DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 306. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 316. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one or more first spring assemblies including more than two first spring assemblies, as suggested by the phrase “at least two of the one or more first spring assemblies” in claim 9, and the one or more second spring assemblies including more than two second spring assemblies, as suggested by the phrase “at least two of the one or more second spring assemblies” in claim 10, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
In regards to claim 1, the body of the claim recites that the second end of the first pin is configured to engage a surface of a body of a latch receiver and that the fourth end of the second pin is configured to engage a surface of a body of a latch pin, however, the preamble of the claim only recites an alignment system, which only includes the first and second spring assemblies. Consequently, it cannot be determined whether applicant intends to claim the subcombination of the alignment system or the alignment system in combination with the latch receiver and the latch pin. In formulating an evaluation on the merits, the examiner is considering that the claims are drawn to the combination and the claims will be rejected accordingly. Furthermore, claim 1 and its dependents must refer to the combination since at least dependent claims 2-6 and 9-11 require the latch receiver and the latch pin to define the claimed invention. If applicant indicates by amendment that the combination claim is the intention, the language of the preamble should be made consistent with the language of the body of the claims. If the intent is to claim the subcombination, then the body of the claim and the dependent claims must be amended to remove positive recitations of the combination. Applicant’s intention in regards to the scope of the claim must be clearly established by the claim language. The examiner has set forth language in the claim objections below to show the apparent intent to have the claims drawn to the combination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12, and 14-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 1, line 1, the phrase “An alignment system, comprising” should be changed to “An alignment system in combination with a latch receiver and a latch pin, the combination comprising,” in line 2, the phrase “one or more first spring assemblies, the one or more first spring assemblies” should be changed to “at least one first spring assembly, the at least one first spring assembly,” in line 11, the phrase “a latch receiver” should be changed to “the latch receiver,” and in line 21, the phrase “a latch pin” should be changed to “the latch pin.”
In regards to claim 2, lines 1 and 2, the phrase “The alignment system of claim 1, the one or more first spring assemblies are configured” should be changed to “The combination of claim 1, the at least one first spring assembly is configured,” and in lines 2 and 3, the phrase “the one or more second spring assemblies are configured” should be changed to “the at least one second spring assembly is configured.”
In regards to claim 3, line 1, the phrase “The alignment system of claim 1, wherein the second end of the first pin” should be changed to “The combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one first pin,” in line 3, the phrase “the second pin” should be changed to “the at least one second pin.”
In regards to claim 4, line 1, the phrase “The alignment system of claim 1, wherein the first pin” should be changed to “The alignment system of claim 1, wherein the at least one first pin,” and in line 2, the phrase “the second pin” should be changed to “the at least one second pin.”
In regards to claim 5, line 1, the phrase “The alignment system of claim 4” should be changed to “The combination of claim 4,” and in line 3, the phrase “the first pin” should be changed to “the at least one first pin.”
In regards to claim 6, line 1, the phrase “The alignment system of claim 4” should be changed to “The combination of claim 4,” and in line 3, the phrase “the second pin” should be changed to “the at least one second pin.”
In regards to claim 7, line 1, the phrase “The alignment system of claim 1, wherein the first pin” should be changed to “The combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one first pin,” and in line 2, the phrase “the first pin” should be changed to “the at least one first pin,” and in line 4, the phrase “the first pin” should be changed to “the at least one first pin” and the phrase “the first pocket” should be changed to “the at least one first pocket.”
In regards to claim 8, line 1, the phrase “The alignment system of claim 1, wherein the second pin” should be changed to “The combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one second pin,” in line 2, the phrase “the second pin” should be changed to “the at least one second pin, and in line 4, the phrase “the second pin” should be changed to “the at least one second pin” and the phrase “the second pocket” should be changed to “the at least one second pocket.”
In regards to claim 9, lines 1 and 2, the phrase “The alignment system of claim 1, wherein the one or more of the first spring assemblies includes at least two of the one or more first spring assemblies” should be changed to “The combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one first spring assembly includes two first spring assemblies,” in line 3, the phrase “second end of the first pin of one of the at least two of the first spring assemblies” should be changed to “second end of one of the first pins of the two first spring assemblies,” and in lines 5 and 6, the phrase “the second end of the first pin of another of the at least two of the first spring assemblies” should be changed to “the second end of the other of the first pins of the two first spring assemblies.”
In regards to claim 10, lines 1 and 2, the phrase “The alignment system of claim 1, wherein the one or more of the second spring assemblies includes at least two of the one or more second spring assemblies” should be changed to “The combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one second spring assembly includes two second spring assemblies,” in lines 3 and 4, the phrase “the fourth end of the second pin of one or the at least two of the second spring assemblies” should be changed to “the fourth end of one of the second pins of the two second spring assemblies,” and in lines 5 and 6, the phrase “the fourth end of the second pin of another of the at least two of the second spring assemblies” should be changed to “the fourth end of another one of the second pins of the two second spring assemblies.”
In regards to claim 11, lines 1 and 2, the phrase “The alignment system of claim 1, wherein the one or more first spring assemblies are configured” should be changed to “The combination of claim 1, wherein the at least one first spring assembly is configured,” and in lines 2 and 3, the phrase “the one or more second spring assemblies are configured” should be changed to “the at least one second spring assembly is configured.”
In regards to claim 12, lines 3 and 4, the phrase “one or more first spring assemblies, the one or more first spring assemblies” should be changed to “at least one first spring assembly, the at least one first spring assembly,” in line 5, the phrase “each of the first spring housings” should be changed to “the at least one first spring housing,” in lines 11 and 12, the phrase “one or more second spring assemblies, the one or more second spring assemblies” should be changed to “at least one second spring assembly, the at least one second spring assembly,” and in lien 13, the phrase “each of the second spring housings” should be changed to “the at least one second spring housing.”
In regards to claim 14, the claim should read as follows after the preamble: “wherein the amount of travel of the body of the latch receiver is a distance of rotational travel of the body of the latch receiver and the amount of travel of the body of the latch pin is a distance of rotational travel of the body of the latch pin, wherein the at least one first pin controls the distance of rotational travel of the body of the latch receiver and the at least one second pin controls the distance of rotational travel of the body of the latch pin.”
In regards to claim 15, line 4, the phrase “the first pin” should be changed to “the at least one first pin.”
In regards to claim 16, lines 3 and 4, the phrase “the second pin” should be changed to “the at least one second pin.”
In regards to claim 17, line 2the phrase “the first pin into and out of the first pocket” should be changed to “the at least one first pin into and out of the at least one first pocket,” and in line 3, the phrase “the first pin” should be changed to “the at least one first pin.”
In regards to claim 18, line 2, the phrase “the second pin into and out of the second pocket” should be changed to “the at least one second pin into and out of the at least one second pocket,” and in line 3, the phrase “the second pin” should be changed to “the at least one second pin.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 3-8, it is unclear how many first pins and how many second pins applicant intends to claim. Specifically, claim 1 recites that the device includes “one or more first spring assemblies” or at least one first spring assembly and “one or more second spring assemblies” or at least one second spring assembly,” and therefore, dependent claims 3-8 must recite at least one first pin and at least one second pin, since there are more than one set forth in claim 1. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 9, it is unclear how many first spring assemblies applicant intends to claim with the phrase “at least two of the one or more first spring assemblies.” It is understood from the specification that the device includes two first spring assemblies, and will be examined as such. Furthermore, it is suggested that the phrase “one or more first spring assemblies” throughout claims 1 and 2 should be changed to “at least one first spring assembly” to avoid any confusion as to how many of the first spring assemblies are being claimed in the dependent claims. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 10, it is unclear how many second spring assemblies applicant intends to claim with the phrase “at least two of the one or more second spring assemblies.” It is understood from the specification that the device includes two second spring assemblies, and will be examined as such. Furthermore, it is suggested that the phrase “one or more second spring assemblies” throughout claims 1 and 2 should be changed to “at least one second spring assembly” to avoid any confusion as to how many of the second spring assemblies are being claimed in the dependent claims. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 12, it is unclear how many first spring assemblies applicant intends to claim, since the claim recites “one or more first spring assemblies,” which suggests the possibility of one first spring assembly, but also recites “each of the first spring housings,” which suggests that the device includes more than one first spring assembly. For examination purposes, the claim will be examined as reciting that the device includes at least one first spring assembly, with the at least one first spring housing including the recited first pocket. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 12, it is unclear how many second spring assemblies applicant intends to claim, since the claim recites “one or more second spring assemblies,” which suggests the possibility of one second spring assembly, but also recites “each of the second spring housings,” which suggests that the device includes more than one second spring assembly. For examination purposes, the claim will be examined as reciting that the device includes at least one second spring assembly, with the at least one second spring housing including the recited second pocket. See claim objections above.
In regards to claims 14-18, it is unclear how many first pins and their associated components and how many second pins and their associated components applicant intends to claim. Specifically, claim 12 recites that the device includes “one or more first spring assemblies” or at least one first spring assembly and “one or more second spring assemblies” or at least one second spring assembly,” and therefore, dependent claims 18-18 must recite at least one first pin and at least one second pin, for example, since there are more than one set forth in claim 12. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 14, the relationship between the “distance of rotational travel” of the body of the latch receiver, as recited in claim 14, and the “amount of travel of the body of the latch receiver,” as recited in claim 12, is unclear from the claim language. It is understood from the specification that the “distance of rotational travel” is equivalent to the “amount of travel” and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 14, the relationship between the “distance of rotational travel” of the body of the latch pin, as recited in claim 14, and the “amount of travel of the body of the latch pin,” as recited in claim 12, is unclear from the claim language. It is understood from the specification that the “distance of rotational travel” is equivalent to the “amount of travel” and will be examined as such. See claim objections above.
In regards to claim 19, this claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because it depends from claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 9-16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baehr (US-4428609).
In regards to claim 1, Baehr discloses an alignment system in combination with a latch receiver and a latch pin, the combination comprising: at least one first spring assembly (Figure 3), the at least one first spring assembly comprising: a first spring housing 72, 74 configured to be operably coupled with a first structure 12, the first spring housing including a first pocket (pocket formed by the space between components 72 and 74, Figure 3); a first spring 48 or 50 configured to be disposed within the first pocket (Figure 3); and a first pin (see Figure 3 below) configured to be disposed within the first pocket (the first pin having a least a portion located in the pocket and on which spring 48 or 50 is located, Figure 3), the first pin extending between a first end configured to engage the first spring and a second end configured to extend out of the first pocket and a distance away from the first spring housing (see Figure 3 below), the second end of the first pin configured to engage a surface of a body 34 of a latch receiver 34, 36 to control a position of the body of the latch receiver (the second end of the first pin engages the surface of the body of the latch receiver indirectly through the body of the first pin and the coupling of the first pin to the latch receiver, see Figure 3 below, with the position of the body of the latch receiver being controlled by the at least one first spring assembly, Col. 2, lines 31-37); and at least one second spring assembly (Figure 3), the at least one second spring assembly comprising: a second spring housing 52, 54 configured to be coupled with a second structure 13, the second spring housing including a second pocket (pocket formed by the space between components 52 and 54, Figure 3); a second spring 44 or 46 configured to be disposed within the second pocket; and a second pin (see Figure 3 below) configured to be disposed within the second pocket (the second pin having at least a portion located in the pocket and on which spring 44 or 46 is located, Figure 3), the second pin extending between a third end configured to engage the second spring and a fourth end configured to extend out of the second pocket and a distance away from the second spring housing (see Figure 3 below), the fourth end of the second pin configured to engage a surface of a body of a latch pin 22 to control a position of the body of the latch pin (the second end of the second pin engages the surface of the body of the latch pin indirectly through the body of the second pin and component 60, see Figure 3 below, with the position of the body of the latch pin being controlled by the at least one second spring assembly, Col. 2, lines 31-37).
In regards to claim 2, Baehr discloses that the at least one first spring assembly is configured to control the position of the body of the latch receiver (Col. 2, lines 31-37) and the at least one second spring assembly is configured to control the position of the body of the latch pin while the latch pin is disengaged from the latch receiver (Figure 3).
In regards to claim 4, Baehr discloses that the at least one first pin is configured to control a distance of rotational travel of the body of the latch receiver (controls a distance that the body of the latch receiver rotates about the axis 30 via the coupling of the latch receiver with the at least one first pin, Figures 3 and 4 and Col. 2, lines 31-37), and the at least one second pin is configured to control a distance of rotational travel of the body of the latch pin (controls a distance that the body of the latch pin rotates about the axis 32 via the coupling of the latch pin with the at least one second pin, Figures 3 and 4 and Col. 2, lines 31-37).
In regards to claim 5, Baehr discloses that the body of the latch receiver is configured to rotate in a first direction of rotation while the latch pin is disengaged from the latch receiver (capable of rotating in a first direction either up or down in Figure 4 about axis 30 when the latch pin is not engaged with the latch receiver), wherein the at least one first pin is configured to exert a force onto the body of the latch receiver in a second direction of rotation that is opposite the first direction of rotation of the body of the latch receiver (the at least one first pin, via the at least one first spring exerts the force on the body of the latch receiver in a direction opposite the first direction to center the latch receiver, Col. 2, lines 31-37).
In regards to claim 6, Baehr discloses that the body of the latch pin is configured to rotate in a third direction of rotation while the latch pin is disengaged from the latch receiver (capable of rotating in a third direction either up or down in Figure 4 about axis 32 when not engaged with the latch receiver), wherein the at least one second pin is configured to exert a force onto the body of the latch pin in a fourth direction of rotation that is opposite the third direction of rotation of the body of the latch pin (the at least one second pin, via the at least one second spring exerts the force on the body of the latch pin in a direction opposite the third direction to center the latch pin, Col. 2, lines 31-37).
In regards to claim 9, Baehr discloses that the at least one first spring assembly includes two first spring assemblies (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action), wherein the second end of one of the first pins of the two first spring assemblies is configured to engage the surface of the body of the latch receiver on a first side of the latch receiver (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action), and the second end of another one of the first pins of the two first spring assemblies is configured to engage the surface of the body of the latch receiver on a second side of the latch receiver (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action).
In regards to claim 10, Baehr discloses that the at least one second spring assembly includes two second spring assemblies (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action), wherein the fourth end of one of the second pins of the two second spring assemblies is configured to engage the surface of the body of the latch pin on a first side of the latch pin (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action), and the fourth end of another one of the second pins of the two second spring assemblies is configured to engage the surface of the body of the latch pin on a second side of the latch pin (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action).
In regards to claim 11, Baehr discloses that the at least one first spring assembly is configured to control the position of the body of the latch receiver (Col. 2, lines 31-37) and the at least one second spring assembly is configured to control the position of the body of the latch pin during a coupling event of the latch pin and the latch receiver (the at least one second spring assembly ensures that the latch pin is centered to cooperate with the latch receiver during a coupling event, Col. 2, lines 31-37).
In regards to claim 12, Baehr discloses a method, comprising: controlling an amount of travel of a body 34 of a latch receiver 34, 36 operably coupled with a first structure 12 via at least one first spring assembly (Figure 3 and Col. 2, lines 31-37), the at least one first spring assembly comprising a first spring housing 72, 74 configured to be operably coupled with the first structure (Figure 3), the first spring housing including a first pocket (pocket formed by the space between components 72 and 74, Figure 3) configured to receive a first spring 48 or 50 and a first pin (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action), the first pin extending between a first end configured to engage the first spring (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action) and a second end configured to extend out of the first pocket (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action), the second end of the first pin configured to engage a surface of the body of the latch receiver (the second end of the first pin engages the surface of the body of the latch receiver indirectly through the body of the first pin and the coupling of the first pin to the latch receiver, see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action); and controlling an amount of travel of a body of a latch pin 22 operably coupled with a second structure 13 via at least one second spring assembly (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action), the at least one second spring assembly comprising a second spring housing 52, 54 configured to be operably coupled with the second structure (Figure 3), the second spring housing including a second pocket (pocket formed by the space between components 52 and 54, Figure 3) configured to receive a second spring 44 or 46 and a second pin (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action), the second pin extending between a third end configured to engage the second spring and a fourth end configured to extend out of the second pocket (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action), the fourth end configured to engage a surface of the body of the latch pin (the second end of the second pin engages the surface of the body of the latch pin indirectly through the body of the second pin and component 60, see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action).
In regards to claim 13, Baehr discloses that the method comprises controlling the amount of travel of the body of the latch receiver and controlling the amount of travel of the body of the latch pin while the latch pin is disengaged from the latch receiver (Figure 3 and Col. 2, lines 31-37).
In regards to claim 14, Baehr discloses that the amount of travel of the body of the latch receiver is a distance of rotational travel of the body of the latch receiver and the amount of travel of the body of the latch pin is a distance of rotational travel of the body of the latch pin, wherein the at least one first pin controls the distance of rotational travel of the body of the latch receiver and the at least one second pin controls the distance of rotational travel of the body of the latch pin (the at least one first pin and the at least one second pin control the distances of rotational travel via springs 44, 46, 48, and 50, Figure 3 and Col. 2, lines 31-37).
In regards to claim 15, Baehr discloses that the body of the latch receiver is configured to rotate in a first direction of rotation while the latch pin is disengaged from the latch receiver (capable of rotating in a first direction either up or down in Figure 4 about axis 30 when the latch pin is not engaged with the latch receiver), and further comprising exerting a force onto the body of the latch receiver with the at least one first pin in a second direction of rotation that is opposite the first direction of rotation of the body of the latch receiver (the at least one first pin, via the at least one first spring exerts the force on the body of the latch receiver in a direction opposite the first direction to center the latch receiver, Col. 2, lines 31-37).
In regards to claim 16, Baehr discloses that the body of the latch pin is configured to rotate in a third direction of rotation while the latch pin is disengaged from the latch receiver (capable of rotating in a third direction either up or down in Figure 4 about axis 32 when not engaged with the latch receiver), and further comprising exerting a force onto the body of the latch pin with the at least one second pin in a fourth direction of rotation that is opposite the third direction of rotation of the body of the latch pin (the at least one second pin, via the at least one second spring exerts the force on the body of the latch pin in a direction opposite the third direction to center the latch pin, Col. 2, lines 31-37).
In regards to claim 19, Baehr discloses that the method further comprises controlling the amount of travel of the body of the latch receiver and controlling the amount of travel of the body of the latch pin to align the latch pin with a receiving pocket 36 of the latch receiver during a coupling event of the latch pin and the latch receiver (Col. 2, lines 31-37).
In regards to claim 20, Baehr discloses a system, comprising: a first structure 12 configured to be operably coupled with a powered system (Figure 1); a latch receiver 34, 36 comprising a body 34 configured to be operably coupled with the first structure (Figure 3); one or more first spring assemblies (Figure 3) configured to be operably coupled with the first structure, the one or more first spring assemblies comprising a first pin (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action) configured to engage a surface of the body of the latch receiver (the first pin engages the surface of the body of the latch receiver indirectly through the body of the first pin and the coupling of the first pin to the latch receiver, Figure 3); a second structure 13 configured to be operably coupled with the powered system; a latch pin 22 comprising a body configured to be operably coupled with the second structure (see Figure 3 on Page 14 of the current Office Action); and one or more second spring assemblies (Figure 3) configured to be operably coupled with the second structure, the one or more second spring assemblies comprising a second pin (see Figure 3 on Pag 14 of the current Office Action) configured to engage a surface of the body of the latch pin (the second pin engages the surface of the body of the latch pin indirectly through the body of the second pin and component 60, Figure 3), wherein the one or more first spring assemblies are configured to control a position of the body of the latch receiver and the one or more second spring assemblies are configured to control a position of the body of the latch pin (Col. 2, lines 31-37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 8, 17, and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the references of record show some features similar to those of applicant’s device, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the invention of claims 3, 7, 8, 17, and 18.
In regards to claim 3, Baehr (US-4428609) fails to disclose that the second end of the at least one first pin is configured to disengage from the surface of the body of the latch receiver and the fourth end of the at least one second pin is configured to disengage from the surface of the body of the latch pin while the latch pin is coupled with the latch receiver. The at least one first pin and the at least one second pin of Baehr do not move relative to the bodies of the latch receiver and the latch pin, respectively, and therefore, no disengagement occurs. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the device of Baehr without employing improper hindsight reasoning and without destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
In regards to claim 7, Baehr (US-4428609) fails to disclose that the at least one first pin includes a passage extending between a first side surface and a second side surface of the at least one first pin, the passage configured to receive a first extension component, the first extension component configured to control a distance of travel of the at least one first pin into and out of the at least one first pocket. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the device of Baehr without employing improper hindsight reasoning and without destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
In regards to claim 8, Baehr (US-4428609) fails to disclose that the at least one second pin includes a passage extending between a first side surface and a second side surface of the at least one second pin, the passage configured to receive a second extension component, the second extension component configured to control a distance of travel of the at least one second pin into and out of the at least one second pocket. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the device of Baehr without employing improper hindsight reasoning and without destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
In regards to claim 17, Baehr (US-4428609) fails to disclose that the method includes controlling a distance of travel of the at least one first pin into and out of the at least one first pocket with a first extension component, the first extension component disposed within a passage of the at least one first pin. The at least one first pin of Baehr does not travel or move in and out of the at least one first pocket. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the device of Baehr without employing improper hindsight reasoning and without destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
In regards to claim 18, Baehr (US-4428609) fails to disclose that the method includes controlling a distance of travel of the at least one second pin into and out of the at least one second pocket with a second extension component, the second extension component disposed within a passage of the at least one second pin. The at least one second pin of Baehr does not travel or move in and out of the at least one second pocket. The examiner can find no motivation to modify the device of Baehr without employing improper hindsight reasoning and without destroying the intended structure and operation of the device.
Conclusion
/ALYSON M MERLINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 January 13, 2026