DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/12/2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 8 and 15 are cancelled. Claims 1-7, 9-14, 16-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/12/2026, 02/25/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendment. Independent claim 1 has been amended to include limitations concerning first and second axis values. Applicant argues LIU et al. (10,440,532 B2) does not teach that the raw data can be distributed to different axes, i.e., Liu does not teach determining the dimension of the graphical display template based on the raw data. Examiner does agree Liu does not explicitly teach such a limitation; however, Liu does teach sending (1202) a data analysis request to a remotely located server, wherein the data request comprises raw data [18:64-19:4]. The data analysis request comprises (1204) a request to return a graphical representation of the raw data in one or more chart formats [19:5-7]. In response to receiving the reply, Liu teaches determining (1208) whether the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory. The system/method of Liu displays (1212) the graphical representation of the raw data on the display using the one or more graphical display templates [19:21-27], i.e., Liu selects a chart template to display the raw data as a graphical representation. Therefore, Liu teaches determining the chart template that would correlate with the raw data. Although Liu does not discuss axes, it would be implied that in order to select the correct chart template, the method/system of Liu would need to analyze the raw data to determine the type of chart template to select, i.e., 2D, 1D, circle etc.
For completeness, GREENFIELD (2014/0300603 A1) is relied upon as teaching the environment (11) that comprises development computer (11), computer-readable medium (13) coupled to processor (12) [0036, Fig. 3]. Class library (15) comprises a chart component for use in creating one or more different types of charts [0041]. An axes control (18) may be used to configure the axes of a charting component, such as specifying the horizontal and vertical axis [0041-0042]. Additionally, Greenfield teaches an axes control or a series control. That abstraction is typically handled by the individual axis object. Many, but not all, charts will comprise a horizontal axis and a vertical axis [0042]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the selection of valid graphical display templates of Liu to further take into account the axes needed, as taught by Greenfield. Liu would need to take into account the raw data to further determine what axes would be needed in order to select a valid template that ideally pictorializes the data for ease of interpretation [Liu: 19:1-20]. Greenfield is relied upon as providing a means for configuring the axes within the chart based on the type of data [Greenfield: 0042].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (10,440,532 B2) in view of GREENFIELD (2014/0300603 A1) and REIHMAN et al. (2017/0124350 A1).
RE claim 1, Liu teaches a system and method that sends a data analysis request in order to present a graphical representation [abstract]. Liu teaches an operating method for a display control chip, wherein the display control chip comprises:
(a)
a first memory configured to store a plurality of chart templates,
Fig. 11, is a structural diagram of realization device (1100) of displaying a data analysis result [18:30-32]. Processing unit (1106) comprises display template management unit (1102) [18: 33-36], which is configured to temporarily or permanently store in memory one or more graphical display templates corresponding to one or more graphical represents of data [18:42-46].
the operating method comprises:
(b)
using first update data to update raw data in a second memory;
With reference to Figs. 12A-C, Liu teaches method (1200) comprises sending (1202) a data analysis request to a remotely located server (said second memory), wherein the data request comprises raw data [18:64-19:4]. The data analysis request comprises (1204) a request to return a graphical representation of the raw data in one or more chart formats [19:5-7].
(c)
determining a target chart template of the plurality of chart templates according to the raw data,
In response to sending the data analysis request, a reply is received (1206) from the server comprising information to create an editable, graphical representation of the raw data. In response to receiving the reply, determining (1208) whether the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory. This includes determining (1210) if one or more graphical display templates stored in memory have expired [19:10-20].
comprising:
(c.1.)
in response to the first update data comprising a plurality of first axis values and a plurality of second axis values respectively corresponding to a first axis and a second axis, determining the target chart template that belongs to a 2D chart template of the plurality of chart templates; and
Liu teaches the data request comprises raw data that further requests a return of a graphical representation of the raw data in one or more chart formats [19:4-7]. When it is determined that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory, the system/method of Liu displays (1212) the graphical representation of the raw data on the display using the one or more graphical display templates [19:21-27], i.e., Liu selects a chart template to display the raw data as a graphical representation. Therefore, Liu teaches determining the chart template that would correlate with the raw data; however, Liu is not explicit in terms of the axis values.
Greenfield, Fig. 3, the environment (11) comprises development computer (11), computer-readable medium (13) coupled to processor (12) [0036]. Class library (15) comprises a chart component for use in creating one or more different types of charts [0041]. An axes control (18) may be used to configure the axes of a charting component, such as specifying the horizontal and vertical axis [0041-0042]. Additionally, Greenfield teaches an axes control or a series control. That abstraction is typically handled by the individual axis object. Many, but not all, charts will comprise a horizontal axis and a vertical axis (said 2D chart) [0042].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the selection of valid graphical display templates of Liu to further take into account the axes needed, as taught by Greenfield. Liu would need to take into account the raw data to further determine what axes would be needed in order to select a valid template that ideally pictorializes the data for ease of interpretation [Liu: 19:1-20]. Greenfield is relied upon as providing a means for configuring the axes within the chart based on the type of data [Greenfield: 0042].
(c.2.)
in response to the first update data comprising the plurality of first axis values corresponding to the first axis and not comprising the plurality of second axis values, determining the target chart template that belongs to a 1D chart template of the plurality of chart templates;
Liu teaches the data request comprises raw data that further requests a return of a graphical representation of the raw data in one or more chart formats [19:4-7]. When it is determined that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory, the system/method of Liu displays (1212) the graphical representation of the raw data on the display using the one or more graphical display templates [19:21-27], i.e., Liu selects a chart template to display the raw data as a graphical representation. Therefore, Liu teaches determining the chart template that would correlate with the raw data; however, Liu is not explicit in terms of the axis values.
Greenfield, Fig. 3, the environment (11) comprises development computer (11), computer-readable medium (13) coupled to processor (12) [0036]. Class library (15) comprises a chart component for use in creating one or more different types of charts [0041]. An axes control (18) may be used to configure the axes of a charting component, such as specifying the horizontal and vertical axis [0041-0042]. Additionally, Greenfield teaches an axes control or a series control. That abstraction is typically handled by the individual axis object. Many, but not all (said 1D chart), charts will comprise a horizontal axis and a vertical axis [0042].
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 1(c.1.) is incorporated herein.
(d)
converting the raw data into a chart image according to the target chart template;
Liu teaches an editable, graphical representation is created when it is determined that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates [19:21-27]. Furthermore, Liu teaches the display template is used for importing and display data [5:7-9]. The display template is a chart display template [5:13]. Liu further describes the different type of charts [6:57-8:26].
(e)
outputting first display data according to the chart image, wherein the first display data is for generating a first display picture comprising the chart image;
Liu teaches when a determination that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory, displaying (1212) the graphical representation of the raw data on the display using the one or more graphical display templates [19:21-27].
Liu in view of Greenfield teaches the limitations of claim 1 with the exception of displaying a default image indicating an update status related to the first update data. Reihman is made of record as sending data from sensors between a transmitter and receiver [abstract]. The method/system of Reihman teaching providing a notification or a graphically distinct indicator for presentation at a display of the receiver, indicating information about the data [abstract]. Reihman teachings “backfill” data which is data stored at the sensor if or when a communication link is lost between the sensor or receiver [0031]. When the communication is established, the system can send the stored data known as “backfill” data to the receiver for display [0031].
(f)
in response to receiving the first update data, reading a default image from the first memory, wherein the default image is configured to indicate an update status related to the first update data; and
The output signal of Reihman, which may be in the form of, for example, sensor data, such as a raw data stream, is sent to the receiver [0048]. This sensor data may comprise backfill data and/or non-backfill data [0048, 0071]. The user may also configure the receiver to display at the receiver the backfill way in a graphically distinct way from the non-back fill data [0071]. The backfill mode may include one or more configurations controlled by the backfill module (390) [0075]. Backfill module (390) may handle backfill data including control of when backfill data is provided to the receiver, how the backfill data is presented, whether to display backfill data, whether to display backfill data in a graphically distinct way from non-backfill data, whether to trigger an alert based on backfilled data, and/or other aspects described herein associated with the backfill data [0066].
The control may be automatically controlled, and this control may include generating views and notifications regarding backfill (said reading default image … indicate update status) [0075].
(g)
outputting second display data according to the default image, wherein the second display data is for generating a second display picture comprising the default image.
As shown in Fig. 6 Reihman, a notification (said default image) is generated while in notify regarding auto backfill mode (492B) [0085]. The notification may be permanent or temporary [0085]. The receiver (112) may generate view (610) depicting a notification (620) (said default image) generated for presentation at a user interface of the receiver [0086]. Thus, the data displayed in Fig. 6 is the updated data that includes the backfill data (said second display data).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the notification of Reihman when updating the data on the display of Liu in view of Greenfield, in order for the user to be aware of the type of data being displayed. In the case of Reihman, it is beneficial for the user to be aware that the backfill data is not the current real-time data [Reihman: 0078] when analyzing the information. Furthermore, it is beneficial to still send more recent backfill data, so that more accurate processing of alarms, alerts, and/or the like may be realized [Reihman: 0073].
RE claim 2, Liu teaches wherein using the first update data to update the raw data in the second memory comprises:
(a)
receiving the plurality of first axis values of the first update data;
With reference to Figs. 12A-C, Liu teaches method (1200) comprises sending (1202) a data analysis request to a remotely located server (said second memory), wherein the data request comprises raw data (said plurality of first axis values) [18:64-19:4]. The data analysis request comprises (1204) a request to return a graphical representation of the raw data in one or more chart formats [19:5-7]. Liu further describes the different type of charts [6:57-8:26]. Different types of charts may have different components [6:64-67]. In the example when the chart is a line chart, there is a horizontal and vertical axis [7:10-17]. Thus, the raw data would have a first axis value in order to properly provide data for a line chart. As further modified by Greenfield, Greenfield teaches axes control (18) may be used to configure the axes of a charting component, such as specifying the horizontal and vertical axis [0041-0042]. Additionally, Greenfield teaches an axes control or a series control. That abstraction is typically handled by the individual axis object. Many, but not all, charts will comprise a horizontal axis and a vertical axis (said first axis) [0042]. When new data is added to a chart (said update), the charting control uses the data structure to draw the graphic element on the chart [0046].
(b)
updating a plurality of first axis values of the raw data, by using the plurality of first axis values of the first update data;
Liu teaches in response to sending the data analysis request, a reply is received (1206) from the server comprising information to create an editable, graphical representation of the raw data. In response to receiving the reply, determining (1208) whether the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory. This includes determining (1210) if one or more graphical display templates stored in memory have expired [19:10-20]. An editable, graphical representation is created when it is determined that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates [19:21-27]. Furthermore, Liu teaches the display template is used for importing and display data [5:7-9]. The display template is a chart display template [5:13]. Liu further describes the different type of charts [6:57-8:26]. When a determination that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory, displaying (1212) the graphical representation of the raw data on the display using the one or more graphical display templates [19:21-27]. Thus, the method/system of Liu updates the raw data by converting the raw data into a chart representation. In the case when the chart is a line chart, there is a horizontal and vertical axis (said updating first axes values) [7:10-17].
In further view of Greenfield, axes control (18) may be used to configure the axes of a charting component, such as specifying the horizontal and vertical axis [0041-0042]. Furthermore, the charting component takes responsibility for the other steps necessary to render it correctly [0044]. As the details of the chart change, a graphics subpart of the chart component informs the chart what it needs to know to ensure the chart is correct, e.g., it may respond to changes in the chart’s ranges and update the chart accordingly [0044].
(c)
receiving the plurality of second axis values of the first update data; and
With reference to Figs. 12A-C, Liu teaches method (1200) comprises sending (1202) a data analysis request to a remotely located server (said second memory), wherein the data request comprises raw data (said plurality of second axis values) [18:64-19:4]. The data analysis request comprises (1204) a request to return a graphical representation of the raw data in one or more chart formats [19:5-7]. Liu further describes the different type of charts [6:57-8:26]. Different types of charts may have different components [6:64-67]. In the example when the chart is a line chart, there is a horizontal and vertical axis [7:10-17]. Thus, the raw data would have a second axis value in order to properly provide data for a line chart. As further modified by Greenfield, Greenfield teaches axes control (18) may be used to configure the axes of a charting component, such as specifying the horizontal and vertical axis [0041-0042]. Additionally, Greenfield teaches an axes control or a series control. That abstraction is typically handled by the individual axis object. Many, but not all, charts will comprise a horizontal axis and a vertical axis (said second axis) [0042]. When new data is added to a chart (said update), the charting control uses the data structure to draw the graphic element on the chart [0046].
(d)
updating a plurality of second axis values of the raw data, by using the plurality of second axis values of the first update data.
In response to sending the data analysis request, a reply is received (1206) from the server comprising information to create an editable, graphical representation of the raw data. In response to receiving the reply, determining (1208) whether the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory. This includes determining (1210) if one or more graphical display templates stored in memory have expired [19:10-20]. An editable, graphical representation is created when it is determined that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates [19:21-27]. Furthermore, Liu teaches the display template is used for importing and display data [5:7-9]. The display template is a chart display template [5:13]. Liu further describes the different type of charts [6:57-8:26]. When a determination that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory, displaying (1212) the graphical representation of the raw data on the display using the one or more graphical display templates [19:21-27]. Thus, the method/system of Liu updates the raw data by converting the raw data into a chart representation. In the case when the chart is a line chart, there is a horizontal and vertical axis (said updating second axes values) [7:10-17].
In further view of Greenfield, axes control (18) may be used to configure the axes of a charting component, such as specifying the horizontal and vertical axis [0041-0042]. Furthermore, the charting component takes responsibility for the other steps necessary to render it correctly [0044]. As the details of the chart change, a graphics subpart of the chart component informs the chart what it needs to know to ensure the chart is correct, e.g., it may respond to changes in the chart’s ranges and update the chart accordingly [0044].
The same motivation to combine as taught in the rationale of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
RE claim 3, Liu teaches wherein determining the target chart template of the plurality of chart templates according to the raw data comprises:
(a)
selecting the target chart template from the plurality of chart templates, according to chart type information of the raw data, wherein
In response to sending the data analysis request, a reply is received (1206) from the server comprising information to create an editable, graphical representation of the raw data. In response to receiving the reply, determining (1208) whether the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory [19:10-20]. When it is determined that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory, the system/method of Liu displays (1212) the graphical representation of the raw data on the display using the one or more graphical display templates [19:21-27].
(b)
the chart type information is related to a chart type that a user specifies to generate.
Additionally, in response to sending the data analysis request, a reply is received from the server (1234) comprising a plurality of static, thumbnail graphical representations corresponding to the raw data, wherein each respective thumbnail graphical representation represents a respective type of chart. A request is then sent to the server (1236) comprising a user selection of one or more of the thumbnail graphical representations, and receiving (1238) from the server a reply comprising information to create an editable, graphical representation of the raw data corresponding to the one or more thumbnail graphical representations [19:56-67].
RE claim 4, Liu teaches wherein selecting the target chart template from the plurality of chart template comprises
(a)
determining a plurality of candidate chart templates matching the chart type information from the plurality of chart templates; and
In response to sending the data analysis request, a reply is received (1206) from the server comprising information to create an editable, graphical representation of the raw data. In response to receiving the reply, determining (1208) whether the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory [19:10-20].
(b)
selecting the target chart template from the plurality of candidate chart templates,
When it is determined that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory, the system/method of Liu displays (1212) the graphical representation of the raw data on the display using the one or more graphical display templates [19:21-27], i.e., Liu selects a chart template to display the raw data as a graphical representation.
Liu teaches selecting a chart template for the raw data, however is not explicit in terms of the axis values. Greenfield is made of record as teaching a system and method for drawing graphics into a data chart [abstract].
according to at least one of the number of a plurality of first axis values of the raw data and the number of a plurality of second axis values of the raw data.
Greenfield, Fig. 3, the environment (11) comprises development computer (11), computer-readable medium (13) coupled to processor (12) [0036]. Class library (15) comprises a chart component for use in creating one or more different types of charts [0041]. An axes control (18) may be used to configure the axes of a charting component, such as specifying the horizontal and vertical axis [0041-0042].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the selection of valid graphical display templates of Liu to further take into account the axes needed, as taught by Greenfield. Liu would need to take into account the raw data to further determine what axes would be needed in order to select a valid template that ideally pictorializes the data for ease of interpretation. Greenfield is relied upon as providing a means for configuring the axes within the chart.
RE claim 9, claim 9 recites similar limitations as claim 1 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 1 is applied. Furthermore, Liu teaches a processor (880) (said computing circuit) [Fig. 8, 14:59-15:6] that is coupled to memory (820) (said coupled to the first memory) [Fig. 8, 13:19-34].
RE claim 10, claim 10 recites similar limitations as claim 2 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 2 is applied.
RE claim 11, claim 11 recites similar limitations as claim 3 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 3 is applied.
RE claim 12, claim 12 recites similar limitations as claim 4 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 4 is applied.
RE claim 16, Liu teaches a system and method that sends a data analysis request in order to present a graphical representation [abstract]. Liu teaches a display system comprising:
(a)
an input device, configured to receive a plurality of values inputted by a user, and convert the plurality of values into first update data;
Liu teaches receiving data received from the client device (e.g., raw data) (said input device) [17:10-15]. With reference to Figs. 12A-C, Liu teaches method (1200) comprises sending (1202) a data analysis request to a remotely located server, wherein the data request comprises raw data [18:64-19:4]. The data analysis request comprises (1204) a request to return a graphical representation of the raw data in one or more chart formats [19:5-7].
(b)
a display control chip, configured to communicate with the input device for receiving the first update data, and comprising a first memory, wherein the first memory is configured to store a plurality of chart templates;
Fig. 11, is a structural diagram of realization device (1100) of displaying a data analysis result [18:30-32]. Processing unit (1106) comprises display template management unit (1102) [18: 33-36], which is configured to temporarily or permanently store in memory one or more graphical display templates corresponding to one or more graphical represents of data [18:42-46].
(c)
a display circuit;
Liu teaches a display unit (840) that can be used for displaying information input by a user or information provided for the user. The display panel (841) may be configured in the form of a LCD, OLED, and so on [13:63-14:2]. Although Liu does not specifically disclose the display circuit within the display unit (840), Liu teaches well-known circuits have not been described in detail [3:60-67]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a display circuit is a well-known component within a display in order for the display and processor to work together.
(d)
wherein the display control chip is coupled to the second memory and the display circuit, and is configured to use the first update to update the raw data,
With reference to Figs. 12A-C, Liu teaches method (1200) comprises sending (1202) a data analysis request to a remotely located server (said second memory), wherein the data request comprises raw data [18:64-19:4]. The data analysis request comprises (1204) a request to return a graphical representation of the raw data in one or more chart formats [19:5-7].
wherein when the display control chip reads the raw data in the second memory, the display control chip is configured to:
(c)
determine a target chart template of the plurality of chart templates according to the raw data;
In response to sending the data analysis request, a reply is received (1206) from the server comprising information to create an editable, graphical representation of the raw data. In response to receiving the reply, determining (1208) whether the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory. This includes determining (1210) if one or more graphical display templates stored in memory have expired [19:10-20].
(d)
convert the raw data into a chart image according to the target chart template; and
An editable, graphical representation is created when it is determined that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates [19:21-27]. Furthermore, Liu teaches the display template is used for importing and display data [5:7-9]. The display template is a chart display template [5:13]. Liu further describes the different type of charts [6:57-8:26].
(e)
output first display data according to the chart image, wherein the first display data is for generating a first display picture comprising the chart image.
When a determination that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory, displaying (1212) the graphical representation of the raw data on the display using the one or more graphical display templates [19:21-27].
wherein when the display control chip receives the first update data, the display control chip is configured to:
Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1 with the exception of displaying a default image indicating an update status related to the first update data. Reihman is made of record as sending data from sensors between a transmitter and receiver [abstract]. The method/system of Reihman teaching providing a notification or a graphically distinct indicator for presentation at a display of the receiver, indicating information about the data [abstract]. Reihman teachings “backfill” data which is data stored at the sensor if or when a communication link is lost between the sensor or receiver [0031]. When the communication is established, the system can send the stored data known as “backfill” data to the receiver for display [0031].
(f)
read a default image from the first memory, wherein the default image is configured to indicate an update status related to the first update data; and
The output signal, which may be in the form of, for example, sensor data, such as a raw data stream, is sent to the receiver [0048]. This sensor data may comprise backfill data and/or non-backfill data [0048, 0071]. The user may also configure the receiver to display at the receiver the backfill way in a graphically distinct way from the non-back fill data [0071]. The backfill mode may include one or more configurations controlled by the backfill module (390) [0075]. Backfill module (390) may handle backfill data including control of when backfill data is provided to the receiver, how the backfill data is presented, whether to display backfill data, whether to display backfill data in a graphically distinct way from non-backfill data, whether to trigger an alert based on backfilled data, and/or other aspects described herein associated with the backfill data [0066].
The control may be automatically controlled, and this control may include generating views and notifications regarding backfill (said reading default image … indicate update status) [0075].
(g)
output second display data according to the default image, wherein the second display data is for generating a second display picture comprising the default image,
As shown in Fig. 6, a notification (said default image) is generated while in notify regarding auto backfill mode (492B) [0085]. The notification may be permanent or temporary [0085]. The receiver (112) may generate view (610) depicting a notification (620) (said default image) generated for presentation at a user interface of the receiver [0086]. Thus, the data displayed in Fig. 6 is the updated data that includes the backfill data (said second display data).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the notification of Reihman when updating the data on the display in order for the user to be aware of the type of data being displayed. In the case of Reihman, it is beneficial for the user to be aware that the backfill data is not the current real-time data [0078] when analyzing the information. Furthermore, it is beneficial to still send more recent backfill data, so that more accurate processing of alarms, alerts, and/or the like may be realized [0073].
(h)
wherein when the first update data comprises a plurality of first axis values and a plurality of second axis values respectively corresponding to a first axis and a second axis, the display control chip is configured to determine that the target chart template belongs to a 2D chart template of the plurality of chart templates, and
Liu teaches the data request comprises raw data that further requests a return of a graphical representation of the raw data in one or more chart formats [19:4-7]. When it is determined that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory, the system/method of Liu displays (1212) the graphical representation of the raw data on the display using the one or more graphical display templates [19:21-27], i.e., Liu selects a chart template to display the raw data as a graphical representation. Therefore, Liu teaches determining the chart template that would correlate with the raw data; however, Liu is not explicit in terms of the axis values.
Greenfield, Fig. 3, the environment (11) comprises development computer (11), computer-readable medium (13) coupled to processor (12) [0036]. Class library (15) comprises a chart component for use in creating one or more different types of charts [0041]. An axes control (18) may be used to configure the axes of a charting component, such as specifying the horizontal and vertical axis [0041-0042]. Additionally, Greenfield teaches an axes control or a series control. That abstraction is typically handled by the individual axis object. Many, but not all, charts will comprise a horizontal axis and a vertical axis (said 2D chart) [0042].
(i)
when the first update data comprises the plurality of first axis values corresponding to the first axis and does not comprise the plurality of second axis values, the display control chip is configured to determine that the target chart template belongs to a 1 D chart template of the plurality of chart templates.
Liu teaches the data request comprises raw data that further requests a return of a graphical representation of the raw data in one or more chart formats [19:4-7]. When it is determined that the device has one or more valid graphical display templates corresponding to the information to create the editable, graphical representation, stored in memory, the system/method of Liu displays (1212) the graphical representation of the raw data on the display using the one or more graphical display templates [19:21-27], i.e., Liu selects a chart template to display the raw data as a graphical representation. Therefore, Liu teaches determining the chart template that would correlate with the raw data; however, Liu is not explicit in terms of the axis values.
Greenfield, Fig. 3, the environment (11) comprises development computer (11), computer-readable medium (13) coupled to processor (12) [0036]. Class library (15) comprises a chart component for use in creating one or more different types of charts [0041]. An axes control (18) may be used to configure the axes of a charting component, such as specifying the horizontal and vertical axis [0041-0042]. Additionally, Greenfield teaches an axes control or a series control. That abstraction is typically handled by the individual axis object. Many, but not all (said 1D chart), charts will comprise a horizontal axis and a vertical axis [0042].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the selection of valid graphical display templates of Liu to further take into account the axes needed, as taught by Greenfield. Liu would need to take into account the raw data to further determine what axes would be needed in order to select a valid template that ideally pictorializes the data for ease of interpretation [Liu: 19:1-20]. Greenfield is relied upon as providing a means for configuring the axes within the chart based on the type of data [Greenfield: 0042].
Claims 5, 13, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (10,440,532 B2) in view of GREENFIELD (2014/0300603 A1) and REIHMAN et al. (2017/0124350 A1) as applied to claims 1, 9, and 16 respectively, and in further view of BRANDON (“How to Add a Picture to a Chart Background in Microsoft Excel!” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bFJ33w-yPg4).
RE claim 5, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 5 with the exception of disclosing a background image. Greenfield and Reihman further fail to discuss a background image in this context. Brandon teaches formatting a chart with a background image. Specifically, Brandon wherein outputting the first display data according to the chart image comprises:
overlaying the chart image to a background image to generate the first display data, wherein the background image is stored in the first memory.
Brandon teaches modifying the background of a chart in Microsoft Excel. By right clicking on the chart, there is an option to “Format Plot Area” [0:18, Fig. 1]. An option window opens to select “Picture or texture fill” [0:26, Fig. 2]. When selecting “Picture of texture fill” [0:32, Fig. 3], an option of where to select the images is presented. The user can opt “From a File, Stock Images, Online Pictures, From Icons” [0:38,Fig. 4]. Brandon teaches that once the image is selected, it is displayed behind the graph as a background [1:09, Fig. 5].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a background image for the chart of Liu in view of Greenfield and Reihman, as taught by Brandon. The background image provides customization.
RE claim 13, claim 13 recites similar limitations as claim 5 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 5 is applied.
RE claim 18, claim 18 recites similar limitations as claim 5 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 5 is applied.
Claims 6, 14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (10,440,532 B2) in view of GREENFIELD (2014/0300603 A1) and REIHMAN et al. (2017/0124350 A1) as applied to claims 1, 9, and 16 respectively, and in further view of BRANDON (“How to Add a Picture to a Chart Background in Microsoft Excel!” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bFJ33w-yPg4) and DAVIS (“How to Capture a Photo From a Video”).
RE claim 6, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 6 with the exception overlaying the chart image over a background image. Greenfield and Reihman further fail to discuss a background image in this context. However, Brandon teaches formatting a chart with a background image where Davis teaches capturing an image from a video source. Specifically, Brandon and Davis teaches wherein outputting the first display data according to the chart image comprises:
(a)
receiving a background image from an external video source; and
Brandon teaches modifying the background of a chart in Microsoft Excel. By right clicking on the chart, there is an option to “Format Plot Area” [0:18, Fig. 1]. An option window opens to select “Picture or texture fill” [0:26, Fig. 2]. When selecting “Picture of texture fill” [0:32, Fig. 3], an option of where to select the images is presented. The user can opt “From a File, Stock Images, Online Pictures, From Icons” [0:38,Fig. 4].
Furthermore, it is well known in the art to save images from a video source. Davis is relied upon as providing the means of taking still images from videos using a video editor call Kapwing [pg. 2]. Davis provides the steps of capturing the image [pg. 2-4]. Once the image frame is chosen, click “Export Project” and opt to download the file [pg. 5].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to capture an image from a video source, as taught by Davis because taking still images from videos can be useful for so many purposes, such as cover images, reaction mems, file analysis, and more [pg. 1]. Therefore, the system of Brandon can select the downloaded image as taught by Davis, to display as the background of the chart.
(b)
overlaying the chart image to the background image to generate the first display data.
In further view of Brandon, Brandon teaches that once the image is selected, it is displayed behind the graph as a background [1:09, Fig. 5].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a background image for the chart of Liu in view of Greenfield and Reihman, as taught by Brandon and Davis. The background image provides customization.
RE claim 14, claim 14 recites similar limitations as claim 6 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 6 is applied.
RE claim 19, claim 19 recites similar limitations as claim 6 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 6 is applied.
Claims 7 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (10,440,532 B2) in view of GREENFIELD (2014/0300603 A1) and REIHMAN et al. (2017/0124350 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 16 respectively, and in further view of TANAKA et al. (2004/0169631 A1).
RE claim 7, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 7 with the exception of discussing a timing circuit in regards to providing update data. Greenfield and Reihman further fail to discuss timing circuits in this context. Tanaka is made of record as teaching a display device that eliminates the possibility that a ratio between a display period for display signals and a display period for blanking signals differs from a preset ratio even when the video data are changed [abstract]. In further view of Tanaka, Tanaka teaches further comprising:
(a)
receiving second update data from a timing circuit, wherein the timing circuit is configured to calculate an operating time information of a display circuit that generates the first display picture, and configured to use the operating time information as the second update data; and
Tanaka teaches the timing control circuit (110’) generates display control signals such as clocks which control timing for latching the image data which is outputted from the timing control circuit (110’) to latch circuits provided to the respective video signal driver circuits (105’-108’), clocks for control timings for supplying the image data latched at the video signal driver circuits (105’-108’) to the pixels of the pixel array A and the pixel array B, and clocks for controlling timings to update the display images in the pixel array A and the pixel array B [0128]. Accordingly, the timing control circuit (110’) is also referred to as the display control circuit [0128].
(b)
using the second update data to update the raw data.
Liu teaches detecting (1226) a user command to edit, in the graphical representation, the raw data corresponding to the graphical representation, transmitting (1228) the edited raw data to the remote server and change identification information to track the edit, receiving (1230) from the server a new graphical representation corresponding to the edited raw data, and displaying (1232) the graphical represent of the edited raw data on the display using the one or more graphical display templates 19:45-55].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the timing control circuit of Tanaka with the system/method of Liu in view of Greenfield and Reihman because it allows for updates to be maintained in a timely fashion so that the update is displayed on the display.
RE claim 20, claim 20 recites similar limitations as claim 7 but in system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 7 is applied.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (10,440,532 B2) in view of GREENFIELD (2014/0300603 A1) and REIHMAN et al. (2017/0124350 A1) as applied to claim 16, and in further view of WONG (2013/0268780 A1).
RE claim 17, Liu in view of Reihman teaches the limitations of claim 17 with exception of displaying wherein the second memory is a pluggable memory device.
Liu teaches a remotely located server (said second memory), wherein the data request comprises raw data [18:64-19:4]. Wong teaches a portable access and power supply apparatus that includes a main body having at least one personal server device [abstract]. As shown in Fig. 7, a user can electrically connect a memory card (5) to the memory card plug-in terminal (115), whereby the memory card (5) is connected to the personal server device (111) via the memory card plug-in terminal (115) [0032].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to permit the server of Liu to include a memory card plug-in terminal so that the data of the memory card (5) and the data of the personal server device (111) can freely access and transfer between memory card (5) and the personal server device (111) [0032]. This also aids in expanding the memory of the server by allowing for different memory to be connected.
Conclusion
direct telephone number:
(571) 272-7661
email:
michelle.sams@uspto.gov
The examiner is currently part time and can be reached Mon.-Fri. 5:30am-9:30am.
/MICHELLE L SAMS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611
18 March 2026