Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 were pending. Claims 1-2, 9-10, 14-15 have been amended. No claims have been canceled and no new claims have been added. Thus claims 1-20 are currently pending including independent claims 1, 9, 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 are removed in light of the remarks and amendments filed 07/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 11, 13-14, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holub (US 20240412188 A1) in view of Zheng (US 20120099765 A1).
Examiner Note: Holub was effectively filed 12/23/2022 because it claims priority to Provisional application 63/435188 which discloses the subject matter relied upon in this office action (See pages 3-6, 13-15, 20, 39, 45 of PRO 63/435188).
Regarding claim 1, Holub discloses a method of image processing ([0046] image processing), the method comprising:
acquiring a plurality of input image frames ([0052] a plurality of input image frames);
detecting at least one object of interest in individual image frames of the plurality of image frames ([0055] an identified in each image frame for the purpose of placing a bounding region that encompasses it);
for the individual image frames, producing a respective bounding box corresponding to the at least one object of interest, the bounding box describing coordinates of a boundary of the object of interest within a respective individual image frame ([0055] rectangular bounding regions are placed encompassing items of interest in the frames, the boundary describing coordinates of the region of interest),
temporally averaging corresponding pixel values of pixels within the bounding box over the plurality of image frames to produce a plurality of averaged pixel values ([0055] rectangular bounding regions are placed encompassing items of interest in the frames, the boundary describing coordinates of the region of interest); and
producing an output image in which pixels within an area of the output image described by coordinates of the bounding box are replaced with the averaged pixel values ([0100] a composite frame (i.e. output image) is generated in which the square regions (i.e. bounding boxes) contain the averaged values of pixels)
while leaving pixels outside of the area described by coordinates of the bounding box unchanged ([0277]-[0278] background subtraction is performed to identify a static background (i.e. pixels outside the bounding box area) and other regions of interest (i.e. bounding box area), wherein only the regions of interest are averaged across accumulated frames and the background is unchanged; [0058] average pixel values are calculated for accumulated values of pixels within the boundary box 31 (Fig. 3A)).
Holub fails to disclose the coordinates of the bounding box in a first image frame of the plurality of image frames being different from the coordinates of the bounding box in at least one other image frame of the plurality of image frames.
Zheng, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of tracking moving objects in a video using bounding boxes (Abstract), discloses the coordinates of the bounding box in a first image frame of the plurality of image frames being different from the coordinates of the bounding box in at least one other image frame of the plurality of image frames (Fig. 2A, [0031] the tracking bounding boxes on each frame F1 and F2 will have different world coordinates, which are coordinates with respect to an absolute reference).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zheng with Holub wherein the coordinates of the bounding box in a first image frame of the plurality of image frames are different from the coordinates of the bounding box in at least one other image frame of the plurality of image frames, as disclosed by Zheng, as part of a method of image processing including producing an output image in which pixels within an area of the output image described by coordinates of the bounding box are replaced with the averaged pixel values, as disclosed by Holub, for the purpose of improved target tracking across image frames (see Zheng [0010], [0036]).
Regarding claim 3, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the method of claim 1 as applied above. Holub further discloses wherein detecting the at least one object of interest includes processing the individual image frames using one or more convolutional neural networks ([0145] a convolutional neural network to perform object detection).
Regarding claim 5, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the method of claim 1 as applied above. Holub further discloses wherein acquiring the plurality of input image frames includes accessing the plurality of input image frames from at least one non-transitory machine-readable storage medium ([0328] memory in forms of tangible media, [0055] frames are stored in a memory, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the method of claim 1 as applied above. Holub further discloses wherein acquiring the plurality of input image frames includes receiving the plurality of input image frames from an imaging device ([0052] images are captured by a camera), wherein the individual image frames are acquired by the imaging device under a very low light condition ([0106] useful in low-light conditions).
Regarding claim 9, Holub discloses a computer program product including one or more non-transitory machine-readable mediums having instructions encoded thereon that when executed by at least one processor cause an image processing method to be carried out ([0328] memory in forms of tangible media (i.e. non-transitory machine-readable mediums); [0046] image processing method), the method comprising:
acquiring a plurality of input image frames ([0052] a plurality of input image frames);
detecting at least one object of interest in individual image frames of the plurality of image frames ([0055] an identified in each image frame for the purpose of placing a bounding region that encompasses it);
for the individual image frames, producing a respective bounding box corresponding to the at least one object of interest, the bounding box describing coordinates of a boundary of the object of interest within a respective individual image frame ([0055] rectangular bounding regions are placed encompassing items of interest in the frames, the boundary describing coordinates of the region of interest);
temporally averaging corresponding pixel values of pixels within the bounding box over the plurality of image frames to produce a plurality of averaged pixel values ([0058] generate an average pixel value for each pixel within the boundary across multiple frames); and
producing an output image in which pixels within an area of the output image described by coordinates of the bounding box are replaced with the averaged pixel values ([0100] a composite frame (i.e. output image) is generated in which the square regions (i.e. bounding boxes) contain the averaged values of pixels)
while leaving pixels outside of the area described by coordinates of the bounding box unchanged ([0277]-[0278] background subtraction is performed to identify a static background (i.e. pixels outside the bounding box area) and other regions of interest (i.e. bounding box area), wherein only the regions of interest are averaged across accumulated frames and the background is unchanged; [0058] average pixel values are calculated for accumulated values of pixels within the boundary box 31 (Fig. 3A)).
Holub fails to disclose the coordinates of the bounding box in a first image frame of the plurality of image frames being different from the coordinates of the bounding box in at least one other image frame of the plurality of image frames.
Zheng, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of tracking moving objects in a video using bounding boxes (Abstract), discloses the coordinates of the bounding box in a first image frame of the plurality of image frames being different from the coordinates of the bounding box in at least one other image frame of the plurality of image frames (Fig. 2A, [0031] the tracking bounding boxes on each frame F1 and F2 will have different world coordinates, which are coordinates with respect to an absolute reference).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zheng with Holub wherein the coordinates of the bounding box in a first image frame of the plurality of image frames are different from the coordinates of the bounding box in at least one other image frame of the plurality of image frames, as disclosed by Zheng, as part of a method of image processing including producing an output image in which pixels within an area of the output image described by coordinates of the bounding box are replaced with the averaged pixel values, as disclosed by Holub, for the purpose of improved target tracking across image frames (see Zheng [0010], [0036]).
Regarding claim 11, Holub discloses the computer program product of claim 9 as applied above. Holub further discloses wherein detecting the at least one object of interest includes processing the individual image frames using one or more convolutional neural networks ([0145] a convolutional neural network to perform object detection).
Regarding claim 13, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the computer program product of claim 9 as applied above. Holub further discloses wherein acquiring the plurality of input image frames includes accessing the plurality of input image frames from at least one non-transitory machine-readable storage medium ([0328] memory in forms of tangible media, [0055] frames are stored in a memory, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Holub discloses an image sensor comprising: an imaging device configured to acquire a temporal series of image frames ([0052] camera acquiring a plurality of input image frames); and a digital signal processing module coupled to the imaging device ([0050], [0059] processors coupled to the camera; )and configured to:
process the image frames to detect at least one object of interest in individual image frames of the image frames ([0055] an identified in each image frame for the purpose of placing a bounding region that encompasses it),
for the individual image frames, produce a respective bounding box corresponding to the at least one object of interest, the bounding box describing coordinates of a boundary of the object of interest within a respective individual image frame ([0055] rectangular bounding regions are placed encompassing items of interest in the frames, the boundary describing coordinates of the region of interest),
average corresponding pixel values of pixels within the bounding box over the temporal series of image frames to produce a plurality of averaged pixel values ([0058] generate an average pixel value for each pixel within the boundary across multiple frames), and
produce an output image in which at least some pixels within an area of the output image described by coordinates of the bounding box are replaced with the averaged pixel values ([0100] a composite frame (i.e. output image) is generated in which the square regions (i.e. bounding boxes) contain the averaged values of pixels)
while leaving pixels outside of the area described by coordinates of the bounding box unchanged ([0277]-[0278] background subtraction is performed to identify a static background (i.e. pixels outside the bounding box area) and other regions of interest (i.e. bounding box area), wherein only the regions of interest are averaged across accumulated frames and the background is unchanged; [0058] average pixel values are calculated for accumulated values of pixels within the boundary box 31 (Fig. 3A)).
Holub fails to disclose the coordinates of the bounding box in a first image frame of the plurality of image frames being different from the coordinates of the bounding box in at least one other image frame of the plurality of image frames.
Zheng, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of tracking moving objects in a video using bounding boxes (Abstract), discloses the coordinates of the bounding box in a first image frame of the plurality of image frames being different from the coordinates of the bounding box in at least one other image frame of the plurality of image frames (Fig. 2A, [0031] the tracking bounding boxes on each frame F1 and F2 will have different world coordinates, which are coordinates with respect to an absolute reference).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zheng with Holub wherein the coordinates of the bounding box in a first image frame of the plurality of image frames are different from the coordinates of the bounding box in at least one other image frame of the plurality of image frames, as disclosed by Zheng, as part of a method of image processing including producing an output image in which pixels within an area of the output image described by coordinates of the bounding box are replaced with the averaged pixel values, as disclosed by Holub, for the purpose of improved target tracking across image frames (see Zheng [0010], [0036]).
Regarding claim 16, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the image sensor of claim 14 as applied above. Holub further discloses wherein to detect the at least one object of interest, the digital signal processing module is configured to process the individual image frames using one or more convolutional neural networks ([0145] a convolutional neural network to perform object detection).
Regarding claim 19, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the image sensor of claim 14 as applied above. Holub further discloses wherein the imaging device is configured to acquire the image frames at a frame rate of between 45 and 90 frames per second ([0102] the frames may be captured at a rate of 60 frames per second).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 7, 10, 12, 15, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holub (US 20240412188 A1) in view of Zheng (US 20120099765 A1) in further view of Mao (US 20210365707).
Examiner Note: Holub was effectively filed 12/23/2022 because it claims priority to Provisional application 63/435188 which discloses the subject matter relied upon in this office action (See pages 3-6, 13-15, 20, 39, 45 of PRO 63/435188).
Regarding claim 2, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the method of claim 1 as applied above. Holub fails to disclose wherein producing the bounding box includes: determining a center point and at least one sizing parameter of the bounding box in the first image frame of the plurality of image frames; and constraining the center point of the bounding box in a second image frame of the plurality of image frames based at least in part on a weighting factor applied to the center point of the bounding box in the first image frame.
Mao, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of image processing for object detection (Abstract), discloses wherein producing the bounding box includes: determining a center point and at least one sizing parameter of the bounding box in the first image frame of the plurality of image frames ([0162] a center point and a sizing parameter of a bounding box around an object are determined); and constraining the center point of the bounding box in a second image frame of the plurality of image frames based at least in part on a weighting factor applied to the center point of the bounding box in the first image frame ([0199]-[0202] bounding box center point trajectory smoothing across frames including a weighting factor, [equation 00002]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mao with Holub and Zheng and determine a center point and size parameter and constraining the center point of a bounding box based on a weighting factor, as disclosed by Mao, as part of a method of image processing as disclosed by Holub in view of Zheng for the purpose of reducing errors in object detection and bounding box locations (See Mao [0258]).
Regarding claim 4, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the method of claim 1 as applied above. Holub fails to disclose wherein producing the output image includes producing the output image including the bounding box positioned around the at least one object of interest.
Mao, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of image processing for object detection (Abstract), discloses wherein producing the output image includes producing the output image including the bounding box positioned around the at least one object of interest ([0176] a frame is output in which a bounding box is visible around an object of interest).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mao with Holub and Zheng and produce an output image including the bounding box, as disclosed by Mao, as part of a method of image processing as disclosed by Holub in view of Zheng for the purpose of providing a clear visualization of the results of the object detection (See Mao [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 7, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the method of claim 1 as applied above. Holub fails to disclose further comprising displaying the output image on a display.
Mao, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of image processing for object detection (Abstract), discloses further comprising displaying the output image on a display ([0176] displaying the output image).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mao with Holub and Zheng and display the output image, as disclosed by Mao, as part of a method of image processing as disclosed by Holub in view of Zheng for the purpose of providing a clear visualization of the results of the object detection (See Mao [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 10, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the computer program product of claim 9 as applied above. Holub fails to disclose wherein producing the bounding box includes: determining a center point and at least one sizing parameter of the bounding box in the first image frame of the plurality of image frames; and constraining the center point of the bounding box in a second image frame of the plurality of image frames based at least in part on a weighting factor applied to the center point of the bounding box in the first image frame.
Mao, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of image processing for object detection (Abstract), discloses wherein producing the bounding box includes: determining a center point and at least one sizing parameter of the bounding box in the first image frame of the plurality of image frames ([0162] a center point and a sizing parameter of a bounding box around an object are determined); and constraining the center point of the bounding box in a second image frame of the plurality of image frames based at least in part on a weighting factor applied to the center point of the bounding box in the first image frame ([0199]-[0202] bounding box center point trajectory smoothing across frames including a weighting factor, [equation 00002]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mao with Holub and Zheng and determine a center point and size parameter and constraining the center point of a bounding box based on a weighting factor, as disclosed by Mao, as part of a computer program product for image processing as disclosed by Holub in view of Zheng for the purpose of reducing errors in object detection and bounding box locations (See Mao [0258]).
Regarding claim 12, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the computer program product of claim 9 as applied above. Holub fails to disclose wherein producing the output image includes producing the output image including the bounding box positioned around the at least one object of interest.
Mao, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of image processing for object detection (Abstract), discloses wherein producing the output image includes producing the output image including the bounding box positioned around the at least one object of interest ([0176] a frame is output in which a bounding box is visible around an object of interest).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mao with Holub and Zheng and produce an output image including the bounding box, as disclosed by Mao, as part of a computer program product for image processing as disclosed by Holub in view of Zheng for the purpose of providing a clear visualization of the results of the object detection (See Mao [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 15, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the image sensor of claim 14 as applied above. Holub fails to disclose wherein to produce the bounding box, the digital signal processing module is configured to: determine a center point and at least one sizing parameter of the bounding box in the first image frame of the plurality of image frames; and constrain the center point of the bounding box in a second image frame of the plurality of image frames based at least in part on a weighting factor applied to the center point of the bounding box in the first image frame.
Mao, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of image processing for object detection (Abstract), discloses wherein to produce the bounding box, the digital signal processing module is configured to: determine a center point and at least one sizing parameter of the bounding box the in a first image frame of the plurality of image frames ([0162] a center point and a sizing parameter of a bounding box around an object are determined); and constrain the center point of the bounding box in a second image frame of the plurality of image frames based at least in part on a weighting factor applied to the center point of the bounding box in the first image frame ([0199]-[0202] bounding box center point trajectory smoothing across frames including a weighting factor, [equation 00002]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mao with Holub and Zheng and determine a center point and size parameter and constraining the center point of a bounding box based on a weighting factor, as disclosed by Mao, as part of an image sensor as disclosed by Holub in view of Zheng for the purpose of reducing errors in object detection and bounding box locations (See Mao [0258]).
Regarding claim 17, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the image sensor of claim 14 as applied above. Holub fails to disclose wherein to produce the output image, the digital signal processing module is configured to produce the output image including the bounding box positioned around the at least one object of interest.
Mao, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of image processing for object detection (Abstract), discloses wherein to produce the output image, the digital signal processing module is configured to produce the output image including the bounding box positioned around the at least one object of interest ([0176] a frame is output in which a bounding box is visible around an object of interest).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mao with Holub and Zheng and produce an output image including the bounding box, as disclosed by Mao, as part of an image sensor as disclosed by Holub in view of Zheng for the purpose of providing a clear visualization of the results of the object detection (See Mao [0075]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 18, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the image sensor of claim 14 as applied above. Holub fails to disclose further comprising a display coupled to the digital signal processing module and configured to display the output image.
Mao, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of image processing for object detection (Abstract), discloses further comprising a display coupled to the digital signal processing module and configured to display the output image ([0176] displaying the output image on a display device, [0097] the display device is coupled to the processing system).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Mao with Holub and Zheng and display the output image on a display, as disclosed by Mao, as part of an image sensor as disclosed by Holub in view of Zheng for the purpose of providing a clear visualization of the results of the object detection (See Mao [0075]-[0076]).
Claim(s) 8, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holub (US 20240412188 A1) in view of Zheng (US 20120099765 A1) in further view of Gao (US 20220245792).
Examiner Note: Holub was effectively filed 12/23/2022 because it claims priority to Provisional application 63/435188 which discloses the subject matter relied upon in this office action (See pages 3-6, 13-15, 20, 39, 45 of PRO 63/435188).
Regarding claim 8, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the method of claim 1 as applied above. Holub further discloses applying a filter to the individual image frames to produce corresponding individual filtered image frames ([0060] the images are filtered to produce filtered photos); determining the coordinates of the bounding box in a respective filtered image frame; and applying the bounding box to the respective individual image frame ([0063] bounding box coordinates are identified in the filtered photo and the box is applied to the photo).
Holub fails to disclose wherein the filter is a spatial averaging filter.
Gao, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of image processing including object detection (Abstract, [0009]), discloses wherein the filter is a spatial averaging filter ([0170] selective blur filter is applied based on a threshold wherein a difference between pixel values that meet the threshold are blurred together).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gao with Holub and Zheng and apply a spatial averaging filter to images, as disclosed by Gao, as part of a method of image processing as disclosed by Holub in view of Zheng for the purpose of accurately determining features of the images (See Gao [0172]).
Regarding claim 20, Holub in view of Zheng discloses the image sensor of claim 14 as applied above. Holub further discloses wherein to detect the at least one object of interest and to produce the respective bounding box, the digital signal processing module is configured to: apply a filter to the individual image frames to produce corresponding individual filtered image frames ([0060] the images are filtered to produce filtered photos); determine the coordinates of the bounding box in a respective filtered image frame; and apply the bounding box to the respective individual image frame ([0063] bounding box coordinates are identified in the filtered photo and the box is applied to the photo).
Holub fails to disclose wherein the filter is a spatial averaging filter.
Gao, in a related system from the same field of endeavor of image processing including object detection (Abstract, [0009]), discloses wherein the filter is a spatial averaging filter ([0170] selective blur filter is applied based on a threshold wherein a difference between pixel values that meet the threshold are blurred together).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gao with Holub and Zheng and apply a spatial averaging filter to images, as disclosed by Gao, as part of an image sensor as disclosed by Holub in view of Zheng for the purpose of accurately determining features of the images (See Gao [0172]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/14/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9, 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 under Holub in view of Zheng.
Applicant asserts on page 8 that "Holub does not teach averaging pixels within a moving bounding box over a series of image frames." Examiner agrees. However, amended claims 1, 9, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 under Holub in view of Zheng as applied above.
Applicant further asserts on page 9 that "Holub fails to anticipate claims 1, 9, and 14 at least because it does not disclose averaging pixel frames with a bounding box over a number of frames in which the bounding coordinates are changing." Examiner agrees. However, amended claims 1, 9, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 under Holub in view of Zheng as applied above.
Applicant further asserts on page 10 that "Mao does not teach or suggest averaging pixel values over multiple frames for a bounding box that is in motion within those frames." Examiner agrees. However, amended claims 1, 9, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 under Holub in view of Zheng as applied above.
Applicant further asserts on page 11 that "Gao does not teach or suggest averaging pixel values over multiple frames for a bounding box that is in motion within those frames." Examiner agrees. However, amended claims 1, 9, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 under Holub in view of Zheng as applied above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Le (Le AV, Jung SW, Won CS. Nonuniform video size reduction for moving objects. ScientificWorldJournal. 2014;2014:832871.) discloses tracking moving objects in bounding boxes including treating the inside of the bounding box differently than the outside of the bounding box in further processing of the video images.
/CAROLINE E. DEPALMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2675
/SJ Park/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675