DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 4/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a conical inner surface” and claim 1 recites “a conical inner surface.” Claim 10 is therefore unclear if the conical inner surface recited in claim 10 is the same or different from the conical inner surface recited in claim 1. For examination purposes, they are interpreted to be the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Application Publication No. 2007/0095159, hereinafter Champseix in view of United States Application Publication No. 2012/0164026, hereinafter Dehmer
Regarding claim 1, Champseix teaches a nozzle structure (figures 1-4) comprising: a nozzle (item 5) that includes a pressed portion (item 21); and a holder (item 2) that includes an adjustment portion (items 23 and 43) and that supports the nozzle (figure 4), wherein: the pressed portion (item 21) is formed in an annular shape (figure 2) having an axis that is identical to an axis of the nozzle (figure 2), the adjustment portion (items 23 and 43) faces the pressed portion (figure 4) with a space therebetween obliquely above the pressed portion (figure 4), in a state in which the nozzle is supported by the holder (figure 4).
Champseix fails to teach the adjustment portion is configured to guide the nozzle to return the nozzle to alignment with a central axis of the adjustment portion by a reaction force as the pressed portion is pressed upward to abut the adjustment portion and wherein the adjustment portion is a conical inner surface of the holder.
Dehmer teaches an injection needle which has an adjustment portion (the conical tapering portion of Dehmer, item 402) is configured to guide the nozzle to return the nozzle to alignment with a central axis of the adjustment portion by a reaction force as the pressed portion (the conical tapering portion of Dehmer, item 302) is pressed upward to abut the adjustment portion (Dehmer, paragraph [0073]) and wherein the adjustment portion is a conical inner surface (the conical tapering portion of Dehmer, item 412) of the holder so that a centering mechanism is provided which acts as an assembly guidance and contributes to a sealing function (Dehmer, paragraph [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a conical inner surface of the holder and of the pressed portion so that the adjustment portion is configured to guide with an upward force because it would provide a centering mechanism which acts as an assembly guidance and contributes to a sealing function (Dehmer, paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 2, Champseix teaches wherein the holder has an opening (the opening where item 7 goes in item 2) that penetrates vertically for taking in and out the nozzle from a side (figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Champseix teaches an insertion element (item 7) that is taken in and out of the holder (paragraph [0027]), wherein the nozzle is taken in and out of the holder while being attached to the insertion element (paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Champseix teaches wherein a gap (a gap between item 5 and 7 as paragraph [0026] describes the movement of item 5 within item 7) that allows inclination of the nozzle (any gap would allow for some amount of inclination) and that limits a maximum inclination amount of the nozzle (the gap is fixed in size and therefore would limit the inclination amount)) is provided between the nozzle and the insertion element, in a radial direction of the nozzle (figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, modified Champseix teaches the adjustment portion and the pressed portion are respectively configured axially symmetrical (figure 4), and the pressed portion is a tapered surface that faces the conical inner surface (see supra).
Regarding claim 6, Champseix and Dehmer teach all limitations of claim 4; however, they fail to teach a relationship of 2(L - R) tanψ> (D - 2R) is satisfied.
Dehmer teaches an injection needle which has an adjustment portion (the conical tapering portion of Dehmer, item 402) is configured to guide the nozzle to return the nozzle to alignment with a central axis of the adjustment portion by a reaction force as the pressed portion (the conical tapering portion of Dehmer, item 302) is pressed upward to abut the adjustment portion (Dehmer, paragraph [0073]) and wherein the adjustment portion is a conical inner surface (the conical tapering portion of Dehmer, item 412) of the holder so that a centering mechanism is provided which acts as an assembly guidance and contributes to a sealing function (Dehmer, paragraph [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, the optimum height, diameter and radius so that the 2(L - R) tanψ> (D - 2R) is satisfied which would provide a centering mechanism which acts as an assembly guidance and contributes to a sealing function (Dehmer, paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 7, Champseix teaches the insertion element (item 7) is formed with a slit (the opening where item 5 passes through item 7) that opens in a direction different from an insertion direction of the insertion element with respect to the holder (figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Champseix teaches wherein a nozzle attachment hole (the opening where item 5 passes through item 7) is formed in a part of the slit (figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Champseix teaches wherein the insertion element (item 7) is provided with a grip portion (figure 2, the front portion of item 7) for operating the insertion element (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and could be used for holding the insertion element).
Regarding claim 10, Champseix teaches the nozzle includes a nozzle main body (item 5) and a joint portion (where item 21 is attached) provided at an end portion opposite from a tip of the nozzle main body (figure 2), a conical inner surface is formed at the support portion (see supra), and a lower outer peripheral surface of the joint portion is a conical outer surface that fits the conical inner surface (see supra).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-6, filed 4/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 and 7-9 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Champseix and Dehmer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796