DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 “closed” should read - - close - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “a rear end of the guide slot is located… between the lower… and the upper end of the storage compartment along a lengthwise direction” in the last indent. As the recitation of “level” and “lower” and “upper” ends all seem to imply a vertical orientation, the recitation of “lengthwise” is unclear (i.e. it is unclear how a lengthwise direction should be oriented relative to the device).
Claims 9-12 are deemed indefinite because they are dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchinson et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0375803) in view of Merrill (US Patent Number 7464989).
Regarding claim 1, Hutchinson discloses a child safety seat for use in a vehicle, the child safety seat comprising: a seat shell (102) positionable on a support base (110 for instance) and provided with a guide slot (128 for instance), the seat shell being positionable in both a rearward facing configuration and a forward facing configuration relative to a seat of the vehicle (see Figures 4 and 5 for instance), the seat shell having a backrest portion, and a first sidewall and a second sidewall, the backrest portion including a rearward facing surface positioned adjacent to the seat back of a vehicle seat when in the forward facing configuration (see at least Figure 5), the first and second sidewalls protruding from the backrest portion, wherein the backrest portion, the first sidewall, and the second sidewall defining an area of the seat shell for receiving a child (see figures showing a typical seat arrangement with backrest and sidewalls arranged as claimed); a latch belt (121) arranged within the guide slot and disposed transversally across an interior of the seat shell (this is the general arrangement; see figures), the latch belt having two opposite ends respectively provided with two connectors (124) for attachment to an anchorage provided in the vehicle; the latch belt being arranged at a first position within the guide slot when the seat shell is in the forward facing configuration and the latch being arranged at a second position within the guide slot when the seat shell is in the rearward facing configuration (see again Figures 4 and 5 for instance); and a storage compartment (140) arranged at a rear of the backrest portion (it is at least generally positioned in this manner) and adapted to receive at the same time the two connectors at the two opposite ends of the latch belt (this is the general arrangement; see Figure 7 and the description of paragraph 32 for instance generally describing a single compartment for receiving the connectors). Hutchinson does not disclose the storage compartment arranged at the rearward facing surface. Merrill discloses a related device including a storage compartment (16, 20) arranged at a rearward facing surface of a backrest portion (see at least Figure 1A) and adapted to receive at the same time at least two restraint items (including 14, 26, etc.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a storage compartment as taught by Merrill in Hutchinson’s device because this could improve convenience and comfort for various users. Note that the combination would provide the capability of storage of both connectors as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Hutchinson, modified as described, discloses a seat as explained above and further discloses a door operable to open and close the storage compartment (Merrill’s 20 for instance).
Regarding claim 7, Hutchinson discloses a child safety seat comprising: a support base (110 for instance) positionable on a vehicle seat; a seat shell (102) positionable on the support base, the seat shell having a backrest portion configured to support a child’s back, a first sidewall and a second sidewall protruding from the backrest portion, the backrest portion, the first sidewall, and the second sidewall defining an area of the seat shell for receiving a child, the backrest portion including a rearward facing surface positioned adjacent to the seat back of a vehicle seat (see figures showing a typical seat arrangement with backrest and sidewalls arranged as claimed); a latch belt (121) engaged with and disposed transversally across the seat shell and having two opposite ends respectively provided with two connectors (124) for attachment to an anchorage provided in a vehicle when the seats shell is in a forward facing configuration; and a storage compartment (140) arranged at a rear of the backrest portion and adapted to receive at the same time the two connectors at the opposite ends of the latch belt (this is the general arrangement; see Figure 7 and the description of paragraph 32 for instance generally describing a single compartment for receiving the connectors), the storage compartment being located behind the child’s back when the child is placed in the seat shell (this would be the general arrangement), wherein the two connectors of the latch belt are storable in the storage compartment while the latch belt wraps around from two opposite sides of the seat shell to the rear of the backrest portion (as in Figure 7 for instance). Hutchinson does not disclose the storage compartment arranged at the rearward facing surface. Merrill discloses a related device including a storage compartment (16, 20) arranged at a rearward facing surface of a backrest portion (see at least Figure 1A) and adapted to receive at the same time at least two restraint items (including 14, 26, etc.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a storage compartment as taught by Merrill in Hutchinson’s device because this could improve convenience and comfort for various users. Note that the combination would provide the capability of storage of both connectors as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, Hutchinson discloses a child safety seat for use in a vehicle, the child safety seat comprising: a seat shell (102) positionable on a support base (110 for instance) and provided with a guide slot (128 for instance), the seat shell being positionable in both a rearward facing configuration and a forward facing configuration relative to a seat of the vehicle (see Figures 4 and 5 for instance), the seat shell having a backrest portion, a first sidewall and a second sidewall, the backrest portion including a rearward facing surface positioned adjacent to the seat back of a vehicle seat when in the forward facing configuration (see at least Figure 5), the first sidewall and the second sidewall protruding from the backrest portion, wherein the backrest portion, the first sidewall, and the second sidewall defining an area of the seat shell for receiving a child (see figures showing a typical seat arrangement with backrest and sidewalls arranged as claimed); a latch belt (121) receivable within the guide slot and disposed transversally across an interior of the seat shell (this is the general arrangement; see figures), the latch belt having two opposite ends respectively provided with two connectors (124) for attachment to an anchorage provided in the vehicle; the latch belt being arranged at a first position within the guide slot when the seat shell is in the forward facing configuration and the latch being arranged at a second position within the guide slot when the seat shell is in the rearward facing configuration (see again Figures 4 and 5 for instance); and a storage compartment (140) arranged at a rear of the backrest portion (it is at least generally positioned in this manner) and adapted to receive at the same time the two connectors at the two opposite ends of the latch belt (this is the general arrangement; see Figure 7 and the description of paragraph 32 for instance generally describing a single compartment for receiving the connectors), wherein the storage compartment has an upper end and a lower end. Hutchinson does not disclose the storage compartment arranged at the rearward facing surface or clearly show the relative positions of the compartment and slot. Merrill discloses a related device including a storage compartment (16, 20) arranged at a rearward facing surface of a backrest portion (see at least Figure 1A) and adapted to receive at the same time at least two restraint items (including 14, 26, etc.). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a storage compartment as taught by Merrill in Hutchinson’s device because this could improve convenience and comfort for various users. Note that the combination would provide the capability of storage of both connectors as claimed. Further, while the combination would appear to provide the relative positions of the compartment and slot based on the arrangement of the reference devices (i.e. a storage compartment provided at a rearward facing surface of Hutchinson’s backrest would seem to align with the guide slot as claimed at least as best understood), even if this were not the case, rearrangement of components requires only routine skill in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the storage compartment and guide slot arranged as claimed based on normal variation to improve fit, comfort, and convenience for various users.
Regarding claim 9, Hutchinson, modified as described, further discloses the guide slot positioned at a bottom of the seat shell proximate the support base (it is viewed as such; see figures).
Regarding claim 10, Hutchinson, modified as described, further discloses the seat shell includes a seat portion having a surface for supporting a child thereon (at an interior), the guide slot being remote from the surface for supporting the child thereon (at least in that it is opposite it; see figures).
Regarding claim 11, Hutchinson, modified as described, further discloses the door is pivotable relative to the seat shell to open and close the storage compartment (as in Merrill).
Regarding claim 12, Hutchinson, modified as described, further discloses the door is pivotally connected with the seat shell adjacent to a lower region of the storage compartment (again as in Merrill). Note that while the combination is viewed as meeting this limitation based on the arrangement of the reference devices, even if this were not the case, rearrangement of components requires only routine skill in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the door arranged as claimed based on normal variation to improve fit, comfort, and convenience for various users.
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchinson in of Merrill and further view of Nakagawa et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2008/0296944 or 2007/0080568). Hutchinson, modified as described, discloses a seat as explained above including the latch belt extending transversally through the guide slot and wrapping around the rear of the backrest portion and being stored in the storage compartment, but does not disclose a top tether. Top tethers are well-known as shown by Nakagawa, who discloses related devices including top tethers attachable to an upper region of a backrest portion and having a top tether connector for attachment to a tether anchor provided in a vehicle (see figures). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a top tether as taught by Nakagawa in Hutchinson’s device as previously modified because this could improve safety and security for a user. Note that while the arrangement would be capable of providing the top tether in the storage compartment with the tether extending as claimed, even if this were not clear, as rearrangement of components requires only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to provide the claimed arrangement based on normal variation to improve comfort or convenience for various users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Hutchinson does not disclose a storage compartment arranged as claimed and that Merrill teaches a compartment for storing supplemental restraints rather than a latch belt. While it is acknowledged that Hutchinson may not show the positioning of the storage compartment as claimed, it is maintained that the compartment stores a latch belt. Merrill is cited for teaching features of a storage compartment (location, door, etc.) that Hutchinson may lack. It is maintained that Merrill’s compartment stores restraints essentially equivalent to latch belts, but this is not relevant to the rejection as Merrill is not cited for teaching storage of a specific item. The rejections have accordingly been maintained.
Conclusion
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636