Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Cancelled: 8
Examined Herein: 1-7, 9, 10
Priority
Priority to PRO 62/371,727 filed on 8/6/2016, PRO 62/415,631 filed on 11/1/2016, PCT/US2017/045592 filed on 8/4/2017, US 16/323,727 filed on 2/6/2019, and 17/381,775 filed on 7/21/2021 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/4/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 8/11/2023 are accepted.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 1-7 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Li and Hasler (‘246) is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s substantive amendments to claim 1.
The rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staquicini and Hasler (‘281) (US 2017/0198281 A1, Filed 6/26/2015) is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s persuasive arguments that Hasler (‘281) is not available as prior art pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganandam (US 2004/0161738 A1, Published 8/19/2004), in view of Stanimirovic (US 2017/0022277 A1, Filed 12/4/2014).
With respect to claim 1, Muruganandam discloses an in vivo method for identifying one or more polypeptides capable of traversing a mammalian blood-brain barrier (BBB) comprising:
a) delivering a library of VHH polypeptides (single-domain antibody fragments) into the circulatory system of a non-human mammal (mice), and after a time sufficient for transport (4-6 hours);
b) isolating the brain of said mammal and separating brain parenchymal tissue from
capillary epithelium of the brain (capillary depletion) to obtain a parenchymal fraction; and
c) detecting one or more of the polypeptides from said library in said parenchymal
fraction;
said library comprising VHH polypeptides which bind specifically to at least one mammalian membrane protein (antigens on HCEC cell membranes) capable of transporting polypeptides across the BBB; [Muruganandam, 0022, 0023, 0038, 0080-0089, 0091-0094, 0130-0132, 0136]
The limitation “to thereby identify at least one VNAR polypeptide capable of traversing the blood-brain barrier” recites an intended result. A "thereby” clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.
With respect to claim 2, Muruganandam discloses that before isolating said brain, the circulatory system is perfused with a physiologically acceptable solution (saline) in an amount and for a time sufficient to effectively reduce the circulating concentration of said library. [Muruganandam, 0038, 0088, 0131]
With respect to claim 6, Muruganandam discloses that the library is a phage display library comprising VHH polypeptides capable of binding to a brain receptor (antigens on HCEC cell membranes). [Muruganandam, 0023, 0038, 0080-0089, 0091-0094, 0130-0132, 0136]
With respect to claim 10, Muruganandam discloses that the non-human mammal is a mouse and the mammalian membrane protein is a human membrane protein (antigen on human HCEC cell membranes). [Muruganandam, 0023, 0038, 0080-0089, 0091-0094, 0130-0132, 0136]
Muruganandam does not disclose that the library comprises VNAR polypeptides. (Claim 1, 6).
With respect to claims 1 and 6, Stanimirovic discloses that single domain antibodies (sdAbs) may be directly isolated from VH, VHH, VL, or VNAR reservoir of any origin through phage display. [Stanimirovic, 0066] Stanimirovic further discloses that these sdABs may transmigrate across the BBB by specifically binding the surface receptor, internalizing into brain endothelial cells, and undergoing transcytosis across the BBB. [0084] In a specific embodiment, Stanimirovic discloses single-domain antibody fragments that bind to a mammalian membrane protein, Insulin-Like Growth Factor 1 Receptor (IGF1R), capable of transporting polypeptides across the BBB. [Stanimirovic, 0057, 0065]
Modifying the method disclosed by Muruganandam by replacing the library comprising VHH polypeptides with a library comprising VNAR polypeptides results in the method of claims 1 and 6.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Muruganandam by replacing the library comprising VHH polypeptides with a library comprising VNAR polypeptides and have a reasonable expectation of success. Muruganandam discloses an in vivo method for identifying polypeptides capable of traversing a mammalian BBB comprising delivering a phage display library of single-domain antibodies of VHH into mice. Muruganandam further discloses that the polypeptides can transmigrate across the BBB by binding to antigens on the HCEC cell membrane. Stanimirovic discloses that single domain antibodies may be directly isolated from a VH, VHH, VL, or VNAR reservoir of any origin through phage display and are capable of transmigrating across the BBB by specifically binding the surface receptor. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Muruganandam and Stanimirovic suggest that a library of single-domain antibodies capable of traversing a mammalian BBB may be isolated from a VHH or VNAR phage display library. Therefore, it is reasonable to expect that the method disclosed by Muruganandam may be modified by replacing the phage display library derived from a VHH reservoir and comprising VHH polypeptides with a phage display library derived from a VNAR reservoir and comprising VNAR polypeptides, as SdABs from both origins are capable of transmigrating across the BBB. One would have been motivated to do so because the selection of a known entity based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.07. In the present case, Stanimirovic discloses that sdAbs may be directly isolated from a VH, VHH, VL, or VNAR reservoir of any origin through phage display. [Stanimirovic, 0066] Therefore, the selection of a sdAB isolated from a VNAR reservoir through phage display based on its suitability as a polypeptide capable of transmigrating across the BBB by specifically binding the surface receptor (e.g., IGF1R) is prima facie obvious.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganandam and Stanimirovic, as applied to claims 1, 2, 6, and 10 above, and further in view of Freskgard (WO 2015/124540 A1, Filed 2/17/2015).
With respect to claim 1, Muruganandam and Stanimirovic disclose the teachings above.
With respect to claim 5, Muruganandam and Stanimirovic disclose that the library is a phage display library. [Muruganandam, 0022, 0023, 0038, 0080-0089, 0091-0094, 0130-0132, 0136]
Muruganandam and Stanimirovic do not disclose that the phage display library has been treated to reduce endotoxin levels.
However, with respect to claim 5, Freskgard discloses an in vivo method for identifying one or more polypeptides capable of traversing a mammalian blood-brain barrier comprising:
delivering a phage display library into the circulatory system of a non-human mammal.
Freskgard further discloses that the phages from the library were treated to reduce endotoxin levels prior to delivery. [Freskgard, Page 21, Line 4-23]
Modifying the method disclosed by Muruganandam and Stanimirovic by treating the phage display library to reduce endotoxin levels results in the method of claim 5.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Muruganandam and Stanimirovic by treating the phage display library to reduce endotoxin levels and have a reasonable expectation of success. Muruganandam and Stanimirovic disclose an in vivo method for identifying polypeptides capable of traversing a mammalian BBB comprising delivering a phage display library of single domain antibodies of into mice. Freskgard discloses an in vivo method for identifying polypeptides capable of traversing a mammalian BBB comprising delivering a phage display library into the circulatory system of a non-human mammal. Freskgard further discloses that the phages from the library were treated to reduce endotoxin levels prior to delivery. Accordingly, because both methods are drawn to in vivo panning and comprise the step of administering a phage display library into a non-human mammal, the combined teachings of Muruganandam, Stanimirovic, and Freskgard suggest that the method disclosed by Muruganandam and Stanimirovic may also further comprise the step of treating the phage display library to reduce endotoxin levels. One would have been motivated to do so because it is prima facie obvious to combine references when some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. MPEP 2144(II). In the present case, Stanimirovic discloses that samples with EU<1 per 1 mg were appropriate for use in animal studies. [Stanimirovic, 0173] Therefore, one would have been motivated by the expectation that treating the phage display library disclosed by Muruganandam and Stanimirovic would reduce endotoxin levels to a level appropriate for injection into the non-human animal.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganandam and Stanimirovic, as applied to claims 1, 2, 6, and 10 above, and further in view of Staquicini (Systemic combinatorial peptide selection yields a non-canonical iron-mimicry mechanism for targeting tumors in a mouse model of human glioblastoma, 2011, The Journal of Clinical Investigation, 121(1):161-173).
With respect to claim 1, Muruganandam and Stanimirovic disclose the teachings above.
With respect to claim 9, Stanimirovic discloses that the single domain antibody fragments bind to a mammalian membrane protein, IGFR1. [Stanimirovic, 0057, 0065] However, Stanimirovic discloses that, like IGFR1, receptors known to undergo receptor-mediated transcytosis (RMT) at the BBB and ‘ferry’ across their natural ligands include tthe transferrin receptor (TfR), the insulin receptor (IR), low-density lipoprotein receptor related proteins 1 and 2 (LRP-1 and -2), diphtheria toxin receptor, and TMEM30A. Moreover, peptides, natural ligands, and antibodies or antibody fragments have been developed that bind to these receptors and function as drug-to-brain transporters that utilize endogenous RMT pathways. [Stanimirovic, 0009]
Muruganandam and Stanimirovic do not disclose that the membrane protein is transferrin receptor- I (TfR-1).
However, with respect to claim 9, Staquicini discloses an in vivo method to identify one or more peptides capable of traversing a mammalian BBB which comprises;
a) delivering a library of peptides into the circulatory system of a non-human mammal (mice) and after a time (10 min, 30 min, and 24 hours) sufficient for transport; [Staquicini, Page 162, Col. 2, Paragraph 1 and Page 170, Col. 2, Paragraph 3-6]
b) isolating the brain of said mammal and separating the brain parenchymal tissue from the capillary epithelium of the brain to obtain a parenchymal fraction; [Staquicini, Page 162, Col. 2, Paragraph 1 and Page 163, Figure 1 and Page 171, Col. 1, Paragraph 2] and
c) detecting polypeptides from the library in said parenchymal fraction; [Staquicini, Page 162, Col. 2, Paragraph 1 and Page 163, Figure 1(G)(H)(I)]
Said library comprising polypeptides that bind specifically to transferrin receptor, which is a mammalian membrane protein capable of transporting polypeptides across the BBB. [Staquicini, Page 162, Col. 2, Paragraph 1 and Page 170, Col. 2, Paragraph 3-6]
Staquinci further discloses that the transferrin receptor has the highest gene expression ratio in human glioblastoma compared with normal brain and that unbiased targeting of the CNS would
likely yield ligands for this particular receptor-mediated transport (RMT). [Staquicini, Page 161, Col. 2, Paragraph 1]
Modifying the method disclosed by Muruganandam and Stanimirovic by identifying one or more polypeptides capable of traversing a mammalian blood-brain barrier by binding specifically to Tfr-1, results in the method of claim 9.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Muruganandam and Stanimirovic by identifying one or more polypeptides that bind specifically to TFR-1 and have a reasonable expectation of success. Muruganandam and Stanimirovic disclose an in vivo method for identifying polypeptides capable of traversing a mammalian BBB comprising delivering a phage display library of VNAR single domain antibodies into mice. Stanimirovic discloses that VNAR single-domain antibodies can specifically bind surface receptors on brain endothelial cells. In a specific embodiment, Stanimirovic discloses single-domain antibody fragments that bind to a mammalian membrane protein, IGF1R. Stanimirovic further discloses that, in addition to IGFR1, transferrin receptor is known to undergo RMT at the BBB and ferry across their natural ligands and antibody fragments have been developed that bind to these receptors, functioning as drug-to-brain transporters that utilize endogenous RMT pathways. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Muruganandam and Stanimirovic suggest that the phage display library of VNAR single-domain antibodies may be developed to bind other receptors known to undergo RMT, including transferrin receptor. Therefore, it is reasonable to expect that the method disclosed by Muruganandam and Stanimirovic may be modified by identifying one or more polypeptides that bind specifically to TFR-1. One would have been motivated to do so because it is prima facie obvious to combine references when some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. MPEP 2144(II). Stanimirovic discloses that antibody fragments have been developed that bind to these receptors (e.g., transferrin) and function as drug-to-brain transporters that utilize endogenous RMT pathways. Moreover, the lack of high-capacity and high-selectivity BBB carriers delays the development of new therapeutics and diagnostics for diseases originating in the brain, including brain tumors and neurodegenerative diseases. There is clearly a need for a non-invasive method to deliver small and large therapeutic and diagnostic molecules in pharmacologically efficacious doses into the brain without disrupting the physiology and homeostasis of the BBB. [Stanimirovic, 0010] Furthermore, Staquicini discloses that the transferrin receptor has the highest gene expression ratio in human glioblastoma compared with normal brain and that an unbiased targeting of CNS would likely yield ligands for this particular receptor-mediated transport. [Staquicini, Page 161, Col. 2, Paragraph 1] Therefore, one would have been motivated by the expectation that modifying the method disclosed by Muruganandam and Stanimirovic by identifying one or more polypeptides that bind specifically to TFR-1, the receptor that has the highest gene expression ratio in human glioblastoma, would enable the identification of drug-to-brain transporters that utilize endogenous RMT pathways capable of delivering pharmacologically efficacious doses into the brain, (i.e., brain tumors) without disrupting the physiology and homeostasis of the BBB.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (Identification of peptide sequences that target to the brain using in vivo phage display, 7/27/2011, Amino Acids, 42:2373-2381), in view of O’Neil (US 2005/0239140 A1, Published 10/27/2005) and Stanimirovic.
With respect to claim 1, Li discloses an in vivo method to identify one or more peptides capable of traversing a mammalian BBB which comprises:
a) delivering a library of peptides (Ph.D.-C7CTM Phage Display Peptide Library) into the circulatory system of a non-human mammal (mice) and after a time (0.25-36 hours) sufficient for transport; [Li, Abstract and Page 2375, Col. 1, Paragraph 2-3]
b) isolating the brain of said mammal and separating the brain parenchymal tissue from the capillary epithelium of the brain via capillary depletion, to obtain a parenchymal fraction; [Li, Page 2375, Col. 1, Paragraph 2-3]
c) detecting peptides from the library in said parenchymal fraction. [Li, Page 2375, Col. 2, Paragraph 2 and Page 2376, Col. 2, Paragraph 3]
The limitation “to thereby identify at least one VNAR polypeptide capable of traversing the blood-brain barrier” recites an intended result. A "thereby” clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited. Still, Li discloses the method further comprises identifying the polypeptides capable of traversing the blood-brain barrier. [Li, Page 2376, Col. 2, Paragraph 3 and Page 2377, Figure 2-3 and Table 1] [See also - Li, Page 2374, Col. 2, Paragraph 2-3]
With respect to claim 2, Li discloses perfusing the circulatory system with a physiologically acceptable solution (sterile normal saline) in an amount and for a time sufficient to effectively reduce the circulating concentration of said library before isolating said brain. [Li, Page 2374, Col. 2, Paragraph 2 and Page 2375, Col. 1, Paragraph 3]
With respect to claim 3, Li discloses, in addition to step c), recovering from said parenchymal fraction peptides from the phage library to create an enriched pool of peptides capable of traversing the BBB and being released into brain parenchymal tissue. [Li, Page 2376, Col. 2, Paragraph 3 and Page 2377, Figure 2-3 & Table 1]
With respect to claim 4, Li discloses the said enriched pool of recovered phages/polypeptides, which then serves as the phage library in step a) of claim 1, and wherein the steps of claims 1 and 3 are performed a total of four times. [Li, Page 2375, Col. 1, Paragraph 3 and Page 2376, Col. 2, Paragraph 3 and Page 2377, Figure 2-3 & Table 1]
The limitation “to thereby further enrich for and identify at least one VNAR polypeptide capable of traversing the blood-brain barrier” recites an intended result. A "thereby” clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited. Still, Li discloses that the method comprises further enriching and identifying peptides capable of traversing the BBB. [Li, Page 2375, Col. 1, Paragraph 3 and Page 2376, Col. 2, Paragraph 3 and Page 2377, Figure 2-3 & Table 1]
With respect to claim 6, Li discloses that the library is a phage display library comprising peptides capable of binding to a brain receptor or molecule. [Li, Abstract and Page 2375, Col. 1, Paragraph 3]
With respect to claim 7, Li discloses the method further comprises isolating phage carrying peptides from said parenchymal fraction. [Li, Page 2375, Col. 2, Paragraph 2]
The limitation “to thereby perform in vivo selection of VNAR polypeptides that penetrate the blood brain barrier” recites an intended result. A "thereby” clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited. Still, Li discloses performing in vivo selection of polypeptides that penetrate the blood brain barrier. [Li, Page 2376, Col. 2, Paragraph 3 and Page 2377, Figure 2-3 & Table 1]
With respect to claim 10, Li discloses that the non-human mammal is a mouse. [Li, Page 2375, Col. 1, Paragraph 1]
Li does not disclose that the library comprises VNAR polypeptides that bind specifically to at least one mammalian membrane protein capable of transporting polypeptides across the BBB. (Claim 1, 3, 4, 6, 7) Li does not disclose that the mammalian membrane protein is a human membrane protein. (Claim 10)
With respect to claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7, O’Neil discloses a method for identifying a polypeptide that binds to a preselected epitope of a target protein, comprising providing a library of phage particles that express polypeptides on the surface of the phage particles. [O’Neil, 0018] The library may combine phage display with combinatorial peptide libraries. Alternatively, O’Neil discloses that phage-displayed libraries may express single-domain antibodies derived from either a heavy or light chain variable domain with binding ability. [O’Neil, 0042, 0043]
With respect to claim 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 10, Stanimirovic discloses that single domain antibodies (sdAb) may be directly isolated from VH, VHH, VL, or VNAR reservoir of any origin through phage display. [Stanimirovic, 0066] Stanimirovic further discloses that these sdABs may transmigrate across the BBB by specifically binding the surface receptor, internalizing into brain endothelial cells, and underging transcytosis across the BBB. [0084] In a specific embodiment, Stanimirovic discloses single domain antibody fragments that bind to a mammalian membrane protein, Insulin-Like Growth Factor 1 Receptor (IGF1R), capable of transporting polypeptides across the BBB. [Stanimirovic, 0057, 0065]
Modifying the method disclosed by Li by replacing the phage library expressing peptides with a phage library expressing single domain antibodies directly isolated from a VNAR reservoir results in the method of claim 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 10, wherein the library comprises VNAR polypeprides which bind specifically to at least one human membrane protein (e.g., IGFR1) capable of transporting polypeptides across the blood brain barrier;
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Li by replacing the phage library expressing peptides with a phage library expressing single domain antibodies directly isolated from a VNAR reservoir and have a reasonable expectation of success. Li discloses an in vivo method to identify one or more peptides capable of traversing a mammalian BBB comprising
delivering a phage display library expressing combinatorial peptides into mice. O’Neil discloses a method for identifying a polypeptide that binds to a preselected epitope of a target protein comprising providing a phage display library expressing combinatorial peptides. Alternatively, O’Neil discloses that phage-displayed libraries may express single-domain antibodies derived from either a heavy or light chain variable domain with binding ability. Stanimirovic discloses that single domain antibodies directly isolated from a VH, VHH, VL, or VNAR reservoir may be expressed through phage display. Stanimirovic further discloses that these sdABs may transmigrate across the BBB by specifically binding to a human mammalian membrane protein. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Li, O’Neil, and Stanimirovic reasonably suggest that a phage display library expressing VNAR single-domain antibodies may be used to identify polypeptides capable of traversing a mammalian BBB, as VNAR single-domain antibodies are capable of transporting polypeptides across the BBB. One would have been motivated to do so because it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose when their equivalency is recognized in the prior art. MPEP 2144.06(II). In the present case, O’Neil discloses that phage-displayed libraries may express combinatorial peptides or single-domain antibodies derived from either a heavy or light chain variable domain with binding ability. [O’Neil, 0042, 0043] Moreover, Stanimirovic discloses that single-domain antibodies may be directly isolated from VH, VHH, VL, or VNAR reservoir of any origin through phage display. [Stanimirovic, 0066] Therefore, substituting a phage library expressing combinatorial peptides with a phage library expressing single domain antibodies, including those directly isolated from a VNAR reservoir, is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/17/2026, with respect to the rejection of the pending claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant’s arguments essentially state that (1) the prior art does not teach the claimed limitations as amended and that (2) Hasler (‘281) is not available as prior art pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and Staquicini alone does not teach the claimed limitations. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the references cited above.
Conclusion
/K.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618