DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2007/0095159, hereinafter Champseix.
Regarding claim 1, Champseix teaches a nozzle structure (figures 1-4) comprising: a nozzle (item 5) that includes a pressed portion (item 21); and a holder (item 2) that includes an adjustment portion (items 23 and 43) and that supports the nozzle (figure 4), wherein: the pressed portion (item 21) is formed in an annular shape (figure 2) having an axis that is identical to an axis of the nozzle (figure 2), the adjustment portion (items 23 and 43) faces the pressed portion (figure 4) with a space therebetween obliquely above the pressed portion (figure 4), in a state in which the nozzle is supported by the holder (figure 4), and the adjustment portion returns the nozzle to a central axis side of the adjustment portion by a reaction force when the pressed portion abuts the adjustment portion (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in figure 4 in that as the nozzle is inserted into item 23 and 43 would provide a force which pushes the nozzle when the nozzle abuts the adjustment portion).
Regarding claim 2, Champseix teaches wherein the holder has an opening (the opening where item 7 goes in item 2) that penetrates vertically for taking in and out the nozzle from a side (figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Champseix teaches an insertion element (item 7) that is taken in and out of the holder (paragraph [0027]), wherein the nozzle is taken in and out of the holder while being attached to the insertion element (paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Champseix teaches wherein a gap (a gap between item 5 and 7 as paragraph [0026] describes the movement of item 5 within item 7) that allows inclination of the nozzle (any gap would allow for some amount of inclination) and that limits a maximum inclination amount of the nozzle (the gap is fixed in size and therefore would limit the inclination amount)) is provided between the nozzle and the insertion element, in a radial direction of the nozzle (figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Champseix teaches the insertion element (item 7) is formed with a slit (the opening where item 5 passes through item 7) that opens in a direction different from an insertion direction of the insertion element with respect to the holder (figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Champseix teaches wherein a nozzle attachment hole (the opening where item 5 passes through item 7) is formed in a part of the slit (figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Champseix teaches wherein the insertion element (item 7) is provided with a grip portion (figure 2, the front portion of item 7) for operating the insertion element (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and could be used for holding the insertion element).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champseix in view of EP 3418752, hereinafter Hara.
Regarding claim 5, Champseix teaches the adjustment portion and the pressed portion are respectively configured axially symmetrically (figure 4).
Champseix fails to teach the adjustment portion is a conical inner surface, and the pressed portion is an arc-shaped cross section surface or a tapered surface that faces the conical inner surface.
Hara teaches an automated analysis device with a needle attached to a holder in which the adjustment portion is a conical inner surface (Hara, paragraph [0063]), and the pressed portion is a tapered surface that faces the conical inner surface (Hara, paragraph [0063]) so that the needle is automatically moved relative to the support back to its original position by self-weight (Hara, paragraph [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a conical inner surface on the adjustment portion and a tapered pressed portion because it would allow for the nozzle to be automatically moved relative to the support back to its original position by self-weight (Hara, paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 6, Champseix teaches all limitations of claim 4; however, Champseix fails to teach a relationship of 2(L - R) tanψ> (D - 2R) is satisfied.
Hara teaches an automated analysis device with a needle attached to a holder in which the diameter between the supports and the guide is determined so that the needle can be replaced (Hara, paragraph [0065]) and so that the needle is automatically moved relative to the support back to its original position by self-weight (Hara, paragraph [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, the optimum height, diameter and radius so that the 2(L - R) tanψ> (D - 2R) is satisfied which would allow for the needle to be replaced (Hara, paragraph [0065]) and so the needle is automatically moved relative to the support back to its original position by self-weight (Hara, paragraph [0063]) (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)).
Regarding claim 10, Champseix teaches the nozzle includes a nozzle main body (item 5) and a joint portion (where item 21 is attached) provided at an end portion opposite from a tip of the nozzle main body (figure 2).
Champseix fails to teach a conical inner surface is formed at the support portion, and a lower outer peripheral surface of the joint portion is a conical outer surface that fits the conical inner surface.
Hara teaches an automated analysis device with a needle attached to a holder in which a conical inner surface is formed at the support portion (Hara, paragraph [0063]), and a lower outer peripheral surface of the joint portion is a conical outer surface that fits the conical inner surface (Hara, paragraph [0063]) so that the needle is automatically moved relative to the support back to its original position by self-weight (Hara, paragraph [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a conical inner surface on the support portion and a conical outer surface on the lower outer peripheral surface of the joint portion because it would allow for the nozzle to be automatically moved relative to the support back to its original position by self-weight (Hara, paragraph [0063]).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796