a third type of transmitting UE having a third sidelink SSB transmission capability, the third quantity of sidelink SSB candidates being greater than the second quantity of sidelink SSB candidates (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 23 is applicable to claim 24.
The rationale set forth above regarding the transmitting UE of claim 24 is applicable to the method of claim 40.
Regarding claims 25 and 41: Katranaras modified by Ma further teaches wherein the first quantity of sidelink SSB candidates corresponds to a single sidelink SSB candidate that is located in a first sidelink SSB candidate slot, the second quantity of sidelink SSB candidates corresponds to a subset of sidelink SSB candidates having a quantity that is greater than one and that is less than a total quantity of candidate sidelink SSB candidates, and the third quantity of sidelink SSB candidates corresponds to all sidelink SSB candidates included in the total quantity of sidelink SSB candidates (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 23 is applicable to claim 25.
The rationale set forth above regarding the transmitting UE of claim 25 is applicable to the method of claim 41.
Regarding claim 26: Katranaras modified by Ma further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the quantity of sidelink SSBs, are configured to transmit, in accordance with the transmitting UE being the first type of transmitting UE having the first sidelink SSB transmission capability, a single sidelink SSB in the first sidelink SSB candidate slot (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 23 is applicable to claim 26.
Regarding claim 28: Katranaras modified by Ma further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the quantity of sidelink SSBs, are configured to transmit, in accordance with the transmitting UE being the second type of transmitting UE having the second sidelink SSB transmission capability, a subset of sidelink SSBs in the subset of sidelink SSB candidates (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 23 is applicable to claim 28.
Regarding claim 29: Katranaras modified by Ma further teaches wherein the subset of sidelink SSB candidates corresponds to a plurality of contiguous sidelink SSB candidates that begins at the first sidelink SSB candidate slot (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 23 is applicable to claim 29.
Regarding claim 30: Katranaras modified by Ma further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the quantity of sidelink SSBs, are configured to transmit, in accordance with the transmitting UE being the third type of transmitting UE having the third sidelink SSB transmission capability, sidelink SSBs in all sidelink SSB candidates included in the total quantity of sidelink SSB candidates (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 23 is applicable to claim 30.
Regarding claim 42: Katranaras modified by Ma further teaches wherein transmitting the quantity of sidelink SSBs comprises at least one of transmitting, in accordance with the transmitting ULE being the first type of transmitting UE having the first sidelink SSB transmission capability, a single sidelink SSB in the first sidelink SSB candidate slot; transmitting, in accordance with the transmitting UE being the second type of transmitting UE having the second sidelink SSB transmission capability, a subset of sidelink SSBs in the subset of sidelink SSB candidates; or transmitting, in accordance with the transmitting UE being the third type of transmitting UE having the third sidelink SSB transmission capability, sidelink SSBs in all sidelink SSB candidates included in the total quantity of sidelink SSB candidates (see, e.g., Katranaras [0038]-[0042]; Ma [0128]-[0132], [0138]-[0144]; note terminal types and quantity variations). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 39 is applicable to claim 42.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 17, 21, 27, 35, and 38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Art
11. The following prior art not relied upon in this Office action is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476
1 Katranaras was cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement submitted January 15, 2025 (Foreign Patent Documents, cite no. 1).