DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 4-14 are pending.
Claims 2 and 3 are cancelled.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claims 1 and 4-14 as filed on May 26, 2026 are under consideration.
This action is made FINAL.
Withdrawn Objections / Rejections
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oki et al. (US 2021/0403660, published December 30, 2021, of record) in view of Spindler et al. (WO 2017/180440, published October 19, 2017, of record) and Abe (WO 2022/137679, published June 30, 2022, as evidenced by US 2024/0041710, IDS references filed March 21, 2024).
Oki teaches biodegradable resin particles; the particles comprise a base particle containing a biodegradable resin selected from a cellulose resin that is preferably cellulose acetylate (title; abstract; claims, in particular 1, 8, 9; paragraphs [0045]-[0046], [0054]). The degree of polymerization of the cellulose acetylate is 200 to 1000; the degree of polymerization is the molecular weight divided by the molecular weight of a constituent unit which is 263 or 284 (molecular weight = (263 or 284)*(200 to 1000) ~ 52,600 to 284,000 Daltons) (paragraphs [0065]-[0068]), as required by instant claims 13, 14. The base particles may further comprise other components inclusive of plasticizers inclusive of esters inclusive of fatty acid (hydrocarbon) esters; the content of these other components is 0 to 5 wt% (0 to 50,000 ppm) (paragraphs [0074]-[0084]). Oki further teaches the base particles are prepared using methods in which an organic solvent in which each component is dissolved is suspended in an aqueous solvent and exemplifies an embodiment wherein resin is dissolved in methyl ethyl ketone (implies some non-zero residual amount will be present in the product) (paragraphs [0242]-[0254], [0292]).
The particles comprise a first (intermediate) layer on the surface of the base particle, the first layer containing a cationic resin inclusive of a polyalkyleneimine (polyamine) (claim 1), as required by instant claim 7.
The particles comprise a second layer on the first layer, the second layer containing a hydrophobic compound inclusive of a fatty acid compound (claims 1, 2), as required by instant claim 4.
The particle diameter is 3 to 100 microns (paragraphs [0234]-[0235]), as required by instant claim 9.
The large-diameter (upper) GSDv is 1.5 or less (paragraphs [0237]-[0241]), as required by instant claim 10.
Oki, as a whole, is drawn to resin particles having utility in cosmetics (e.g., paragraphs [0040], [0259]).
Oki does not teach 3 to 1000 ppm of a hydrocarbon ester selected from ethyl acetate, butyl acetate or ethyl propionate and 3 to 1000 ppm of a ketone selected from methyl ethyl ketone, methyl isobutyl ketone or acetone as required by claim 1.
Oki does not teach a C16-C22 fatty acid as required by claim 5.
Oki does not teach a saturated fatty acid as required by claim 6.
Oki does not teach a sphericity of 0.7 or greater as required by claim 11.
Oki does not teach a surface smoothness of 50% or more as required by claim 12.
These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Spindler and Abe.
Spindler teaches delivery systems based on natural microparticles comprising a natural substrate material such as cellulose (title; abstract; claims). An active agent is entrapped in the substrate using a solvent inclusive of ketones such as methyl ethyl ketone (abstract; page 26, lines 8-28). The solvent used for the entrapment is substantially removed because in practice 100% removal is not possible; in some embodiments the residual solvent is not more than 100 ppm of the final composition (page 27, lines 14-25).
Abe teaches resin beads obtained by surface treatment of core beads formed from a resin having cellulose as a main component; cellulose includes cellulose acetate (title; abstract; claims). Abe further teaches a method of production comprising the step of dissolving the cellulose in a solvent inclusive of ester-based solvents inclusive of ethyl acetate and ketone-based solvents inclusive of methyl ethyl ketone and exemplifies embodiments wherein resin is dissolved in ethyl acetate; these solvents can be used singly or in combination (abstract; claims; paragraphs [0075]-[0077]; Examples). Abe further teaches the beads have a sphericity of 0.7 to 1.0 and a surface smoothness of 70 to 100%; this sphericity and smoothness improves spreadability and tactile impression (abstract; Figure 1; paragraphs [0039]-[0042]), as required by instant claims 11, 12. The surface treatment agent is a lipophilic agent that is a metal salt of stearic acid (claims 4, 5; paragraphs [0067]-[0069]), as required by instant claims 5, 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the cellulose resin base particles of Oki with organic solvents as taught by Abe inclusive of ester-based solvents inclusive of ethyl acetate and ketone-based solvents inclusive of methyl ethyl ketone because these solvents are suitable for dissolving cellulose for the preparation of particles. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Oki embraces any organic solvent and because Oki exemplifies production wherein resin is dissolved in methyl ethyl ketone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the cellulose resin base particles of Oki or/and Oki in view of Abe comprise residual processing solvent because Spindler teaches in practice 100% removal is not possible and it would have been obvious to ensure the cellulose resin particles of Oki or/and Oki in view of Abe prepared using solvents inclusive of ester-based solvents inclusive of ethyl acetate and ketone-based solvents inclusive of methyl ethyl ketone comprise no more than 100 ppm residual solvent as taught by Spindler because this quantity qualifies as substantially none and because this quantity is suitable for cellulose microparticles suitable for cosmetic applications.
Regarding claims 5, 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute lipophilic agents as taught by Abe inclusive of metal salts of stearic acid for the hydrophobic compound of the second layer of the cellulose resin particles of Oki in view of Abe and Spindler because simple substitution of functionally equivalent elements yields predictable results, absent evidence to the contrary. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because stearic acid is a fatty acid compound falling within the genus embraced by Oki.
Regarding claims 11, 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cellulose resin particles of Oki in view of Abe and Spindler to have a sphericity of 0.7 to 1.0 and a surface smoothness of 70 to 100% as taught by Abe in order to improve spreadability and tactile impression. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Oki does not delimit the shape of the particles.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oki et al. (US 2021/0403660, published December 30, 2021, of record) in view of Spindler et al. (WO 2017/180440, published October 19, 2017, of record) and Abe (WO 2022/137679, published June 30, 2022, as evidenced by US 2024/0041710, IDS references filed March 21, 2024) as applied to claims 1, 4-7 and 9-14 above, and further in view of McCarthy, JR et al. (US 2021/0009767, published January 14, 2021, of record).
The teachings of Oki, Spindler and Abe have been described supra.
They do not teach an inorganic particle as an external additive (understood as a coating as described in paragraphs [0042]-[0043] of the instant specification) as required by claim 8.
This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of McCarthy.
McCarthy teaches solventless particle coating (title; abstract; claims). The solid coatings include waxes or/and fats such as fatty alcohols and fatty acids (claim 3; paragraph [0031]). Certain types of coated solid granule cores may suffer from adhesion and caking during storage; to prevent this, the particles may be dry coated with silica (paragraph [0047]), as required by instant claim 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cellulose resin particles of Oki in view of Spindler and Abe to further comprise a dry coating with silica as taught by McCarthy in order to prevent potential adhesion or caking during storage.
Response to Arguments: Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Arguments of May 8, 2026
Applicant alleges the rejection is without merit. Applicant cites to paragraph [0022] of the specification in support of the apparent argument that residual solvent can be determined via chromatography. Applicant further elaborates on a chromatographic protocol at page 4 of the Remarks.
This line of argument is unpersuasive because it is unrelated to the rejection of record over Oki. Furthermore, it is known in the art that chromatography is suitable for determining residual solvent (e.g., Witschi et al., copy provided).
Applicant cites to paragraph [0011] of the specification in support of the apparent argument that solvents as claimed may weaken hydrogen bonding of the cellulose polymer, contributing to the disclosed “fluffy” feel. Applicant further alleges the claimed amounts are critical.
This line of argument remains unpersuasive for reasons of record. Furthermore, it is known in the art that residual solvent impacts polymer properties (e.g., Witshci et al., section 1.2, copy provided). For example, residual solvent may act as a plasticizer causing an increase in polymer chain segment motion and residual solvent may affect molecular interactions (e.g., hydrogen bonds). With regard to the allegation of criticality, the limited data within the instant specification do not support such a conclusion across the genus of particles instantly claimed.
Applicant cites to paragraphs [0078]-[0079] and to Tables 1-1 and 1-2-2 of the specification in support of the allegation that EA (ethyl acetate) and MEK (methyl ethyl ketone) interact with the hydroxyl groups of cellulose. Applicant further cites to Tables 1-2-1, 1-2-2, 1-4-1 and 1-4-2 and to Examples 1-18, Examples 61-64 and Comparative Examples 1 and 2 in support of an allegation of “unexpected and synergistic effects” with respect to “biodegradability and fluffy feel”.
This line of argument remains unpersuasive for reasons of record. As an initial matter, the claims do not require EA or MEK. The claims do not require any particular cellulose. And the particles instantly claimed need not be produced by the exemplified process. Furthermore, it is not unexpected that residual solvent impacts polymer properties (e.g., Witshci et al., section 1.2, copy provided).
With regard to the allegation of unexpected and synergistic effects, the claimed particles need not be biodegradable nor fluffy. The biodegradability of the particles of Comparative Examples 1 and 2 is the same as the biodegradability of the particles of Examples 61-64. The reported compression energy differs, however, the reported compression energy is also media dependent. It is not seen how the proffered data are meaningful, let alone evidence an unexpected result within the meaning of MPEP 716. Mere allegations of “unexpected and synergistic effects” do not meet Applicant’s burden of demonstrating an effect not already possessed by the art.
Applicant cites to the prior art references, individually, and concludes residual solvent is entirely distinct from the content of hydrocarbon esters and ketones within the particles.
This line of argument is unpersuasive. The instant claims embrace all cellulose particles having a content of known solvents within expected ranges (e.g., Spindler, of record; ICH guideline for residual solvents, copy provided).
Applicant cites to MPEP 716.02(a)-(g) in support of the allegation that unexpected results can overcome rejections under 35 USC 103.
While Applicant is correct in that proffered data must be weighed (e.g., MPEP 716.01(d)), the submission of data does not control the obviousness analysis (The submission of objective evidence of patentability does not mandate a conclusion of patentability in and of itself. In re Chupp, 816 F.2d 643, 2 USPQ2d 1437 (Fed. Cir. 1987).). The data within the specification were considered as part of the Graham analysis in the determination of that which was, and that which is, claimed is prima facie obvious as evidenced by express findings of fact. Applicant has not provided any comparison to the myriad cellulose particles known to the prior art as required by MPEP 716.02(e). Applicant has not articulated any rationale why the proffered data for the exemplary subgenus of cellulose acetate particles is extrapolatable to all cellulose particles as required by MPEP 716.02(d). Applicant has not articulated any rationale as to why the “fluffiness” parameter is of any consequence as required by MPEP 716.02(a). The burden of establishing an unexpected result is borne entirely by Applicant as a matter of law. See MPEP 716.02(b).
Arguments of May 26, 2026
Applicant alleges at page 8 of the Remarks that paragraph [0022] of the specification supports the allegation of record (Remarks of January 20, 2026) that ethyl acetate and MEK “are added to the final product cellulose particles”.
This is unpersuasive because paragraph [0022] is drawn to the preparation of a calibration curve. Applicant’s Remarks of May 8, 2026 have already conceded the source of the claimed solvents lies in the disclosed process (e.g., Remarks, pages 5-6 in citing to the exemplary process of paragraph [0078]). No other possibility has been disclosed. That it must be so is consistent with the new allegation at page 9 of the Remarks that “EA and MEK” are not completely removed despite the fact that the actual specification at paragraph [0078] states the contrary.
Applicant again cites to paragraph [0011] and repeats the allegation of criticality.
This is unpersuasive for at least the reasons already elaborated infra.
Applicant again cites to paragraph [0078] and to the data within the specification in support of the allegation of “unexpected and synergistic effects”.
This is unpersuasive for at least the reasons already elaborated infra.
Applicant again cites to the prior art references, individually, and concludes residual solvent is entirely distinct from the content of hydrocarbon esters and ketones within the particles. Applicant cites to MPEP 716.02(a)-(g) in support of the allegation that unexpected results can overcome rejections under 35 USC 103.
This is unpersuasive for at least the reasons already elaborated infra. Accordingly, the rejections of record are properly maintained and made again.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable (1) over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,065,547; (2) over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,187,861; (3) over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,325,779; (4) over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,378,403; and (5) over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,460,054 (Application No. 18/366,674) in view of Abe (WO 2022/137679, published June 30, 2022, as evidenced by US 2024/0041710, IDS references filed March 21, 2024), Spindler et al. (WO 2017/180440, published October 19, 2017, of record) and Oki et al. (US 2021/0403660, published December 30, 2021, of record).
The instant claims are drawn to a particle comprising cellulose as the base constituent (meaning greater than 90 wt% cellulose as defined in paragraph [0013] of the specification) and 3 to 1000 ppm of a hydrocarbon ester inclusive of ethyl acetate and 3 to 1000 ppm of a ketone inclusive of methyl ethyl ketone. The particle may further comprise a coating comprising inter alia a fatty acid, the fatty acid having 16 to 22 carbon atoms or the fatty acid being saturated. The particle may further comprise an intermediate coating comprising inter alia a polyamine. The particle may further comprise an inorganic particle as an external additive. The particle may have a diameter of 3 to 10 microns, an upper GSDv of 1 to 1.7, a sphericity greater than 0.7, or a surface smoothness greater than 50%. The cellulose may have a molecular weight greater than 37,000.
The ‘547 Patent claims are drawn to a particle comprising a cellulose core, a first coating layer comprising a polyamine and a second coating layer comprising a linear, saturated C14-C22 fatty acid. The particle may further comprise a silicon external additive. The particle may have a diameter of 3 to 10 microns, an upper GSDv of 1 to 1.7, a sphericity greater than 0.9, or a surface smoothness greater than 80%. The cellulose may have a molecular weight greater than 37,000.
The ‘861 Patent claims are drawn to particles comprising a cellulose core and a first coating layer comprising a polyamine or/and a linear, saturated fatty acid, wherein the particles have a diameter of 3 to 10 microns. The particles may further comprise a silicon external additive. The particles may have an upper GSDv of 1 to 1.7, a sphericity greater than 0.9, or a surface smoothness greater than 80%. The cellulose may have a molecular weight greater than 37,000.
The ‘779 Patent claims are drawn to a particle comprising a cellulose core and a first coating layer comprising a fatty acid. The fatty acid may be a C16-C22 fatty acid or may be saturated. The particle may further comprise an intermediate coating comprising inter alia a polyamine. The particle may further comprise an inorganic particle as an external additive. The particle may have a diameter of 3 to 10 microns, an upper GSDv of 1 to 1.7, a sphericity greater than 0.7, or a surface smoothness greater than 50%. The cellulose may have a molecular weight greater than 37,000.
The ’403 Patent claims are drawn to resins comprising cellulose particles comprising coating layers and intermediate layers, wherein the cellulose particles have a sphericity greater than 0.9, wherein the coating layers comprise inter alia linear saturated fatty acids and wherein the intermediate layers comprise polyamines. The particles may have a diameter of 1 to 10 microns, an upper GSDv of less than 1.7, or a surface smoothness greater than 50%.
The ‘054 Patent claims are drawn to a particle comprising cellulose as a base constituent, a coating layer comprising a saturated fatty acid and an intermediate layer comprising inter alia a polyamine. The particle may further comprise an inorganic particle as an external additive. The particle may have a diameter of 3 to 10 microns, an upper GSDv of 1 to 1.7, a sphericity greater than 0.7, or a surface smoothness greater than 50%. The cellulose may have a molecular weight greater than 37,000.
The instant claims differ from the conflicting Patent claims primarily with respect to the recitation of 3 to 1000 ppm ester / ethyl acetate and 3 to 1000 ppm ketone / MEK. However, it is known in view of at least Abe as elaborated supra that cellulose particles are prepared using solvents inclusive of ethyl acetate or/and MEK and it would have been obvious that at least some residual solvent remains in cellulose particles. In view of Spindler, it would have been obvious to minimize the residual solvent to amounts lower than 100 ppm of the particles because this threshold renders particles suitable for cosmetic applications.
The instant claims also differ from the ‘861 Patent claims with respect to the arrangement of the layers. However, it is known in view of at least Oki as elaborated supra to prepare cellulose particles comprising a first layer comprising a cationic resin inclusive of a polyalkyleneimine (polyamine) and second layer comprising a fatty acid compound and it would have been obvious to do so.
The instant claims also differ from the ‘861 Patent claims, the ‘403 Patent claims and the ‘054 Patent claims with respect to the species of fatty acids. However, it is known in view of at least Abe as elaborated supra to employ stearic acid as the fatty acid or wax and it would have been obvious to do so.
The instant claims also differ from the ‘403 Patent claims with respect to the species of cellulose MW. However, it is known in view of at least Oki as elaborated supra to employ cellulose having a degree of polymerization which implicitly renders obvious MWs as instantly claimed.
The instantly claimed particles are therefore an obvious variant of the particles of the conflicting Patents in view of the prior art.
Claims 1 and 4-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable (A) over claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-20 of copending Application No. 17/990,720; (B) over claims 1, 12, 14-20 and 22 of copending Application No. 18/071,531; (C) over claims 1-15 and 19 of copending Application No. 18/151,132; (D) over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/444,627; (E) over claims 1-10, 15 and 16 of copending Application No. 18/458,986; (F) over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/459,442; (G) over claims 1-9, 20 and 21 of copending Application No. 18/461,482; and (H) over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/542,778 in view of Abe (WO 2022/137679, published June 30, 2022, as evidenced by US 2024/0041710, IDS references filed March 21, 2024), Spindler et al. (WO 2017/180440, published October 19, 2017, of record), Oki et al. (US 2021/0403660, published December 30, 2021, of record) and McCarthy, JR et al. (US 2021/0009767, published January 14, 2021, of record).
Withdrawn copending claims are included because withdrawn claims are still pending
Although a Notice of Allowance has been mailed in Application Nos. 18/071,531, 18/458,986, and 18/461,482, because these Applications have not yet issued as Patents these rejections remain provisional
The instant claims have been described supra.
The copending ‘547 claims (A) are drawn to a particle comprising cellulose as the first component in an amount of 70 to 95 wt% (main component). The particles may further comprise a coating layer comprising inter alia a polyamine or/and a linear, saturated fatty acid, wherein the coating layer comprises a first coating layer containing the polyamine compound and a second coating covering the first coating. The particle may further comprise a silicon particle as an external additive. The particle may have a diameter of 3 to 10 microns, an upper GSDv of 1 to 1.7, a sphericity greater than 0.9, or a surface smoothness greater than 80%. The cellulose may have a molecular weight greater than 37,000.
The copending ‘531 claims (B) are drawn to particles comprising cellulose as the base constituent, a coating layer comprising inter alia polyethyleneimine (a polyamine), and a second coating layer and comprising hydrophobized silica particles (external) and a metallic soap. The particle may have a diameter of 3 to 10 microns, an upper GSDv of 1 to 1.7, a sphericity greater than 0.9, or a surface smoothness greater than 80%. The cellulose may have a molecular weight greater than 37,000.
The copending ‘132 claims (C) are drawn to a particle comprising cellulose as a base constituent, the cellulose having a molecular weight greater than 37,000, the particle having a diameter of 3 to 9 microns, an upper GSDv of 1.5 or less, a sphericity of 0.9 or greater, and a smoothness of 80% or higher. The particle may further comprise a coating layer comprising inter alia a polyamine or/and a linear, saturated fatty acid. The coating may comprise a first coating comprising the polyamine and a second coating. The particle may further comprise a silicon particle as an external additive. The particle may have an upper GSDv of 1 to 1.5.
The copending ‘627 claims (D) are drawn to particle comprising cellulose as a main component, a first coating layer containing a polysaccharide, and a second coating layer comprising a fatty acid salt, wherein the diameter is 3 to 10 microns. The fatty acid salt may comprise calcium stearate.
The copending ‘986 claims (E) are drawn to a particle comprising cellulose acetate as a main component, a coating layer comprising inter alia fatty acids, and an intermediate layer comprising inter alia a polyamine. The particle may have a diameter of 1 to 100 microns. The particle may further comprise an inorganic particle as an external additive.
The copending ‘442 claims (F) are drawn to a particle comprising cellulose as a main component, a first coating layer containing a multivalent metal salt of an acid-resin, and a second coating layer comprising inter alia a fatty acid. The first coating layer may comprise a polysaccharide.
The copending ‘482 claims (G) are drawn to particles containing a base particle containing cellulose as a main component, a coating layer, and an intermediate layer, wherein the particles have a diameter of 1 to 20 microns. The particles may have a surface smoothness less than 80%. The coating layer may comprise inter alia a fatty acid.
The copending ‘778 claims (H) are drawn to particles containing cellulose as a main component and a coating layer. The particles may have a diameter of 1 to 100 microns. The coating layer may comprise inter alia a fatty acid, the fatty acid may be linear. The particles may further comprise an intermediate coating layer, the intermediate coating layer comprising inter alia a polyamine.
The instant claims differ from the conflicting copending claims primarily with respect to the recitation of 3 to 1000 ppm ester / ethyl acetate and 3 to 1000 ppm ketone / MEK. However, it is known in view of at least Abe as elaborated supra that cellulose particles are prepared using solvents inclusive of ethyl acetate or/and MEK and it would have been obvious that at least some residual solvent remains in cellulose particles. In view of Spindler, it would have been obvious to minimize the residual solvent to amounts lower than 100 ppm of the particles because this threshold renders particles suitable for cosmetic applications.
The instant claims may also differ from the conflicting copending claims with respect to the arrangement of the layers. However, it is known in view of at least Oki as elaborated supra to prepare cellulose particles comprising a first layer comprising a cationic resin inclusive of a polyalkyleneimine (polyamine) and second layer comprising a fatty acid compound and it would have been obvious to do so.
The instant claims may also differ from the conflicting copending claims with respect to the species of fatty acids. However, it is known in view of at least Abe as elaborated supra to employ stearic acid as the fatty acid or wax and it would have been obvious to do so.
The instant claims may also differ from the conflicting copending claims with respect to the species of cellulose MW. However, it is known in view of at least Oki as elaborated supra to employ cellulose having a degree of polymerization which implicitly renders obvious MWs as instantly claimed.
The instant claims may also differ from the conflicting copending claims with respect to the diameter, SD, sphericity or/and smoothness. However, it is known in view of at least Oki as elaborated supra to prepared cellulose particles having a diameter of 3 to 100 microns and a large-diameter GSDv of 1.5 or less and it would have been obvious to do so and it is known in view of at least Abe to prepare cellulose particles of similar diameter that have a sphericity of 0.7 to 1.0 and a surface smoothness of 70 to 100% and it would have been obvious to do in order to improve smoothness and uniformity.
The instant claims may also differ from the conflicting copending claims with respect to the recitation of an external inorganic particle. However, it is known in view of at least McCarty to overcoat particles with silica in order to prevent adhesion and caking during storage and it would have been obvious to do so.
The instantly claimed particles are therefore an obvious variant of the particles of the conflicting copending claims in view of the prior art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments: Double Patenting
Applicant’s statements that the double patenting rejections are overcome is unpersuasive. Therefore, the rejections are properly maintained and made again.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Witschi et al. “Residual solvents in pharmaceutical products: acceptable limits, influences on physicochemical properties, analytical methods and documented values,” European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics 43:215-242, 1997 teaches residual solvents are known to affect physicochemical properties of polymers (e.g., section 1.2).
ICH guideline for residual solvents, 2016 teaches solvents inclusive of ethyl acetate and methyl ethyl ketone are class 3 solvents which should be limited to concentrations less than 5000 ppm (e.g., section 4.3, table 3).
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALISSA PROSSER/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/BENNETT M CELSA/Primary Examner, Art Unit 1600