DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapman et al (US 20170025204) or Shiotsuki et al (US 8143351).
Chapman teaches a coated electric wire obtained from melt melt-fabricable tetra fluoroethylene/hexafluoropropylene copolymer (TFE/PPVE) obtained by compression molding (see Abstract and 0056, meeting limitations of claims 2-4).
Chapman discloses TFE/PPVE copolymer with MFR of 42 g/10 min measured at 372C (see 0038) and a PPVE content of 5.2 weight percent (see Fluorination Example 3 at 0065), which contains 5 unstable end groups per 106 carbon atoms and no —CF2H end groups (see Fluorination Example 3 at 0065).
Note that above mentioned unstable end groups are equal to ones listed in instant claim 1 (see 0057 and claims 13-14).
Note that MFI value above is slightly higher than claimed range of 33.0-39.0 g/10min (see instant claim 1).
However, Chapman teaches that minimal MFR value is 30 g/10 min (see 0038). Thus, the operational MFR range for Chapman’s TFE/PPVE copolymer is at least within the range of 30-42 g/10 min.
A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) See also MPEP 2131.02
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to expect MFR value of Chapman’s copolymer within the claimed range, since it clearly disclosed in the reference.
Shiotsuki teaches a fluororesin molding composition used for coating on electric wires (see Abstract and claim 8) , having a melt flow rate MFR), at 372° C., of 34 to 45 g/10 minutes (see claim 6) and not more than 50 unstable terminal groups per 1x106 carbon atoms (see claim 3).
Note that Shiotsuki’s and Applicant’s compositions underwent the same fluorination procedures (see 7:45) and thus, the same reduction of active end groups is achieved.
Regarding polymer composition, Shiotsuki discloses polymer obtained had a MFR of 35.7 g/10 minutes, a composition ratio (% by mass) of TFE/HFP/PPVE=87.6/ 11.5/0.9 (where HFP is hexafluoropropylene) (see Production Example 3 at 12:20).
Note that PPVE amount in Example above is below the claimed range of 4.8-5.7% mass.
However, Shiotsuki teaches that TFE/HFP/PPVE ratio within the range of (70-95)/(4-20)/(0.1-10), (see 3:50).
A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) See also MPEP 2131.02
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to expect PPVE amount in Shiotsuki’s copolymer within the claimed range, since it clearly disclosed in the reference.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 6-9 of U.S. Patent No. 8143351. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 8143351 claims a fluororesin molding composition used for coating on electric wires (see Abstract and claim 8) , having a melt flow rate MFR at 372° C of 34 to 45 g/10 minutes (see claim 6) and not more than 50 unstable terminal groups per 1x106 carbon atoms (see claim 3).
Note that U.S. Patent No. 8143351’s and Applicant’s compositions underwent the same fluorination procedures (see 7:45) and thus, the same reduction of active end groups is achieved.
Regarding polymer composition, U.S. Patent No. 8143351 discloses polymer obtained had a MFR of 35.7 g/10 minutes, a composition ratio (% by mass) of TFE/HFP/PPVE=87.6/ 11.5/0.9 (where HFP is hexafluoropropylene) (see Production Example 3 at 12:20).
Note that PPVE amount in Example above is below the claimed range of 4.8-5.7% mass.
However, U.S. Patent No. 8143351 teaches that TFE/HFP/PPVE ratio within the range of (70-95)/(4-20)/(0.1-10) (see 3:50).
A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) See also MPEP 2131.02
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to expect PPVE amount in U.S. Patent No. 8143351’s copolymer within the claimed range, since it clearly disclosed in the reference.
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765