Information Disclosure Statement
Regarding the IDS submitted by applicant, all references have been considered except where lined through. Specifically, foreign application citation number 11 of the IDS filed 09/19/2025 does not have a proper translation included in the file wrapper and will therefore not be considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20250192220 A1, present in the IDS filed 09/16/2025) in view of Ohzuku et al. (US 20030087154 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 5, Park teaches a positive electrode active material composition with excellent quick charging performance, lifespan characteristics, and energy density comprising LiaNibCocMndMeO2 where M can be W or V (Park Formula 1, 0010, 0012). Further, Park teaches that 1<a, 0≤b≤0.5, 0≤c≤0.1, 0.5≤d<1.0, and 0≤e≤0.2. These ranges allow for a variety of compositions including Li1.10Mn0.52Ni0.33Co0.04W0.01O2 which is present in instant claim 5 which is dependent upon instant claim 1 and therefore is necessarily within the range as stated in claim 1. Park is silent to the average oxidation state of Mn. Ohzuku teaches a positive electrode active material comprising at least lithium, nickel, manganese, and oxygen. Ohzuku further teaches that the Manganese, Mn, has an average oxidation state of 3.5-4, which fully encompasses the claimed range and can be manipulated as desired using conventional techniques, so as to have a high storage capacity, long storage life, and excellent cycle life (Ohzuku 0034-0036). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to take the positive electrode active material of Park and, in view of routine experimentation of an established range in order to exhibit excellent quick charging performance, lifespan characteristics, and energy density, to result in a composition such as Li1.10Mn0.52Ni0.33Co0.04W0.01O2. Further, it would have been obvious to modify the oxidation states of the composition as desired in view of routine experimentation in order to have a high storage capacity, long storage life, and excellent cycle life of the resulting composition, such as an oxidation state of Mn of 3.96, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Park in view of Ohzuku teaches claim 1 as described above and the range of Park allows for any value of x or a in the claimed range. e in Park corresponds with a in the instant application and e can be anywhere within the range of 0-0.1 which fully encompasses the claimed range. Further, though Park does not specify x as a value of interest, x in the instant application only affects Ni and A, both of which Park teaches a range fully encompassing any possible combination where x and a would affect the value. It would have been obvious in view of routine experimentation of a known range in order to exhibit excellent quick charging performance, lifespan characteristics, and energy density, to result in a composition where a is in the range of 0-0.01 and an x value is in the range of 0.01-0.04, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Park in view of Ohzuku teaches claim 1 as described above and Ohzuku teaches Nickel having an average oxidation state of 2.0-2.5 which overlaps with the claimed range and can be manipulated as desired using conventional techniques known in the art, so as to have a high storage capacity, long storage life, and excellent cycle life (Ohzuku 0034-0036).
Regarding claims 7, 10, and 11 Park teaches a positive electrode active material composition with excellent quick charging performance, lifespan characteristics, and energy density comprising LiaNibCocMndMeO2 where M can be W or V (Park Formula 1, 0010, 0012). Further, Park teaches that 1<a, 0≤b≤0.5, 0≤c≤0.1, 0.5≤d<1.0, and 0≤e≤0.2. These ranges allow for a variety of compositions including Li1.12Mn0.51Ni0.29Co0.065W0.015O2 which is present in instant claim 11 which is dependent upon instant claim 7 and therefore is necessarily within the range as stated in claim 7. Park is silent to the average oxidation state of Mn. Ohzuku teaches a positive electrode active material comprising at least lithium, nickel, manganese, and oxygen. Ohzuku further teaches that the Manganese, Mn, has an average oxidation state of 3.5-4, which fully encompasses the claimed range and can be manipulated as desired using conventional techniques, so as to have a high storage capacity, long storage life, and excellent cycle life (Ohzuku 0034-0036). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to take the positive electrode active material of Park and, in view of routine experimentation of an established range in order to exhibit excellent quick charging performance, lifespan characteristics, and energy density, to result in a composition such as Li1.12Mn0.51Ni0.29Co0.065W0.015O2. Further, it would have been obvious to modify the oxidation states of the composition as desired in view of routine experimentation in order to have a high storage capacity, long storage life, and excellent cycle life of the resulting composition, such as an oxidation state of Mn of 3.96, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Park in view of Ohzuku teaches claim 7 as described above and the range of Park allows for any value of x or a in the claimed range. e in Park corresponds with a in the instant application and e can be anywhere within the range of 0-0.1 which fully encompasses the claimed range. Further, though Park does not specify x as a value of interest, x in the instant application only affects Ni and A, both of which Park teaches a range fully encompassing any possible combination where x and a would affect the value. It would have been obvious in view of routine experimentation of a known range in order to exhibit excellent quick charging performance, lifespan characteristics, and energy density, to result in a composition where a is in the range of 0-0.03 and an x value is in the range of 0.02-0.09, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 12, Park in view of Ohzuku teaches claim 7 as described above and Ohzuku teaches Nickel having an average oxidation state of 2.0-2.5 which overlaps with the claimed range and can be manipulated as desired using conventional techniques known in the art, so as to have a high storage capacity, long storage life, and excellent cycle life (Ohzuku 0034-0036).
Regarding claims 13, 16, and 17 Park teaches a positive electrode active material composition for a lithium ion secondary battery with excellent quick charging performance, lifespan characteristics, and energy density comprising LiaNibCocMndMeO2 where M can be W or V (Park Formula 1, 0010, 0012). Further, Park teaches that 1<a, 0≤b≤0.5, 0≤c≤0.1, 0.5≤d<1.0, and 0≤e≤0.2. These ranges allow for a variety of compositions including Li1.10Mn0.52Ni0.33Co0.04W0.01O2 which is present in instant claim 17 which is dependent upon instant claim 13 and therefore is necessarily within the range as stated in claim 13. Park is silent to the average oxidation state of Mn. Ohzuku teaches a positive electrode active material comprising at least lithium, nickel, manganese, and oxygen. Ohzuku further teaches that the Manganese, Mn, has an average oxidation state of 3.5-4, which fully encompasses the claimed range and can be manipulated as desired using conventional techniques, so as to have a high storage capacity, long storage life, and excellent cycle life (Ohzuku 0034-0036). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to take the positive electrode active material of Park and, in view of routine experimentation of an established range in order to exhibit excellent quick charging performance, lifespan characteristics, and energy density, to result in a composition such as Li1.10Mn0.52Ni0.33Co0.04W0.01O2. Further, it would have been obvious to modify the oxidation states of the composition as desired in view of routine experimentation in order to have a high storage capacity, long storage life, and excellent cycle life of the resulting composition, such as an oxidation state of Mn of 3.96, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Park in view of Ohzuku teaches claim 13 as described above and the range of Park allows for any value of x or a in the claimed range. e in Park corresponds with a in the instant application and e can be anywhere within the range of 0-0.1 which fully encompasses the claimed range. Further, though Park does not specify x as a value of interest, x in the instant application only affects Ni and A, both of which Park teaches a range fully encompassing any possible combination where x and a would affect the value. It would have been obvious in view of routine experimentation of a known range in order to exhibit excellent quick charging performance, lifespan characteristics, and energy density, to result in a composition where a is in the range of 0-0.03 and an x value is in the range of 0.01-0.09, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 18, Park in view of Ohzuku teaches claim 13 as described above and park further teaches that a separator is disposed between the positive and negative electrodes of an electrode assembly (Park 0005).
Regarding claim 19, Park in view of Ohzuku teaches claim 13 as described above and Ohzuku teaches Nickel having an average oxidation state of 2.0-2.5 which overlaps with the claimed range and can be manipulated as desired using conventional techniques known in the art, so as to have a high storage capacity, long storage life, and excellent cycle life (Ohzuku 0034-0036).
Conclusion
/SEAN R. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743