DETAILED ACTION
Specification
2. The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the claimed limitation “a second inner cylindrical wall”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-5, 8-14, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lohrman et al. 7,832,579.
Lohrman et al. disclose a closure (150), which comprises a first longitudinal axis; an overcap (164) comprises a body (168) configured to couple to a container neck of a container as seen in Figure 40, the body defining a first opening in fluid communication with a storage compartment in the container, the body comprising a first inner cylindrical wall (182) that extends downward into the container neck, wherein the first inner cylindrical wall (182) is centered on the first longitudinal axis as seen in Figure 40; and a lid (160) pivotally coupled to the body via a hinge (166); and an insert (40i) interfacing with the body thereby frictionally engaging the insert with the overcap as seen in Figure 40, the insert comprises a second inner cylindrical wall (56i) configured to engage an interior of the container neck as seen in Figure 39, a cover (35i) detachably coupled to the second inner cylindrical wall, and a pull tab (71i) coupled to the cover, the second inner cylindrical wall comprising a first inner surface that faces towards the first longitudinal axis, wherein the pull tab circumferentially extends around a second longitudinal axis that is not colinear with the first longitudinal axis as seen in Figure 40; the cover configured to detach from the first inner cylindrical wall in response to a user pulling on the pull tab (col. 23, ll. 10-28); the insert comprises a first outer cylindrical wall configured to couple to an exterior of the container neck opposite the interior of the container neck, the first outer cylindrical wall further from the first longitudinal axis than the first inner cylindrical wall, the first outer cylindrical wall comprises helical threading (140) configured to couple the insert to the container neck as seen in Figure 39; the first outer cylindrical wall comprising a first outer surface facing away from the first longitudinal axis, the second inner cylindrical wall interfacing with the first inner cylindrical wall, the body comprising a second outer cylindrical wall interfacing with the first outer cylindrical wall as seen in Figure 40; the second inner cylindrical wall defining a second opening centered on the first longitudinal axis, and the first inner cylindrical wall defining the first opening; the second inner cylindrical wall interfacing with the first inner cylindrical wall as seen in Figure 40; wherein the pull tab extends from a first end to a second end, each of which are rigidly coupled to the cover as seen in Figure 40; wherein the pull tab is at least partially between the first opening and the storage compartment of the container as seen in Figure 40; wherein the cover is centered on the first longitudinal axis as seen in Figure 40; wherein the lid pivotally actuates between a closed position and an open position with respect to the body, wherein the lid blocks the first opening when the lid is in the closed position and the lid does not block the first opening when the lid is in the open position as seen in Figure 40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 6-7, 15 and19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohrman et al. 7,832,579.
Lohrman et al. have taught all the features of the claimed invention except that the first opening defines a first diameter with respect to the first longitudinal axis, the pull tab defines a second diameter with respect to the second longitudinal axis, and wherein the first diameter is at least 20% bigger than the second diameter or the first diameter is between 10% and 20% bigger than the second diameter or the first diameter is at least 10% bigger than the second diameter or the first diameter is at least 5% bigger than the second diameter. Lohrman et al. disclose in Figure 40, the first opening defines a first diameter with respect to the first longitudinal axis, the pull tab defines a second diameter with respect to the second longitudinal axis, and wherein the first diameter is bigger than the second diameter as seen in Figure 40. At the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the closure of Lohrman et al. to have the first diameter being bigger by at least 20% than the second diameter or the first diameter being bigger between 10% and 20% than the second diameter or the first diameter being bigger by at least 10% than the second diameter or the first diameter being at least 5% bigger than the second diameter, because applicants have not disclosed that having the first diameter at least 20% bigger than the second diameter or the first diameter between 10% and 20% bigger than the second diameter or the first diameter at least 10% bigger than the second diameter or the first diameter at least 5% bigger than the second diameter, provide an advantage, are used for a particular purpose, or solve a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected applicants’ closure to perform equally well with the closure of Lohrman et al., because the closure of Lohrman et al. is for dispensing a product. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the closure of Lohrman et al. to obtain the invention specified in claims 6-7, 15 and 19.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicants' arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that Lohrman does not disclose "the body comprising a first inner cylindrical wall that extends downward into the container neck, wherein the first inner cylindrical wall is centered on the first longitudinal axis" and "the pull tab circumferentially extends around a second longitudinal axis that is not colinear with the first longitudinal axis. The examiner disagrees. Lohrman et al. explicitly disclose the body (168) having a first inner cylindrical wall (182) that extends downward into the container neck, wherein the first inner cylindrical wall is centered on the first longitudinal axis" and "the pull tab (71i) circumferentially extends around a second longitudinal axis that is not colinear with the first longitudinal axis (as seen in Figure 40 and further, the length of element 182, the pull tab (71i) and the first inner cylindrical wall are all different in length as seen in Figure 40). Therefore, the claimed limitation, the pull tab extends around a second longitudinal axis that is not colinear with the first longitudinal axis is fairly met in Figure 40. Applicants further argue that Lohrman does not disclose "not more than a single wall of the overcap is radially further from the first longitudinal axis than the cover and further stated that the overcap of Lohrman appears to include at least two walls further from the central axis than sealing membrane 35i, i.e., plug 182, and the outermost wall of the overcap (e.g., the wall pointed to by element 176). Accordingly, Lohrman does not disclose "not more than a single wall of the overcap is radially further from the first longitudinal axis than the cover,". The examiner disagrees. First, the closure of Lohrman et al. is only one structure. Secondly, applicants’ lid (140) comes down onto the outer wall of the overcap appears to be similar of element (178) of Lohrman et al. and consistent with applicants claimed language “single wall”. Finally, as there is an open transitional phrase, other structures are permitted as “single” is not exclusionary. In response to applicants’ argument that there is no motivation to combine Lohrman et al., the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Lohrman et al. have taught all the features of the claimed invention (as noted above), except that the first opening defines a first diameter with respect to the first longitudinal axis, the pull tab defines a second diameter with respect to the second longitudinal axis, and wherein the first diameter is at least 20% bigger than the second diameter or the first diameter is between 10% and 20% bigger than the second diameter or the first diameter is at least 10% bigger than the second diameter or the first diameter is at least 5% bigger than the second diameter. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, would modify the closure of Lohrman et al. to have the first diameter being bigger by at least 20% than the second diameter or the first diameter being bigger between 10% and 20% than the second diameter or the first diameter being bigger by at least 10% than the second diameter or the first diameter being at least 5% bigger than the second diameter for dispensing. Further, applicants have not disclosed that having the first diameter at least 20% bigger than the second diameter or the first diameter between 10% and 20% bigger than the second diameter or the first diameter at least 10% bigger than the second diameter or the first diameter at least 5% bigger than the second diameter, provide an advantage, are used for a particular purpose, or solve a stated problem. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the closure of Lohrman et al. to obtain the invention specified in claims 6-7, 15 and 19.
Conclusion
9. Applicants' amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FREDERICK C NICOLAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754