DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated October 18, 2023, claims 1-25, 27-33 and 45 are pending. Claims 7, 11-13, 17-18, 20, 25, 29-33 and 45 are amended and claims 26 and 34-44 are presently cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim should be amended to recite “photovoltaic (PV)” such that the meaning of PV is clear..
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-12 and 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance:
Claim 2 recites the broad recitation “at least one port” and also recites “an AC port and one or more DC ports” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 3 recites the broad recitation “one or more DC ports” and also recites “a charging DC port and a DC power sharing port” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 4 recites the broad recitation “one or more power converters” and also recites “include at least one AC/DC converter, and one or more DC/DC converters” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 5 recites “one or more power converters” in line 1 but recites “include at least one AC/DC converter, and one or more DC/DC converters and a second DC/DC converter”. It is unclear whether there can be only one power converter. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that more than one converter is optional language.
Claim 6 requires “the at least one AC/DC converter”, however, it is unclear whether this is optional language due to the language of claim 1 which recites “one or more power converters”.
Claim 7 requires “the at least one DC/DC converter”, however, it is unclear whether this is optional language due to the language of claim 1 which recites “one or more power converters”.
Claim 8 recites the broad recitation “one or more first DC/DC converters”, and the claim also recites “two or more first DC/DC converters” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 14 recites the broad recitation “one or more DC charging modes” and also recites “(i) a first DC charging mode using a high input AC voltage, and (ii) a second DC charging mode using a low input AC voltage mode” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claims 15 and 16 require the first DC charging mode, however, it is unclear whether this is optional language due to the language of claim 14 which recites “one or more DC charging modes”.
Claims 17 and 18 require the second DC charging mode, however, it is unclear whether this is optional language due to the language of claim 14 which recites “one or more DC charging modes”.
Claims 21 and 22 require “the DC sharing port”, however, it is unclear whether this is optional language due to the language of claim 1 which recites “at least one port”.
The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 17 recites “first charging mode” in line 2, it is uncertain whether this is the “first DC charging mode” recited in claim 15 or whether this is a different mode.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the DC link" in 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9-12 and 19-22 are rejected at least due to their dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 13-14, 16, 21-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feldmann et al. US20220294247A1
Regarding claim 1. Feldmann discloses an integrated electric charging system, comprising:
- an energy storage subsystem (2) for storing direct current (DC) power (FIG. 4);
- a charging subsystem (4/6/15) coupled to the energy storage subsystem (2) and comprising:
- a common DC bus (10a/10b, 12a/b, 14a/b,18a/b);
- one or more power converters (4/6), each power converter having a DC side couplable to the common DC bus (FIG. 4 connected by line 12a/b and 14a/b), the one or more power converters being operable to maintain a voltage of the common DC bus at a pre-defined DC voltage level (¶19 – DC-DC converter designed to increase/decrease the voltage; and
- at least one operational switch (15) interposed between the one or more power converters (4/6) (FIG. 4), wherein the operational switch varies an operational mode of the integrated charging system (¶35-36 – first and second switching state of switch 15) ; and
- at least one port (toward charging infrastructure 20) coupled to the charging subsystem (coupled via 18a/b) and operable for discharging or receiving one or more of direct current (DC) and alternating current (AC) power (¶36 – charging plug of vehicle must be connected to charging station 22 via the charging socket 24 of the charging infrastructure 20).
Regarding claim 2. Feldman discloses that the at least one port includes an AC port and one or more DC ports (to discharge to charging infrastructure 20), wherein,
the AC port (discharging to motor 8) is couplable to one of an AC power supply or AC load (FIG. 4 – motor connected to the AC side of converter), and
the one or more DC ports (20/24) is couplable to one of a DC power supply or a DC load (charging station 22).
It should be noted that the claim only requires one mode and thus additional modes are interpreted as being optional.
Regarding claim 3. Feldman discloses that one or more DC ports include a charging DC port (24) and a DC power sharing port (DC power received by battery 2).
It should be noted that the claim only requires one port and thus additional ports are interpreted as being optional.
Regarding claim 7. Feldman discloses the one or more first DC/DC converters (4) comprises a first DC side and a second DC side (FIG. 4), wherein,
the first DC side is coupled to the common DC bus (10a/b), and the second DC side is coupled to the charging DC port via a charger-specific DC bus (FIG. 4 – the DC side connected to 12a is connected to the DC socket 24).
Regarding claim 13. Feldmann discloses that the system is operational in one of: (i) one or more DC charging modes (FIG. 4 – switch 15 connected to line 18a/b), (ii) an AC charging mode (FIG. 4 – switch 15 connected to 14a/b).
It should be noted that the claim only requires one mode and thus additional modes are interpreted as being optional.
Regarding claim 14. Feldmann discloses that the one or more DC charging modes comprise:
(i) a first DC charging mode using a high input AC voltage (¶17 – high voltage traction network ).
It should be noted that the claim only requires one mode and thus additional modes are interpreted as being optional.
Regarding claim 16. Feldmann discloses that the first DC charging mode, the operational switch is in the first closed position (FIG. 4 – switch 15 connected to line 18a/b).
Regarding claim 21. Feldmann discloses that the DC sharing port is coupled to external DC loads (20) and DC power sources (2).
Regarding claim 22. Feldmann discloses that the DC sharing power couples the system to other integrated charging systems via a DC link to allow for DC power sharing (FIG. 2) (¶30 -battery is connected to one of multiple charging structures).
Regarding claim 24. Feldmann discloses that the energy storage subsystem comprises one or more rechargeable battery cells (¶33 – the energy storage is a battery that is rechargeable, inherently including a cell).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldmann et al. US20220294247A1 in view of Guggisberg et al. US10513187B2.
Regarding claim 4. Feldmann discloses the one or more power converters, and one or more DC/DC converters (4) (FIG. 4).
It should be noted that the claim only requires one converter and thus additional converters are interpreted as being optional.
Although Feldmann discloses a DC-AC converter 6, Feldmann does not explicitly disclose that the converter is bidirectional.
Guggisberg discloses bidirectional flow of energy through motor-side converter 30, thus, comprising an AC/DC conversion (Column 4, line 25).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the bidirectionality of Guggisberg to Feldmann in order to allow for bidirectional flow of energy to be fed back to the supply grid in an energy efficient manner (column 1, lines 13-32).
Regarding claim 5. Feldman discloses that the one or more power converters one or more first DC/DC converters (4).
It should be noted that the claim only requires one converter and thus additional converters are interpreted as being optional.
Although Feldmann discloses a DC-AC converter 6, Feldmann does not explicitly disclose that the converter is bidirectional.
Guggisberg discloses bidirectional flow of energy through motor-side converter 30, thus, comprising an AC/DC conversion (Column 4, line 25).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the bidirectionality of Guggisberg to Feldmann in order to allow for bidirectional flow of energy to be fed back to the supply grid in an energy efficient manner (column 1, lines 13-32).
Regarding claim 6. Feldman discloses that the at least one DC/AC converter (6) comprises an AC side and a DC side (FIG. 4), wherein,
the AC side is coupled to the AC port (FIG. 4 – the AC side leads to the motor 8, the connection of which is considered a port), and the DC side is coupled to the at least one operational switch (FIG. 4).
Although Feldmann discloses a DC-AC converter 6, Feldmann does not explicitly disclose that the converter is bidirectional.
Guggisberg discloses bidirectional flow of energy through motor-side converter 30, thus, comprising an AC/DC conversion (Column 4, line 25).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the bidirectionality of Guggisberg to Feldmann in order to allow for bidirectional flow of energy to be fed back to the supply grid in an energy efficient manner (column 1, lines 13-32).
It should be noted that the claim only requires one converter and thus additional converter of the AC/DC converter are interpreted as being optional.
Regarding claim 12. Feldmann discloses that the operational switch (15) is adjustable between a first closed position and a second closed position (connecting to either 14 or 18), wherein,
in the second closed position, the operational switch couples the at least one AC/DC converter in parallel to the energy storage subsystem(14 is connected to 12 thus connecting in parallel to the battery 2).
Feldmann does not explicitly disclose the switching configuration of in the first closed position, the operational switch couples the at least one AC/DC converter to the common DC bus.
Guggisberg discloses the system including bidirectional semiconductor switches that allow the converters to be switchably connected to the conductor 26. Thus, including a switch where in the first closed position, the operational switch couples the at least one AC/DC converter (30) to the common DC bus (26).
Note: the claim language of claim 5, from which claim 12 indirectly depends, recites “one or more power converters”. Because only one converter is required, the additional converters are interpreted as being optional.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the bidirectionality of Guggisberg to Feldmann in order to allow for bidirectional flow of energy to be fed back to the supply grid in an energy efficient manner (column 1, lines 13-32).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldmann et al. US20220294247A1 in view of Brombach et al. US20210129701A1.
Regarding claim 8. Although Feldmann teaches a DC/DC converter (4), Feldmann does not explicitly disclose that the one or more first DC/DC converters comprise two or more first DC/DC converters each coupled to a respective charging DC port via the charger-specific DC bus.
Brombach discloses that the one or more first DC/DC converters (226) comprise two or more first DC/DC converters (FIG. 2 illustrates 2 DC-to-DC supply unit 200) each coupled to a respective charging DC port via the charger-specific DC bus (charging output 222).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a DC/DC converter with multiple converters as taught by Brombach to the system of Feldmann in order to provide additional current that may be required for charging (Brombach; ¶19).
Regarding claim 9. Feldmann does not explicitly disclose a switch network couples together the charging-specific DC busses for one or more charging DC ports, and wherein, the switch network has a switch network configuration that is adjustable to re-route DC power from a second DC side of one or more of the plurality of first DC/DC converters to another charger-specific DC bus.
Brombach discloses that a switch network (FIG. 2 – B1/A1-A3) couples together the charging-specific DC busses for one or more charging DC ports (222), and wherein,
the switch network (B1/A1-A3) has a switch network configuration that is adjustable to re-route DC power from a second DC side of one or more of the plurality of first DC/DC converters to another charger-specific DC bus (¶110 – switch B1 electrically connects two DC-to-DC converters).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a DC/DC converter system as taught by Brombach to the system of Feldmann in order to provide additional current that may be required for charging (Brombach; ¶19).
Regarding claim 10. Feldmann does not explicitly disclose that the one or more ports further includes a switch port coupled to the switch network, and the switch port is couplable to the switch network of other integrated electric charging systems.
Brombach discloses that the one or more ports further includes a switch port (C1-C2) coupled to the switch network (B1/A1-A3), and the switch port is couplable to the switch network of other integrated electric charging systems (FIG. 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a DC/DC converter system as taught by Brombach to the system of Feldmann in order to provide additional current that may be required for charging (Brombach; ¶19).
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldmann et al. US20220294247A1 in view of Guggisberg et al. US10513187B2 and Brombach et al. US20210129701A1.
Regarding clam 11. Feldmann discloses that the second DC/DC converter (4) comprises a first DC side and a second DC side (a DC/DC converter inherently includes a first DC side and a second DC side), wherein,
the first DC side is coupled to the energy storage subsystem (2), and the second DC side is coupled to the common DC bus (12a/b) (FIG. 4).
Note: the claim language of claim 5, from which claim 11 indirectly depends, recites “one or more power converters”. Because only one converter is required, the additional converters may be interpreted as being optional.
Although Feldmann discloses only a single DC/DC converter, it follows that the structure of further DC/DC converters is the same.
Brombach discloses having further DC/DC converters (226).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a DC/DC converter with multiple converters as taught by Brombach to the system of Feldmann in order to provide additional current that may be required for charging (Brombach; ¶19).
Regarding claim 20. Feldmann discloses that in the AC charging mode, the charging subsystem discharges AC power from the at least one AC port (FIG. 4 – the AC side leads to the motor 8, the connection of which is considered a port; ¶35).
Claims 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldmann et al. US20220294247A1 in view of Johansen US20170179759A1
Regarding claim 15. Feldmann disclose that in the first DC charging mode, the charging subsystem receives input AC power from the AC port (FIG. 4 – receives AC power by the motor 8), and discharges DC power from the one or more DC ports (FIG. 4 – DC power is output from the converter 6),
Feldmann does not explicitly teach the system operating in the first DC charging mode when the input AC voltage is above a pre-determined threshold.
Johansen discloses that the system operating in the first DC charging mode when the input AC voltage is above a pre-determined threshold (¶7 – AC voltage is greater than the threshold level then converted to DC power to provide to the DC bus)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the operation of Johansen to the system of Feldmann in order to provide a backup mode of operation in the case of a power source disconnection or failure (¶32).
Regarding claim 17. Feldmann does not explicitly disclose that wherein first charging mode includes one or more configurations which use DC power stored in the energy storage subsystem to compensate for low input AC power.
Johansen discloses that the first charging mode includes one or more configurations which use DC power stored in the energy storage subsystem to compensate for low input AC power (¶32 – when the AC power provided has failed DC power from the battery 114 is provided ).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the operation of Johansen to the system of Feldmann in order to provide a backup mode of operation in the case of a power source disconnection or failure (¶32).
Regarding claim 18. Feldmann does not explicitly disclose that in the second DC charging mode the charging subsystem discharges DC power from the one or more DC ports, the system being operated in the second DC charging mode when the input AC voltage is below a pre-determined threshold.
Johansen discloses that in the second DC charging mode the charging subsystem discharges DC power from the one or more DC ports, the system being operated in the second DC charging mode when the input AC voltage is below a pre-determined threshold (¶7 – when the AC voltage is less than the threshold level the controller convers DC power from the DC bus into AC power and provides the converted AC power to the output).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the operation of Johansen to the system of Feldmann in order to provide a backup mode of operation in the case of a power source disconnection or failure (¶32).
Regarding claim 19. Feldmann discloses that in the second DC charging mode the operational switch is in one of the second closed position or an open position (it necessarily follows that a switch is open or closed, thus, this limitation is met).
Claims 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldmann et al. US20220294247A1 in view of McAlwee US20230356607A1.
Regarding claim 23. Feldmann does not disclose the DC link is coupled to one or more PV systems.
McAlwee discloses that the DC link (203) is coupled to one or more PV systems (206) (FIG. 2; ¶47).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to couple to a PV system, as taught by McAlwee, to the system of Feldmann in order to provide a renewable generation source (¶40).
Claims 25, 27-31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldmann et al. US20220294247A1 in view of Yang et al. US20150035459A1.
Regarding claim 25. Feldmann does not explicitly disclose a controller coupled to the one or more power converters and the at least one operational switch.
Yang discloses a controller (80) coupled to the one or more power converters (30/50) and the at least one operational switch (40/60) (FIG. 4).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a controller as taught by Yang to the system of Feldmann in order to provide switching control that optimizes the charging.
Regarding claim 27. Feldmann discloses an integrated electric charging system, comprising:
- one or more energy storage subsystem (2) for storing direct current (DC) power (FIG. 4);
- a charging subsystem (4/6/15) coupled to the energy storage subsystem (2) and comprising:
- a common DC bus (10a/10b, 12a/b, 14a/b,18a/b);
- one or more power converters (4/6), each power converter having a DC side couplable to the common DC bus (FIG. 4 connected by line 12a/b and 14a/b), the one or more power converters being operable to maintain a voltage of the common DC bus at a pre-defined DC voltage level (¶19 – DC-DC converter designed to increase/decrease the voltage; and
- at least one operational switch (15) interposed between the one or more power converters (4/6) (FIG. 4), wherein the operational switch varies an operational mode of the integrated charging system (¶35-36 – first and second switching state of switch 15) ; and
- - at least one port (toward charging infrastructure 20) coupled to the charging subsystem (coupled via 18a/b) and operable for discharging or receiving one or more of direct current (DC) and alternating current (AC) power (¶36 – charging plug of vehicle must be connected to charging station 22 via the charging socket 24 of the charging infrastructure 20); and
Feldmann does not explicitly disclose a controller coupled to the one or more power converters and the at least one operational switch.
Yang discloses a controller (80) coupled to the one or more power converters (30/50) and the at least one operational switch (40/60) (FIG. 4)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a controller as taught by Yang to the system of Feldmann in order to provide switching control that optimizes the charging.
Regarding claim 28. Feldmann discloses that the common DC bus comprises a stable DC voltage bus (the line is only operable with DC voltage).
Regarding claim 29. Feldmann discloses that at least one energy storage subsystem (2) of the one or more energy storage subsystems is coupled to the charging subsystem (4/6/15) via the common DC bus (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 30. Feldmann discloses operable to inject power into an electric grid, wherein the electric grid comprises one of a single phase 240V supply (¶30 – single phase – alternating voltage of 240V) and a three-phase supply supplying voltage (¶33 – DC-AC converter connected to three phases of the electric motor, thus supplying a three-phase voltage; ¶30 – three-phase connection 107a) operating in a range comprising of 120V to 600V (¶30 – alternating voltage of 240V).
Regarding claim 31. Feldmann discloses that the at least one port coupled to the charging subsystem comprises one or more AC ports (to motor 8 for discharging power) and wherein the system is operable to discharge AC power from at least one energy storage subsystem (2) from the one or more energy storage subsystems to the electric grid (motor 8) via the one or more AC ports (FIG. 4) (¶35 – electric motor 8 connected to the battery 2).
Regarding claim 33. Feldmann discloses that the system is operable to draw DC power from a battery of an electric vehicle, convert the DC power via the one or more power converters and supply an AC power to an electric grid via the one or more AC ports (¶35 – in first switching state electric motor is connected to the battery 2 to carry out a traction process for the battery).
It should be noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claims 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldmann et al. US20220294247A1 in view of Yang et al. US20150035459A1 and McAlwee US20230356607A1.
Regarding claim 32. Feldmann discloses that the at least one port coupled to the charging subsystem comprises one or more DC ports (to discharge to charging infrastructure 20).
Feldmann does not explicitly teach at least one DC port of the one or more DC ports comprises DC power sharing port coupled to one or more photovoltaic systems via a DC link.
McAlwee discloses that the at least one DC port of the one or more DC ports comprises a DC power sharing port (203) coupled to one or more photovoltaic systems via a DC link (206) (FIG. 2; ¶47).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to couple to a PV system, as taught by McAlwee, to the system of Feldmann in order to provide a renewable generation source (¶40).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldmann et al. US20220294247A1 in view of Gottlieb et al. US20220410757A1.
Regarding claim 45. Feldmann discloses electric charging systems according to claim 1.
Feldmann does not explicitly disclose a multi-integrated electric charging system comprising: two or more electric charging systems, wherein the DC common bus of each of the two or more electric charging systems couples to the DC common bus one or more other electric charging systems.
Gottlieb discloses a multi-integrated electric charging system (200) comprising: two or more electric charging systems (210/212/214/216), wherein the DC common bus of each of the two or more electric charging systems couples to the DC common bus one or more other electric charging systems (¶6 – plurality of EV chargers connected to the DC output line).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide plural charging systems as taught by Gottlieb in order to provide more charging opportunities.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zeilmann et al. US20230182604A1 discloses a charging system having multiple converters with a switching array.
Aburto US11001164B1 teaches to use a motor as an AC generator, thus, sending AC power to an AC/DC converter to convert to a DC power (column 2, lines 12-19).
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859