DETAILED ACTION
I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
II. This action is in response to applicants amendment/arguments filed on December 31, 2025. This action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
III. Claims 1-5, 8-10, and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hancock et al. (US 10,136,318 B1) in view of Sperling et al. (US 2021/0084187 A1) and Akgun et al. (US 2006/0073840 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Hancock teaches a method comprising: receiving, form a Wi-Fi access point, a first request to authenticate a first wireless device for access via the Wi-Fi access point (see col. 4, lines 52-67; col. 5, lines 1-5 and claim 1, Receiving an authentication request form a UE, wherein the authentication request seeks to authenticate the subscriber identity of the UE to a service capable of being provided by a network. The UE transmits the authentication request via a Wi-Fi access point. The UE authentication request is passed to an AAA server. This reads on receiving, form a Wi-Fi access point, a first request to authenticate a first wireless device for access via the Wi-Fi access point).
Hancock does not specifically teach transmitting, to a billing processing node, a record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device.
Sperling teaches transmitting, to a billing processing node, a record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device (see paragraph [0039] and Fig. 1, An authentication of a user credential for hotspot access may be performed. The mobile hotspot may transmit the credential to central billing server for authentication. This reads on transmitting, to a billing processing node, a record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the authentication in Hancock adapt to include transmitting, to a billing processing node, a record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device because it would allow for an efficient mechanism for managing billing for hotspot network access (see Sperling, paragraph [0003]).
Hancock and Sperling do not specifically mention wherein the record is associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point.
Akgun teaches mention wherein the record is associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point (see paragraphs [0044] – [0045], The mobile station inserts the access point identifier into a mobile registration message. The mobile registration message is a request by the mobile station to access the wireless network via the access point. The mobile device sends the mobile registration with the access point identifier to a network agent via the access point. The network agent receives the access point identifier and sends the access point identifier to the AAA server in for example an accounting record. This reads on wherein the record is associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the record in the Hancock and Sperling combination adapt to include being associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point because it would allow for a well known mechanism for identifying the particular access point via which the mobile station will use to access the network so that various services can be provided to the mobile station (see Akgun, paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 2 Hancock teaches transmitting to the Wi-Fi access point, an indicator of that the first wireless device is to be allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point (see col. 7, lines 1-7, The UE can comprise a subscriber identity module (SIM) card. The authentication request can comprise a MAC address and subscriber identity. This reads on transmitting to the Wi-Fi access point, an indicator of that the first wireless device is to be allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point).
Regarding claim 3 Hancock teaches wherein the indicator that the first wireless device is to be allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point is based on a first subscriber identity module (SIM) associated with the first wireless device (see col. 7, lines 1-7, The UE can comprise a subscriber identity module (SIM) card. The authentication request can comprise a MAC address and subscriber identity. This reads on wherein the indicator that the first wireless device is to be allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point is based on a first subscriber identity module (SIM) associated with the first wireless device).
Regarding claim 4 Hancock teaches searching for an indicator that the first wireless device is associated with being allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point (see col. 6, lines 54-65, A correlation component determines source device identifying information. This identifying information can be correlated to an authentication device that has record of a subscriber identity. This reads on searching for an indicator that the first wireless device is associated with being allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point).
Regarding claim 5 Hancock teaches wherein searching for an indicator that the first wireless device is associated with being allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point comprises searching a database stored in a radio access network (RAN) point (see col. 6, lines 7-16 & 54-65, A correlation component determines source device identifying information. This identifying information can be correlated to an authentication device that has record of a subscriber identity. The correlation component can be included in the ARDD. The ARDD can be located at a Wi-Fi access point at a radio access network (RAN) device. This reads wherein searching for an indicator that the first wireless device is associated with being allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point comprises searching a database stored in a radio access network (RAN) point).
Regarding claim 8 Hancock teaches a system for recording authentication request for access to a Wi-Fi network (see col. 5, lines 52-55 & 65-67), the system comprising: a processing node; and a processor coupled to the processing node, the processor being configured to perform operations (see col. 17, lines 20-28 & 49-51 and col. 19, lines 58-67) comprising: receiving, form a Wi-Fi access point, a first request to authenticate a first wireless device for access via the Wi-Fi access point (see col. 4, lines 52-67; col. 5, lines 1-5 and claim 1, Receiving an authentication request form a UE, wherein the authentication request seeks to authenticate the subscriber identity of the UE to a service capable of being provided by a network. The UE transmits the authentication request via a Wi-Fi access point. The UE authentication request is passed to an AAA server. This reads on receiving, form a Wi-Fi access point, a first request to authenticate a first wireless device for access via the Wi-Fi access point).
Hancock does not specifically teach transmitting, to a billing processing node, a record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device.
Sperling teaches transmitting, to a billing processing node, a record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device (see paragraph [0039] and Fig. 1, An authentication of a user credential for hotspot access may be performed. The mobile hotspot may transmit the credential to central billing server for authentication. This reads on transmitting, to a billing processing node, a record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the authentication in Hancock adapt to include transmitting, to a billing processing node, a record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device because it would allow for an efficient mechanism for managing billing for hotspot network access (see Sperling, paragraph [0003]).
Hancock and Sperling do not specifically mention wherein the record is associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point.
Akgun teaches mention wherein the record is associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point (see paragraphs [0044] – [0045], The mobile station inserts the access point identifier into a mobile registration message. The mobile registration message is a request by the mobile station to access the wireless network via the access point. The mobile device sends the mobile registration with the access point identifier to a network agent via the access point. The network agent receives the access point identifier and sends the access point identifier to the AAA server in for example an accounting record. This reads on wherein the record is associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the record in the Hancock and Sperling combination adapt to include being associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point because it would allow for a well known mechanism for identifying the particular access point via which the mobile station will use to access the network so that various services can be provided to the mobile station (see Akgun, paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 9 Hancock, Sperling, and Akgun teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 10 Hancock, Sperling, and Akgun teach limitations as recited in claim 3 and therefore claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 13 Hancock, Sperling, and Akgun teach limitations as recited in claim 4 and therefore claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 14 Hancock, Sperling, and Akgun teach limitations as recited in claim 5 and therefore claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 15 Hancock teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium, storing instructions executed by a processor to perform operations (see col. 17, lines 20-28 & 49-51 and col. 19, lines 58-67) comprising: receiving, form a Wi-Fi access point, a first request to authenticate a first wireless device for access via the Wi-Fi access point (see col. 4, lines 52-67; col. 5, lines 1-5 and claim 1, Receiving an authentication request form a UE, wherein the authentication request seeks to authenticate the subscriber identity of the UE to a service capable of being provided by a network. The UE transmits the authentication request via a Wi-Fi access point. The UE authentication request is passed to an AAA server. This reads on receiving, form a Wi-Fi access point, a first request to authenticate a first wireless device for access via the Wi-Fi access point).
Hancock does not specifically teach transmitting, to a billing processing node, a record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device.
Sperling teaches transmitting, to a billing processing node, a record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device (see paragraph [0039] and Fig. 1, An authentication of a user credential for hotspot access may be performed. The mobile hotspot may transmit the credential to central billing server for authentication. This reads on transmitting, to a billing processing node, a record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the authentication in Hancock adapt to include transmitting, to a billing processing node, a record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device because it would allow for an efficient mechanism for managing billing for hotspot network access (see Sperling, paragraph [0003]).
Hancock and Sperling do not specifically mention wherein the record is associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point.
Akgun teaches mention wherein the record is associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point (see paragraphs [0044] – [0045], The mobile station inserts the access point identifier into a mobile registration message. The mobile registration message is a request by the mobile station to access the wireless network via the access point. The mobile device sends the mobile registration with the access point identifier to a network agent via the access point. The network agent receives the access point identifier and sends the access point identifier to the AAA server in for example an accounting record. This reads on wherein the record is associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the record in the Hancock and Sperling combination adapt to include being associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point because it would allow for a well known mechanism for identifying the particular access point via which the mobile station will use to access the network so that various services can be provided to the mobile station (see Akgun, paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 16 Hancock, Sperling, and Akgun teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 17 Hancock, Sperling, and Akgun teach limitations as recited in claim 3 and therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 18 Hancock, Sperling, and Akgun teach limitations as recited in claim 4 and therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 19 Hancock, Sperling, and Akgun teach limitations as recited in claim 5 and therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
IV. Claims 6-7, 11-12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hancock et al (US 10,136,318 B1) in view of Sperling et al. (US 2012/0084187 A1), Akgun et al. (US 2006/0073840 A1) and Singla et al. (US 2017/0272317 A1).
Regarding claim 6 Hancock, Sperling, and Akgun teach the method of claim 1 except for associating the record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device with an operator of the Wi-Fi access point.
Singla teaches associating the record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device with an operator of the Wi-Fi access point (see paragraph [0133], The Wi-Fi node’s credentials are transmitted by a parent access point to the authentication service. There, the connecting device’s credentials are verified. In case of successful authentication, the Wi-Fi node is allowed to connect. This reads on associating the record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device with an operator of the Wi-Fi access point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Hancock, Sperling, and Akgun combination adapt to include associating the record of the first request to authenticate the first wireless device with an operator of the Wi-Fi access point because it would allow for an efficient mechanism for determining and providing device authentication (see Singla above).
Regarding claim 7 Hancock, Sperling, and Akgun teach the method of claim 4 including receiving, form a Wi-Fi access point, a second request to authenticate a second wireless device for access via the Wi-Fi access point (see Hancock, col. 4, lines 52-67 & 1-5 and claim 1, Receiving an authentication request form a UE, wherein the authentication request seeks to authenticate the subscriber identity of the UE to a service capable of being provided by a network. The UE transmits the authentication request via a Wi-Fi access point. The UE authentication request is passed to an AAA server. The authentication request for network access can comprise network access for multiple devices (see Sperling, paragraphs [0010] & [0073]). This reads on receiving, form a Wi-Fi access point, a second request to authenticate a second wireless device for access via the Wi-Fi access point); transmitting, to the billing processing node, a record of the second request to authenticate the second wireless device (see Sperling, paragraph [0039] and Fig. 1, An authentication of a user credential for hotspot access may be performed. The authentication request for network access can comprise network access for multiple devices (see Sperling, paragraphs [0010] & [0073]). The mobile hotspot may transmit the credential to central billing server for authentication. This reads on transmitting, to the billing processing node, a record of the second request to authenticate the second wireless device), wherein the record is associated with the identifier for the Wi-Fi access point (see Akgun, paragraphs [0044] – [0045], The mobile station inserts the access point identifier into a mobile registration message. The mobile registration message is a request by the mobile station to access the wireless network via the access point. The mobile device sends the mobile registration with the access point identifier to a network agent via the access point. The network agent receives the access point identifier and sends the access point identifier to the AAA server in for example an accounting record. This reads on wherein the record is associated with an identifier for the Wi-Fi access point) and except for transmitting to the W-Fi access point, an indicator of that the second wireless device is not to be allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point.
Singla teaches transmitting to the W-Fi access point, an indicator of that the second wireless device is not to be allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point (see paragraph [0133], The Wi-Fi node’s credentials are transmitted by a parent access point to the authentication service. There, the connecting device’s credentials are verified. In case of failed authentication, the Wi-Fi node is backlisted and denied a connection. The WiFi node being blacklist and denied access to the parent access point indicates that an indication is transmitted notifying the blacklisted status and denied status and reads on transmitting to the W-Fi access point, an indicator of that the second wireless device is not to be allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Hancock, Sperling, and Akgun combination adapt to include transmitting to the W-Fi access point, an indicator of that the second wireless device is not to be allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point because it would allow for an efficient mechanism for determining and providing device authentication (see Singla above).
Regarding claim 11 Hancock, Sperling, Akgun and Singla teach limitations as recited in claim 7 and therefore claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 12 Hancock, Sperling, Akgun and Singla teach the system of claim 11 including wherein the second wireless device is not to be allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point is based on a second SIM associated with the second device (see Hancock, col. 3, lines 40-42 and Sperling, paragraphs [0010] & [0073], The SIM card can comprise a subscriber identity to be used to authenticate a terminal for access (Hancock). The authentication request for network access can comprise network access for multiple devices (Sperling). This reads on wherein the second wireless device is not to be allowed access via the Wi-Fi access point is based on a second SIM associated with the second device).
Regarding claim 20 Hancock, Sperling, Akgun and Singla teach limitations as recited in claim 7 and therefore claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Response to Arguments
V. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
VI. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fiorillo Pub. No.: US 2017/0223061 A1 discloses method and entity in a LI system for positioning of a target connected to a Wi-Fi network including an Accounting request message including the SSID of the Wi-Fi network and transmitting the Accounting request message to the AAA server (see paragraphs [0034] & [0042]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
February 27, 2026